Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wlauren11 4 reviews from this member

 As a family we have been coming to this site for years and it is always brilliant.

The facilities are great, with a local pub a stone throw away.

Barmouth is a few minutes drive away or if you are into walking you can get there along the beach.

Definitely recommend this site and will always return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subry 7 reviews from this member

 Simply put, one of the best sites we have stayed on. Amazing sea views right from the caravan windows which is lovely to wake up to.

Toilets and showers were always spotless and the water was always hot, you need a fob to access the toilet facilities and also to enter and leave the site.

We drove to the sister site down the road and parked for free to access the beach, a 2 minute walk from the car (over the railway line) there is the most gorgeous golden sandy beach which is really quiet, as really only people from Trawsdir would use this access, so almost like a private beach.

The town of Barmouth is close by with all of the usual facilities you would expect. The only downside from our point of view was that we were pitched very close to the play area, and as our daughter is now too old, we didn't need this and it did tend to get a bit noisy occasionally.

Also the park was supposed to be closed at 9. 00 every night, but this close down seemed a bit haphazard depending on which wardens were on duty, one night it didn't close at all and children were still on the park at 10. 30. In future we would request a pitch further away from the park.

All in all a fabulous site, we will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheryl13 1 review from this member

 As other reviews have said, immaculate facilities & helpful staff. Plots are a good size & clearly laid out. Most seem to have electric hook up.

We just wanted a standard camping plot for a tent, without electricity and these unfortunately seem to run along the boundary wall, right next to the main A496 road running between Barmouth & Harlech. The sound of cars roaring past just the other side of the wall made it hard to get to sleep & we were woken around 6am by the traffic.

Having re-read the reviews now I'm back, I notice someone has mentioned this, but it didn't bother them. I must've missed that somehow. For us, it was really disappointing & for that reason alone, we wouldn't return to this site.

Also, I wouldn't fancy walking along that road to go to the beach, especially with children, as the cars go so fast. We drove to the sister site & parked there.

If that sort of thing doesn't bother you, then the rest of the site is very well run. We all had showers, some in the morning & some in the evening - the facilities were always clean, the water always hot. The washing up area was the same. We didn't use the launderette, but it looked well equipped & clean & tidy.

We visited Norbar which is about 3 minutes walk from the site - along paths, not on the road, it has a great menu, very varied & caters well for vegetarians & gluten free. They also run a pizza kitchen there too with lovely looking artisan type pizzas.

So whilst I am reluctant to be negative, I just wanted to alert non-EHU tent campers like us, about the proximity to the busy road. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lazychu 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another great stay at Trawsdir. As always the facilities were immaculate, the staff are friendly and efficient and we really enjoyed our sea view.

There have been a few changes since our last visit in August 2016 so I thought it was worth a new review.

The dog and ball games field has now been split. This is brilliant for us as my son is sporty but afraid of dogs. He can now play cricket or footie without the dogs being around.

Also installed is a new lit and paved walkway across the ball games and dog walk area to the new bar next door called NorBar.

We went to NorBar on Tuesday to celebrate my birthday. At the moment they are running a limited menu as it is newly opened (they only started serving food last Friday) but everyone was happy with the menu and when the food came, it was excellent. They also serve a very well thought out range of wines and beers and have a large terrace for viewing the sunset or just looking out to sea and enjoying a drink. Dogs are welcome on the terrace overlooking the bay.

I have a food allergy (milk) and they coped very well with this. Would happily eat there again.

We didn't try the attached Fish and Chip shop but was told it opens Thursday, Friday & Saturday and it also has a terrace to enjoy the view from.

Spring has definitely sprung at Trawsdir, lots of spring lambs, blossom and birds singing. Wish I was still there and we only paid £13 a night with EHU. What's not to like? 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richardssecurity 3 reviews from this member

 Great site loved the fantastic views across to the Lleyn, the staff are great, the site is great, god it was all great really recommend this site worked out under £15 inc, per night with 30% discount if off peak and stay for more than 3 nights; 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berte74 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site well kept and shower block and toilets were clean through out the stay. Set just far enough of the road not to hear any traffic great location Booked for the August Bank holiday they squeezed us in Saturday to Monday afternoon can't rate highly enough. If you are gluten free then get to the little chip shop in Harlech just around the corner from the castle the gf fish chips and sausage are out of this world. Half hours notice and it's all cooked separate. If its cake your after the coffee shops in Barmouth just opposite the spar are well worth the vist will be visiting again next year. Brilliant. Thank you all. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nessa_an_kids 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site with wonderful views. The toilet/shower blocks are closed between 5:30am-7:30am and 12-2pm for cleaning. Their is another toilet open during this time. My only criticism of this site is that the on site shop is only open until 5:00 and if you have been out all day this could be a problem 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sharn 46 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 7 nights. Large camping field which was nice and flat! Fantastic views over Cardigan Bay. Small play area for children which is locked at 9pm so it's not too noisy for those who camp nearby. Parts of the camping field are a little exposed and it can get windy so we used an awning strap to make sure it didn't blow away!

Absolutely spotless facilities on this site at all times of the day. Toilets & showers are cleaned 2x daily and there are other facilities to use when main blocks are being cleaned. Spotless dishwashing facilities. Staff visible all day on the site cleaning & picking up litter etc. Really helpful when we were booked in showing us to our pitch. Fobs used for access onto site and into the toilets.

Site is next to a busy road but this didn't cause too much noise and the views make up for this. Access to beach is via the sister site via the main road which might be off putting for those with younger children. There are also lovely beaches within 10 minutes in a car.

My only negative about this site is that the children's playing field is also a dog walking field and although owners clear up after their dogs I didn't like the idea of the kids rolling about on the grass. The field is large enough to be divided. This was the reason I gave it 9 out of 10. All in all this is a lovely site for families and I will definitely be going back in the future - probably the best family site we have visited! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BeniaminoGigli 10 reviews from this member

 Superb Family Site, easy access, not too far from Barmouth

And Beaches. Access to local beach via their sister Site on

Opposite side of road. Facilities cannot be bettered. Dog walk. Exposed and could be windy. Site Shop catering for all essentials. Special offers available out of Season.

Very helpful Management and can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 The site is located 3 miles North of Barmouth directly off the main A496 road to Harlech (7 miles from site). 70 Touring pitches all with EHU and water, field for 52 tents, 28 seasonal pitches and 8 pods makes this a busy site. Whilst the touring pitches have water etc. , they are on the tight side.

The site facilities are top class, but the management has a peculiar cleaning policy with the main toilets closed for cleaning 5. 30 – 7. 30 and 12. 00 – 14. 00. A second (also good) overflow facilities are open during these periods. The dishwashing area has numerous catering style sinks, but has percussion taps and tepid warm water!

I have never seen so many security cameras on a site before, giving the Big Brother feeling as the monitors in reception watch your every movement!

The beach is accessed via the companies sister site with static units located a brisk 10 minutes’ walk South along the dangerously busy A496 – not ideal for families. The large recreational field on site doubles up as the dog walking – again very questionable mixing dog exercising in the kid’s playing field!

The Wayside pub promoted by the site as being a 5 minute walk is closed and undergoing major building works. The nearest eateries/pubs are 3 miles away at Barmouth and not conducive for an evening stroll for a pie and a pint.

The site is clearly very popular and the facilities very good, however the location is far from ideal if you are reliant on self-power (walking/cycling) for exploring the area and the abundance of security cameras is quite intrusive. I would choice one of the many smaller less commercial sites that provide easier access to the coast and countryside if returning to this area again. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


25520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement