Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timjacklee 3 reviews from this member

 We (2 adults & 15yr old boy) stayed here at Easter in our folding camper. The weather was great which always makes any stay even better.

We arrived and were let in through the barriers straight away,parked up, booked in at reception then led to our pitch by a man on a moped. Very welcoming.

This site was spotlessly clean, very well run, key fobs to get in and out of the site barriers and also the toilets - These were very modern, great showers, radio 2 piped in.

Pub and chippy (best chips I've had) right next to the site via dog walking field.

The sister site Caerddaniel (mainly statics) will deliver food free to Trawsdir for orders over £7. Used them a couple of times. Nice when your chilled out with a beer, overlooking the sea and cant be bothered to cook or travel out for tea.

You can also park at Caerddaniel to use the beach, 5 mins from car.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SarahDal 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned for a lovely 5 night stay at this site. Overall it is a great site. We should have gone for 3 nights but booked for an extra 2.

The site itself is a 5 minute drive to Barmouth, with stunning views of the sea, each night we sat out and watched the sun set. Just lovely!

We stayed the second week of Easter – the one with all the bank holidays. So it was busy the day we arrived, with a quiet 2 days then got VERY busy again at the end of the week. The facilities coped very well at busy times.

The women who where cleaning got up to clean the showers/ toilets at 4.30am. The block actually shuts between 6 and 7 for a full clean and then again in the afternoon, but there is another older block that can be used. I have been too many sites but these are the best showers I have ever seen and so clean. A credit to the staff!

One slight moan would be the use of fobs to get in and out of the toilets / showers and the site itself– one per tent was given. This could be a bit of a nuisance and I saw many people hanging around the entrance to the toilets waiting to be let in. This seemed a little unnecessary as the site is some walk to others sites.

The shop on site was ok – selling all the basic stuff. It was nice to go for a paper every morning to eat with breakfast.

The play area looked new and my 3 year old enjoyed it on the quieter days but it did feel a little overcrowded when it was full.

We stayed in a 6 man tent and went with friends who had a trailer, we where a 30 second walk from the toilets which was great, but it is quite a small site so most units would not be much further away. I did feel that they did pack us in. When it was full it felt very cramped with about 3 inches between our guide ropes and the tent in the next pitch (on three sides). When we where there everyone was quite by 10 so it was not that much of an issue.

The main issue for me and my friends was the wind, and my was there wind. Putting the tent up the first day was a challenge to say the least. The first night I don’t think that I slept at all, and ended up at 4 in the morning repegging the porch. The subsequent 3 nights were not quite as bad but were still very windy, which was little odd as there was not much wind during the day. We did learn to take our wind breaks down every night before bed though. On the last night the wind started to pick up so we decided to put the porch away, and I am lad we did. I was up early from another wind disturbed sleep and saw wind breaks scattered around the site.

The other reason that we had packed up our porch the day before was that you have to have left the site be 10am – which is quite early really, especially in a tent. If you have not vacated by 10 am they take the £10.00 deposit for the fob off you. This was quite a challenge for many in the tents especially in the high winds, many almost flying away in the wind. It would have been quite funny to watch if we had not been part of it!

The surrounding area was lovely, Barmouth itself is good for a toot. With different types of shops and a lovely beach - we were blessed with great weather. If you turn right you head to Harlik and its castle which was worth a quick look. One day we headed in to Snowdonia national park which was great. The plan was to take the train up Snowdonia; we had a 3 year old so no walking up for us. We stupidly not priced it up, it was VERY expensive at £68.00 for 2 adults and 1 child ( all children had to be paid for even toddlers). We did not think that this was worth it. I have only mentioned this so others don’t disappoint their children before realising the price.

While we where there are discussed a few times if we would come back. It was quite a tough choice as the staff where lovely, the facilities excellent, the view stunning, but in the end the wind was just too much so no we would not go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chriska1111 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over Easter for 5 nights. The weather was exceptional with clear blue skys and warm sunshine every day.

The site is very well laid out and kept immaculate at all times. Showers and loos were great, very clean and modern with endless hot water. You have to pay £10 for an electronic barrier pass which access all the doors and vehicle barriers, this is refunded when you leave.

Play area is very new and fantastic. The two couples that run the site are always busy and do a fantastic job keeping this site so immaculate.

There's a small shop, a dog walking field and a games field. The views from this site are second to none especially the sunsets. WOW.

The sister site over the road has a better shop and a takeaway which both deliver to reception at your given time, couldn't resist a curry at about 10pm one night naughty I know. The pub next door is nice too. Beach is really fab, lovely sand and shallow pools and streams to play in.

As far a touring parks go, I would say this place is well worthy of its 5 star status.

See you all next Easter. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ron Hancock 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent a long weekend at Trawdir what a lovely site people so friendly and helpful.

Site is very well kept could not be better toilets where amazing as showers so clean and modern. Lovely sea views with mountins at the back with sheep on fields so relaxing, hard to get a better site to relax on. There is a lovely little shop for daily needs too. There is no club house or anything which was what we where looking for as we wanted to relax.

The only down side was if your mrs is like mine and cannot do without nightly fix of Corrie or Emerdale you will be disapointed.

We had built in omni ariel plus large house ariel and an ariel booster but very hard to get BBC 1 or 2 could do with site ariel as most have but this is being picky.

I and my wife cant wait to go back again so enjoyable definitely 4 to 5 star. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Issy1551 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site with great sea views and is only about a 10 minute stroll to a lovely stretch of beach (very important because our dog is 16 now and can't manage the long walks he used to).

We use are own bathroom so can't comment on the loos etc but don't doubt they are top class.

The staff are very friendly and you felt nothing was too much trouble.

Their sister site just down the road delivers good meals to your van door from 9.30am until 10pm and I definitely recommend the Sunday lunch.

The pitches were all well spaced and well serviced.

We couldn't fault anything and will be back soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ficamping 1 review from this member

 Perfect site. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who quickly showed us to our pitch and was extremely helpful with any queries we had.

November was never going to be the busiest month for camping, but it was nice to see some other caravanners on the site (especially as the weather was less than perfect with gale force winds and lashing rain!). We set up camp on the back field which was sheltered from the wind and had easy access to the site facilities.

The washrooms, washing up area and laundry were spotlessly clean, as was the site as a whole. They were carrying out some site maintenance, but we experienced minimal disturbance.

The nearest pub (Wayside Inn) was closed, but it was just a 1 1/2 miles to the Hendre Coed Isaf Holiday Park where we found a lovely pub/restaurant. We found out that the owners of the Bistro Bermo, Barmouth, had taken over the restaurant on site and it showed in the quality of the food. There was a varied menu and the prices catered for all pockets, but if you are on a budget the 2 for £10 meals couldn't be beaten.

Would definitely recommend the Trawsdir site and are planning to return next year to explore the area a little further. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site wih family (x2 tents / 4 adults + 1) for 6 nights commencing Saturday late August bank holiday week.

Weather leading up to our visit was wet and cool, but on the Saturday things had picked up!

On arrival we were speedily shown to our EHU pitches on the front field, which were dead level, firm and in great condition, and of adequate size for our Monty 6 + extension + car + trailer. EHU + water point were at the corner of the pitch, and the pitch location was spot on. Near to the utility block (behind us!) and with unobstructed and fantastic views forward of the coast and surroundings (trade off for position is when winds get up as there is no barrier, but believe me this is a small price to pay!). Site was probably 70% full whilst we were there, and had a nice relaxed atmosphere with the staff being friendly and relaxed.

Site generally is the best we've used; nice shop, fantastic wash-up area, toilets + showers, childs play area and generally nice appearance and well maintained.

Close to main road but this is quiet during the evening.

Short stroll via dog-walking area to the pub (Wayside Inn / chip shop ajoining); Pub was nice, good beer and atmosphere, tried the food once but not too impressed.

Approx. 10 mins walk to sister site (Caerdanniel) which can be used for direct access to beach, and what a great beach!

Barmouth town appox 2.5 miles and is a relaxing walk from the camp and is quite nice; also recommend the trail from Barmouth up the estuary (bike ride etc), or a hike up the local (high!) mountain Cader Idris.Unbelievable views up there!

The great weather really did arrive for us on the day after we arrived and for the remainder, so the site and pitch location were truly fantastic and we plan to return in 2011.

Highly recommend this site, but can understand previous comments re: problems with wind when the weather turns.But we just can't plan for it can we?! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TRAILER TRASH 1 6 reviews from this member

 This sites facilities are better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The site is on a busy main road but if you are in a motorhome or caravan you will hardly hear it. There were MANY children on site at this time of year but their parents kept them in control and although we were opposite the play area we were not disturbed.Out of school holidays this site must be bliss. We used our bikes to cycle to Barmouth and an easy ride over the estuary to Dollgellau which is lovely. Dawn, one of the site wardens is helpful and all the wardens really cannot do enough for you. There is wi fi at £8 for three days which is excellent value for money. The site could not be better run and I could easily see why it is so popular. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glandaff.smith 2 reviews from this member

 This site is excellent, amazing views great facilities which are always clean and I encountered no queuing. The staff were helpful and friendly, made you feel like friends rather than customers.

The chip shop in short walking distance, top quality food at reasonable prices, a little expensive though.

The On-site shop is a little expensive.

The site overall is cheaper than those which are nearby, and has state of the art facilities.

Television points which work, piped music, CCTV cameras, even music in the toilets. Any most of all they are kept clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KirstyR 9 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 2 weeks on Trawsdir and we were extremely pleased with the site. The children 7 & 9 loved the play area and the recreational field. The shop whilst overpriced was handy for emergency milk & bread!

The toilets and showers were fantastic, clean spacious and considering it was high season with 6 showers the most I had to wait in a fortnight was 30 secs!

The site is covered with cctv which added to the safe feel the campsite offered, the view of the sea was lovely and I enjoyed taking the dog onto the dog waking field watching the waves crash in the distance.

We had a fully serviced pitch which was very sheltered from some of the bracing winds the campers seemed to suffer, and very spacious however the hardstanding on the pitches we were on was very large sharp stones and very uncomfortable under foot, it was also too sloped to run the waste into the drain but I was very pleased with the position with the lovely sea views.

The local pub 2 min walk serves average food and is quite pricey for drinks but has a games room for the children and commanding views.

The chip shop attached to the pub is fabulous well worth a visit and Gary the owner is very friendly.

Barmouth is really nice, lots to see & do unfortunately it's too far to walk from the site as are most things!

The Victoria pub is worth a visit in Taly bont and a bit further on is a great waterfall walk where the children can play in the stream. The Sands Leisure complex has entertainment on several times a week which is about a 5 min drive, the drinks were dirt cheap and the acts we saw were good for a change of scene but beware the clientele is very mixed!

Trawsdir is good value for money and worth a visit. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5410 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement