Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meyerman 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at Trawsdir, we are are caravanners & by own admission have a high expectation of site facilities. To say we were not disappointed is an understatement, the site is run effectively & maintained to the highest of standards, with superb facilities etc.

We asked for a quiet pitch away from the main the road through the site as we have 3 children under 6yrs & were allocated pitch C34. Having looked around the site I feel for a family with young children this is best area. There is a large grass area directly

Opposite your pitch which the children could play on & ride their bikes around the service road which runs around the pitch area.

There is a slight design problem with the grey water drainage on these pitches as they are raised & virtually at the same level as the caravan floor, causing some difficulty with waste drainage, however this was remedied by the site staff who cut out the raised concrete section & fixed me up with a length of rigid waste pipe, problem solved.

The only downside & its not for want of trying by the site management is the number of feral children who allowed to congregate in the facilities block in the evening, you have to questain some parental responsibility, though the security man does try to deal with it. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scuttle 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site. Very well kept and organised site. Toilet block and showers ultra modern and spotlessly clean. Good dog walking area, pub and food short walk through dog walking field. Had a super pitch and the sunsets are stunning. A little road noise but the site is more than worth it. No problem with noise at night during our visit. There is a sister site further along the road where you can access the beach easily. Will definitely return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Albatrossfs 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Trawsdir for a long weekend.

Fantastic site. Clean and tidy, staff constantly working keeping the site in ship shape condition.

Toilets and shower blocks fabulous and again kept tidy 24/7.

Close enough to Barmouth and Harlech.

You can also access the beach at their sister campsite which is a 5 minutes walk away. We were pitched on the top field, which was brilliant. Our kids we're happy with the park area.

The only negative and it's more me trying to find a negative for this campsite, I wished they would allow campers to have the opportunity to use bucket fires during the evening to keep the chill off whilst you watched the sunset over the sea. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkysmum 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a few days here last summer. Lovely little site! Each pitch is clearly marked out, I'd say about 10 square metres, with an electric and water point set in the middle of 4 pitches, so you didn't have far to go. Gorgeous views over Cardigan bay.

Adequate play park on the site for the children. Immaculate toilet/laundry/kitchen area, cleaned twice a day if I remember rightly. The new toilet block had under floor heating and Radio 2 piped in 24/7, which was lovely!

When the main toilets were cleaned, they were closed and the older toilet block opened. Inside the laundry room was a freezer where you could re-freeze your ice blocks free of charge.

The only criticism I would have is that the on-site shop didn't open until 9. 00am. Which when you've got kids wanting breakfast & not enough milk to go round was a bit frustrating!

This was last summer though, they may have changed now. If you stay here you can access the beach (on the other side of the road, not really walkable to) via their sister site, which was useful! I would recommend this site as a lovely basic site, half way between Barmouth & Talybont, perfect  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Puppy lovers 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous week and would like to say a very big 'thank you' to all the staff at Trawsdir, they work so hard to maintain the high standards of this 5 star site.

We originally planned to stay for 5 days but as the site exceeded are expectations we stayed an extra 2 days (we were lucky enough to be able to stay on the same pitch)

The whole set-up is brilliant. Toilets/showers were amazing! They are deep cleaned twice daily with additional cleaning throughout the day, I have to say they were spotless and with radio 2 playing day and night- wow! We were allocated a pitch with fantastic views at the front of the site.

At first we were a bit worried as the road was quite close, safely fenced off but the views overlooking the sea far outweigh the traffic noise, hardly any at night. We set up our tent with the entrance facing the sea and saw the most amazing sunsets.

There is a huge dog walking field which is just as well tendered as the rest of the site. (our dog loved it) Under cover washing up area, laundry facilities, shop, secure child friendly site which is only accessible by a fob (allocated on arrival)

This is probably the only site we would return to, something we have never considered/done before. If you like a really clean, well organised site with everything to hand, even a pass for access to the beach via the sister site in a fantastic location, this site ticks all the boxes and is worthy of the 5 star rating. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetstockdale 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely great campsite, very clean toilets and showers with plenty of space in the showers for people with children.

Good shop selling lots of goods at competitive prices. Fabulous Staff. A brilliant camp-site worth visiting!

And just to say the pub a walk away is great too with nice meals and a good atmosphere

The walk in to barmouth from their sister campsite is lovely, it takes about half an hour just check the tide though with the camp reception before you set off.

It's also worth a trip to the village at Porth Mirrian, great place and very interesting how it was built! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyloo38 1 review from this member

 We stayed on the front field, with electric hook up, for 2 nights/3 days. My husband and I (6months pregnant) and our 3 (nearly 4) year old. It was very very quiet. This was fine with us as it allowed our son to wander to and from the playground area safely, and we could see him from our pitch (T1). The playarea was ideal for our son. This is our 1st time camping and the site made it very easy for us. Each pitch has its own hook up, and the tap was 10 steps away. As mentioned by others, the facilities were immaculate. The key fob system works well, and gave me reassurance when visitng at 1. 30am! We didn't see much of the staff, however, when we visited the shop they were always chatty and friendly. The views front and back were amazing, and we were lucky enough to have 3 days of glorious sunshine. We did cut our holiday short by 1 day though as the forecast wasn't good for what would have been our 4th day. On our 1st evening we walked the short distance to the nearest pub. The food was lovely and fresh, however, you do have to turn a blind eye to the decor! Barmouth itself was a nice little town, the beach was lovely, however, with a little one that was all there was for him. We didn't visit the sister site mentioned on the campsite website. We would definitely visit this site again, however, would plan our days a bit better, being prepared to travel a bit further for entertainment. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jonesforce 3 reviews from this member

 Cant add much to what has been said previous, a really nice site. Just got back from one of the worst bouts of weather that I have witnessed whilst camping yet the site did not flood or get boggy, something that many other sites we have been on really would have suffered from.

We were in the front field (trailer tents cant really be dragged up the bank under the hedge at the back so if you have a TT you will probably be on the front field) it was unbelievable weather.

I don't get the shop comments previous as 8.30 - 5 (all day) is more than most sites are open for.

The operation at Trawsdir is very professional. You are taken to your pitch and given full instructions and information about the site and in fairness left to it, not big brother at all even with the obvious CCTV.

Only real grumble was the 10 seconds that the taps and showers stayed on for before you had to push again, really an unnecessary short amount of time that irritated you whether washing or showering.

Great freezing and washing facilities also on site. The cafe at the sister site was worth a visit and had a great beach.

All in all a great site which we will be visiting again, hopefully next time with half decent weather! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisap73 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Trawsdir. What a great site. The site is maintained to a very high standard and the toilet blocks were spotlessly clean whenever visited. They are closed for 2 hours, twice a day and during this time there is a smaller block to use which was equally as clean.

During our first night we encountered 20mph winds and rain to which many tents suffered. These were on the front field which have the sea views. Luckily we were pitched on the field at the back and this seemed to offer us slightly more protection from the wind.

Other than a playground for the children there is no entertainment on site, but this suits us.

Our friends had a caravan and were equally happy with the site and their pitch, although they initially had difficulty pegging down their awning on the stoned area adjacent to their caravan.

If there is to be any criticism of the site it's that the shop was open between 8.30 and 5pm and could have been useful to have had slightly longer opening times. That said, it saved us a fortune when the children wanted to go buying sweets!

All in all, wouldn't hesitate recommending this site to anyone wanting to visit this area of Wales. Its a credit to the owners. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skip1690 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site! We have just spent 3 nights here and a had a great time. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The facilities are excellent, even the 'spare' toilet and shower block that are in use when the main block is closed for cleaning, both are spotlessly clean and we found the family sized showers fab for getting the kids cleaned off after a busy day on the nearby beaches. We were pitched on pitch no. A34 which is on the top field, sheltered by the mountain, in my opinion this is the place to be. The top pitches that we were on (about six in total) are very flat due to being on a terrace and give fantastic views over the site and down to the sea. The other field (nearest the road and beach) are also in a great spot, but the strong winds coming ashore did dismantle a few canopys and windbreaks (poor pegging out???)

Each pitch had its own tap and EHU, apart from the few non serviced pitches, so no walks for water. The kids loved the play area which too was always clean and well looked after, it was also locked up from 9pm to 9am, so there was no late night or early morning noise. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement