Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Evofylde 5 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and I have nothing but good things to say. It is slightly pricey but you get exactly what you pay for.

The campsite is immaculate. Very very well maintained. Toilet facilities always clean and very modern with ample for everyone. Washing facilities for plates etc was big and again always clean and there is a laundry which had freezer capabilities.

The site is very safe with everyone being issued a key fob for entry to the site and for entry to the toilets etc, so no one can get onto the site who shouldn't be there.

There was a field for camping, plenty of static sites, glamping and we were on C27 which was hard standing and hd the perfect view of the sea. It can be windy here so be prepared and make sure you have the correct pegs for the hard standings if you are not in the field.

There was a small playground which our 2 kids loved. There was a big dog walking field and there is a perfect restaurant/chippy literally 3mins away. You can access the sister site which has access to the beach but we only did this once as there were better beaches elsewhere, but it was still very good, and is a 15min walk. The reception is well stocked and you can buy wifi, although it wasn't great, but you are warned about this before hand.

We drove to Abersoch for a day, enjoyed Harlech Castle and the most perfect beach at Harlech which is very quiet. Make sure you go there! We also visited Portmeirion and spent 2 days visiting friends in Aberdyfi, which is just 30miles away.

The site was perfect for us to explore west Wales.

I can't recommend this time site enough. Bar one grumpy lady on reception, everyone was lovely and very very helpful, especially the older man who seemed to look after the whole site (Mr Williams?).

If around this part of the country again, we will definitely visit again, as the 5 star award does it justice and more. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heysey 10 reviews from this member

 Just back from my second visit to this site and I will be going back for a third visit

This time my wife and I took our daughter and 2 granddaughters, we asked for the pitch we had on our last visit (none electric hook up)the ground is nice and flat and easy to get your pegs in the ground, The play area was well used by the granddaughters and it safe. As last time the toilets and showers immaculate and it would seem cleaned every hour the site shop has a good selection of standby items and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Just like Arnie 'I'LL BE BACK' 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ana and Shaun 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately, our visit was a bit disappointing. We stayed in a 'glamping pod'. Which was very clean and warm! Within our price was electric, heating and a TV and DVD. We noticed the DVD was broken on arrival so we popped down to reception to let someone know. Nothing was done about this. Nobody seemed bothered that we were very put out by this! The TV did not have very good signal either so I would recommend taking your own entertainment facilities.

The toilet/shower facilities were clean and well kept, my only recommendation would be that there was no cleaning equipment (i. E. Anti bacterial spray or cloths) for guests to clean up after themselves. There was also 2 occasions when I used the toilet to find there was no toilet roll in the holder. This again would not have been a problem if spare rolls were available for guests to help themselves.

Our 3 night stay was altogether lovely though, Barmouth is just a 10 minute drive and the Trawsdir site is very clean and well kept, a very friendly atmosphere too.

The site deserves it's 5 star rating. The customer service is not quite there yet! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Us nmatt 15 reviews from this member

 We will definitely be going back. 5 star facilities and the wardens (2 couples) couldn't do enough for you, every so pleasant but not 'in your face' the dog field was kept so tidy you'd think it was a back lawn rather than a dog area. Views to die for. Pitches spaced enough away from your neighbours. You can walk to the local (dog friendly) pub, the menu looked less than appealing but we were really really pleasantly surprised. But they don't do sandwiches for lunch at the weekends! We really didn't want for anything on this site although the TV reception was a little hit n miss, but the views of the sea and mountains made up for it! If the site was on the 'other side' (beach) of the road it would be perfect but then I'm sure that would be reflected in the price too. Great refuse disposal areas/TB's etc. etc. A little shop on site sold any 'essentials' but not make-up so it wasn't particularly 'glamping' for me as that was all I forgot to pack. We drove to the sister site where it's not so pretty - full of rows and rows of statics but the beach is great for the dogs to have a good run. An easy drive then to Shell Island (but we won't be rushing back - don't really know what all the fuss is about). Plus we went in their 'red' period so it worked out at just 12 per night for the 2 of us in our tourer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amara 520 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 8 days on this site, everything is immaculately clean and tidy, the warden and his wife are very friendly. All pitches are very large hard standing with individual water and grey water points, Toilets and showers are exceptional. Ground was very hard at the time of our visit so a good supply of rock pegs is advisable, as is a metal hammer as we could not get the pegs in with a rubber mallet

Very good views over the bay. Good dog walking field next to the site and access to the sandy safe beach is through the sister site (statics) about 1/2 mile away.

No fuel is available in Barmouth but there is a petrol station in Duffryn about 3 miles away. Spar shop in Duffryn has a very good fresh meat counter and to save going into Barmouth for cash offer a cash back service if paying by debit card.

Cannot recommend highly enough and we will be returning in Sept.

Very small on site shop selling milk, newspapers and a small selection of groceries and camping accessories. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emsley 4 reviews from this member

 This is perhaps the cleanest, well looked after site, we have ever stayed it, we have been several times, the showers, toilets are immaculate.

The children's play area, well looked after, secure, and all the children on the campsite made friends.

Beautiful views on all sides, mountains and the sea.

Near some lovely beached.

Cannot recommend this site enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Connolly1 10 reviews from this member

 Just had a second year here. 5 days end of June, arrived Friday weather good, Saturday gale force winds, our new vango amazon signature 600 stood up to the weather no problems. Yet again cannot fault this site, or its staff all very helpful. Site is a 5 * and is spotless. Excellent showers, toilets washup area, and laundry. Good on site shop. Pitches are big and level at the top and and the front field. We were at the back of the site, which is raised, with lovely sea views. Cannot fault this site at all. Only moan, is push button showers, every 20secs, and maybe could be an area for cleaning your dog after being on the beach etc. Overall wouldn't hesitate to return, and lots to do around the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LMTyrer 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed with husband and 2 kids on Bank Hol W/end.

I chose this site based on the reviews here, just did not feel like roughing it this weekend and was not disappointed. We arrived on the Saturday - it was that hot weekend which is half the battle. I had not realised we had booked an electric pitch but the spot was actually preferable. Located at the back of site, well sheltered but still great views. Lots of space to pitch 2 x 2man tents.

Downside was stony pitch meant we have a few bent pegs now. Staff really friendly and helpful. When packing up we accidentally smashed our boot window with a kiteboard. It was starting to rain but the lovely man there came over and helped grumpy hubby make a temp repair - outstanding!

There is a little shop in reception with essentials and a pub complete with chippy within walking distance. Toilets are really clean and showers nice and warm (could do with that timer being a bit longer though).

We visited the local huge beach which is a walk through the sister campsite. Also visited Barmouth, cracking little town but get there early to park. Great location for families with young children.

Would definitely go again and use as a base to visit beautiful local areas. It isn't the cheapest site but you do get what you pay for here. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 lovely peaceful days. It was very quiet, only a handful of people, but the facilities were top notch & the welcome warm. We also got an absolute bargain, taking advantage of their 3 nights for the price of 2 (sept/oct offer).

We took a pitch next to the dog field, giving us a fantastic view, especially of the sunset every evening over the sea. The toilets & showers were the best I've had in the last 2 years, underfloor heating, piped radio 2 & large roomy shower cubicles with sinks & enough room to have a shower & dry yourself without everything getting soaked. The dishwashing area had massive windows looking out to sea, a view it would seem impossible to tire of.

The dog field was massive, great for exercising them. And best of all, there was a pub lying at the other side of it, and not only that, but the path is lit at night so you can safely find your way back, even after a few pints. The pub itself was a bit bland, not exactly the traditional village local, but the food ok, and it served alcohol so did the job.

Not a lot round here is open in October, but Davy Jones locker is a lovely little cafe in Barmouth, & there's a gorgeous tea shop in Harlech that blends its own tea, has amazing selection of tea with a terrace overlooking the castle (Cemlyn tea shop). The nearby site with statics for hire (caerddaniel) is a sister site & you can access the beach via the site, which makes a lovely walk.

Overall this site was exactly what we were after, great views, more luxurious facilities than most places, peace, quiet & great staff. All in all a perfect place to chill! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemmae 2 reviews from this member

 Four of us (2 adults, a three and a four year old) stayed at the site for 4 days at the end of August.

This site is fantastic!

We had booked to come earlier in the year, but had camped elsewhere for several days first. During this time, our tent lost its battle against the Welsh weather and completely fell apart. I rang this site and explained and they were happy to move my booking (even at such short notice) to another time. I was really pleased about this.

When we arrived, the gentleman who showed us to our pitch was friendly and helpful. Our pitch was on the front line as it were, overlooking the sea. There was a road running alongside the site which we were close to, but it wasn't really very noisy.

There was plenty of space for our little ones to run around whilst we put the tent up. The pitch was flat and well maintained, although a bit stoney, you need a mallet!

The on site playground was good for the children and the shop was well stocked and had everything we needed, even big tv screens with weather information!

The shower, toilet and washing up facilities were the best we've seen. They were clean all the time, nice hot showers but not too hot, plenty of space in the undercover pot washing area, the toilets were spotless!

The weather was atrocious for a couple of days but the site didn't flood. It did get very windy however, being sited on a hill above the sea. Our tent is a strong one but weaker tents were struggling to hold up to the winds.

All in all a 5* site with excellent facilities! We will certainly be returning. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement