Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Park Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Cromer > Forest Park Holiday Park > Reviews

Forest Park Holiday Park
Northrepps Road
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0JR
Tel: 01263 513290
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 167
Open: 17/03/2024 to 14/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
                8/10 from 151 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babana 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of the school summer holidays. We were two parties (with a pup tent each) pitched next to each other. We specifically asked for pitches next to each other (with ehu) when booking a few months ago. Officially you cannot arrive until 3pm but I called the day before and as our pitches were currently vacant we were able to arrive from midday which was helpful.

I found a the customer service from booking over the phone, to check in on arrival, to reporting a blocked toilet etc. To be superb. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

The site is a little slopey but still perfectly fine for tents. We overlooked a large grassy area towards the play area which was lovely. It did rain a few times that we were there but the field drained well and it never got muddy under foot.

It it a lovely walk to Overstrand from the site and I would recommend the Cliff Top Cafe there.

The club house, play areas and pool were a hit with our children and the shop is fully stocked with all you might need.

I was impressed with the toilet/shower block which were cleaned regularly and the showers were always lovely and warm when I used them. The washing up area was clean with hot water.

As it was school holiday time the site was busy with lots of children, bikes and others like us in small parties. However, by 11pm the site was pretty much silent. There was no late night noise at all or early morning come to think of it.

This is super site, especially for families. It is in a lovely location and the staff ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 24 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and we were extremely disappointed. For us, the site does not come anywhere near the write-up it gets on their website. I'm not sure when this site was last reviewed for it's 4 star rating but in my opinion I think it would not achieve that if rated now.

Plus points:-

1. Good location on the North Norfolk coast with pleasant walks through the forest and along the coast walk to Overstrand and Cromer.

2. Nice forest views. (Could not see the sea from the site).

3. Easy to find but don't rely on sat nav as this will take you down narrow country lanes unsuitable for caravans. Go through Cromer and then out towards Overstrand.

4. 16A EHU

Minus points:-

1. Pitches are very uneven, make sure you have leveling ramps as you're going to need them! I'm not sure how anyone in a tent could get anything set up.

2. Despite the site not being very busy, we were allocated a pitch very close to other caravans and close to the entrance and site road. This resulted in being woken at 6am every morning when the deliveries arrived and then by the 'traffic' of people leaving the statics to go to work.

3. The shower block was very disappointing. There are only 3 showers for a large caravan field and large tent field, and these were never hot. Despite daily complaints to reception, nothing changed the whole week we were there. The shower was even cold at 7am the day we left site. The site was not busy but I'm sure here would be queues if it was.

4. The elsan and grey waste disposal were both located in a small room at the back of the shower block. The room was accessed by 3 quite high steps which the grey waste container had to be lifted up. Quite ridiculous in my opinion as these containers get very heavy when full. There is a drain located at ground level which could easily be adapted for this waste. The disposal facility consisted of an long, open pipe to pour the waste down which was not pleasant to use. Although taps were located in the room, there were no hoses attached to enable containers to be rinsed out.

5. The only fresh water tap we could find was located at the shower block resulting in having to pull heavy water butts up hill to the pitch.

We were not impressed with this site at all and we will not be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family Man Camping 5 reviews from this member

 This is our first visit to this campsite; we booked to go over a bank holiday weekend several weeks in advance along with three other families.Using a satnav we found the site without problem, check in was quick and easy with friendly staff at reception, it is at this point you collect your pass which allows you access through the electronic barrier. Pitches were clearly marked out by white lines on the grass. We requested four serviced pitches located next to each other which is what we were given, the pitches were of a very good size catering for a six man tent with canopy, car and trailer; we even pitched a gazebo across the boundary of two pitches. Prices were typical for a bank holiday weekend at 30 a night.

Pitching tents was easy although most pitches are on some degree of a slope so if you're at the bottom of a dip the ground maybe softer. Some of our friends were directly under a very large tree which meant as the evening mist came in, their tent was receiving constant drips of water during the night.

The facilities were good, not the biggest I have used but they seemed to cope and the showers were free although hot water seemed a little sporadic. Our closest shower block and toilets included drinking water stand pipes, washing up facilities and a laundry room. The shop next to reception was a hit with our kids for sweets etc although I never actually went to buy anything; reception also offers the opportunity to refreeze ice blocks at 20 pence each.

The site has a swimming pool but we didn't use it; we did however use the small club house which serves home cooked meals at average pub prices. The main bar area is for over 14's only but there is a separate family area with dance floor and children's bar next to the main bar. There is also a small amusement arcade to keep young kids happy. We didn't visit during the evening so cannot comment on the entertainment.

The closest village is Overstrand which can be accessed down a woodland path which leads onto a country lane before joining the main road into the village, a walk to the cliff top cafe took us around 25 minutes.

Overall Forest Park is a nice site but few touring pitches seemed to be level, the weather was not kind to us but when the sun did come out the park is a pleasant place to spend some time with family and friends. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Got the tshirt 14 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, there were many positives : The toilet block near our pitch was very clean, I didn't use the showers so can't comment about those. The wash up area was spacious. The site itself was clean and attractive and the staff in reception were helpful. It was cheap for us because the season has nearly finished!

There were some negatives too : The pitches were very slopey, the pictures on the website make the site look flat and there is no warning about how slopey it is. It had obviously been wet before we arrived and the grass was extremely slippy, you basically had one chance to get on and off the pitch. The water at the wash up area was not hot enough to clean the dishes properly, not a massive problem for us as we were only staying a few nights. The pool - the water looked ok but smelt dirty and there were lots of bits floating around! There was no chloriney smell and the costumes smelt nasty when we came out which I found worrying! Also there was nowhere to get muddy shoes off as you entered the pool area and with the amount of mud on the site this led to there being mud on the pool side and in the changing rooms. We removed our wellies before entering the changing rooms but most people weren't! We had specifically booked the site because it had an indoor pool so we were quite disappointed! I did wonder if they were winding the pool down for the winter but we still had to pay the all be it small charge and for me hygiene is extremely important in pools!

The area is lovely though, we have never been to North Norfolk before and enjoyed a touring around, Cromer and Sherringham are both nice for a mooch out of season but I expect they get busy in season. We loved the beach at Overstrand too.

I don't think we would return to Forest Park to be honest but it is generally ok. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howie4305 2 reviews from this member

 I've just 3 days camping at Forest Park. We have taken our touring caravan here several and we are never disappointed. The staff are willing to help out whenever possible and the facilities are clean and warm. There are some beautiful walks and sights within walking distance of the park. Most of the static homes are kept in a perfect manor and really inspire me to own one in the future.

Overall I would say that this is one of the nicest parks in the North Norfolk area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kezza9 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to Forest Park on quite a few occasions and really like it. However I think that because it is so popular with returning customers they are not trying as hard as they could which is a shame. It is set in beautiful countryside which is a big plus. We know the pitches so always ask for the same one which is level so that is good. For people not knowing the site I can imagine it could be a problem as it is very sloping in places.

As for the toilets, the plugs are hanging off, the taps are squirting everywhere and there is a general feel of neglect. This is not a cheap site and being so popular I am sure that it could be spruced up during the quieter months. The shower fitments are rusty in places and the showers are either too hot or too cold.

My main gripe is that we cannot take our dogs into any area of the clubhouse to eat. Anyone who goes camping knows that you do not leave your dogs in the van, tent etc so where are you supposed to go?? Well this is where the lovely pub the White Horse in Overstrand comes in! It is a short walk away through the woods and the food is amazing.

So overall we love Forest Park and will definitely go back but a few minor issues really need addressing :) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Radar1 4 reviews from this member

 This site is located on the East side of Cromer and is ideally located for beaches and local attractions. It is situated in a wooded area hence the name. Access is very good but if travelling on the A149 DO NOT turn off before you reach the edge of Cromer as the road is a single track and not really suitable for Caravans or Campervans. Be prepared for a busy couple of hours on arrival as you are most likely to spend sometime levelling your rig as the site is very uneven and has many sloping areas. I also found the waste water disposal is at the Chemical waste disposal point and is accesed up a slippery wooden slope. It is also necessary to lift the water hog up onto an 8' step. Not to easy if full!

Apart from that the site has a good clubhouse and an indoor pool. The clubhouse also provides kids entertainment free and it also provides catering and bar services. The meals we found were very good value but the eating area is a bit basic. The site also tries to provide free WiFi but it is very patchy and even in the club it is poor. I suspect this is not the sites fault rather their internet provider. There is also a well stocked shop which provides fresh produce.

I found all of the staff very pleasant and approachable. This in my opinion would be an great site if the pitches were leveled or even terraced. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Noone 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a really enjoyable holiday at Forest Park. We were not shown to our pitch but they may have been due to having other friends there already.

The pitch was huge, plenty of room for our tent and porch and 2 cars. We were on a very slight slope which didn't cause any problems but there were much more steep slopes on the other side, which I'm sure would have done.

All pitches are fairly close to a shower block. Our shower block was very clean all the time, one of the cleanest we've used. For the first 4 days however the gent's showers were cold (or invigorating as I tried to convince my 5 year old!), but the last 2 days I managed to shower before 7. 30am which helped.

I only popped into the shop on our last morning but it seemed fairly well stocked. The bar and restaurant was a little old fashioned but clean enough. There was only entertainment on Thurs-Sun. The food was pretty impressive but not a huge choice, and average pub prices.

The pool was ok to good. A smaller area for tots but I thought the lifeguard was over zealous when he wouldn't let my little ones jump in from the side, which is something they love doing, but I suppose I can't complain for being safe!

There are a couple of play areas for the kids but plenty of space for them to play their own games.

he location is great for access to the north North coastline. We visited Mundesley, Overstrands and Cromer beaches all within a short drive and Wells Next The Sea was about a 45-50 mins drive.

I had no real interaction with the staff so can't really comment on them.

Overall we had a great time at the site, mainly due to the company and outings, but the cleanliness and space also played a part. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: ZarZu 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed for a week on this site, in a large Trailer tent. We were shown to the pitch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean but was a problem with the showers being hot, but there were notices for this, in case of scalding issues.

The pitch was on a slight slope but was manageable and didn't bother us. The site is very dog friendly and plenty of dog walking areas, with plenty of bins.

There is a swimming pool on site and a restaurant but we never went in but were told they are good by the friendly campers near us.

The on site shop is very good and well stocked and responsible priced.

The view from the Dell was an excellent view of the beach, we were told there was a walkway to the beach but never found it.

Would I go back? Definitely. I'm looking to book for 2016. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LeoLou 1 review from this member

 We have come to this site many times, almost every year! Why? Because it has everything we need for a family holiday, large pitches cos we have quite a big van, plenty of room for awning and doesn't feel crowded, lovely views over the site with trees around the camping area and a forest walk that We haven't fully explored yet. We can walk to the beach at Overstrand and it's only a 2 mile walk into Cromer too. There's plenty of facilities, shop, Club house with bar and food, family room and an indoor pool. Most of the time we don't leave the site, just an occasional trip to the supermarket.

Cromer has expanded since we first went so plenty of places to get supplies and there a useful camping shop in West Runton down the road.

We have enjoyed every holiday here and the staff are lovely everywhere, there is only one slight negative that wouldn't ever put us off going and that's the food in the bar, it's not the greatest but the chips are nice! 


Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forest Park Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Forest Park Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Park Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Forest Park Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement