Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Park Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Cromer > Forest Park Holiday Park > Reviews

Forest Park Holiday Park
Northrepps Road
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0JR
Tel: 01263 513290
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 167
Open: 17/03/2024 to 14/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
                8/10 from 151 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alison634 5 reviews from this member

 Quite a large site, lots of spaces and lots of room, a different story maybe when its high season or holidays. Very friendly staff with information about where to go for walks etc. Lots of facilities on site which is brilliant for family holidays with children as everyone would be catered for.

We found that there was quite a lot of 'screaming children' as there was no need for families to go out and about as there was a swimming pool, games room, bar etc and so it had a bit of a holiday camp feel as opposed to a caravan site for exploring.

Lots of wooded areas to walk and a lovely ( quite long) walk into Overstrand. Brilliant site for families, bit too busy for couples wanting a quiet time! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deepsea doris 2 reviews from this member

 This is a large friendly site.The main tent field is quite sloping but not to an extent that would spoil your stay.Pitches are of a decent size and close to most facilities.

The toilet/shower blocks are of very differing standards,one closed,one in need of tlc and the new block which is excellent. We also found the cleaning times to be most inconvenient at around 8am.

The pool is ok size wise and the charge small however the pool, surrounds and changing rooms were dirty and did not seem to have any attention in the week that we stayed. The shop is well stocked and we found shop and reception staff to be helpful.

Overall this has the potential to be a fantastic site it just needs sprucing up a bit and a good scrub. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsSJT 3 reviews from this member

 We were a little confused about our pitch when we got there but a return visit to the reception soon sorted that out. Reception was quiet (though we were late after the journey from hell) and we pitched the tent quickly, as the ground wasn't too hard, although sloping.

Unfortunately the weather was terrible a majority of the time that we were there and we had to go out and check the ropes a couple of times as we thought we were going to blow away!

The kids (6 & 8 years) loved the site lots of swings (some right outside our tent)lots of woodland to explore and no worries about where they were or what they were doing. Visited the swimming pool a few times which they also enjoyed though it was rather busy both times.

My only real complaint would be the showers, there really isn't enough of them (3 per block) and a couple of times we had to queue to use them and then they were intermittently running well and then trickling, probably because someone had a tap on elsewhere which reduced the pressure.

Could also have used a mop and bucket being left in there as due to the weather everyone and everything was covered in mud. We bought a long handled squidgee from a pound shop and cleaned before we got in there. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MISHMASH 1 review from this member

 Massive site, but the pitches are close together and hard to find as the pitch numbers are on the ground. It can get a bit noisy at night. 2 Toilet/shower blocks were open (1 was closed for maintenance). The one we used was clean enough although the times for cleaning was between 8am and 10am.

The swimming pool was ok even though we went in for a adult only session and got out after 15 mins as the attendant let some children in. The pool & changing area could do with a good clean and some updating.

We didn't use the club house so cant really comment but if you are going for the entertainment, check before you go as it was only on at weekends

The road train to Cromer is very handy (6 for a family ticket 2 adults 2 kids return) but does get filled up quick so get there early. Taxis to/from Cromer cost between 6 & 8 return.

Site shop is well stocked but a little on the expensive side. Overall this site is in a lovely part of the country and has a lot of potential.

All the staff we dealt with were pleasant enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smudges 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site and was not impressed. We stayed a full week and only had hot water for washing up on the last day, but then the showers were cold instead. The toilet facilities advertised on the webiste are not on the touring field and they only provided two toilet blocks for he whole touring side of the park.

The showers are push button showers and either trickle out when other people are using the other two showers or flood the changing area. The changing area only has two hooks on the door and no where for you to put your clothing.

The toilet blocks are cleaned twice daily but at the most inconvenient times, first thing in the morning or after lunch. It would have been nice if a mop and bucket was provided so people could clean the showers after use as they got very muddy. The noise from the club house could be heard on the friday and saturday night and we weren't either in the field next to it.

The website advertises it has wifi but can only be used in the clubhouse and their are no electric sockets for you to plug in your computers. It also advertises a pool but does not state that you have to pay, my friends and I went swimming with the children and after 45 mins the attendant said it was closing and everyone had to get out. The children were very upset and we did not go back. At least have two attendants rotating so the pool does not have to close at peak times.

The touring field in places is on a steep slope and this was very unpleasant for the children as they kept rolling out of bed. We were very lucky with the weather and when it did rain the one good thing about the site was that it drained very well, no leaks or rivers.

On one night we ran out of gas whilst cooking he children's dinner, the assistant in the shop was very disagreeable and not helpful insisting reception was closed and we had to wait till morning. Fortunately a member of staff was on call and we used the emergency phone where the gentleman was very helpful and apologetic for the service we had received.

Overall a satisfactory site but if you are after somewhere quiet where you can relax this is not the place. We will not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjc1803 14 reviews from this member

 Forest Park is in a fantastic location to access Norfolk and Suffolk with their glorious beaches.

Our first impressions were tarnished by the unfriendly reception member who obviously hated her job and even when we returned after we pitched to find out further information relating to the facilities on site the word 'don't know' was the favourite saying.

The site itself needs vast improvements. Immediately it would be ideal if the pitches were clearly marked out instead of just concrete slab that everyone was ignoring, making the identification of your pitch perimeters a nightmare. Yes the site is slopey in parts but doesn't hinder your stay. There are a number of fields to camp on depending on what type of unit you have with play areas in the middle which the children loved.

The toilet / shower facilities need updating, if they were like the facilities on Beach View field, you would be very impressed. You can use any of the toilet / shower facilities via an access card provided upon arrival, and it is definitely worth a walk to the Beach View facilities.

The swimming pool is basic, but the kids loved it. Very shocked to see that we had to pay considering these prices were not mentioned on their website. 1 for adults, 50p for children and 20p for spectators, although this was not very strict. Late swimming was also available 6pm to 8pm for families and alternative evenings for adults only. However, if these wasn't busy or empty then families were sometimes allowed in. The female lifeguard was lovely and extremely helpful.

The bar / restaurant / entertainment area is another area that needs improving. The adults section is lovely and welcoming, the children's section reminds you of a school hall with rows of tables clustered together. Very dated, dingy and dark. Broken glass was scattered around the outside table and chairs - would only take 2 seconds to clear it up, but remained there all week. Although they were advertising entertainment the only entertainment we saw was Mr Fox walking about one evening. Saying that we only ventured over there for one evening on arrival for food, but did walk past on a number of occasions to see what was happening. The food was ok, but wouldn't hurry back.

Its definitely worth checking what pitch you are on before you go as it can be noisy by the toilet / shower facilities at night especially when 3 fields are using one block due to 2 being closed for modernisation - although no work was being undertaken whilst we was there for a week!

Supermarket was only 2 miles down the road - Morrisons / Co-op. However the on site store was well stocked and covered the basics and more.

The beach at Overstand was only a 20 minute walk and definitely worth a visit - non commercial. Cromer beach is again around the corner and can be accessed either by foot, walk or via the train that provides journey across the town and along the promenade.

Would we return to this site - probably not. The site itself is a gold mine that does need modernising and can be fantastic if more care was taken with it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blackmc73 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very large site with the majority of the pitches being on the small side and sloping.

There are a lot of facilities here but the up keep could be improved upon. We found that broken hairdryers were still in need of repair to 2 months later, on our second visit. Please note we did not intend on coming back here the second time but it was a freebie as the first time there was no hot water in one of the shower blocks for a whole weekend.

We found the site very noisy at night, especially when busy, when its quiet midweek the atmosphere is much more pleasant and enjoyable. The swimming pool was okay and the clubhouse served a decent meal and drinks and at a reasonable price.

The location is great if you want to take in the North Norfolk coastline, can't fault it there. To summarise this could be a great site, but they seem to struggle with maintenance when its busy, I think its too large for them to manage effectively at busy times ie. Bank Holidays and summer holidays, which is a real shame. I've marked it low for facilities not for the lack of them but for the standard of them. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Urabus 8 reviews from this member

 We had a long weekend at this site last summer with 5-year old and two dogs. The stay started well with reception having our on-line booking and giving us good information and directions. Unfortunately another camper had taken our allocated space, reception staff quickly found us another pitch.

Whole site was clean and tidy. Site shop was well stocked. Indoor pool was excellent. Our dogs lover walkies in the surrounding woodland. We only had two minor criticisms - We were a little too close to the clubhouse and the noise made it difficult to get a 5-year to sleep (maybe a quieter area should be offered as an option for families) - The pool needed longer opening hours.

The site is well placed for visiting North Norfolk's beaches although with shop, clubhouse, pool, play areas and surrounding woodland you could easily just stay on site. Overstrand is just about walking distance from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lottie6876 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a caravan in May Halfterm with 3 children aged 9-12yrs.

Booking and reception staff really friendly. Given pitch number when we arrived and each pitch had a mark of where to place wheels of caravan which was handy. The field we stayed on was level.

The shower block we used was always clean and tidy - no mud on the floor! An access card was needed for entry to the block which was great. The 4 washing up sinks weren't cleaned though for the 3 days we were there.

Facilities were good - swimming pool was lovely, lifeguard on duty and price was very reasonable. (1 adults and 50p children) there was also a pool side shop selling inflatables and goggles, etc. Didn't use the bar so cannot comment. Shop was a brilliant facility and stocked food items, toiletries, gifts, toys and camping equipment. Staff friendly - would definitely go back again.

Cromer was a short drive - traditional seaside and Northrepps is a lovely village with some nice walks. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrandmrsH 3 reviews from this member

 Second stay here, had an excellent time, booked the same pitches as last time so didn't have the levelling worry.

Didn't use the clubhouse, the shop does excellent pastries for breakfast but get there early!

The walks and the two easily accessible towns (Cromer and Overstrand) are nice, cromer has some nice cafes. Overstrand beach is ok, check out the tide times though, spent a while in the park at the top of the hill waiting for some decent beach! It was nice to have a picnic here though, oh and the ice cream van did some great ice lollies!

The toilet block we had closest to us was quite new, could do with being cleaned a bit more often to maintain it's 'new' feel but it was clean enough. It is a really nice site that was deadly silent (apart from adults enjoying a quiet glass of wine) by about 2100. The atmosphere of this site is lovely, really relaxing and not pretentious or offensive.

Overall an excellent campsite and we will hopefully be going back in Aug! 


Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forest Park Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Forest Park Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Park Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Forest Park Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3722 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement