Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Park Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Cromer > Forest Park Holiday Park > Reviews

Forest Park Holiday Park
Northrepps Road
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0JR
Tel: 01263 513290
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 167
Open: 17/03/2024 to 14/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
                8/10 from 151 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tillythepink 1 review from this member

 Having stayed at Forest park in a tent in previous years, my husband and I chose the site for our caravan this year, taking our children and both sets of parents, and with an age range of 8-72 this site had something for everyone. For the kids there are is a variety of play equipment (probably best suited to children above 5 except for the set by the clubhouse, which also caters for younger children), which were dotted around the site so no matter where you're pitched there is something nearby. There is a swimming pool on site, which is small and basic, but does have a toddler pool as well as a larger pool for swimming and inflatable balls were welcomed, and it is clean and cheap with changing and shower facilities. In the evenings the club has a large family room which does have entertainment in the season, although not in the first two weeks of July when we visited. There is also a small 'arcade' room with a selection of games that the kids loved. For adults there is a child free (no under 14s) bar at the club that had bingo and a pub quiz (which we won!) on the friday night, and live acts on the Saturday, and meals are pleasant pub-grub with a reasonable selection and staff were very informed and helpful about food allergies (including providing me with a list of all restaurants and takeaways that provide gluten free food in Cromer and Sherringham). Prices were reasonable for eating in, but I felt that takeaway prices were a bit eye-watering. The whole family enjoyed the number of woodland walks you can take through and around the site (we walked into Overstrand which was a beautiful walk), and maps are freely available from the shop. In terms of amenities, the toilet blocks were always clean and the showers were nice and hot, but not overhot as some reviewers have commented, so perhaps this problem has been fixed. Washing up facilities are provided though the water was a little cold, and there is a laundry room with coin operated washing machines and dryers. The shop was large and well stocked, albeit a little pricey but no more so than most camp shops, and for larger purchases there are a number of supermarkets within a short drive. The site itself is large, attractive, and well-maintained. There are some sloped areas, which didn't affect us in a caravan, but might be a little uncomfortable for more than a couple of nights, but the staff can advise you about this when booking (we have camped in a tent here before), and are also very accommodating if you have a preference for a particular area of the site for any reason (we wanted to be near the toilet block due to having a disabled family member). You can walk into Cromer from the site (just over a mile I think) or to Overstrand if you fancy a longer walk, and Sherringham is easy to reach by car (and take the Steam train to Holt for the day - great fun!). Overall, I would highly recommend this site. It's beautiful, clean and welcoming, and for a family holiday really caters well for everyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 4Bessie 2 reviews from this member

 This could have been a lovely place to stay, but the owners do not spend any money on the camping facilities. The shower block even now does not have any hot water, for most of the time. You have to walk to another block in another field to have a warm shower. This has been problems for years and has not been sorted out. The camping field had holes in, and the drive on was very muddy. Not good enough, especially for 30 per night! The staff tried to help, but they did not have the authority to sort it out, especially within the week.

Of all the money they raise from the statics, caravans and tents, this site could be great. The club house was good, it had a games room for kids and adults, the shop on site was good. It was quiet most nights. You can walk to the beach, but part of the route is along the main road, so be careful with children. We will return if it improves. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Startrekking 2 reviews from this member

 A large and facility packed site.

Efficient check in and quick but informative info update.

Clean shower & toilet blocks.

Nice touches are the clubhouse (if that's your thing), well stocked shop and a coved swimming pool.

Good play areas for the kids and lots of dog walking.

20 min walk to Overstrand beach, which is lovely.

Now the howevers :

Most pitches are on slopes

Free wifi doesn't cover the entire site (wifi isn't the be all and end all for a camping holiday, but with young kids it can be a lifesaver early in the morning)

Hot water is almost all gone by 10am

Pool gets a little mucky by the end of the day.

Lots of roads crossing the site, most people abide by the speed limit (some don't) 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Knocky82 1 review from this member

 We had a powered pitch in the main tent area. A really nice pitch though on a slight decline with the regulation spacing between pitches. The toilet blocks are lovely, warm, clean with powerful hot showers. These have recently been modernised and are cleaned on a regular basis.

We haven't been able to use the pool as its still out of season so can't comment but have used the restaurant which is certainly no frills food but friendly helpful staff make up for that. Ish.

We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funnybone 3 reviews from this member

 A fantastic family site. We were pitched around the edge of the field in a spacious, electric pitch and the kids had lots of space to play. There are two shower blocks and a lot of mention has been made of very hot showers. There were signs up warning water could get hot, but we didn't experience problems during our stay. The park is very family friendly, with a fairly decent park, good evening entertainment for the kids (not arcade type stuff, family disco etc) and a good sized pool which didn't seem to get too busy. Others have mentioned the shower cleaning times but it was between 10 and 11 ish whilst we were there, which I think is reasonable and there is a second block a short walk away if needed. Toilet paper is like gold dust first thing in the morning but got restocked pretty quickly before the majority of people awoke. The site is situated next to a forest walk, which was great for fun at dusk with torches, nature spotting. The site is near Cromer, which is worth a visit for crabbing but we preferred the beach at overstrand, as it was less rocky, The on site shop was larger than expected and well stocked. All in all, a great site and we will definitely return next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 13 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. The woodland walks were fantastic for the kids and the dog. The pitch sizes were ample and there is lots of space around the park for the kids to play although the playground facilities weren't really ideal for our 2 and 4 year olds as apart from the one outside the pub they were more geared towards older children.

I found the shower temperatures fine but the hot water at the pot wash was scalding hot.

The location is fantastic as there are lots of places nearby to visit. We went to Cromer, crab fishing at Blakeney, amazing beach at wells and the sealife centre in great yarmouth. The staff in the shop and reception were really friendly and knowledgeable about places to visit.

Overall this is at the top of our list for places we have visited and although we don't normally like to return to the same places we are considering going back again next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kokie 18 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 4 nights at Forest Park. The site is really nice well laid out, although quite sloping. We had tent pitch 15 which was fairly level.

Site has good facilities, plenty for the kids to do, with craft entertainment and other organised activities. Shop is well stocked and will re-freeze blocks but they do charge for this. Club was nice thought the food was a bit pricey but it did look nice. Used the swimming pool which was excellent and a nice bonus to have.

Comments have been made regarding the water - I did experience one very hot shower - but my second shower the water was a reasonable temperature. Could do with a few more sinks for washing up - but that is a minor thing.

Cromer and Sherringham are both nearby.

Overall this is an excellent site I would have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merlinthehammer 1 review from this member

 Excellent site in a great location 5 minutes from Cromer. Well maintained fields ( we had an electric grass pitch) with generous pitches for even the largest tents. Some of the site is sloping, but nothing too alarming.

Plenty to do locally, including Cromer and Sheringham nearby.

Indoor pool is excellent, only 1 for adults and 50p for our toddler. Younger children have to be accompanied by parents etc - this didn't suit everybody but is a sensible rule.

Clubhouse is friendly; good fast service, the food is 'pub grub' but is fresh and tasty. It doesn't allow dogs inside and that is clearly the correct decision - however there is plenty of outdoor seating (not enough shade out there from the sun in our view though).

We were there during term time, midweek, and it was very quiet. However, other campers said it had been quite raucous over the weekend as a large all male party was allowed to camp near them, and the obscenities and noise levels were very loud through into the early hours. In our view, this is one of the quickest ways to kill off all your regular / reasonable trade.

Only one real downside - the shower block adjacent to the camping field. The showers did not maintain pressure or temperature. The temperature in particular varied without warning from freezing to boiling hot (we are talking too hot to reach in and wet a flannel, never mind stand under it). Reception were seriously in denial about this matter when challenged.

This is not simply a matter of disregard for campers and their children, who could so easily be scalded. It is a Health & Safety violation and requires full urgent remedial action.

This aside, an excellent site which we will no doubt visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cookjpr 2 reviews from this member

 A good welcome from reception, pitch was very uneven electric box was broken and lying on the floor and it also needs to be 16 amps not 10 amps, we were all on top of each other but there should be at least 3 metres apart, we did complain about the electric 4 times then a warden came a day before we were leaving.

Pub food was just ok service was too laid back and our food came out in dribs and drabs. The children on the site looked to be having a great time entertainment in the club house, play area, swimming pool but the water looked a bit cloudy.

The worst part were the showers disgusting! I never saw one cleaner I did find a shower block that was a bit better than the other blocks but they were still dirty, hair in the plug hole and it had been there all week I was there, I know it's not just the shower facilities it's the people that use them as well.

I notice it had a David Bellamy award which made me laugh I will not be staying here again, sorry 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Banquo1972 2 reviews from this member

 I have mixed feelings about our visit to this camp site.

On the positive side, it is a lovely location. The facilities are good and are clean. The staff are friendly (mainly. )

The Forest is fantastic and it has lots of places to explore. Cromer is lovely - with lots of character.

Unfortunately, there are some bad points! When you arrive, you will be given a tag for your tent/ caravan. On the back it says that excessive noise will not be tolerated. Do not believe a word of that! We had a very noisy, rude family next to us - playing loud music, swearing & screaming until 1am. No-one was there to enforce this rule and when the family was asked if they would mind being more quiet - you can guess the reaction! The couple next to us left after one night of a 3 night stay due to this.

I know that people get excited when they go on holiday and everyone should be allowed to have a good time. But this should not be to the detriment of others. I believe this camp site has failed in it's duty by not enforcing the rule.

Secondly, the club breakfast. Avoid at all costs! The club was opened late and no menus were available for the breakfast. No preparation was made at all. The service was pretty poor and I have taken up a further issue directly with Forest park via their feedback form!

I would not recommend this site for children based on our experience of noise. There is no way they are going to sleep! But this may have been bad luck on our part! 


Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forest Park Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Forest Park Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Park Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Forest Park Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement