Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Park Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Cromer > Forest Park Holiday Park > Reviews

Forest Park Holiday Park
Northrepps Road
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0JR
Tel: 01263 513290
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 167
Open: 17/03/2024 to 14/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 151 Reviews
                8/10 from 151 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali_h 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site twice now and this is what we thought:

The reception staff are helpful although the pitches aren't clearly marked and both times we have been on a slope and had falling out of bed issues!

The toilets are showers are not too bad and you access them by swiping a card at the door which is a good idea.

The shop is great, well stocked and very reasonably priced.

We had a takeaway from the clubhouse restaurant and it was very good and a good price.

We didn't use the pool as it looked pretty busy but it is nice to have the facility there.

The one thing we weren't happy with was the noise at night, although it states the noise must be at a minimum after 10pm it wasn't as three nights we have been kept awake by partying neighbours. Security just seems to drive round with his windows shut totally unawares. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roymitchell3 3 reviews from this member

 Camped on the main tent field in Auust 2009 for 5 nights with my wife and 2 kids. The site's facilities were quite good, particularly the shop. The toilets and showers weren't bad, but could have done with more regular cleaning. The showers were too hot, meaning my daughter couldn't use them at all.

However, the main problem was the BIG problem with rowdy behaviour at night. This site did not get quiet until AT LEAST 12.30, and little was done about it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suebear 7 reviews from this member

 This was possibly not the right site for us, and though I wouldn't rule out returning, we would try somewhere new first.

This is our first season camping for some time, and our first with our toddler. We camped at the Bank Holiday weekend.

We were on the (cheaper) overflow field, over the road from the main site and facilities. There were no pitch numbers but pitches were clearly defined, and you chose on arrival. The site was full, with 45 pitches sharing three male/three female toilets and only two showers for the ladies.

We struggled a bit to get our setup on the pitch right - mostly due to our inexperience I think, and as such felt a bit cramped. Our pitch location was near the exit to the site, so not great for our escaping toddler, and as there were defined roadway / pitches, cars travelled perhaps slightly faster than on other sites where we have stayed. The 'quiet lane' on the other side of us at times felt like a unmapped offshoot of the M25, perhaps a pitch on the other side would have been better, however these were very exposed.

Despite my worries at the thought of 'porta loo's' they were in fact very clean (they were the trailer type), and as the showers were electric, there was always hot water - result! We did use the facilities on the main site, and they were in a different league. They were just about to be cleaned, but aside from the large amounts of loo roll everywhere, and overflowing bins, they were a bit old and dingy looking. The showers did not look inviting. The main site was full to bursting ( so glad were were on the overflow field!) and therefore I think the blocks should have been cleaned twice a day, or a least tidied a bit!

Aside from road noise, our end of the site was quiet at night - there were people coming and going over to the club house, and lots of doors slamming on cars etc when people returned from a meal out. However at the other end of the site, it was noisy with ball games by head light and one family with a loud stereo, turned down as security drove past, going till well past 11pm.

The site shop was quite reasonable for emergency milk purchases, and the bacon was nice. They didn't sell tent pegs, which was a shame as we bent around a third of ours as the ground was so hard and stony. They also ran out of the croissants I had been looking forward to following other reviews on here, on the Sunday, so none for our Monday 'pack up' breakfast.

We didn't use the club house, but we did use the pool. It was closed on the Sunday due to 'mechanical error' (if you believe the sign), 'staff not cleaning it properly' (if you believe the cook) or 'always closed on a sunday (if you believe the security guard) - no prize for guessing the correct answer, but frustrating if that was one of the reasons you used to justify the extra cost of this site. It was open on the Monday. We were surprised that it cost extra - 1 per adult, 50p per child, 20p per spectator. There were no lockers and only one shower, and two changing cubicles. A lot of people nipped off in their dressing gowns - been before I think! The pool was a nice temperature, but there was lots of hair floating in it, and the water was murkey you could not see your hands when held by your side and we only stayed in 10 mins at the most. I'm sure the place got cleaned, but I just felt like I wanted to give it a good scrub.

We drove into Cromer and parked for free on the road, but plenty of people walked, we didn't fancy the narrow road with no pavement with a pram, but there may have been a better route.

To be honest, if our children were a bit older, then this site could be for us in theory - lots of places to cycle, good children's play equipment, the possibility of a pool, some early evening entertainment (I think there was a children's disco / karaoke or similiar on) and no requirement to get a toddler to sleep, but for now, they need to spend some money updating their facilities if they want us back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marauders 2 reviews from this member

 A very big site. Reception was helpful, pointing out our pitch. Decent enough pitch sizes, but ours was on a slope, not really that much of a problem, but a pain nonetheless. Good clean toilets and showers and lots of them in blocks around the site. Blocks are card accessed with no deposit necessary. We thoroughly enjoyed this site as the children had the swimming pool and the forestry around them, felt very safe to allow them to go on their own adventures as the 3 of them are over 10. Great beach at Cromer. Site shop is excellently stocked with reasonable prices. Make sure you get the local farm smoked bacon and hot fresh baguettes in the morning. Morrisons is only a 10 min drive from site if you need more. Well lit at night, for those 2am dog walks! Would definitely return to site, but hey, I am a tourer! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whisk4eva1974 3 reviews from this member

 Forest Park was great.

The staff were nice & helpful.

The park was spotlessly clean & very well maintained.

If we had to be picky it would have been the fact that where we were pitched on an incline & near the road & although we asked if we could be moved it wasn't possible as there wasn't any other available pitches, so we just had to make do & get on with it. It did our heads in at first being on a slope, but we managed.

The ground was excellent for pitching & when we were putting our tent away it wasn't even wet underneath as it drained very well, even though we had some rain.

We were near one of the parks on the site which the kids loved. It is a very open campsite & we didn't feel at all closed in.

We had a key card to get into the shower blocks which were a brilliant idea. The showers were clean, but were a bit hit & miss with regards to the fact that they were either too hot or too cold. The launderette was great too.

The clubhouse was ok. There is a games room at the clubhouse which has got a nice selection of arcade games. The Bingo was fun & the karaoke was good. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food.

The site shop was good & had everything you needed which you may have forgotten, but was expensive.

The swimming pool is only open at certain times & although it's small the kids enjoyed themselves & it wasn't that dear at all to go in.

The forest walks are lovely.

Mundesley Beach is ok for a visit, but be warned the toilet facilities were absolutely disgusting and made me gag because of the smell.

Great Yarmouth was absolutely lovely, Very Very clean & a lovely feel to the place. Sarah's Tea Room is a must if you like good old fashioned home-made food & a nice bit of nostalgia.

Great Yarmouth has Amusements, Fun Fair, Crazy Golf, Go-Carts etc etc.

We never had a bad nights sleep on the site, we found it quiet.

We are returning in July 2011 as we really enjoyed it & we are going on electric this time which is just fantastic & the pitches are flat! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pjas 2 reviews from this member

 Smooth check in, helpful staff. Pitches were of a very good size however, very lumpy and on a noticeable slope.

Toilets and showers adequate, sometimes looked a little grubby though. The worst bugbear was to use the swipe card every time any member of the party wanted to use the facilities. Many times got half way to the loos only to find I had to go back to get the card. Only one card given per tent.

Pool was fine for a quick dip/swim. Bar had a nice atmosphere, again staff very friendly. Didn't eat on site so can't comment however, freshly baked croissant from the shop were lovely.

Site is in a nice area with access via a footpath to Overstrand beach. (approx. 20-30 mins walk).

Would use site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juby 1 review from this member

 Stayed for three nights, arrived May bank holiday Sunday. Pitches aren't too clearly marked, reception pointed us in general direction but from there on it was guesswork and helpful neighbours. Have to echo previous concerns, pitch slopey in most areas so go armed with blocks for table legs and cushions to pack under sleeping mats etc.

Can be a noisy site (emptied out on bank holiday Mon and rain seemed to put still more in the mood for home). Depends what you are looking for, but if like us you have young children and want a few relaxing and peaceful days, I'd advise steering clear of electrical hook-up pitches. Excitable late night board games and tipsy gatherings are one thing, we're camping after all and people want to enjoy spending time with their friends and family, but I draw the line when people expect to sit in their tent with TV or music belting out and did pity their neighbours.

Toilets and showers are OK, nice new block with parent and child room tucked away in area to side of reception, well worth searching out. Keycard system in operation, one per family can make life difficult for larger families but reception can offer you extra when they are available. Eldest daughter excited to find a socket for hair straighteners and mobile in pot wash near club house so if you want to use socket yourself get there early to beat the teenagers to it.

The pool was indeed very cold, small, and does fill up quickly, but mine loved it. Three year old loved the club house and food was Ok, do not make same mistake as us and choose to eat early whilst entertainment was in swing, not unless armed with earplugs anyway.

Staff on site are helpful, in fact even with a bit of noise Forest Park still manages to be a friendly site in a great location. Don't forget, Cromer weather can be almost as changeable as the Lake District, even if its blazing sunshine when you set out, take a jumper and mac just in case. ` 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skeeter999 1 review from this member

 Having read the reviews (the most recent was last year) I was a bit wary, but went anyway. I thought it was worth putting the latest update forward for others to read - e.G. The latest goss in 2009!

We went with a large tent and kids. No pets, although some of the bugs/insects did adopt a second home in our casa.

Overall, campsite is very large and very open, and very scenic. Has a real outdoors feel to it. We had sunny weather, but I feel if it were raining then the whole vibe would be completely different. Also the wind does get up a bit out that part of the country. The site is sloping about 5 degrees I would say, so if it rains it would be muddy and a problem. There are a LOT of caravans on the site, and seems to be the main clientele.

Our tent was large (8 by 3m tunnel tent) and I did ask about pitch size. I was told 10 x 10m, but out pitch ended up being a lot smaller. This varies across the ground tho - just make sure you mention your requirements on booking.

The walks are great, and local NT sites and beaches/bird watching very nice. However, the onsite facilities of the pub and the swimming pool I would not rely on. The Pool was closed 2 days in a row much to our kids constant disappointment as the lifeguard didn't turn up, and in the end we (among others) complained to the office who then rang and gave him a bollocking for not coming into work. The pool itself is small, and when it did open it closed again as it was FULL of people and over capacity. So keep these things in mind along with the other reviews.

The Pub itself is small and divided into two areas - adults and children's. The adults area doesn't allow under 14's into it and its the quieter area until the bands start playing (then its loud and can be heard across the opposite end of the campgrounds!). It sounded like folks had a good time there tho, and the desserts are worth a trek up the hill there. The 14yr age limit is worth noting as nowhere is it mentioned in the website or literature and it meant for us a meal at the pub was relegated to the VERY noisy children's area where they have kids activities and kids disco parties in the evening - really loud and not much fun unless you are under 5 years old or joining in for a quick 'pizza-hut-pizza-hut-kentucky-fried-chicken-and-a-pizza-hut' dance. Hilarious to watch, but a bit noisy. A better bet may be down the road at the nearest local pub or the fishnchip shop in Cromer. So if you need these onsite facilities don't go to forest park I would suggest as you would be gambling a little. If you are going for outdoors and sun tho - forest park is fine.

Some reviews say the staff were not nice, but we found the opposite in the office and the pub. Staff were great. The chap on the desk was always very helpful, and even let us leave late (normally you need out by 10am) on request as our site was not occupied the next day.

Likewise, the facilities I think have had a partial makeover. They now have swipe cards so only camp patrons can use them (which may cut down on the toilet paper vagabonds), and seemed fine for cleanliness or at least no worse than other campgrounds in the UK. The water in the mens showers was the 'always hot' condition as another reviewer mentioned so took a bit of negotiating, but my wife said the ladies were fine. I think due to the layout of the grounds you can easily just walk to a different shower/toilet block if the one nearest doesnt seem up to scratch for you. They seem to vary a bit but not far between each block.

The forest walks are nice and convenient. Loads of swings and a playground for the kids while you are packing the tent up or such. The campsite shop is very extensive (just make sure you know the opening hours and arent caught out as they change daily but typically are no earlier than 6 or 7pm) so fine for a lastminute pack of sausages and some cider. The local farm bacon is AWESOME - it sells out for good reason. The pricing in the shop is similar to the nearest SPAR (which is at the end of Northrepps RD and around the corner and worth noting for emergencies). I was impressed at the range of camping spares/accessories. I guess the shop is there to cater for the large campgrounds and number of patrons. They sell crabbing lines and buckets also - grab one for the Blakeney Sands to while away a day.

During our stay : the wardens patrolled regularly and fairly; some kids were on bikes (even though not allowed to technically) which no one minded; and the pub band played til about 11pm very loudly then was stopped/a 40th birthday party group likewise stopped at 11pm. These things seemed to be in line with other grounds, but be aware that this is the case - e.G. There is some noise depending on patrons or the pub on the ground, but not til crazy hours. So if you are a lite sleeper it may not work for you. Due to the open-field nature of the park, and being on a slope, noise does carry from other campers. If you have a caravan the noise would not be a problem I think.

I must reiterate that we found the staff quite friendly and quite capable, in our experience anyways, and the wardens did their job. The campground is large and has a lot of patrons so you could get a bad bunch in there who are out of range of the wardens, but again, no worse than other campsites.

Overall - I think the situation has improved from the 2008 situation in previous reviews, but I also need to mention we did not go at peak season and the grounds were only half full. At peak season I could see that some things like kids playing ball and such may become annoying (well - unless its your kids playing ball!). But that's the nature of camping right? I would suggest its fine for a cheeky family weekend away or a touring stay where you would like to look around the local area (I can recommend the NT sites), take some walks, check the local beaches and do some crabbing, and are having good weather. I don't think I would go again unless we had sunshine guaranteed as in the rain it would be a different story. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheffield_Chris 2 reviews from this member

 2 adults + a 7yo camping in a tent here during half-term weekend.

Please with the campsite and facilities - toilets were clean, with no queueing generally needed, showers OK, although the water wasn't too hot occasionally.

The swimming pool is great - can be tricky to find space in it at busy times (and isn't open continually), but good otherwise.

Clubhouse is decent - kids' entertainment was variable, as is the case anywhere, and as we were at the end of the season, things were starting to wind down, which meant we were unable to eat one evening.

The shop is great - pastries, etc., in the morning, if you get there early enough are great and the on site tent doctor was a godsend when our tent decided to leak. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dan and Becci 4 reviews from this member

 We were drawn to this site because of its location. The dog walking areas were very picturesque.

The site had good facilities and the bar area was friendly.

On the down side, the tent area we were staying in was noisy with children playing ball games from seven in the morning until eleven at night. The warden did not seem to care about all the ball games going on which did get annoying.

The toilets/showers were ok

If you do stay at this camp site ask to be placed away from the club house where it should be more quiet. 


Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forest Park Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Forest Park Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Park Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Forest Park Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement