Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Northiam > Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park
Station Road
Northiam
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 6QT
Tel: 01797 253997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
                8/10 from 98 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 45 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite with a mixed clientele of tents (mostly), campervans, motorhomes (we had a nice grass pitch with electricity) and in a different small field 5 bell tents. There are also a few 'pods' and, in another area, some static lodges.

The main campsite is a large field, in which the extensive centre is free of campers for people to play games in. There is a small adjoining wood which our family's children loved playing in. There are lovely countryside views all around, and the site is very peacefully located.

The new reception/shower/dishwashing block had just been finished in time for the end of lockdown. It is nice, with a couple of teething issues (water run-off) which I am sure will be soon fixed.

The Kent and Sussex steam train line runs past the site. There are only about 1 or 2 trains per day. When one steamed past, blowing its whistle and with its passengers waving to us, the whole campsite seemingly rushed down to a viewing platform to wave back, and take photos.

Ten minutes walk away, mostly down a protected lane, is an excellent little business where you can hire kayaks or rowing boats for a leisurely trip along the pretty little river Rother. We did that, and enjoyed burgers and beer in their cafť afterwards.

There's an Indian restaurant at the entrance to the site. The menu looked tempting but we didn't use it.

The site rents out firepits and sells bags of wood (including kindling and a firelighter); almost everybody (including us) seemed to have taken them up.

There are several beaches and the historic town of Rye 20-30 mins drive away.

Altogether a great weekend, with one irritation. There are notices around saying that dogs must be kept on leads, bu many owners clearly thought that didn't apply to them. The site owners didn't seem to make any attempt to enforce this rule. One dog deposited a large smelly piece of business in the (nicely set up) children's playground. Another dog (or maybe the same one) had to be chased off by us when it grabbed our shoes from outside our door and started chewing them. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: NicHern 1 review from this member

 A really lovely campsite. They have just built brand new toilet/shower block and it is immaculate.

Great relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Good for families and adults.

Firepits and logs provided, if ordered. A play area for children and a spacious camping field so you do not feel crowded.

The steam train even goes past the bottom of the site! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Mitch894 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for three nights in total, the first night we had a group of around 13 young adults turn up, unbeknown to the owners I must say as they cheekily booked in separate pitches. We had only booked the two but after the first night of no sleep because of said group we decided to stay another night.

The owners were warm and welcoming and made us feel as at home as we could be, they popped down to see us in the early evenings too see if we would like to purchase any wood (which we did as the last 2 nights were so peaceful).

They have a lovely walk through the wooded area which our dogs loved! Her young daughter instantly feel in love with one of young dogs and couldnít get enough of them which was lovely for the dogs to have some attention, not to mention her being so polite so was a pleasure to have her pop by and say hello to the dogs, on the last night our charger broke and the owner lent us theirs for the night! Which we did unknowingly pack and shall send back! all in all itís a great site BUT only a few things I would say needed tweaking,

1st - the shop is very limited although we were told they are having a refurb so Iím sure it will be different in the forthcoming.

2nd - walking back to the tent from having a shower was slightly awkward, having to walk past peoples residential homes. All I would say is a fence would be a great thing!

And finally - the shower are a bit annoying having to constantly push the button for a 15 second burst of water.

Other than that a great site and will deffintly be back again for another visit! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tlancaster 1 review from this member

 We spent the Easter weekend here camping with electric hook up. The site is amazing and plenty of space to pitch (our tent is huge).

Tents & Caravans were all around the edge of the field which left a huge area in the middle for kids to play.

Owners are very friendly and so helpful and came by several times a day (collecting rubbish, delivering fire wood and just to say hello) which is lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they work very hard. Even cleaning the toilets at midnight before they go to bed!

Showers were always available (it was an unbelievably hot & sunny weekend), but I particularly liked the family showers (wet room style with toilet sink and shower all in together) which made getting the kids ready so much easier.

Loved the steam train passing by. Great little walk through the woods with the dogs and kayaking nearby.

We also visited Hasting beach and Camber Sands Beach, both approx. 20-25 mins away in the car. We did cheat one night and get an Indian takeaway from the restaurant by the entrance to the site which was delicious!

Can't wait to visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Riffraffsailing 1 review from this member

 We have had a wonderful weekend at Rother Valley campsite.

Yes the facilities are basic but they were clean and worked what more do you need?

The owners/managers were amazing and came up absolute trumps when we had a major problem that would have ruined our weekend, they went well beyond the call of duty and it was appreciated.

The Indian next door is fabulous and a day trip to Bodiam castle on the nearby ferry was Most enjoyable. Add in a fire pit and it all adds up to a perfect weekend. Thanks Rother Valley campsite team 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The HURLEYS 4 reviews from this member

 We are visiting for our 2nd year

Brought our puppy as well she is enjoying herself

We are really enjoying our time here

Hardly seen the kids

New owners are lovely and sorted out a problem very quickly

Looking forward to coming back in 2018 to see the new improvements 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lague 2 reviews from this member

 Entrance to site is behind an Indian restaurant through a VERY uneven driveway. Man in office didn't seem to understand English and couldn't answer questions. We were given a list of No's and Dont's but not a lot of useful information.

There were a lot of static caravans that were occupied by various nationalities. There also seemed to be around 8 permanent caravans with awnings and gardens on the site. Caravan site was a lovely field with a small children's playground.

The Views across the country were stunning with the local Steam trains running across the bottom. The dogs on leads rule doesn't seem to be enforced. A man spent the whole week going backwards and forwards on a buggy with a trailer on the back, but didn't seem to actually be doing anything!

The showers are incredibly small (although I understand these are for improvement in 2018) with no facilities to hang clothes or sit to dry. My husbands clothes ended up on the other side of the door on a sopping wet floor.

The family shower room was too dirty to use. A notice is by the toilet emptying facility that says unless you use Organic toilet fluids you will not be allowed to empty your toilet. But that's ok because they happen to sell it ! A bit late telling us that AFTER the toilet has been set up and used.

The office never seemed to be open, apparently you could phone and someone would come, but not everyone wants to have to do that, or hang around for someone. Sorry wont be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The HURLEYS 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic week away. Our first family camping trip we stayed at a amazing camp site and cannot recommend it enough to people.

We were luckily enough to be smack in the middle of the field. Toilets and shower facilities clean and tidy.

A small play area for the children which kept them amused. A lovely wooded area which we walked through most days. Staff where friendly and always willing to help.

A fantastic break and many thanks to Jackie and her team for making us welcome. Location of the site was perfect. Not too far from all of the local sites and attractions.

Trains went past campsite daily and stn was 5 mins away. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EX BOYSCOUT 5 reviews from this member

 Once again we have just returned from rother valley and as usual we loved it, the toilets were in there usual clean and tidy state and the family shower rooms are a godsend.

The porta loo and campers fridge were clean and working well, the playground was well used by the children on site and the bins and water point were nice and clean.

We were met with jackies usual friendly almost family like greeting (especially the dogs), our pitch was in good condition and just as vast as ever.

We really can recommend the White hart pub just up the road along with the Cock inn and the oak&ivy, but our No 1 recommendation has to be the Oak on the way to rye, very nice beer and the best burger I think I have ever had

We find that tesco in hawksworth is the best value and quality locally but jempsons has by far the cheapest petrol in the area

We will be back next year for our fourth visit in a row 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Choplee 2 reviews from this member

 Bank holiday weekend, so had a full 3 nights camping at this site booked. The main campsite / rally field was a great big space with loads of room for the kids to play without running around the campers etc. Hookup in some areas on the site and the pitches where a good size to spread out. Fire pits on site was a nice to see and the grass was keep well on and off the pitches.

It was very handy for the the steam railway the local indian restaurant and 1/2 down the road the local pub and opposite the Bodiam river tour to the bodiam castle. It was the 'bodiam boating station' and they had a great new cafe there as well. So position wise is was good and not to far from loads of other attractions as well.

The toilet block was nowhere near in any of my top picks I'm afraid to say. At this price point we have had fantastic toilet/shower blocks. I'm not saying they where all new and fancy, but they had a good ratio of toilets and showers for the amount of campers on site. It was near impossible to be able to get dressed outside the shower and the curtain didn't go down low enough so everything on the floor got wet for me. I'll not go on, but you get the point. Urinal right outside the door of the shower and only 1 toilet with one more up further. Again i'll not go on.

We did spend most time out of the site, but did notice that you had to drive through a mini community. Not just the warden, but we established full time residents. This I have no issue with, but it's not really what I want to pass through going to the toilet and shower.

The kids had the big field and a play area which was good.

There where a great mix of nationalities on site.

Price point would make it more attractive I think, but sorry guys I'll not return.

You have a fab location, but let down with the other major part in my eyes facilities. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rother Valley Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northiam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement