Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LostAgainAndAga 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site.

We visited over the half term holiday. We were in a group of three tourers.

When we arrived we were shown to our area expecting to be put in a line, but were told we can set up any way we wanted, as long as we had 6 meters between us. We were soon set up in our square with chairs out in the middle drinking tea.

The site was very flat all round, lovely short grass, well maintained.

Toilets always seemed to be clean and smelling nice, bins emptied regularly.

Showers were warm, but I used them at random times during the day, my better half went one morning and there was no hot water left, and there were ques.

The shop was well stocked with essentials. The laundry had a sign on it saying it was open 9am - 8pm but it was still open later one evening when we came in. There was a well stocked 'tourist information' room with plenty of leaflets.

The kids were happy with the play park. The crazy golf was a good time waster.

One of the major missing things was re-cycling but there were facilities off site close by.

The bus stop was just outside the entrance gate-about a 3 min walk then 5 mins to Lyme Regis. Buses were about every 2 hours. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

 Since taking on two retired Greyhounds, we have had to compromise on the sites we prefer; there are few adult only and dog friendly sites. We settled for the shrubbery from the reviews, a warm welcome, we were led to our pitch and given options, loads of space.

Easy to find and in a fantastic spot, easy drives to Lyme Regis, Seaton and Bridport, the site is great, lovely little touches that make it feel really spacious.

The water and power points nestled in the hedging, despite it being a really busy bank holiday weekend it was still not too noisy. The showers were some of the best we have used, the dog walk was brilliant, hard to find anything negative to say about this site, we will be going back for sure. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicholls167 1 review from this member

 Just got back from first camping trip of the season and really glad we chose the shrubbery. The owners are very welcoming as they were quiet we were able to pitch where we liked.
Nice flat, well maintained site. We have two kids aged 5 & 7 who really liked the park and crazy golf (75p each). All facilities were clean and very efficient.
Lyme regis is a lovely place but as a tip use the car park at the top end of town as it is only 1 pound to park all day. Will definitely be revisiting the site fairly soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carmey33 9 reviews from this member

 Ok site with friendly staff. Pitch was a bit muddy which was a bit annoying, We laid an old dust sheet down outside the van to avoid getting the van too mucky. The kids liked the park. Other kids seemed to be enjoying themselves riding around on their bikes. The showers were quite hot with no way of turning them down, this was ok though as it was tolerable. The annoying thing about them was the fact you had to push the button in every 2 seconds (no I'm not exagerating) I didn't go into the site shop so can't comment on that. Don't bother with the local Chinese takeaway.Vile! The couple that run the park are really nice and like to make sure your happy. The lady dressed up as the Easter bunny and handed out free eggs which I thought was a nice touch. Lyme Regis itself has a lovely beach but what a nightmare to get to! The drive was only 5 mins but parking took about 30! we got told there is a park and ride facility but I don't know how much this would be. Its a very steep walk to get back from too especially with a heavy toddler in buggy to push. I would go back again but in the height of summer when the pitches are drier. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leighruss 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice site. Clean facilities and the staff were very helpful. The children loved the play area.Localy the cob at Lyme Regis is beautiful and there is plenty to do. Beer caves just down the road is very interesting and well worth a visit. Hoping to return sometime this year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenny3704 5 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. We were shown round and given the option to choose a pitch. The staff were very friendly and more than happy to help. The site is very well looked after. The facilities are very clean. There are no restrictions on hot water and showers are free. There is a little dog walk, somewhere for you to let them off the lead.

There is a little shop on site, but it worth taking the very short walk to the garage just outside the campsite as there is a wider variety.

The surrounding area is always a joy to visit, Lyme Regis is a gorgeous place to walk through and get your fish and chips.

All in all, a brilliant campsite and will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meldrew45 2 reviews from this member

 I visited the Shrubbery Camp site in June 2008 and can honestly say that it is the best kept site I have ever stayed at. Of course it is all a matter of taste but for me camp sites can vary between the extreme of too casual, whereby a minimum of maintenance and supervision takes place, or too restrictive with notices everywhere saying don't do this and don't do that. The Shrubbery have managed to my mind to have got the balance just right.
They have three toilet blocks which are all kept immaculately clean,one of which is divided into 4 private bathrooms with toilet, shower, wash basin, mirror, chair like home from home. There are no restrictions on the usage of hot water or any other facilities and the grounds are constantly attended to by the chatty groundsman.
They have a small shop on the site and another more comprehensive one at the garage next door. The lady who runs the place is attentive without being intrusive and takes a great deal of trouble to see that you are happy with your allocated space. What I particularly liked about the site was the way the caravans were parked tidily but not too formally.
Little hedges were dotted around to give a sense of privacy between caravans which were generally parked at angles too each other so as to avoid rows of what can

Look like 'terraced caravans'. Though just inside the Devon border, the closest resort is Lyme Regis in Dorset. It is also close to Seaton, Beer, and Sidmouth. I thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RedSteve 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from a week at this site, I cannot recommend it highly enough. I think it was a lady called Anne who met us and immediately started to apologise for the poor conditions. There was no need, the pitch area offered was huge and the drainage was very good.
The site is very well maintained including regular grass cuts, as much hot water as needed, both for showers and washing up and the showers / facilities are spotless. There is a small shop on site but would suggest the 50yd walk to the garage for a more comprehensive range, that said, we did buy a bar of soap on site (always something you forget).

The surrounding area is always a delight to be in. The market at Charmouth, the lovely beach and harbour (and fish and chips) at Lyme Regis, the stunning Chesil Beach. All in all a very pleasant relaxing week. Many thanks and see you in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KrisJ 5 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we found the staff helpful especially when selecting a pitch. We were given a few options as the ground was muddy due to the rain.

The playground was useful for our friends with two kids, but not supervised by adults and twice came close to hitting children running across the adjoining road, despite driving slowly.

The toilet blocks were kept to a high standard of cleanliness, but the showers were very much hit and miss, always hot, but not necessarily powerful enough.

We also found a problem with the drinking water which tasted like it had come from a swimming pool and as a result we had to buy bottled water for drinking.

Despite these points, this is a good campsite, and well worth a visit. The surrounding area is packed with things to do, and all in all, we'll probably visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Audrey1 1 review from this member

 We Have just returned from a very wet windy week at this lovely site. Despite the weather we still had a lovely break.

When we arrived we were shown a couple of pitches in the rain with the very helpful owner. We chose one near to the sites road way and we were glad we did as the rain did not stop so it made it easier to get on and off the grass!

As the week went on the weather got worse and the site got muddier (which was a bit of a down side but hey this is British weather we are talking about!)Cars driving up between the tents at times struggled and churned up the grass so walking to the central toilet blocks and water taps became tricky and slippery !

My 12 year old loved the freedom of the playing on the site and made a few friends, he especially loved the crazy golf. It was his first time in a pup tent on his own and he felt totally safe (me too !)

Despite all of the mud the toilet and shower blocks were kept extremely clean, and always had hot water.

The laundry room was welcomed and reasonably priced.

Lyme Regis is lovely and very cheap parking a the top of the hill!Though if you didn't want to walk the hill there was a park and ride about a mile from the site that takes you into the town.

All in all this is one of the best site I have been too nd would definitely go again . And just order better weather! 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement