Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 142 Reviews
                9/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 99 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of nights here as a last minute booking to enjoy some long awaited hot and sunny weather. It's a large, flat, well maintained site with plenty of space. All staff were very helpful and the facilities are generally good throughout. We found the lower shower and wash block behind the reception to be superior to the central one. The site is well lit at night so look out for the street lights and avoid these areas if you want to avoid a flood lit tent! It was a weekend out of season so we had a peaceful stay. I could imagine that it gets pretty busy through the summer.

Not really any places to walk to from the site. To gain access to the undercliff coast path you will need to get to Lyme Regis or Seaton, only a short drive away. Seaton has a large Tescos, Lyme Regis has a great atmosphere in the evenings with plenty of pubs and restaurants.

The caves (more of an underground quarry) at Beer are surprisingly interesting (really worth a visit) and the tram to Colyton from Seaton a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schuee 5 reviews from this member

 Well this is our 3rd time at Shrubbery, and again all I can say is we had a fantastic time!

On arrival we had several options of where we could pitch, and as we were with friends we picked a great pitch near the main block and not far from the play area. We find that the location is ideal for touring the surrounding area, being so close to Lyme Regis we visited it several times, it still has that old world charm of seaside towns gone by, and the fossil shops, and hunting for them were a great hit with the kids! Going back to the campsite, we found all the amenities spotlessly clean, and there was always somebody tidying up or busy at some stage in the day, and evening. We enjoyed the SeatonTram Musuem and for an extra minimal price you can travel on them all day, handy for the children who loved it, also nearby Beer is a beautiful little fishing village, with lots of quaint shops and delicious ice cream!

All in all we had great weather, and a wonderful time, so we will be back again to Shrubbery in the near future.

Morris Family 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emandjes 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from shrubbery caravan and camping park and its been fab.

On arrival we pulled in and there is plenty of parking spaces for the car and tourer, we went into the modern reception to book in, they sell basic provisions and some luxury items. We were greeted by Margaret who was very friendly and checked us in, then she asked us to hop onto an electric buggy to show us round the park and to find a pitch, this was great because you felt there was no pressure to keep going around and around until you found a pitch, also family with kids are kept together near the play equipment, and couples away from the noise of the kids, there is also hardstanding at the back of the park, we pitched up near to the central toilet/shower block, they are relaxed on which way you pitch you outfit, we put the awning facing the park so we could keep an eye on the kids and you get the sun during the day.

The park is mostly flat but it does slope slightly from the middle of the field down to the reception area. It was well draining as we had some heavy rain during the night but it was gone by morning, there is a crazy golf course which cost 75p for hire of ball and putter, it keep the kids happy for half an hour but was a bit tricky for under 8s, there is 3 toilet and shower blocks, the central one is the biggest, it is adequate with push button showers that was always hot no matter what time of day it was, the cubicles are not very big and use a shower curtain which was a bit of a pain as you can't adjust the shower head and it pointed back towards the door so had to use the curtain to stop everything getting wet, not sure what they would be like in colder weather as they are quite open plan. They where kept clean at all times. The toilets at reception where much better with individual rooms with toilet, basin and showers and also a family room with a bath but chargeable at 1. There is also dish washing facilities but these where outside of the toilets but under cover.

Just out side of the park is a garage which sells basics and just about anything else you might need. And next door to the garage is the social club which is a little old fashioned but sells a nice range of beers, ciders etc. And has snooker table and skittle alley and outdoor seating, this was only open at certain times so check first.

The site is ideal for Lyme Regis and we used the car park at the top of the Cobb road, at 1, 70 for all day parking, it's ok walking down through the gardens but the walk back up is very steep and not for the faint hearted. Also within easy reach of Seaton and Beer, there is also a large Tesco's at Seaton which was handy.

Overall the park is very pleasing, plenty to keep the kids happy, kept nice and clean, we'll trimmed grass, friendly staff.

Will be booking again for next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roba2728 10 reviews from this member

 Family of four visited this site to make the most of the great July weather. We arrived at the lovely air conditioned reception to be told by the friendly staff to pitch our tent where ever we wanted. We pitched in a spacious area next to the park just across from the clean and tidy shower block. The site is just 2 miles from Lyme Regis which has a great beach with plenty of beach cafes bars and shops. One tip is to park at the top of the hill as it is only 1. 70 to park all day compared to over 6. 00 to park at The Cobb car park close to the beach at the bottom of the hill, But be aware there is a very steep climb from the top to the bottom and back again. The site has a small shop for basic needs but just a minutes walk is a garage and village store which has a bit more variety. A ten minute drive is The White Hart pub in the village of Colyford which serves great food at reasonable prices. For us this was a great site, ideally located and at a reasonable price which would highly recommend and definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppydaisy1 3 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a brilliant week at the Shrubbery, a lovely site which is virtually perfectly flat, with plenty of water, electric & rubbish bins.

We were placed near the children's playground which was ideal as we have young kids and we were able to let them run free without worrying that they would bother other campers as those with older children or child free were sited in other areas away from us.

There are 3 different toilet & shower blocks, so you are never far away from a loo. All were very clean with free hot water, loo roll, soap etc, my favourite ladies were in the cabin at the end, and the best showers were in the block by the shop. There is a hairdryer that is coin operated there too.

The laundry was great, but the tumble dryers are condensers, so take ages to dry, better to line dry if you can.

The shop has a good selection of essentials and the petrol station next door has a good selection too.

All in all a brilliant place. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheBoulds 5 reviews from this member

 The Shrubbery came highly recommended to us by friends who have used it several years running.

Because we had two little ones, we travelled down during the early hours which meant we were on site at 9.30am. This wasn't a problem we were shown to our pitch which was a fantastic hard standing pitch at the top of the site. It gave us plenty of room for the girls to play.

We were not disappointed we had a fantastic 2 weeks a real jewel. The toilets and showers were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. The site was well kept and very well ran every one was very friendly.

The site is well situated for the surrounding area.

We are already counting down to our return next August. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site end April/May, in the sunny weather! Quite a few caravanners there, we had a weekly special at a very good price. The site is very clean and the toilets/showers etc were kept immaculate during our stay. The grass was kept mown and looked really nice. The owners are very friendly and polite, we even had an ice cream van come round on the Friday night. Lyme Regis is just a five minute drive away, take this tip - if you are going to Lyme Regis, park your car in the top car park and not in the town centre, all day parking is just 1.70. Hope every one enjoys the park as we did 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holster 8 reviews from this member

 Visit Again?

No. There are better more modern sites for the money.

Customer Service

Efficient greeting, followed by an (unscheduled) tour of the different pitch options combined with 'pacing out' the size of the pitch and where one should position the tent in relation to our brother-in-law arriving in two days time.

Location

Located on main road between Lyme Regis and Seadown which also has a Tesco Extra for food & fuel.

Site

Only caravan pitches are clearly labeled. Camping pitches are not. This leads to a very unusual way of establishing where you should pitch based on tent type (tunnel, L Shaped etc) and plots (unmarked) which have been pre-booked.

Pitch

Very gently slopping - the further up the filed you go, the flatter the pitches appear. Water close by, though we had to go a little further for it as there was no tap head to make use of the nearest supply. Electric points unevenly positioned - this didn't affect us on our stay, but if busy, could affect those some distance away - ensure you have a long electric lead if your camping!

Facilities

Basic. Shop on site, though we never used. Down the road is a petrol garage (no fuel available at time of visit) but did have a local shop selling basics and newspapers.

Washing up facilitates are completely open. At times impossible to get hot water (lukewarm or cold). Compared to some modern sites, when the weather is cool, this has a negative impact.

Toilet Block

The main block is in poor condition, but clean. Needs modernising. Some taps in the gents block had 'cold' labels on both taps when clearly one is hot and one is cold. Be careful if you have you children and adults.

Draughty, very out of date, main toilet block in middle of field.

Note: Next to reception, a more modern facility, but with only ONE power shower and a basic shower in each Clean, but cold tap in gents wash area did not work.

Near by

Lyme Regis which is very nice and only about 25 miles from Weymouth. Seadown boasts a new Tesco Extra - great for fuel and food.

Maintenance

A clear lack of it for reasons above. Some sinks very slow draining, hot water hit 'n' miss, basic showers and incorrectly marked tap heads.

Grass was quite long when we were there, no evidence of regular cutting so guess contractors may come to cut grass. Not good when we had rain, made everything even wetter due to long grass. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim.cooper5 8 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant well run campsite. Owners very helpful and friendly.

We had a hardstanding which was brand new, very large with plenty of room for a caravan, large awning and car.

Garage next door, which opened at 7am, sold papers and all the basics.

A bus stop 100 yards away, with buses from Exeter one direction to Poole the other, stopping at most coastal towns in between.

The site kept very clean and tidy.

We had a special 7 day rate, which was very reasonable priced.

One of the best sites we have visited. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 4dogscamping 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights with our 4 dogs.

I cannot fault the site or facilities. The pitches are all level and very attractively laid out with plenty of space between.

There are three toilet and showers blocks spaced very well around the site. In particular, the block near the entrance had beautiful cubicles with shower, WC and wash basin all combined and they were heated.

There is a good dog walk at the back of the site and the shop is well stocked.

There is lighting at night so easy to find your way to the toilets after dark.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and there is a refreshing lack of site rules pinned up everywhere as in most sites.

A lovely atmosphere and will definitely use again, probably one of the best sites we have ever stayed at and also great value. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements