Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minnie79 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely time here for a few days. Buses not frequent but ran to time to Lyme Regis and good connections to other places. Well kept site very neat and tidy mostly flat.

Showers brilliant and some with central heating. Good launderette too.

Good dog walk. Nothing negative to say about this campsite.

Would return again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Baggy bob 1 review from this member

 Absolutely great site. Very clean. Close to Lyme Regis.

Nice and quiet. Good play area for children.

Definitely will return. Lovely friendly owners. Large pitches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 42 reviews from this member

 This is a gently sloping site beside a relatively quiet A road. Itís mainly grass with some hardstandings, and very popular with caravanists. There are odd cuboids of mature, boxy hedging, some of which have lamp posts poking out of the top.

The grass was thinning, though not bare, with a zillion worm casts & claggy mud oozing through, particularly after a bout of torrential rain which took ages to drain from the topsoil. It took plastic pegs readily. Make sure you use a footprint: ours came up smelling like a sewer after a damp week.

Amenities are in three separate blocks Ė a heated one at the Ďtopí which was out of action, a hugely high ceilinged, unheated one in the middle of the park, and at the bottom is the shop / reception and exhaustingly over heated ablutions, featuring showers, lavatories and a bathroom.

The bottom ablutions were the most popular, with swanky fittings, tiled wetroom floors and smart lavatories.

They are hot enough to do you in like Empress Fausta, low ceilinged and under ventilated. Consequently thereís a valiant battle being fought against mould and youíre unlikely ever to see yourself in a mirror. The u-bends on the wash basins are discreetly covered, which looks pretty, but it means you canít get at the traps to unblock them, so the sinks drain sloooowly.

The bathroom with its little bath is very good though, and worth booking for an extra quid if the key hasnít gone missing again. I found the unheated middle block was more usable.

The washing up sinks are all under overhanging roofs but otherwise open to the elements. There are birds nesting above all of them, which is charming but ĖahemĖ unhygienic. The laundry is cheap but the machines are not terribly good. Our stuff didnít get very clean and dryer no. 3 doesnít dry. It just heats.

The shop is good and attractively laid out, though there was little stock when we visited right at the end of the season. The staff are helpful and friendly, though some are brighter and more organized than others, and itís all very well kept. Thereís a substantial play park and we had a hilarious half hour or so on the crazy golf (75p each).

EHU is only 10A. I asked a few times about doubling this up by paying for a second one and using a second lead but donít think I explained myself clearly enough, and just got blank looks.

To sum up, itís a pleasant environment, but the views arenít spectacular and you donít get a strong sense of place. Itís a good site for out of season camping in the area if youíre not into the singing and dancing holiday parks over by Charmouth.

The main competition is Hook Farm in Uplyme, which has more charm (and more owls) but is on a steep north facing slope and rather dreary & dank at this time of year. The Shrubbery is also handier for Seaton, which is pulling itself up by its bootstraps.

The new Seaton Jurassic centre is excellent; there are sometimes good things on at Seaton Gateway, and the enormous Tesco is very handy and right next door to the tramway. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anna.west 1 review from this member

 Booked a last minute 3 night break at the end of the school holidays, easy to book over the phone, with just a deposit to pay.

Easy to find, great location for Lyme Regis and exploring West Dorset/East Devon. Nice reception on arrival, talked us through where we could pitch, lots of choice for us to pitch where we liked, we chose pitch 69 which is in the central area between the two central toilet blocks and within viewing of the play park, it also had a light nearby which was handy in the evening!

There are 3 amenity blocks, the best bathroom facilities (which includes a bathroom -key needed) are behind reception, there's a block in the middle of the park and then another at the top which is the one we tended to use, as they were slightly newer than the middle and were nice and bright during the night! This had their own self contained showers, which were nice, good hot water, was on push button which can be annoying but not terrible. I would have liked a small shelf in the cubicle to put bottles on.

The kids (10 & 4) loved the play equipment and were happy to go off and play and still be in earshot/sight of our tent.

Their are 8 sinks for dishwashing, split between the middle and lower block but these were never busy, I presume as 70% of the park is caravans.

The shop sells bread, milk, eggs etc and we did a bigger shop at the large Tesco's in Seaton. THere's a tourist information room in the reception block which full of local information and leaflets, next door was the laundry with 3 tumble dryers, about 5 washing machines and two irons.

The first night I did notice the road noise even though we weren't right by it but after that I was used to it and we did have some night-time sea mist blowing by.

In conclusion, we'd recommend this as a great family site and will be booking for next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiggletastic 8 reviews from this member

 We camped at Shrubbery for 10 nights in August and had a lovely stay. The site is spacious and well laid out, very flat for pitching and has three choices of toilet/shower facilities. The top facilities block was closest to us and had a male and female toilet block and 4 individual shower rooms. Despite the site being very busy, we never had to wait for a shower in the morning. The camp shop is open from 8am to 8pm and has all the basics you might need. We had a choice of a few pitches and our chosen pitch overlooked the large play area which was ideal for our 7 year old daughter who had a great time playing with all the other children.

The site is close to loads of lovely places to visit in Dorset/Devon/Somerset. We had days out to the beach at Lyme Regis, the Donkey Sanctuary, Seaton Jurassic (interactive museum) and to Barrington Court (NT) - all highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

 Mixed reviews of this site. We originally booked for 2 nights but moved on after 1 night.

Reception was very slow even though we'd booked in we were kept waiting for 20 mins before the owner came out and showed us where to pitch. The pitch was rather small and tucked behind the wardens caravan.

One nearby toilet block (with wet room type showers) was not particularly clean but the other block further away was reasonable.

There is a dog walk but this seemed to have an electric fence separating it from a field of cows and there is nowhere outside the site to walk dogs.

Disappointing and would not stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joesmilie 1 review from this member

 This was our first time away in our little caravan and also our first Wedding anniversary. Through out the booking the owner was very helpful and quick to respond to emails. On arrival we were given a choice of pitches all of which were of ample size. Hook up was easy and the grounds are kept in perfect condition. There are 3 shower/toilet blocks all kept beautifully clean and well stocked with toilet roll and paper towels. There is also a family bathroom which would be great for families with smaller children as are the family shower rooms with plenty of room. The middle block is not as modern as the other two but still of very high standard. Information centre very helpful and shop well stocked with essentials and a few treats. All staff very helpful too.

A perfect base for East Devon/Dorset and even on a main bus route. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

 Visited in early June and have mixed views on this site. On the plus side it is a nicely kept, well laid out site and was fairly quite when we visited. The reception was well laid out with a good selection of basic produce available. The toilets and showers nearest to our pitch were clean and well maintained, however, the toilets and showers were in two separate areas - you had to leave the toilet area and walk to the end of the building to access the showers. The steps up to the showers were very slippy when wet and the showers were a bit on the small side with no shelving within the shower area for toiletries.

On the down side - grass cutting was tidy but the grass was not collected so you ended up trailing grass through your unit. On arrival we were advised that orders could not be taken for fresh bread but a sign was displayed outside reception advising that orders could be placed - mixed messages. Customer service was not always as good as it could have been. Not sure that we would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigbessie 17 reviews from this member

 We arrived without a booking and were very lucky to get a nice hardstanding pitch. This is a real gem with variety of pitches all spacious and open and sunny. Very helpful staff and nice relaxed feeling. Easy to get to as just off main road but most pitches were on other side of site so road noise not a problem.

Would be good if they updated the central shower block and had some privacy washrooms too.

Shame the little shop and garage next door has gone but the new 'posh' bakers is really nice. Excellent position for visiting all the coastal places and there is a bus service outside the site. Excellent food at the Pilot Boat Inn in Lyme Regis. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cg2000 1 review from this member

 Just wanted to say we had a lovely weekend here. The weather was great, the facilities were great, it is in a lovely location. Your campsite is lovely and we really enjoyed ourselves. This is our 2nd time here and we will come again. Your staff are friendly and welcoming.

Thanks again from the Gilbey's 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement