Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tallbloke 8 reviews from this member

 Came here in 2005 as well and liked it so much we returned for 2 weeks in 2006. Great site, especially for families - our kids were 6 & 8 at the time.

Pitches are flat and well maintained, not too close together either. Toilet and shower blocks are pretty good too - plenty of hot water and generally well maintained. Shop is well stocked - a mini-supermarket really, which is really useful. The playground is lovely and proved to be a great place for the kids to meet new friends, play together and generally entertain themselves while we relaxed! As always, the playground can also be a focus for older kids to congregate, but the staff were really helpful and supportive in controlling this.

Lyme Regis is nearby which is a really lovely place. There is a park and ride service which runs from near the campsite which I would highly recommend as access and parking in the town can be really difficult. The P&R is cheap and is very efficient.

Lots to do in the area - fossil hunting in the cliffs and beach, general beach activities, and so on. Would highly recommend this site. We have now moved house so the South Coast is not really an option anymore, but given the chance, we would go back to The Shrubbery. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbird1968 26 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an 8 night break at The Shrubbery, and had a lovely time. I would agree with the previous review about the showers, they were a bit hit and miss, but always warm, one of those bags for life is useful to keep your clothes dry! The childrens play area is fantastic, and the owner very kindly let us pitch nearby so we could keep an eye on our 8 and 5 year old. The shop was good, well stocked with the essentials, and the laundry room was also useful, especially with the wet weather. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, Lyme Regis, Bridport, Charmouth, Burton Bradstock, Beer and Seatown are all worth a visit. We will be returning next year, hopefully with a bit more sunshine this time! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nevada m 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a Saturday afternoon, weather great, met at reception by the owners who showed us a choice of pitches. First impressions great, a big play ground area with a variety of things, we could see the play ground from our tent so we could keep an eye on our 3 children all the time, plenty of room around pitches for the children to play, ride bikes etc.

Shower/toilet blocks clean , plenty of hot water.

In the evenings there was a social club just down the road, everybody welcome.

Unfortunately the weather did change and we had a lot of rain, no problems with drainage.

Lyme Regis a nice place, we liked a place called seatown which was not far away, there was also a market at charmouth.

Overall this is a lovely, friendly campsite, which we would return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caz890 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived on this site on a really wet and windy Saturday. The staff were nice and welcoming and we were offered a pitch overlooking the playpark as we had our small son with us.Big mistake as there were children out making noise after midnight on a couple of nights! The metal at the bottom of the stagecoach makes a horrid noise when jumped on in the middle of the night.

Having said that, the pitches were large and werent cramped in at all. The toilets were clean despite the rain and the added bonus was the bathroom as our little one doesnt like showers. The site did get flooded especially around the toilet block - not helped by people driving to the toilets but did drain fairly quickly when the rain finally stopped.

We caught the bus into Lyme and had a good day out there. Would recommend Cricket St Thomas, Pecorama and Bicton Gardens. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DuckyCamp 5 reviews from this member

 Had a very wet but enjoyable week here. An excellent campsite with friendly staff and good facilities. Appreciated being offered a selection of pitches as everyone has different priorities. Despite the constant rain our seven year old made good use of the play area which was central and well equipped. There is also a mini crazy golf on site but it was too wet for us to use it.

The shop is reasonably stocked with groceries and other goods including a selection of second hand books. There is a Tesco in Axminster or if you are venturing further afield, a Morrisons superstore in Bridport (signposted on the road to Dorchester).

No shortage of things to see and do in the surrounding area. Lyme Regis is lovely though parking is a bit of a nightmare. If you are in Bridport try 'Number 10' bistro/cafe/bar - excellent food and service, generous portions.

Overall a good week and we hope to return to the Shrubbery. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rosbod 14 reviews from this member

 We chose this site based on previous reviews and on the whole it did live up to most of our expectations.

Unfortunately, the weather was not great which highlighted a couple of negative points.

The first problem we had was drainage. The water table was very easily saturated and a stream and puddle quickly formed in the middle of our living area. There was a lot of surface water all over the site but this did drain quickly once the rain stopped. This may be less of a problem for caravans than for tents.

The other issue is the dishwashing facilities. I always feel that this is not given enough importance, and while the rest of the site was well thought out in terms of layout, the sinks were open to the elements which did restrict washing up to more clement weather as the wind tunnel effect took away our dishes!

And as usual with 'free' hot water, the showers were press button types, with an average 5 seconds per press. This makes showering very frustrating and more time consuming. They are also not directable so parents with young children take note as there were lots of screaming youngsters in the showers! We learnt that some showers were better than others and even though the site was busy there were never any queues. There are electric sockets in the toilet blocks which are great for hair dryers etc. And the toilet roll and paper handtowels never run out. The whole site is kept immaculately clean and tidy, helped by considerate users.

Locally there is not much within walking distance, other than the local club held in the church hall, where we had a good evening watching a Wurzels tribute band! There is a local car boot every Sunday.

You need to drive to Axminster for Tesco or Bridport for Morrisons. Charmouth is great for fossil hunting. The Chinese takeaway in Lyme Regis is not so good. The bread rolls sold in reception are lovely.

All in all a good site, I do tend to tell it as it is based on our experiences. The clincher is would I go back? The answer, yes. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TAME 1 review from this member

 We visited the shrubbery for a week camping with three children ages 1,8 & 10 all well catered for. We were greeted by the owner Margaret with a smile. She was very welcoming, and showed us personally to our pitch. Lots of room for children to play as even though they were fully booked, there is plenty of room between each pitch, and no overcrowding. We requested that we pitch near the play area, excellent for us as we could watch the children at all times, but did mean we were adjacent to main road which can get quite noisy at night as cars seem to speed by (although after 2 nights we got used to it). The campsite was very well maintained. Very clean toilets/shower block, with one block quite old but very clean. Another block which looks brand new, both spotless at any time of the day or night. Also handy bathroom for hire 1/2 hour slots for 1, very useful for younger children. Shop has quite limited essentials but petrol garage outside entrance has bigger selection.

Overall a lovely family site, all staff very helpful and friendly and we would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianandmarie 2 reviews from this member

 We came across this site via UK Campsites and what a find it was, On arrival you are taken around site to choose a pitch most suited to your needs in a golf buggy ie: we have small children so we opted for a pitch overlooking play area (which was excellent )and close to the toilet block. All pitches are level and very well maintained, the toilet block was always clean although I must admit I found the showers a little hot. You have an on site shop for daily provisions with a Tesco only 5 miles away in Axminster.You will struggle to find a sandy beach around here Lyme has a very small one but does tend to get very crowded, most are pebbles.

We visited the caves at Beer which I found very interesting but our children did get bored and it is very cold inside. Overall a great site for any family 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenps 1 review from this member

 We booked this site after reading reviews here and were not disappointed. It really is a lovely site, with level pitches, lots of open space for kids to play and NO PITCH LINES! There is a small but well stocked shop, all facilities and a little crazy golf course. The kids play area is great and we were lucky enough to be able to see the play area from our caravan so our children were able to have lots of freedom.

Our 10 year old son made lots of friends and enjoyed the nightly footy match (when it wasn't raining!).

The site is within easy reach of Lyme Regis, Beer, Seaton, Sidmouth and we also visited a bit further afield.

A highly recommended site, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggy2008 5 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were given the adults only part of the site which was flat quiet and very clean.

We only stayed for a couple of nights and only used the toilets/showers that were at the entrance and they were very clean and very roomy because the shower toilet and sink were all in the same room which was great idea and it felt like you were in your own private bathroom.

Plus points.

Friendly and helpful staff

Flat and clean pitches

Excellent toilets/showers

Peaceful and quiet most of the day

Minus points

Hard to find a bad point apart from we didn't find any local bars/restaurants in walking distance.

Highly recommended 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement