Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: McField 1 review from this member

 We've stayed at the Shrubbery park several times now and its a lovely campsite. It the one we judge all other campsites by and its still probably the best. Its clean, well maintained, friendly staff and kid friendly site. Whenever we go to Lyme Regis we stay here and I can't imagine going anywhere else.

Toilet block is always clean and because the staff keep it clean so do the visitors, I think that they have the facilities vs campers correct and only occasionally did we need to wait on the washing up facilities.

Great site very clean highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairey224 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this fab site having stayed 4 nights. We arrived about 6.30pm and was greeted by the owner who came out and said she would get the key to open reception and book us in. She said we could go anywhere really as lots of pitches with hook ups for us to use and pointed out where the evening sun would stay out longest.

We chose the area closest to the reception block and away from the play area as it was just my husband and I. These were spacious pitches with a few caravans and one other tent. All pitches have either shrubs or trees which break up the area nicely and provide a bit of privacy. It was lovely to hear the wildlife, sheep, geese, cows and owls nearby and we enjoyed watching the rabbits come into the field every evening.

There is a large toilet block in the middle of the field with 6 toilets and 6 showers each for men and women and separate hand basins. In the ladies there are 2 plug points with a large mirror and underneath a bench to put your things on whilst drying your hair. There are washing up facilities outside under cover.

We preferred to use the facilities at the back of the reception block though as these are more like a wet room with toilet, sink and shower all in the one room. There are four in total, one mens, womens, unisex and one disabled room, the hairdryer is 20p for a few mins but there is also a plug for your own. There are 4 washing up sinks under cover here too.

Didn't purchase anything from the on site shop but it did have lots of the basics. We did buy from the garage a 2 minute walk from site which was handy for bags of ice for our cool box and did stock lots of locally produced items.

Excellent base for Lyme Regis, Seaton and Beer all very picturesque places and will definitely be booking again.

If using a Sat Nav best not to go through Lyme with a heavy load due to the steep hills as we found out, but to carry along the main Dorchester Road A35 and then pick up the signs for Rousdon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schofield 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 2nd trip this year to Shrubbery Caravan Park and we will deffinately be going again.

The site has a fantastic clean play park with plenty of room around for children to play, there is also a crazy golf which is a bargain at 75p. The owners take much consideration in where they place you and as a family we were near the play park which was brilliant, adults only have their own field (well away from the play park) and families with older children are towards the back of the main field.

There are also spaces overlooking the crazy golf which although at first I thought we wouldn't like, they are surrounded by hedges and as the crazy golf is only open certain hours and never busy, these spots are really quite secluded and worth considering.

The shop is well stocked with all your basic requirements and has a daily delivery of beautiful fresh rolls and bread from a local bakery, these can be ordered and need to be as they run out fast.

The toilets and showers are set out in four blocks, some having their own private shower and toilet which is a bonus. They are always kept beautifully clean and were never busy. You can also hire a private bathroom which is great for anyone with children as it has a full size bath.

The site is extremely level and as there are so many shrubs and hedges it feels very spacious and quiet where ever you are. The owners also take great pride in keeping a good distance between units and were often seen checking if people were happy and often showing them a number of pitches to ensure they have a great holiday.

There is a bus stop just outside that runs the full coastline which is great for a day out. Lyme Regis is just 5 miles away and costs about 8 in a taxi. However should you want to go out for a meal I would recommend The Ship in Axmouth, it is about 3 miles away and has a lovely beer garden overlooking the estuary and a fantastic restaurant style menu at great prices. For example a roast dinner was 7.95 and absolutely delicious, really fresh.

Overall I would recommend this campsite to anyone, I travel with children but it has something for everyone, although the play park is full of children having fun in the day it is quiet by 9pm and as this site doesn't take groups it is wonderfully quiet everywhere by this time 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thegibbo4 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site for families, run by a family!

We stayed here during half term, the site was fully booked but facilities were not stretched.

Pitches are generous and flat. We were in the area by the crazy golf with about 6 other tents, which was great as our children (2 & 5) could play without there being a road to worry about. They also spent time in the playground - plenty of equipment for both of them.

Good range of pocket money sweets on sale at reception, small shop down the road too. Tesco nearby at Axminster (less than 10 minutes by car).

We mainly used the wet room style showers in the reception building, very handy after a day at the beach as we could get both children in the shower together. Disabled one has temperature adjustable shower, others don't.

Second 'Pyramid' wash block is a bit dated, but functional and clean. Like others have said, hot water for washing up at this block is more tepid than hot.

Bookable bathroom an excellent idea if you have young children.

Lyme Regis great for the beach, seafront improvements fantastic, plenty of choices for eating out, park and ride a boon as you are dropped right at the Cobb, Charmouth worth a visit, rest of Jurassic Coast within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jordcm 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site, one of the best we have been on. Clean, tidy, lovely clean showers and toilets with plenty of hot water.

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

We had a great pitch with lots of room for our 2 girls, 8 and 5 to play. They loved the play equipment area and we had a good view of where they were.

We stayed over Easter, and the Easter bunny came to visit and kindly gave all the children chocolate Easter bunnies.

I would highly recommend this site, and look forward to going back next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theways 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed during half term May 2011. 2 adults, 2 kids, had a great time. Warden helped us select pitch with EHU. Never had to queue for a shower, and toilet blocks very clean. Shop basic but adequate, crazy golf great value.

Didn't notice the noise from the road.

Lyme Regis is lovely.

Kids loved the site and it felt safe.

Would like to say would have no hesitation in returning again and again, but, have just gone to book for 2012 and big red letters say 'No tent footprints' which has stopped me in my tracks.

Every time we camp it rains, and the only thing that makes packing away bearable is the thought of no mud on the bottom of the tent.

Def will not be returning to this site with this policy. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samhan 3 reviews from this member

 I will make this very simple, from the perspective of a family with children aged 7&4.

This site was excellent, if it were a walk away from the beach, it would be the perfect campsite. Every aspect of The Shrubbery was ideal. The location, the reception we were given, the plot size, the facilities, the play area, the atmosphere.

The Staff are great with a superb shop selling high quality, local goods - which are pricey, but no pricier than you'd pay anywhere.

The best site we've ever visited and recommend it to anyone at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trance-Elbow 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great site which is very sheltered and high up on the cliffs, but in land from the sea. The pitches here are extremely generous and there are a lot of tree dividing the various area up and offering shelter from the elements.

The toilets are fairly good and we never had to queue up for the showers. Washing up sinks are a round the outside of the toilet /shower block and are partially covered. If you look up while washing up, you can watch the House Martins nesting about your head. Fortunately the area was regularly cleaned so there was never an issue with bird droppings.

The on site shop is well stocked and also sells gas refills, which is always useful.

The only down side was that because the campsite is high up on the cliffs, there was a tendency to be very foggy at times. It was so think one night that I got lost walking back to the tent after a visit to the loo.

The campsite is on the main road between Seaton and Lyme Regis and the nearest big shop was Tesco in Axeminster.

Overall it is a great campsite and I am sure we will return there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MatildaandTaz 6 reviews from this member

 We visited for the last week in August and pitched in thick fog which lasted for a few days. We had a great time at site and there was masses to do in the area.

The weather was dreadful, torrential rain for days but our pitch drained brilliantly and the whole site seemed to cope.

We used Creally Park twice, using the 7 day wrist band service due to weather. Fossil hunting and cream teas all round. Park and ride was brilliant to get into Lyme Regis.

We camped opposite play area to watch the children( 4&6) and the site owner was excellent at making all children go back to tents at 9pm so it was not noisy.

Toilets and showers were clean even with all the rain. Lovely campsite and we will return when visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

 Having returned from a week's stay at this site, I can honestly say I feel quite refreshed.

Shrubbery is a very pleasant site with generous pitches, not formed in a regimented fashion, giving a feeling of space. The toilet blocks were extremely clean, with the friendly Wardens and Staff attending to them regularly. Although the site was full there were never long queues for the shower or dish-washing facilities.

The area has attractive towns and villages, Lyme Regis and Charmouth, nearby and a Park and Ride is near the site also.

There is also a small Social Club next door to the site, very welcoming.

If towing a caravan,do not follow SatNav directions and avoid Lyme Regis.

Very good value for money.

Will be returning. 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement