Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KWhyman 1 review from this member

 Our first visit was at the beginning of August 09. The weather was ok but deteriorated during the week, however this was made up for by the campsite itself. Ideally positioned for Lyme Regis, Sidmouth etc. Facilities were very good.

We were positioned near the children's play area with an electric hookup (not related!). As we have very young children this was an ideal spot.

The miniature golf course was a godsend on more than one occasion.

Everything was very clean, the staff were very helpful and pleasant. There is a bathroom which you can hire on a 1/2 hour basis which was good for bathing the children.

Supplies were available from the site shop or the garage next door.

We tried again at the beginning of September 09 but the weather was worse (happy British summers!).

We have booked again this year, just praying for good weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingfun 1 review from this member

 Booked this campsite after reading the reviews on here.I have to say what a beautiful campsite it is, full credit goes to the owners. The staff are so friendly.

We asked for a pitch near the play area and was pleased with the pitch.

It was lovely to see our daughter have so much fun and make plenty of friends. The play area was quite after 10.00pm.

We did have a couple of days where we had heavy rain and there was a few muddy puddles, BUT I will say they drained away very quickly, and I found that the campsite didn't get muddy.

Showers, toilets and wash area was kept clean, nice hot FREEshowers. LADIES. There is two ( FREE )plugs in one of the wash block, for you to use hairdryers, tongs, etc.

There is also a bathroom which you can hire.

Disabled visitors. There is a separate room with a shower, sink, toilet and hand rails to help you if needed a ramp going into the room.

There are also another set of showers and toilets at the end of the campsite ( near the caravans), the showers are in small separate rooms you walk in and lock the door behind you, your own shower room with a seat as well for you to put your stuff on ( ideal as well if your children are nervous of showers, you also get a bit more privacy) .

The dish wash facilities was also clean, handy bins next to the sink. Water again nice and hot.

Note. These are situated outside.

Plenty of bins for your rubbish and fresh water taps, you can also drink the water on the campsite.

The staff keeping the campsite nice and clean throughout the day.

The on site shop is good, the staff in there are very friendly nothing to much trouble. I needed something after the shop had closed and a member of staff was about and kindly opened the shop for me to get what I needed.

There is also a garage walking distance, next to the entrance to the campsite, which again I found the staff helpful and the shop was well stocked.

When visiting Lyme there is a shuttle bus service not far from the campsite ( you park in a field), 4 pound per car, the bus takes into Lyme it's self. Where you are dropped is also the pick up point.

There are two car parks, one in the harbour which I think was about 6.00??? to park for 4 hours, the spaces are tight and it does get packed. For those that don't mind walking up and down the very step hill, the other car park is at the top of the hill, this is a pound a day.

Dog friendly pubs, along the sea front.

The dog friendly beach Monmouth Beach is the other side of Lyme beach ( main beach ) There is also a small beach where the boats are moored which allows dog. This is a sandy beach. We used this beach, this way our daughter good play on the sand, etc. This small beach is very clean, nu rubbish or doggie stuff.

Lyme is a beautiful place, very friendly not loads of amusements, clean and tidy, it is how we like it a typical old seaside place.

The beaches are beautiful, plenty of little places to get a meal, snack or cream tea. Loads of areas to go crabbing and a spot of sea fishing.

Would we go again the answer is YES and would we recommend this campsite again the answer is YES. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miljee 4 reviews from this member

 First visit. Highly recommended. Clean, well kept. Lots of hot water! 3 loo blocks with slightly differing facilities. The lower block's showers were big enough for all 4 of us to fit in- good with younger kids in tow. Helpful and pleasant staff. The lady spent a good 10-15 mins with us upon arrival selecting a suitable area for our group with 2 tents (one needing an EHU) and a gazebo which was very helpful. Site is a field with some random hedging and trees to 'break it up' and provide some privacy but without that suburban leylandii effect you sometimes get with preordained, bordered pitches. Caravans and tents seemed to be mixed in together as they tried to rotate the areas to preserve the grass.

The well maintained kids playground suited our gang (6-10) well enough- swings, fort, slide built into a hill; and the crazy golf at 75p per child was good value!

The site was very quiet- only one night did we have a few noisy younger teens 'hooning' around on bikes a bit later than we were happy with but I've experienced far worse! We were also away from the road which I would say could be noisy.

'Negatives' if you can call them such!.- none the 'fault' of the site: The site is on top of a hill so on a couple of days we sat in a cloud for much of the day. Also we caught the wind a fair bit (had to anchor the gazebo down!). After 24 hours of torrential rain it DID get soggy underfoot but it drained quickly. The showers etc didn't seem to be suffering though so the staff must have been attending them more regularly. They also left the laundry open later that night.

Locally: Lyme Regis, with a 10.30-6.30pm Park'n'ride on the way in. 4 all day or 2 after 3pm. There's a long stay car park on the right on the hill going into Lyme that's 1 all day! But it does involve a bit of a stonk down to the sea albeit through lovely gardens. Recommend the Fish and chips on Coombe St, just before the Dinosaur Museum -which was a bit lame to be honest! It was a fossil museum with some dodgy models of dinosaurs and a few dioramas. However, the kids liked it! Aquarium on the Cobb also now sadly overpriced for what it is (I recall when it was 1 a head, not 5!) Beach well kept though of course crowded. Get there early, establish tide times and 'pitch' close to the high water mark- watch the kids with an unobstructed view all day!

Further: Beer Quarry Caves- much better than I thought, expert guide, hard hat and lots of spooky darkness. About 20 family of 4.

Seaton Tramway: bit of fun, 40 min trundle along the river to Colyton, walk around the 'town', then back. 24ish. Big car park by the entrance with a good park behind with a good kids playground. Get a picnic from the Co-op across the road. Hyper vigilant car park monitors, though!

Branscombe village: very cute but a bit of a nightmare to drive around. Watch your wing mirrors. Fountainhead pub good for an adult beer, sitting by the open fire.

Family pub: Hare and Hounds on the road to Ottery St Mary. Good value food, children welcome, big beer garden (Shrubbery owners recommendation- gave us a discount voucher!)

Pecorama: great for model railway enthusiasts but enough to hold my attention. Some lovely little show gardens, reasonable fresh food and 2 good adventure parks for the kids once tired of the model trains and the 7 1/4' gauge railway trip (about a mile).

Shops: 11pm Tesco Express in Lyme (seen a better range in similar and parking issues), Tesco at Axminster, Co-op in Seaton.

Enjoy! We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Burkiespal 1 review from this member

 An absolute gem of a camp site, a very friendly and relaxing site. Offered a nice flat pitch when we arrived, like in the other reviews. Site was busy but we all had plenty of room, 3 separate shower/toilet blocks so if you couldn't get into one it was just a short walk to the other two. Plenty of hot water for showers and in the two washing up areas. Found seaton was easier to drive too and park,got good food stores and 'the 4 G,s fish and chip restaurant and take away for excellent fish and chips,was open late on the friday we went.

Lot,s to see and do, kids enjoyed beer quarry caves,and playing on the different beaches we went to. Only a short break but came away feeling relaxed and refreshed, shame same can,t be said on other sites that we have visited. Happy to recommend and will return to the shrubbery. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morph27 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights. Stayed with my parents who also used a tent and we did get together. Friendly owners although I did notice people in tents where not always showed to pitches. 1 young couple had to repitch as they hadn't put there tent 5 meters away from another unit. It was there 1st time camping so perhaps a bit more help could have been given.

Nice shop on site that sold the essentials and was often open past the stated hours. The garage at the end of the lane sold papers etc which was nice.

Shower blocks and toilets always clean when I used them.

No recycling would be my only complaint.

Have already recommended this site to a friend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenm1370 1 review from this member

 Decided to get away for one night and hadn't booked anywhere! Two campsites we rang en route were full so we pulled into Shrubbery Park and hoped for the best!

They had pitches available and within 10 minutes we had put the tent up and were on our way into Lyme Regis - result!

The campsite is ideally situated and not too big! The toilet and showers are very clean and tidy and the shop is very handy. Prices are very reasonable indeed.

We will definitely use this campsite again and thoroughly recommend it to all campers. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michelledaley87 1 review from this member

 This was a brilliant campsite the facilities were excellent toilets very clean an showers were lovely an warm.

The children's play area was good for my 3 yr old as we pitched near the play area I could let my son play an could see him from our pitch.

The onsite shop was basic but great value.

Lyme Regis itself was a short drive away.

I would recommend this campsite to everyone.

Me an my family are looking to book for next year 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen Ann 3 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Friendly staff and owners, flat spacious pitches, a good stocked shop and a nice positioned campsite for exploring the area. Showers and Toilets were always immaculate, plenty of hot water too. We were a group of two families, us in our caravan and our friends in their trailer tent. We all said we will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mully 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived to a warm welcome and were shown a variety of good sized, flat pitches to choose from. There were two shower blocks, one with individual shower-rooms, complete with loo and sink and another with the usual cubicle style toilets and showers. There was always plenty of hot water. For young children who might prefer a cooler shower there was a disabled shower room with a thermostatic shower. Anyone could use this. Facilities were clean and there was a handy shop on site and another in walking distance.

The playground was well used but there was also enough space for children to play outside the tents where you could watch them.

The site is well located for the Jurassic Coast. Lyme Regis is a lovely seaside town. We didn't have any problems parking despite it being the school hols.

There was some traffic noise on the tent field side as this was adjacent to the road into Lyme Regis but this wasn't too intrusive.

We'd definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pootle06 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st time at this site and would recommend it.

We stayed for a long weekend over the May Bank Holiday. The weather was excellent which always helps but the site was very clean and tidy.

We had 2 dogs and a toddler to entertain but the site offers a good dog walk with enough dog poo bins to ensure it stays clean. The playground was safe.

The shower facilities were very good and clean for the little ones you can hire the children's bathroom for 1.00 which gives you 30 minutes to clean your little urchins! It is kept locked so it is very clean and well maintained.

The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced.

The size of the pitches are good you certainly don't feel like you are too close to your neighbour, there are nice hedge rows separating the pitches too which adds to your privacy.

We would definitely use this site again 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6205 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement