Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparkyj 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weeks holiday here and loved it. There were 7 of us in total in 2 tents with 4 adults and 3 children (2, 5 and 8). The owners were very helpful and made sure we were together.

We were camped by the large play area which most young families with tents seemed to be (the electric hook ups were slightly further away). This was brilliant as the children were able to play near while we kept an eye on them from the tent.

There were enough showers and toilets with 3 blocks. We found the ones near reception were best with a family as they included a toilet in each room. We also found that the washing up area near the reception were better as the water was always hot, the sinks were slightly higher and it was more sheltered when blowy!.

The pitches are flat and a there was a lovely atmosphere around the site with very cheerful and friendly staff.

We loved the surrounding area as well. We were luckily enough to be in Lyme Regis at the time of their carnival so there were lots of activities laid on like competitions for all the family, music and other fundraising events.

The beach at Lyme is lovely with good sand castle building sand. The parking is a problem though as there is quite a walk to the car park up a steep hill but only £1. 70 for all day or £4 per car for park and ride which takes you right to the beach.

Overall we had a fantastic time and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nankys 1 review from this member

 A great friendly campsite. Quiet at night and staff helpful in pitching tips such as which way the sun rises and sets. Very limited groceries available in store.

Small grocery shop as part of petrol station next door but nearest supermarket about 5 miles away. The toilet blocks cleaned regularly and are generally very acceptable.

Only frustration is having to hold tap button down when washing hands. Showers also have a push button system and so have to keep pressing button. Some showers were too hot to stand under but others were generally ok. V

ery nice for children is the crazy golf (9 holes) which costs 75p per person. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carters7 2 reviews from this member

 Extremely well kept site. The main shower/toilet block we used was good but the windows on the roof are quite large and they were left open all the time, therefore as our week's weather was not great it was at times a wee bit chilly in there.

Small shop but it had everything you needed but just out of the campsite was a small local shop attached to a garage with a wider selection.

Nice dog walk area the length of the campsite as part of the adjoining field.

Locally Lyme Regis about 15-20 mins, Seaton just 10mins with a good chinese take away and the Art Cafe which caters for vegetarians and vegan, but was outstanding!

Lyme Bay Winery about 20 mins away and well worth the visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatoxBroad 3 reviews from this member

 Had a fabulous 10 day break at this wonderful site just outside Lyme Regis. All the staff at the site were extremely helpful and very patient trying to find us a suitable pitch.

We have a 2 year old and 7 year old and wanted a pitch away from the park for the little one but close enough for the older one to go off and play.

Having read previous reviews we were lucky to have a pitch away from the road and although noticeable at times the road does quieten down at night. The owners will try to offer you a choice of pitches but obviously with the summer holidays this can't always be done.

Plenty of toilets and showers, that were kept clean considering how busy the site was. Never used the block at the top but did use the bathroom that was brill with two young children, but would advise you to book during holidays. The shop was great with all the basic and a few extras. Laundrette was an added bonus too.

Park was great for both of our children but never found the time to try the crazy golf, perhaps next time! The baked potato van on a Thursday evening was a great addition too!

Although the site was busy it was never noisy past 10. 30 and it has a lovely family feel, with families of children of all ages.

The site is perfectly placed to explore the region and is very handy for the bus or park and ride into Lyme Regis.

Will definitely visit this site again! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bruce Battams 14 reviews from this member

 We spent six nights at this very good site on the borders of Devon and Dorset. The only negative was the tepid dishwashing water the whole time.

The reception staff and facility are excellent with an adequate selection of groceries. Anything they don't have the adjacent garage has a fully stocked village shop and hairdressers.

Best quiet pitches are away from the main road. The site is well tended and mainly level. Excellent children’s play area and ambience.

The bus stop is outside the adjacent garage and only eight minutes into Lyme Regis which is delightful having had considerable investment and improvements to the promenade all the way along to the cob. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harveycampers 3 reviews from this member

 Our party consisted of 1 x tent with myself, hubby, and 3 children (13, 8 & 2), and a motorhome with my parents.

On arrival to Shrubbery, we had to park along at reception to check in, and then proceeded to wait about 40 minutes (with about 5 other car loads of new arrivals) for the park owner/warden to come along on her golf buggy to show us to our pitches.

After initial changes of position (due to an indecisive park warden) we finally were able to pitch together.

The site is quite large and set in a location approximately 2-3 miles from Lyme Regis.

Most pitches are flat, and there is a central play park for the children. There is also a smallish, but clean, pitch and putt area.

The main central shower block consisted of 6 showers and 6 toilets. There is another 2 toilet cubicles, with showers in the cubicles, around the corner of the reception.

It looked like there was another shower block at the top of the site but we didn't venture up there.

The showers are fed via an antiquated hot water supply/ set up, so when someone has a shower next to you, then it is normal for your shower pressure to reduce.

The shower on the far right in the ladies was always cold.

There is open drainage in these blocks with grills above them, that had remains of hair/ grass etc running along them.

The shower curtains looked like they had been renewed this season, but the shower poles had seen better days.

There was a bucket in the corner that had old stale and dirty water in it, which stank. I would not want to use that mop to 'clean' the floors.

The toilets were not well kept.

Often the ladies sanitary units were still full from the day before, the toilet rolls were not kept replenished, toilet roll holders broken, 1 toilet was leaking for the duration of our stay, tops of doors dusty, dirty and cobwebs.

There was a toilet that was not working, and when after the 3rd day I reported to reception, the site warden said she knew and had 'forgotten' to mention it!

The reception had a small shop with basic needs, and the garage just round the corner on the main road stocked a few more items.

There is a Tesco about 6 miles away in Axminster, and a larger Morrisons in Bridport.

Despite the site, we absolutley LOVED this area! Lyme Regis is beautiful!

There is a brilliant sandy bay style beach which has lifeguards. The rock pooling next to it was a massive hit with the children.

There are some lovely cafes, pubs, ice cream shops etc along the promenade which adds to the seaside resort feel. Along the coast it gets rockier but as this is the 'Jurassic coast' the kids loved looking for fossils.

There is a public car park -(at the top of a very steep hill) £1. 60 per day to park! - but the views as you walked down to Lyme Regis seafront were stunning.

There is a park and ride car park just up from the site and one the other side of Lyme Regis - cost £4 per CAR, and this took you right down into Lyme Regis and back to your car later. Certainly saved the achy legs!

Overall, we loved the area and would definitely consider coming this way again.

The site has been given 4 stars but think due to the condition of the toilet block (almost an afterthought) we would say it would be a maximum 3 star site.

On the day we left, the site got very full so would hate to see the condition the toilet/ shower block got in?? 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vevans 6 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this campsite. Absolutely lovely site with excellent shower facilities & a nice play area for the kids.

Very spacious and I cannot add anymore to the previous reviews but no one seems to have mentioned about the road noise. If you pitch on the right side next to the road, it is very noisy especially at peak times.

Probably would not be a problem for caravans but tents beware. Road noise does not bother everyone but I just thought it was worth mentioning.

Would definitely return to this site, one of the best laid out & cleanest we have visited but we would pitch in a different spot next time. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thelazza 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for the whitsun half term week and I can only reiterate the many positive reviews for this great campsite. We were pitched facing the children's playground and consequently hardly saw our kids (7 & 5) all week - they were too busy having fun with their many new friends!

The staff were very friendly and seemed to take time to accommodate everyone in the most appropriate location. Lots of shrubs and hedges to create privacy. The central toilet/shower block that we used was busy but with minimal queueing - but the site appeared full so no real surprise.

The only slight negative was that the hot water for washing up struggled to keep up in the busy early evening period; I washed up in luke warm water on a couple of occasions.

The site shop and (very) local garage covered most basics, otherwise the nearest supermarkets are in Seaton (Co-op) or Axminster (Tesco). There is lots to do in the local area:

Lyme Regis - lovely but busy

Seaton - the tramway is good fun

Beer - Pecorama was great - mini steam train, model railways, beautiful gardens, kids playgrounds and a brilliant juggler/entertainer (Elvik)

Ladram Bay (west of Sidmouth) - pretty small bay with canoe/boat hire.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would particularly recommend this site to families with younger kids - ours loved it and didn't want to leave! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squirrel Lirol 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a pleasant welcome and were shown to our pitch. As we were with friends we had adjoining pitches which were reasonably large, very flat with some hedges around for privacy.

Good location for visiting towns on the Jurassic coast but not sure about walkable amenities. However the on site shop was well stocked although some items seemed a little pricey.

Central shower and toilet block was reasonable and pretty clean considering the site seemed full. My partner appreciated the shower facilities more by the shop as they were individual rooms with a toilet and larger than the cubicles in the main facilities.

Friends children enjoyed the well maintained park and the crazy golf facilities.

Overall a decent campsite but will need to make use of your car. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben Tent 8 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at this super site.

We were led to a pitch near the play park, which we discussed on the phone, as we had our 4 year old with us. There were no numbered pitches, which we like, and there was plenty of room between tents.

Facilities are close by and in good condition. We mainly used the central block which included 4 showers and 4 toilets,gents and ladies, wash up sinks outside. The showers at the top of the field were modern and very clean. The only downfall being push button showers, and water pressure issues at times- boiling hot! However, the attendant was on hand to quickly sort it out.

The site is great for children. The park is safe and well set out with a good range of equipment. With the tent being so close, we could let him wander over and still see him. The benefit of being so close outweighed the noise levels at night time. The park was usually all calm by 10pm, and the manager did her rounds about 10:30 to make sure.

The site shop was good for the basics and the laundry room/crazy golf were bonuses!

Great location for Lyme Regis, Beer, Sidmouth and other areas of Dorset and Devon.

The site is easy to find and full of families in both tents and caravans.

We would recommend this place, it was fab. 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5875 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement