Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scorpion2722192 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week staying at shrubbery caravan and camping park, it is well situated for exploring the devon/dorset area.

The toilets and showers situated by the reception are in one room therefore there does get to be a queue at peak shower times which was quite annoying when you just need the loo but the shower/ toilet blocks further on in the park are separate.

There is a dog walking area which is separate from the site but the dog waste bins need to be emptied more regular and there is no lighting for a night walk. There is also signs for an electric fence which I thought odd for a dog walking area. Overall it was a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caroline_L 3 reviews from this member

 This was our very first time camping and my only fear is that we've spoilt ourselves and no other campsite will match up.

The toilets and showers were spotless and the staff seemed to be always in there cleaning. The layout of the site works well, and I agree with other posters that the little hedges and shrubs planted everywhere give a good feeling of privacy without being too regimented.

The site's best feature is that the play area is right in the centre of lots of pitches. There are not many places that we can allow our 3 year old to have free range but this was one of them. The children all wandered between each other's tents making friends while we parents all got together for a glass or 6 of wine and a bit of stargazing once the children were in bed. There were also plenty of pitches at the opposite side of the site to the play area, where we'd definitely have been if we hadn't had children.

Dishwashing facilities were great, with plenty of free hot water. Ice blocks can be frozen for 10p each, and between the garage and the site shop you'd be able to pick up any essentials.

Recycling facilities would be a huge improvement but other than that this site is excellent and well-run. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magill 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Shrubbery (special offer 70 for 7 nights) inclusive of electric. What a bargain. Had hardstanding, hook up and water on our pitch. Both toilet blocks were immaculate and pitches were spacious.

The children's playarea was well away from caravans and also plenty of room for tents. The shop had most things except bread but that was obtainable from the garage next door to the park.

Chose the site as it was on a bus route and bus stops outside just below the garage. A pity the buses are not more frequent(every two hours) either way. X53 is Jurassic Park bus which runs from Exeter to Poole and return. Lyme Regis was 8 minutes by bus and cost 2.80 return and Seaton was the same cost. We like using local transport if possible. Will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NMeadows 1 review from this member

 A really great site. It was our first time camping (Ever!) and the staff were very helpful on arrival. We were given a choice of area (including an adults only area, which we opted for), and we were shown to our pitch.

As a first time camper, I was concerned what the toilets and showers would be like, but I need not have worried. They were immaculate and very clean. We only stayed one night, but I saw staff members go in at least 3 times to replenish and clean them. I was really impressed.

Very well located, about 5 minutes drive from Lyme Regis, but it is a drive away. I suppose you could walk it but it is quite a busy road into Lyme Regis itself.

We had a great time, would highly recommend it, and in fact have booked to go back in 2 weeks time!. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John1969 3 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic. The owners and staff were more than accommodating and very very helpful and friendly, especially as they had experienced some of the worst wet weather for the Easter break.

Even though the site was closed (due to very wet conditions) they still managed to park our caravan for us, and could not do enough. Excellent facilities, well kept, and site drained very quickly. They even looked after the kids on Easter Sunday with a Easter Rabbit and Easter eggs for the kids. Highly recommended, will return again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toffeenut 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in July 2009, a nice friendly site, very clean and with excellent facilities.

We ended up pitching near to the play park due to limited space

The tent pitches are located near the main road so expect some road noise during the evening/night as well, but overall nothing that you can't live with. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joolye 5 reviews from this member

 The site is very spacious and flat. The site is very clean and has lots of toilets and showers. The site is in a good location for touring / visiting other places by car as there is nothing really within walking distance (although there is a small club a few minutes walk away).
We visited Lyme Regis and thought is was a great place, a traditional seaside town with a contemporary feel. Although it was out with the summer Lyme Regis was very busy.
We would recommend the Pilot Boat Inn in Lyme Regis, the food was excellent. West Bay is also worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallymalcolm 1 review from this member

 We visited the site twice in 2009 in May & July, Both for long weekends.

We found it to be a very clean site with very friendly & efficient staff. As we had 2 dogs & no children they put us next to the dog walk & away from the other tents as there were a lot of children with the tents & they thought we would prefer it quieter.

The facilities were just right. The toilets & shower blocks were always clean & warm with hot water. We never had to queue for the loo or shower or the washing up facilities. The shop had all you could need & they refroze your freezer blocks for 10p each.

They even had a little room full of leaflets & places to go. There was loads to see & do in the surrounding area & some fantastic coastal walks with in a few minutes drive of the site.

We really liked & will return again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MMMandy 2 reviews from this member

 Now this is what you call a camping site. The site is perfect, cannot fault in anyway. Arrived over the bank holiday weekend in May to a friendly welcome. Owner walked around with us so we could select a pitch suitable for our large set up. Chose a completely level pitch opposite one another and owner then said we could section it off with our windbreaks to stop people coming though - thank you.

Toilets and showers were spotless at all times, washing up facilities very clean and tidy and well lit. The toilets and showers by the shop / launderette were very useful as they were large and always available. No queuing :-).

Play area for kids very large giving enough space for those tents pitched around the area enough privacy too. All was quiet after 10:30pm, no noise what so ever. Liked the fact that caravans and tents were pitched at random so did not feel like it was a them and us situation as in some other campsites.

Overall I cannot fault this site if you are looking for a stay within the area. Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigcazsamlou 1 review from this member

 Just come home from a six night stay at the shrubbery and I have to say it was a joy to camp there. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the toilet/shower block was always spotless no matter what time of day you went there with no end of hot water. Play park was well kept and a good range of activities for the little ones to do inc the crazy golf which was a bit of a laugh. Nice level pitches which is def a bonus in the lyme regis area. Picked up loads of leaflets for the site and will def be recommending to my camping friends. Def worth a look. 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement