Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmaandtommy 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely camping site, great stay, great vibe, full of life.

For two people in a tent, we were comfortable and had plenty of space and privacy around us.

The whole site is flat and well presented, variety of trees and flowers.

There are 3 toilet and shower block buildings, free hot water - good showers - clean

The toilets in the furthest block from the entry had some problems flushing, but did not smell.

Did not use the playground, just caught a quick glimpse of it, and it seemed good.

Single track Tarmac Road throughout, with grass either side to drive on if passing oncoming traffic.

Kids were riding bikes and scooters round the road which goes through the park in a oval shape like a running track.

Overall layout of the site is relaxed and friendly, with bushes and trees to create a sense of division.

Hookups available - we saw caravans plugged in. Tap available for filling blow-up pools

Lyme regis 8mins away, easy to find on the main road if you follow it all the way to the town. Great time to visit during the regatta carnival ending 9th August

Lyme Regis has a lovely sandy beach, as well as pebble.

Great town with a bubbly good vibe atmosphere. Nice friendly people

Antonio's Trattoria, church st lyme regis - classic food with a touch of Puglia, Italy's southern wine region. Homemade quality italian food, cooked by Antonio and his wife themselves. Lovely place for a meal.

Coastal drive to Wyke regis easy and with breathtaking ocean cliff views.

Weymouth beach is full of bogan people - not so nice, but beach is still pretty, wouldn't go back there, no no. Portland has no real nice place to eat, its a bit yucky, the views are nice but I wouldn't suggest to go there for lunch and a stroll.

Plenty of bars and restaurants in Lyme Regis - small busy town with lots of families and young people, older and middle aged couples with dogs. Good evening life. Live music. Local pubs on the beach ice cream and fish and chips shops dominate and are good quality.

Chesil beach is lovely and sheltered and has a great walk

Seatown has a great palmers pub - the Anchor Inn, they do AMAZING good quality food and the views are breathtakingly awesome - the cliffs and the ocean!

Swimming is refreshing on a hot day - wetsuit required for comfort as sea is cold.

Camoing holiday for 3 nights, 3 days, wonderful time, lovely weather, lovely people, comfort, happy. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eyespy999 2 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a night at the Shubbery, I have stayed here a few times now in different tents. As always the site is clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the showers and washing areas are good.

I didn't book and just arrived during a peak period and they were able to accommodate me which was great. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Brigog 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite great location, would definitely visit again.

My only gripe would be that we dident have hot water all of the time but this wouldent stop me from going again.

We were there for 3 days and really enjoyed it.

Staff were very friendly and the grounds were kept neat and tidy. Great little camp site 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SteveE53 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Shrubbery in the village of Rousdon, very handily placed a couple of miles from Lyme Regis, after trying to get in at Wood Farm where we'd stayed before and at Manor Farm, where we hadn't. Very luckily, Wood Farm was full and no-one was around at Manor Park, or we'd have missed out on a real treat of a site at The Shrubbery. Won't compare site for site but if you want a quiet well set out site with large pitches in this area try this one. The washrooms etc are very good, although I would say that the large central one is a little dated and could do with an update but that aside, I can't fault anything about the site, staff or surroundings. No club or bar on site and the local social club, which we didn't visit opens on only a couple of nights a week but that isn't important to us. All in all a great place to stay and I'm only knocking one point off the score for the 'old fashioned' main toilet block. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Phil-john 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, I have to agree with previous reviews we find this site excellent. It was our third visit, we always go at this time of year to take advantage of their 'special offer', very good value at 98. 00 per week which is 14. 00 per night at this time of year.

Must say the weather was kind to us so we stayed on for a further 3 nights to take advantage.

We loved Lyme Regis and West Bay but this time we decided to try some places we haven't been to before, we visited Charmouth, Branscombe and Budleigh Salterton, I can fully recommend all these places but beware that they are small seaside places and the roads to them can be very 'hairy', single roads with passing places.

Everything else about the site is excellent, toilets were clean and well looked after though one block is now a little dated.

The pitches were good for the time of year though some were off limits due to re-seeding, we found two pitches together for us in our FC and our friends in their motorhome.

All the other campers around the site were very friendly. The children's play area looked good though we didn't use it.

The dog walk is a bit limited with a grass path from one end of the site to the other with poo bins but it does get a bit boring doing the same walk all the time! We went off site and walked down the lane each morning.

Others have commented on the water pressure / temperature in the showers however we didn't have any problems though the site was quiet at this time of year.

Staff were generally very pleasant, the shop is a bit limited though fine for a bottle of milk, exchange gas cylinder etc.

The was food van that came three nights per week with fish and chips one night baked potato's and pork baps on the other nights, we tried the fish and chips and they were quite good but the van didn't turn up again, I suppose it's only to be expected this time of year.

All in all a great 10 days holiday,

Can't wait to go again next year 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Granddad1 5 reviews from this member

 just return from this site its very clean and well space out

two little gripes is 4/50 elc a night and only 4 toilets t near reception that is showers included in toilets so in the summer you q up there is another block up the field which I would think was the same but did not look

But other than that a clean site 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freddiegreg 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Shrubbery Park and were more than happy with our stay. Beautiful site; obviously appearance and maintenance are a high priority with a team of staff (some very young, school holiday staff? but very friendly and very conscientious) working all hours. Mags, the owner, never seems to sleep and can be seen buzzing around the site in her golf buggy at all hours. The reception staff are all very friendly and will happily recommend attractions and generally answer any queries. The shop was well stocked with local produce as well as basics and 2nd hand books!

We arrived early, the journey down being much quicker than we had anticipated but were shown given a choice of pitches. We opted for one near the entrance, a good choice - it had plenty of space but did flood with heavy rain on a couple of days.

The facilities were very good - three toilet/shower blocks all with undercover dish-washing areas. As with previous reviews the only grumble would be the (sometimes) cleanliness of the showers. The drainage is not particularly good so the showers behind the reception block tended to flood, which was not so good if you only wanted to use the toilet and ended up with wet feet. All blocks were regularly replenished with paper towels and loo roll and, to my knowledge, never ran out. Water pressure is a bit hit-and-miss. Twice in 3 days the water was non-existent but, I think, this was not the fault of the site and was fixed within minutes. However, a bit annoying if you are showering and the water stops mid-shower.

Very good play area, not used by our children as they are a bit old but used throughout the day by other children. Also a crazy golf course which was very popular with all ages.

We would suggest that the area alongside this was saved for ball games rather than letting people camp there. It was not a big area but would have been perfect for football; instead it was used for campers which seemed a shame.

Although there were a lot of young children on the site it was never noisy and everyone seemed very respectful of other campers.

Very good information room with brochures and leaflets for every interest and age. Very good dog walking area which was perfectly adequate for our dog first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Well used by all the dogs on the site!

We would highly recommend Lyme Regis- a lovely sea-side town with plenty of fish and chip shops, fossil museum, sandy beach, pebbly beaches where you can take dogs, the Cobb. We were there for Carnival and Regatta week which was a real bonus - loads on throughout the week for adults, children and dogs! The fossil aspect of the area is excellent - don't miss the fossil pavement at Lyme Regis when the tide is out, absolutely amazing and kept us busy for a good couple of hours. Our 13-yr old had a good paddle board lesson and would recommend this.

Other days out we would recommend: The Donkey Sanctuary Sidmouth (even better - its free!); Forde Abbey, particularly on their open day; Canonteign falls just intop Dartmoor; quite a drive but a good day out, particularly for younger children. Axmouth/Seaton and Charmouth beaches are good. We found it not the easiest area for dog beaches so be prepared.

We did find that the area was not the best we have been to for activities for older children. Ours like ruined castles but there were none and we struggled to find things to do on a 2-week holiday. But, having said that we did have a grumpy 16-year old so probably other families would be fine.

All in all, we would return to Shrubbery Park; we have been to many sites over the years and would say this was one of the cleanest (the shower block aside), best maintained and most welcoming we've been to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GirlCamper 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend at the Shrubbery.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch which was very spacious. All the pitches on the site are large and the setting is lovely and peaceful, perfect.

The site's grounds are well kept and after a deluge of rain on one day, has excellent drainage!

There is a shop in the reception block which stocks basic things and the staff are very helpful.

There are facilities to do washing, tumble drying and ironing.

My only criticism was the shower and toilet facilities.

It was busy and it's the height of summer but I think that's a good test of a campsite, how well it copes.

I used both the showers at the main reception and the big block in the middle. Cleanliness was off/on, great after it had been cleaned but later in the morning and evening not so great. Maybe a mop for people to clean up after would be good?

The main block in the middle of the site has separate men and women's, they are basic which is fine, but didn't work terribly well. One nice lady told me to avoid the third one as the water was scorching so I opted for another one (there are no temperature controls). The shower head was quite old so didn't spray well and the pressure was pretty bad, at one point I was left standing fully lathered from head to toe with no water coming out! Given there were only two in use at the time, this wasn't great. As it's a push button you have to keep pressing - I was getting a bit fed up with the intermittent trickle.

The showers by reception are unisex, one of which is newer but the drainage was poor with a drain directly in front of the toilet so if you need the loo and someone has just had a shower, you stand in a puddle and the drain was clogged with hair etc etc, bleurgh. The others in that block really need revamping. You don't need luxury when you're camping but they need to the job they are designed for.

Overall this was the only bug bear, but otherwise a lovely few days. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beestevens 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the beginning of June, the site was very quiet just what we wanted. The pitches were big enough to accommodate our large tent with room to spare. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The facilities near in the reception block were always very clean and it was evident that high standards were kept up throughout the season.

There is a an area allocated for children with play equipment with plenty of room for them to run around (we didn't use it as there were no children in our party)

The local towns of Lyme Regis, Sidmouth and Dorchester well worth a visit. Lots of cafes and tearooms for the compulsory cream teas.

We would definitely come and stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yokel 9 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from two nights here and will be returning!

We were with friends in a tent and the owners were very friendly and accommodating allocating us two pitches together - one hardstanding for our van and a grass pitch for their tent.

The site was very quiet - it seemed that all the families were pitched near the play area whereas us 'adults only' were over the other side.

The toilets and showers were very clean and we liked the individual showers with proper cubicles - however, the water was very hot and the rooms could do with a mirror each!

We used the park and ride into Lyme Regis 5 for all day which included return bus for the 4 of us. We were fine as we used our friends' car but if we were on our own in the motorhome it was too far to walk. However, there were several motorhomes parked up in the park and ride so it's fine if you don't mind moving your van.

All in all, it was a lovely site with a laid back feel in a good location and at a good price - we will return! 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement