Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BIG DAVE 12 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 weeks at this beautiful park. Absolutely spotless grounds. Superb toilet facilities.

Ideal location for visiting all the nearby coastal resorts. Quietest site I have ever been to.

Very good shop on site. Nearest supermarket about 4 miles away in Seaton ( Tesco ). Also plenty of takeaways.

Bonus was local Social Club 2 minutes walk away welcomes campers.

My only very slight moan is there is no barrier / gate at entrance to stop anyone from just driving in.

Also was quite a few commercial vehicles on site but they were fine.

Would recommend this site to anyone wanting a peaceful site.

There is a very good children's play area which is well away from the adults only area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 36 reviews from this member

Unfortunately we had just had a dreadful experience at a site we were due to stay at so were very relieved to arrive at the Shrubbery. It is lovely well cared for and maintained site with good facilities, plenty of water taps and bin areas. It is ideally located on the Devon/Dorset border in Rousden near Lyme Regis and ideal for visiting the surrounding areas. We went to local Rousden show on the Sunday which was both interesting and charming, we enjoyed seeing the local produce etc and Mr Bumble was a hit with our 6 yr old Niece! they are obviously making a real effort to preserve the show and deserve for it to do well. The staff were friendly and accommodating and work hard to keep the site looking it's best. Shrubbery is a site we would return to.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SadieKemp 5 reviews from this member

We stayed a couple of nights here so we could go fossil hunting at the beautiful town of Lyme Regis, which is only a short drive away. We went swimming in the sea there too. You could park all day for only 2 pounds so was great value. The campsite was very well maintained and friendly. There wasn't a lot to do near the campsite though, you needed to drive for entertainment. A lovely relaxed site for chilling out.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Halliday24 7 reviews from this member

Found this treasure of a site. Has everything you need and more. Staff very friendly and helpful, always about. Only took 5 minutes to get to Lyme Regis, lovely place and further on West bay. Interesting place, though watch out for the seagulls, snatched food from our hands.

Will return to this site, the kids will love the play area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Minnie79 2 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely time here for a few days. Buses not frequent but ran to time to Lyme Regis and good connections to other places. Well kept site very neat and tidy mostly flat. Showers brilliant and some with central heating. Good launderette too. Good dog walk. Nothing negative to say about this campsite. Would return again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimCESmith 29 reviews from this member

This is a gently sloping site beside a relatively quiet A road. Itís mainly grass with some hardstandings, and very popular with caravanists. There are odd cuboids of mature, boxy hedging, some of which have lamp posts poking out of the top. The grass was thinning, though not bare, with a zillion worm casts & claggy mud oozing through, particularly after a bout of torrential rain which took ages to drain from the topsoil. It took plastic pegs readily. Make sure you use a footprint: ours came up smelling like a sewer after a damp week.

Amenities are in three separate blocks Ė a heated one at the Ďtopí which was out of action, a hugely high ceilinged, unheated one in the middle of the park, and at the bottom is the shop / reception and exhaustingly over heated ablutions, featuring showers, lavatories and a bathroom. The bottom ablutions were the most popular, with swanky fittings, tiled wetroom floors and smart lavatories. They are hot enough to do you in like Empress Fausta, low ceilinged and under ventilated. Consequently thereís a valiant battle being fought against mould and youíre unlikely ever to see yourself in a mirror. The u-bends on the wash basins are discreetly covered, which looks pretty, but it means you canít get at the traps to unblock them, so the sinks drain sloooowly. The bathroom with its little bath is very good though, and worth booking for an extra quid if the key hasnít gone missing again. I found the unheated middle block was more usable.

The washing up sinks are all under overhanging roofs but otherwise open to the elements. There are birds nesting above all of them, which is charming but ĖahemĖ unhygienic. The laundry is cheap but the machines are not terribly good. Our stuff didnít get very clean and dryer no. 3 doesnít dry. It just heats.

The shop is good and attractively laid out, though there was little stock when we visited right at the end of the season. The staff are helpful and friendly, though some are brighter and more organized than others, and itís all very well kept. Thereís a substantial play park and we had a hilarious half hour or so on the crazy golf (75p each).

EHU is only 10A. I asked a few times about doubling this up by paying for a second one and using a second lead but donít think I explained myself clearly enough, and just got blank looks.

To sum up, itís a pleasant environment, but the views arenít spectacular and you donít get a strong sense of place. Itís a good site for out of season camping in the area if youíre not into the singing and dancing holiday parks over by Charmouth. The main competition is Hook Farm in Uplyme, which has more charm (and more owls) but is on a steep north facing slope and rather dreary & dank at this time of year. The Shrubbery is also handier for Seaton, which is pulling itself up by its bootstraps. The new Seaton Jurassic centre is excellent; there are sometimes good things on at Seaton Gateway, and the enormous Tesco is very handy and right next door to the tramway.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anna.west 1 review from this member

Booked a last minute 3 night break at the end of the school holidays, easy to book over the phone, with just a deposit to pay.

Easy to find, great location for Lyme Regis and exploring West Dorset/East Devon. Nice reception on arrival, talked us through where we could pitch, lots of choice for us to pitch where we liked, we chose pitch 69 which is in the central area between the two central toilet blocks and within viewing of the play park, it also had a light nearby which was handy in the evening!

There are 3 amenity blocks, the best bathroom facilities (which includes a bathroom -key needed) are behind reception, there's a block in the middle of the park and then another at the top which is the one we tended to use, as they were slightly newer than the middle and were nice and bright during the night! This had their own self contained showers, which were nice, good hot water, was on push button which can be annoying but not terrible. I would have liked a small shelf in the cubicle to put bottles on.

The kids (10 & 4) loved the play equipment and were happy to go off and play and still be in earshot/sight of our tent.

Their are 8 sinks for dishwashing, split between the middle and lower block but these were never busy, I presume as 70% of the park is caravans.

The shop sells bread, milk, eggs etc and we did a bigger shop at the large Tesco's in Seaton. THere's a tourist information room in the reception block which full of local information and leaflets, next door was the laundry with 3 tumble dryers, about 5 washing machines and two irons.

The first night I did notice the road noise even though we weren't right by it but after that I was used to it and we did have some night-time sea mist blowing by.

In conclusion, we'd recommend this as a great family site and will be booking for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggletastic 6 reviews from this member

We camped at Shrubbery for 10 nights in August and had a lovely stay. The site is spacious and well laid out, very flat for pitching and has three choices of toilet/shower facilities. The top facilities block was closest to us and had a male and female toilet block and 4 individual shower rooms. Despite the site being very busy, we never had to wait for a shower in the morning. The camp shop is open from 8am to 8pm and has all the basics you might need. We had a choice of a few pitches and our chosen pitch overlooked the large play area which was ideal for our 7 year old daughter who had a great time playing with all the other children.

The site is close to loads of lovely places to visit in Dorset/Devon/Somerset. We had days out to the beach at Lyme Regis, the Donkey Sanctuary, Seaton Jurassic (interactive museum) and to Barrington Court (NT) - all highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

Mixed reviews of this site. We originally booked for 2 nights but moved on after 1 night. Reception was very slow even though we'd booked in we were kept waiting for 20 mins before the owner came out and showed us where to pitch. The pitch was rather small and tucked behind the wardens caravan. One nearby toilet block (with wet room type showers) was not particularly clean but the other block further away was reasonable. There is a dog walk but this seemed to have an electric fence separating it from a field of cows and there is nowhere outside the site to walk dogs. Disappointing and would not stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joesmilie 1 review from this member

This was our first time away in our little caravan and also our first Wedding anniversary. Through out the booking the owner was very helpful and quick to respond to emails. On arrival we were given a choice of pitches all of which were of ample size. Hook up was easy and the grounds are kept in perfect condition. There are 3 shower/toilet blocks all kept beautifully clean and well stocked with toilet roll and paper towels. There is also a family bathroom which would be great for families with smaller children as are the family shower rooms with plenty of room. The middle block is not as modern as the other two but still of very high standard. Information centre very helpful and shop well stocked with essentials and a few treats. All staff very helpful too.

A perfect base for East Devon/Dorset and even on a main bus route.

Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019