Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evojkp 1 review from this member

 This was our first foray into camping since a lad. Myself and my son spent one night here as it was not too far from home.

Site is well laid out, we got a pitch next to the tee-pee's, which were occupied by a couple of families with kids who ran daft til' late then early in the morning, but this is no fault of the site owners more to do with folks not keeping control of their offspring and having respect for those round about them.

Toilet block and showers are modern, clean and well stocked with soap, etc.

Hot water at outside sinks for dish washing which was splendid.

I would use this site again without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickyboy 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourite sites in the the UK. Spacious and flat and Edinburgh is only a few miles drive away - or better still take a short journey to the Park and Ride and take the bus into the city and back- so easy. Prices are very reasonable for a site so near to Edinburgh.

What really makes this site, is the lady who runs it from her base at reception. What a character she is. Not only is she super efficient at her job, she is friendly and helpful and really interested in your story.

We arrived without a booking at the busiest time of the year and she went out of her way and spent time in going around the site to see if she could accommodate us and she did with cheerfulness and no lectures.

You can order morning bread rolls and newspapers from the reception which also sells a variety of food, including venison steaks! She is a great advert for Scottish hospitality and her smiling attitude sets the tone for the whole park A must to visit - but book first because it is very popular. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wullie 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, we have been going to this site for years now and still the welcome is second to none, the owner couldn't be more helpful if she tried, not forgetting her two sons who run the site with her. The pitches some hard standing some grass all with electric and spotless. The toilet block is lovely and clean. Theres a wee shop for eggs, milk sweets and the likes. The site is set in the country side but is close to Edinburgh, Forth Road bridge and lots of places to see and lots to do. Theres a dog walk and if your feeling more energetic a walk down and along the canal is lovely.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TinaG 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights at the end of a 2 week tour of Scotland. What an absolute little gem of a site! We could not believe how large and spacious the pitches were, having previously been on a site where we were crammed in like sardines.

The toilets and showers were absolutely spotless - each shower cubicle had a proper shower - complete with perspex door! There was always plenty of hot water too because the showers were electric ones. There were nice little touches like hand soap dispensers, flowers, sponges for wiping down etc.

The lady who owns this site was so friendly and helpful - and she always seemed to be around to answer queries or just chat, whether it was first thing in the morning or last thing at night.

Linwater is excellent value for money at just £17 per night. It is ideally located for visiting Edinburgh and there is an easily accessible Park and Ride close by. Falkirk is not too far away either and the Falkirk Wheel is an amazing piece of engineering - well worth a visit! For shopaholics there is a large complex towards Livingston (and there are large supermarkets at this complex too). There are a number of chip shops, Chinese take-aways and pubs in the nearby villages of East Calder and Mid Calder.

If you like walking, there are lovely walks along the Union Canal which is very close to the site.

For little ones, there is a lovely sandpit at Linwater. There is also plenty of space for tenters on this site and there are a number of Timber Tents for hire too.

We will definitely re-visit this site! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tharper97 4 reviews from this member

 I visited the site based on the comments left by other users.

Just to confirm these comments;

The owner, Jean is very pleasant and helpful;

The toilet block is one of the cleanest I have ever experienced on any campsite, anywhere;

Level site with good mixture of grass and hardstanding;

The aircraft noise is noticeable during the day but did not cause any issues. I don't recall hearing it during the night at all;

Good walks for the dog right on your doorstep;

Extensive shopping 6 miles away at Livingston;

I drove into Edinburgh during the day and night. Fine at night but gridlocked during the day. If I was going back into Edinburgh during the day I would certainly use the park and ride facilities which are not too far from the site.

There was very heavy rain for a few days during our stay yet the site remained free from excessive flooding.

Good location for visiting Edinburgh and surrounding area.

Overall a great site which I am happy to recommend and would definitely use again if in this area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campersreunited 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site and fabulous lady. Everything well kept, nothing too much trouble. The facilities are second-to-none and the price is excellent too.

Can experience a little aircraft noise, but this didn't bother us as it wasn't incessant. There is a very good carvery on the road into Glasgow, but not walking distance and the park and ride is also on this road.

Have already recommended to friends. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parsnil 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site, facilities very clean, pitches are well spaced. Jean is very welcoming, on arrival you can order your fresh rolls and newspaper and buy your bacon for the camping brekkie!

We are a family of 3 adults and 2 dogs, we were in walking heaven from the site down the lane, go right to get to the canal and left to get to almondell country park, we did both walks, great river for paddling in the park and ice cream!

I will be back time and again and the bonus for me is that its only 20 mins up the road! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheDawgs 15 reviews from this member

 This was our third stay at Linwater (the previous 2 in motorhomes). Linwater is a real gem of a site. Jean is so lovely and helpful and really will do anything to assist. Jean remembered us and let us pitch at the back of the site nearest the dog walk. This is an area generally used for caravans / motorhomes but Jean had no problem whatsoever with letting us pitch here.

The facilities were as always very well kept, always clean and warm with the fresh cut flowers (a really nice touch). From the site you can walk a loop (starting on the dog walk) that takes a few hours along the river, passed the aquaduct, along some country roads and through the national park back. It is really worth doing. Jean has lots of information in reception including the route for the walk.

Livingston is a very short drive and has a massive selection of shops. Edinburgh again is very close, Linwater being ideally placed to explore this area. A highly recommended site, one of the best. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kgsincheshire 5 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by Jean who offered us a choice of pitch for our Outwell Ohio L tent. We opted for the tent field near to reception which sheltered from the cool breeze and had a ehu.

Jean provided us with any information we required for the surrounding area and was very helpful whatever we needed to know. Campsite was great. Good clean facilities, plenty of hot water,showers, w.c's kept in very clean condition.

Close to Park & rides and the large shopping centre of Livingston. The noise from the nearby airport didn't spoil our stay in anyway.

We know why people visit Linwater time & time again and for us it's at the top of the list for this area of Scotland. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 We first stayed here in our first season as family campers. Three years on, and the place hasn’t changed a bit. Jean is still the best campsite owner ever and the toilet block is still warm, clean and welcoming! Since our first visit, I’ve only bought eggs directly from farms (they were that good!) and the bacon is both tasty and great value (£4 for a massive pack).

For small children, there is a sandpit with buckets and spades; animals in the field next door and the planes passing close by (though not so close the noise is a bother).

There is a disabled/family shower room, with changing table, mat and even wipes. Washing facilities are reasonably priced - £2 for a wash, 50p per 20 minutes in the dryer.

There are hookups for nearly every pitch, picnic tables and chairs available to borrow and flat ground with a minimum of stones. When we visited in 2008, the place was a mudbath after the wettest summer ever – Jean actually stopped taking bookings on the main tent area - otherwise we’ve found the ground well drained.

This time we didn’t have time to visit any of the Edinburgh attractions, we were far too busy with activities on our doorstep. If you have small children, 5 Sisters Zoo is a nice wee place to visit. The nocturnal animal building was excellent – visit first thing to see them all out and about getting their breakfast (supper?).

We also went to Almond Valley Heritage Centre. This would easily be a full day’s visit in nice weather – picnic barn; many indoor play areas; outside park; trampolines; bouncy castle; animals; tiny train, etc. For bigger kids, Beecraigs Country Park offers lots of running around and though we only passed through Linlithgow, there were some lovely picnic places by the side of the water. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement