Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy coutts 15 reviews from this member

 Decided to visit here after reading excellent reviews this site gets and wasn't disappointed. Its true what they say owner Jean cant do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable.

The map you get on checking in very helpful for first trip into surrounding villages and Livingston. Never took the park and ride option as felt connections by road easy no matter where you were heading.

Toilets one of cleanest we've seen and almost shining after their daily clean! Lovely eggs on sale never tried the bacon yet and newspaper service brilliant. Sandpit kept our two kids amused for ages. Will definitely return for future visits. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 This site is one of the best that we have stayed on in nearly 40 years of camping / caravanning. Why it only rates 3 pennants by the AA is a mystery.

From the welcome on arrival and throughout our stay Jean, the site owner, was so friendly and helpful. She was utterly unfazed that we arrived 24 hours late due to weather problems, and had reserved us a hard-standing near to the facilities block. She even gave us a discount for three nights when we took a side trip to the Highlands, leaving the 'van in situ'.

The toilet block is clean at all times - being regularly checked. It has wash cubicles in both sides, as well as open sinks, and the best showers that I have ever experienced on a camp site. They are more than adequate for the size of site. Washing up sinks are in the open outside the toilet block - perhaps one of the few improvements that could be made. Even washing up liquid is provided!

There is a small shop in reception providng the essentials, whilst fresh produce like milk, eggs and bread can be ordered the evening before they are required. The nearest supermarket is some 4 miles away at West Calder. There are park and ride facilities at the airport, which is also only 4 miles away. This is far the easiest way to visit Edinburgh city centre.

Although aircraft are taking off from the airport quite frequently they are not a bother, and indeed are quite fascinating during daylight hours. The airport is closed between midnight and 6 am, so limiting night noise.

The Ratho Park Inn - about 4 miles away -serves a carvery every night - only 3.50 Monday to Saturday and 5.95 on Sundays, and is well worth a visit.

Access to the M8 & M9 is quite close - about 2 miles - but be careful at the roundabout where the A89 also joins, as it is small, multi-laned, open limit and dangerous! There is a fuel station just before you get to it.

Nearby attractions include Linlithgow Palace, Edinburgh Zoo, The Bo'ness & Kinneil Steam Railway, and the Falkirk Wheel - all well worth the visit.

OK, it is not a site with specific children's facilities, but there were youngsters there during our stay. It DOES provide a quiet rural ambience for getting away from life's hectic pace, with excellent facilities, yet very conveniently situated to access Edinburgh and other attractions.

This is a site that we will definitely return to. At 12 a night low season (including electrics) and only up to 16 in the high season, it is excellent value for money, very conveniently located, quiet, and very friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EricTheRed 9 reviews from this member

 This site has the best toilet facilities I have seen anywhere and they were spotless.

The staff were extremely helpful providing really useful maps of local shops and details of the park & ride bus service into Edinburgh etc. The site is well situated for visiting Edinburgh.

The proximity to the airport flight path is not ideal but it did not disturb me. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MARGARETP 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here caravanning for a week in early August. On arrival the staff were friendly, the pitch was pre-allocated to us and Jean even walked us to the pitch.

The shower block is superb with constant hot water and very well kept - spotlessly clean.

Linwater is handy for all local trails, towns, attractions etc. With a park and ride 5 mins drive away, for buses into Edinburgh.

We loved it - friendly, green and peaceful, well spaced, nice walks, great value. We will go again particularly because it's great for relaxing or exploring. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: John&lynn 8 reviews from this member

 Linwater caravan park,is one of our favourites and have been several times, some times stopping a day or two on the way up and down from the highlands to break the journey up sometimes for a week at a time, the facilities are excellent, the welcome you will not find bettered anywhere,as Jean the owner is one of the nicest helpful people any where to be found, the site is all level with a mix of hard standings and grass, the dog walks you will be hard pushed to find better, the site is only a few miles from the Ingliston park and ride which in my opinion is a must for Edinburgh it also passes the zoo, there is some aircraft noise overhead,from planes from Edinburgh airport, but you do soon get used to this, you can order bread, milk, papers, etc from the site office 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: New campers 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived here on a wet Friday night after work wondering if we had made a huge mistake but no, were met by Jean at reception decided it was the place to be after a busy week at work. Plenty of room for our two person tent and car alongside, hoping to come back before end of season in our larger tent. Too wet to eat alfresco so on Jeans recommendations we chose the Bridge Inn at Ratho right on the canal good pub food. Showers lovely warm and clean liked the idea of individual cubicles. Had nice walk from site one evening plenty of information leaflets in reception. Try the fresh eggs for breakfast they were huge. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Radier66 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say the photo's show you exactly what the site is like. Very well kept and the owners are so friendly and make you feel at home.

Nothing is a problem for them. There are 3 showers a good amount of toilets and wash basin cubicals and are always kept tidy and clean.

If we are ever in that area again I would be more than happy to stay there.W e had our two dogs with us and there was a lovely dog walk.A busy site but I am not really surprised having so nice and friendly owners. Mcaurther Glen shopping Centre isn't that far from the site and broxburn is just down the road a bit. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daricat 6 reviews from this member

 This is a great, family-run site. Jean was wonderful and a fantastic source of information. There was also a lot of tourist info in Reception. I believe there was WiFi in Reception as well but didn't make use of it. The electric hook up was easily accessible and the pitch was pretty flat.

Good, clean facilities. Good walks for the dogs and Jean gave us detailed directions for the walks which included some background info about the area.

Easy access to the motorways and to Edinburgh and surrounding areas. Also very near to other local villages and shops.

Despite being close to Edingburgh Airport and you can hear the planes land/takeoff, I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alibongo61 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a super week at this fabulous site. I can quite honestly say it's the best site we've ever stayed on, and we've been to a few! Jean is a pure gem, nothing is too much trouble for her, she is a mine of information and works like a trouper to ensure the site and facilities are in tip top condition at all times. The toilet and shower block were spotless and even on the busiest days I didn't need to queue for the shower. The showers (3) are proper units with glass doors situated within a cubicle. The pitches are substantial even for our 'huge' tent! There had been rain the week before we arrived, but the ground was lovely and dry. The site is ideally situated to explore Edinburgh and beyond. If sightseeing with a family check out the Explorer Ticket, it's fantastic value for money and encourages you to explore some of the lesser known castles and houses that you wouldn't necessarily visit. Doune Castle (complete with Monty Python narration) and Castle Campbell are worthy of a look. If using the Park and Ride into Edinburgh ensure you use the right one, we unfortunately used the one at Hermiston which isn't as efficient as the one at Ingliston! We took advantage of the lovely walks local to the site, the Almond Valley is beautiful and very scenic. This was the first time we'd been to Scotland with our sons, we last visited 17 yrs ago, we won't leave it so long next time and will definitely be returning to Linwater. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kalajay 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site with the best showers I have ever seen. We stayed for a couple of days. We could order eggs & bacon bread milk daily. The eggs were fresh from the hens on site and so was the bacon amazing!. We will be going again next year. There were not any facilities for children (not that we have any) but o if you have a dog!. It is only 7 miles from Edinburgh and near to livingston which has great shopping for every pocket! If you are visiting Scotland visit this site. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6155 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement