Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul S Conway 1 review from this member

 We broke down on our first visit to Linwater Caravan Park. We ran to explain we would be late, but little did we know how late! We finally arrived with the car on the back of a recovery truck and the caravan on tow at 23:30. Jean and Alastair were still up to greet us and towed our caravan down to the allotted pitch for us while the car was left near reception. The next day I set off to walk to the nearby garage to arrange for the car to be repaired, and Alistair kindly gave me a lift down. The site itself was immaculate and the facilities very clean and tidy. I would recommend this site to anyone and we will definitely be staying here again on our next visit, but hopefully arriving at a more civilised time!. A big thank you to both Jean and Alastair for helping to make sure out holiday was not a total disaster. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scotfree 1 review from this member

 Linwater Park, West Clifton, near East Calder is the best run and most friendly camping and campervan/motorhome site I have ever been to and stayed at. The owner, Jean Guinan and her son, Alistair and all her team are on site all day, often till 9p. M. , keeping the place in order efficiently and are always accessible and helpful.

I have stayed at Linwater Park for many nights on several stays from early July to early September whilst touring various regions in Scotland and cannot recommend this friendly and excellently run place too highly.

The entire place is kept spotless - so much so that users of the washrooms, showers and laundry, and the waste disposal areas also, are always inspired to clean up after them - with rare exceptions - to leave things as perfect as they were found. There are also separate washbasin cubicles for those who like extra privacy. The lawns and gardens are kept immaculately well trimmed and planted.

Nothing is too much trouble - Jean takes orders daily for bread rolls, milk and papers etc which she drives to collect and are available for collection from 8a. M. Onwards at cost price. There is always change available for the laundry machines and soap on sale if required. She will chill ice-blocks and even put excess food into her chillers for temporary storage if needed, for no charge.

If arriving later or earlier than expected arrivals are always able to either park up in the long wide access drive - or even drive to an unconed empty pitch, if available and relocate when the office is open if necessary.

As for location, Linwater Park is located on a small working farm with many trees and hedges and very pleasantly landscape garden areas. It lies on level but high free-draining ground. It is not a large park - so ideal for those with dogs and small children.

It is ideally situated near Edinburgh airport with excellent access to the Scottish highway/ motorway network and good minor road access elsewhere. There are regular flights into and out of the airport but all aircraft are small and quiet: there is a long period overnight, even in summer, when there are no or very few flights.

There is the nearby Park&Ride site at Ingleston, very close to the airport: the only one of 4 around Edinburgh which allows high vehicles to park. This P&R site is served by the new City Tram and also day and night buses. Further access right into Edinburgh centre 12miles away can be made by fit cyclists along the tow path of the nearby Union Canal or by a 6mile ride to the Hermiston P&R site. There is an excellent gastro pub, the Bridge Inn, located about 4miles along this canal at Ratho.

Apart from hard pitches and some grassed ones, almost all of which have electric power, there are many grassed areas for camping and also many small wooden A-frame chalets, each with seats and tables and one large wooden family or large group bunkhouse, with all round fenced veranda and BBQ - perhaps the first of several - in a separate field.

Jean has an office information centre with wall maps, brochures and leaflets for events and places all over Scotland and also a small area where unwanted items can be left for others to adopt.

Storage facilities are available at reasonable rates also, for those who need to break their motorhome travels. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljm18706 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site whilst visiting Edinburgh and also the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Access to motorway not far from site.

The park is clean and tidy with big pitches and Jean is fantastic.

Lack of kids play park was not an issue for my 4 kids as they had the freedom to run around and play with the other children. A good safe site.

Would recommend this park 100% as a base for the many attractions nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ayrstu 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Friendly, spotlessly clean facilities generous size pitches only minor detail that lets site down is lack of playpark for kids although there is a large sandpit which does go some way to make up for that. Jean is a great woman very friendly helpful and cheery. We'll definitely be using this site again. Ideal for long walks along the union canal, and not too far away from livingston and edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yappieannie 11 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, remote enough to provide a peaceful quiet weekend away but close enough to Edinburgh to enjoy all the capital has to offer. With the new tram service, a 10 minute drive takes you to the tram stop with free parking all day.

The site it's self is spotless and despite being full the weekend we stayed the site never felt busy. The showers were spotless and again there were no queues at the times I visited the showers.

Jean, the owner was more than helpful, the reception area full of useful information.

All in all a great site, great location and great price! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maggieme 1 review from this member

 Lovely small quiet site, I'd stay here again. The grounds are well kept and most of the pitches are hard standing.

The toilet block is spotlessly clean and warm, I loved the fresh flowers

The reception has loads of information and the owner is lovely, cheery, and helpful. You can order papers, rolls milk etc for the following morning and there is a freezer with bacon etc

It might be a bit boring for children although safe, the adjoining field contained sheep this week

Free and easily accessible wi fi

Short drive to park and ride to edinburgh and would be easy to get the train to glasgow,

No pub or shops in walking distance but a number a short drive away. Take aways can be ordered 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coastcamper 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting by Union canal and quite close to park and ride into Edinburgh. We stayed overnight here on our way north but will definitely be back. Planning to cycle into Edinburgh along the canal path.

Site was quiet on the Sunday night. First taste of Scottish morning rolls the following morning, ordered together with milk when we booked in and collected from reception in the morning - just leave the money on the desk. Sizeable pitches, easy access motorhome service point, very well kept site. But best of all were the facilities which were second to none. This was my 82 year old mother's first camping trip and she found everything to her satisfaction! Only time she had a proper shower cubicle. Set the standard very high for the rest of our tour! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another visit to Linwater.

As usual the facilities on this dog friendly site were impeccable, far superior to many club sites, and the usual warm welcome and attention from Jean the site owner.

Prices are very reasonable with no extra charges for dogs or Wi-Fi.

Whilst the site is nice ad remote, it is only 10 minutes walk from the Union Canal and 5 minutes drive from the Rathay Park carvery that also serves take away meals. There is a small supermarket and post office about 2 miles away at East Calder. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilbur 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this wonderful caravan site whilst attending a wedding nearby. Park is very easy to find and is well sign posted. Facilities are spotless and showers have plenty free hot water. When first making this booking, I was greeted by a very cheerful person at the end of the phone. Good to meet her in person, and she clearly delights in looking after her guests. Even allowed us a very late check-out on our last day. Much appreciated. We felt very much at home during our stay. Park is not huge but well laid out with sizeable hard standings & 16A hook-ups. We were able to get free access to Wi-Fi during our stay though it was at times intermittent. Park & Ride at Hermiston is just a short distance from the site. No need to take the car into the city. Plenty tourist information available from the site's office. Only down-side, and completely out of the park's control, is the noise from aircraft taking off from early morning to late at night. Advice - Take some earplugs. Would love to visit again. Suspect it would be well used during the Edinburgh Festival, Tattoo and Royal Highland Show dates! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SeanMatthews 3 reviews from this member

 First impressions obviously count and as every first impression at Linwater Caravan Park scored a 10/10 with me, this shows just how much attention to detail the owner and her team apply to their site.

Upon arrival, we turned in to a well kept gravel drive and parked outside the spotless reception hut. We were met by the owner who gave us a very warm welcome and then furnished us with various leaflets and a map of the area, which she then highlighted to some essential amenities and popular attractions. She informed us that all of the local restaurants and take-aways deliver to the site and showed us a selection of menus in reception should you fancy a night off cooking. You can also order eggs, bacon, bread etc. From reception, which will be ready to collect on site the following day!

The owner then showed us two areas to pitch our tent, acknowledging the high wind on the day, something which she seemed to be genuinely concerned about.

We pitched on a spotless, flat recently mowed area behind a trimmed hedge and next to one of the many top lit 4 port EHU's (some of which also have a water stand pipe on the back!) and were allowed to park on the grass next to our tent.

We then decided to use the facilities and I have to say that they are by far the cleanest, best kept and best looking that I have ever seen by a mile! My partner also told me that they put fresh flowers in the ladies every day; a lovely extra touch.

The park and ride is 6. 5 miles from the site and for 3. 50, you can park all day for free and get the bus in to Edinburgh centre and back. There is a pub and a small supermarket 2 miles in one direction and a fuel station and fast food place in the other. The site is far enough away to get away from it all but close enough to never be caught short.

In summary; although this site is relatively small by comparison, its manageable size makes you feel that you are a personal guest of the owner and her team. You feel that you are getting an awful lot for your money and their attention to detail is outstanding. The site is absolutely immaculate.

My partner and I are very much looking forward to returning to Linwater next year.

Well done to the owner and the team.

P. S. The female cleaner's taste in music is truly awesome! Dio and Hendrix rule! :-) 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement