Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, ideal for visiting Edinburgh and its region. The reception was very friendly, and gave us many advice and documents to help us visiting the Lothian.

Edinburgh is close and the camping is only at 15mn from the tram park+ride, so you can avoid to use your car and pay for a parking in town : parking is free and for 4, you have an unlimited ticket for tram and bus in Edinburgh.

We stayed there 5 nights, but were a bit surprised by the weather: freezing temperatures and 3 inches of snow the second day + roads flooded were not expected!

Fortunately, the camping itself is very good : spotless modern and heathed facilities, large pitches (we were happy to have chosen a hardstanding one).

The only drawback is the main track inside the camping, that became very muddy with this weather, although the pitches were better gravelled and stayed very clean. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 We booked four nights in the smallest of the 'timber tents', shaped like a Toblerone, in the week leading up to the Easter weekend.

Our overall impressions were positive despite some grim weather. The welcome was friendly, the mini-lodge was clean & comfortable and the site well placed for Edinburgh, the Pentland hills and Falkirk.

Washrooms were clean & pleasant though one shower in the ladies wasn't working.

There are two washing up sinks - lots of hot water & space but outside, under a small canopy situated at the eastern end of the washing block. This would normally work well with prevailing westerly winds but throughout our stay the so called 'Beast from the East' dominated the weather resulting in bitterly cold washing up sessions!

Any other negatives?

You should be aware you are under the flight path for the airport. Planes are coming & going every 10 mins or so from 6am until about 10pm. Great for plane spotting but not for those who are noise adverse.

Walking?

There is excellent walking on canal towpaths straight from the site. We would also recommend driving to Falkirk and walking between The Kelpies & the Falkirk Wheel - a round trip of about 8 miles but all on towpaths with parking, cafe & toilets at either end.

You can also use the canal network to walk to the Edinburgh climbing centre - there is a cafe with a view over the walls & you don't need to pay unless you are taking part in an activity.

The Pentland hills are a short drive from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nathalie 20 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite, its about 25 minutes drive into Edinburgh but well worth the drive. Very clean campsite, facilities always clean and happy owners and staff. There are also some very nice Yurts you can hire.

Amazing site - would recommend highly 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Phillmax11 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night as 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived around tea time and were shown to our pitch by the owner who was very friendly. Huge hard standing pitch with ample room for any size of motor home never mind my vw. Campsite was spotless and well kept with short well cut grass all over. Toilet/ shower block was clean and modern. Fantastic play park for the children. This site is only 5 miles away from Edinburgh Airport and if you are a very light sleeper the planes may disturb you. They did not have an impact on any of us and would return without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mighty-mondo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Linwater before in 2015 and loved it that time, glad to see standards are just as high this time we stayed.

The plot we had was very well maintained and flat, the only slight issue was the electric hookup point for our tent was to far away for the ehu unit we had to reach (ours is 20m, the hook up point was nearer 25m away from the cable entry point of our tent) - I managed to hook up a 25m extension reel to get us power to the tent.

With hindsight I'll buy an extension lead to work with our EHU to give me greater distance or I suppose I could have pitched the tent closer to the hook up point and not at the pack of the pitch like I did.

Shower facilities were kept immaculate despite it being relatively busy a weekend on the site.

The staff were very friendly when we checked in and when we visited the shop

Playpark on site is well maintained and kept our 5yr old amused

Love this site as its well maintained and looked after - we will be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JaxRad 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing site! The pitches are enormous, all the facilities are modern and the whole site is kept spotless. The owners are so friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. I loved that we were in the countryside yet Edinburgh city wasn't too far away. If we ever venture up this way again we won't hesitate in returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TeamRB 4 reviews from this member

 We checked in for about 4 nights initially and extended and extended up to three weeks - that's how much we liked this site! Everybody, from the owners Alastair & Katie to the wardens Jean & Jim as well as the cleaners & the guy who spent hours on the ride-on mower, were delightful and friendly. Whilst we were there we took the opportunity of getting our caravan serviced by a local dealer and Alastair kindly allowed us to use his shed to store some of our gear whilst this was done, which was a great help.

The site is spacious with plenty of grassy areas and offers a spotless, modern ablution block, laundry and separate disabled facilities and although you can see the planes coming & going into Edinburgh airport the noise is not excessive and there is a curfew. In addition to hardstanding and grass pitches there are timber tents and a luxury 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom cabin. Despite being very rural it is within a 5-minute drive of a large park-&-ride for trams or buses into Edinburgh. Equally convenient is the village of East Calder with a Tesco Express, post office & a pub.

All in all for location, friendly & helpful staff and beautifully mown grass we would recommend Linwater to anyone visiting the Edinburgh area. We hope to return soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Helgawills 4 reviews from this member

 We went at the busiest time for Edinburgh, during the Fringe Festival. Units were coming and leaving all the time, so the owners were very busy.

Facilities and grounds were kept immaculate, welcome and service was friendly at all times.

Particularly nice in Facility block are the cubicles for people not needing showers or keeping out of the way of basins for handwashing when doing teeth or make up.

We particularly like the dog walk, from back of site, which takes you along a beautiful valley, along a mill stream, to the Union Canal and an aquaduct. You can cross under the aquaduct and the head towards Edinburgh, past a very nice pub at Ratho, where excellent meals are available, booking necessary at busy times. There is a small area where dogs can be brought inside.

Campside sells a few groceries, particularly eggs laid by their own hens, which can be spotted all over the site.

Will definitely keep going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nbrowndesigner 1 review from this member

 Lovely tidy campsite- great, clean facilities and very friendly amenable staff. We were able to borrow picnic furniture which was nice as we had no room to pack seats. Secure and mostly quiet- loved it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

 This has got to be one of the best sites that I have been to. Loads of spaces on hard standing piches. Grass piches are on firm grass. Nice dog walking area at side of site. Quite a few articulated caravans visit site. Amazing vehicles.

Toilet and block facilities are outstanding. Laundry. Washing up area. Camp shop stocks basics. Children play area.

Good chip shop in local village (Aldo's. Battered haggis. Yummy)

To side of flight path for Edinburgh airport 10 miles out. Planes landing every 2 mins certain time of day. Very little noise. Got binochular's out. Nearly turned into a plane spotter.

It is not on a bus route so car req'd. Some good walking routes off site. We used park and ride to get into Edinburgh. Free parking. And No22 into town (4 return rover ticket)then same stop in town get a No 25 to Leith Docks see Queens ex Brittania. (15)

The staff will do anything for you very friendly site. Cost 2 x OAPs 1 dog. 20 a night. A bit isolated but what a bargin.

I will return for sure. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6627 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement