Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 In my last review of this great site, I said that we had to try the 'Timber Tents'. Well we did, for four nights on the way to and from the Highlands.

These are tent shaped wooden structures, similar in concept to camping pods. The four at Linwater have raised beds with mattresses, a small fridge, a heater, electric lights, kettle and electric sockets. They're at the 'luxury' end of the camping pod spectrum and are very snug. There is a picnic table and benches with each one. At £28 a night they area real bargain!

Although we took cooking equipment, we didn't use it. The Rathough Park Inn is too convenient - a carvery for £3. 99, whilst there are chinese and fish & chip takeaways in East CAlder - just five minutes driver away. (The meal for two at the Chinese is great value; so much food that we got two dinners out of it - £20). Morrisons at Livingstone filled in the gaps.

Apart from Edinburgh city, which is best accessed by park and ride bus from Hermiston Gate - about four miles along the A71 towards Edinburgh - (don't forget to take a day ticket - unlimited travel for £3. 50!) - Linlithgow is worth a visit, as is the Bo'ness & Kinneil Railway. Also try the Glen Kinchie distillery for the 'breakfast whicky'.

Linwater is also very handy to head north or west; the M9, M8, Forth Bridge and M90 are all easily accessed within a mile of the site. This makes it an ideal stopover.

It is our fourth visit to linwater in as many years, and they seem to know all their many returning campers, and greets you as old friends. We'll definitely be calling into Linwater again next year! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 101 reviews from this member

 We booked by email prior to arrival and received a prompt reply. The site is easy enough to find and there are several supermarkets within a short drive away. There is a small shop at the reception and the help yourself box of leftover non-perishable food items from other campers was a nice touch. The site is level and well maintained. The wash room area is spotless with loads of hot water. Apart from the odd aeroplane the site was quiet too.

Jean, the owner, was very helpful and informative about the local amenities and attractions in and around Edinburgh.

Linwater campsite is ideally situated for visiting Edinburgh. We were charged £16 per night (2 adults, 1 tent & 1 car). There is a park and ride for the city centre about 10 minutes drive away (£3. 50 return with services running all evening).

We spent most of our time in the city but can also recommend a climb up Arthurís Seat to get the lie of the land if the weatherís fine. The castle is worth a visit too, as are the art galleries. Slightly further afield the Falkirk Wheel and Forth bridge are both fantastic feats of engineering.

A great little site for a stopover en-route to the Highlands and Islands or as a base when visiting Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clickerjac 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived at lunchtime and were warmly welcomed and were taken down to a choice of pitches. We had a wide choice of pitches, with or without electric hook-up, opting for the latter. It started raining as soon as we started to pitch the tent so it was done in great haste. The site is level and there is plenty of grass or hard standings.

In general the site is very clean and tidy, well maintained. The electric hook ups also have lights so it is easy for night time trips to the loo. The 'facilities' were being cleaned when we arrived but I checked them out asap. The ladies were very clean with private cubicles for wash basins as well as showers and loos. The showers were efficient, with adjustable temperature. There were several hooks for clothes but I would still have liked a stool to sit on for drying feet, putting socks etc back on. The hair dryer was free and worked well. I was told that the mens facilities were just as good.

The dish washing area was outside at the end of the block and I feel it could do with a bit more protection from the weather. I particularly liked the book/magazine/food depository in the office where you could take or borrow anything you liked and of course leave something you didn't want. There was a limited amount of food 'basics' for sale in the office. There is no pub nearby so you need to drive somewhere if you want food or drink out.

The close proximity of Edinburgh airport means there is aircraft noise, it starts about 6a. M! But living in an area frequented by noisy RAF jets I wasn't very bothered by the planes. There is a park & ride about 4 miles up the road, very useful for city visiting. There is also a shopping centre at Livingstone which is good, particularly when the weather is bad. I would definitely return to this site and recommend it to others 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tel and mand 7 reviews from this member

 Ten of us just spent a week here in 3 touring caravans and found it to be one of the best sites we have stayed on. The owner never seems to stop working from first thing in the morning to last thing in the evening. She is there for any advice you need and could not be more helpful.

The facilities are spotless and showers were some of the best I've seen. Would recommend this sight to anyone. Good shopping in nearby Livingston, ideally located for the hermitston park and ride which is the best way of visiting Edinburgh city centre. Some noise from aircraft if they are taking off to the west but this was not a problem and seemed to give a lot of the campers an extra thing to sit and watch.

Overall a very friendly site with excellent facilities and close to all amenities 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Treksandy 2 reviews from this member

 Beautifully presented site.

Warm and enthusiastic staff greeted me and took my reservation. Toilet and shower block was immaculately clean, heated, and nice touch. Fresh flowers by the sink.

I was only staying for one night but the lady on the reception made sure I had maps for Edinburgh (a short car journey away) and seeing my dog, gave me a printed list of dog walks from the site.

Generally I prefer smaller less 'organised' sites and camping, having visited some that are run more like prison camps:/ However at Linwater it was very relaxed and friendly and it was particularly refreshing to find that there was a distinct lack of the usual Do's and Dont's.

I would highly recommend Linwater as a place to stay. Its closeness to the City and convenience to motorway connections makes it an excellent base. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KANNGA69 17 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have just returned from our 2nd year staying at this site and can only repeat what I put in my review last time. The site owner absolutely brilliant at her job. Showing people to their pitches. Tidying up and a lot more other jobs from early morning till late at night. She helped us book our visit to the zoo on her laptop as we did not have one with us. We arrived late in the evening due to our 4x4 breaking down on route. We arrived about 9. 00 at night to find Jean still in reception and made us welcome. As it was difficult for the large recovery truck to reverse our car and 26ft caravan on to the pitch a kind gent who was in reception at the time offered to put our caravan on to the pitch for us. It is good to know there are other caravanners who offer to help when in need as we do when any one struggles to put an awning up. The toilets/showers were always clean. Livingston shopping centre is only a short drive away as is the park & ride to Edinburgh. Keep up the good work. Hope to return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karola 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of the nicest camping sites I have stayed at. The pitches are generous and the facilities are first class (especially in terms of cleanliness. ) The lady who runs the site, could not be more helpful, cheerful and informative. The Park and Ride nearby meant that access to Edinburgh for the fringe festival was easy and cheap (The night buses ran to the Park and Ride as well which helped for the late night comedy events we had booked. )

We will definitely be going back to Linwater in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarolineAndTim 4 reviews from this member

 We booked Linwater based on the reviews from UKCampsite.co.uk and the very fair pricing structure - and boy did our stay exceed our expectations! We were greeted by the wonderful owner (she really is as brilliant as the other reviewers have said she is!) and shown to the camping area. There were several pitches available and we were able to choose which one we wanted. There are electricity supply posts dotted around the campsite, with plenty of sockets for all to use.

The showers/toilet block are of superb quality, with plenty of hot water and lots of space to get ready at the start of the day.

We used Linwater as a base for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. We found the best way to get to the city was to use the park and ride, approximately a 5 minute drive from the campsite, with all the relevant instructions and options for travel supplied by Jean on arrival to the site.

I have read some reviews that said the aircraft noise from the neighbouring airport was a problem. However, we found that we only really heard the planes if there was very low cloud cover.

The owner is the hardest working woman I have ever met - I have no idea how she manages to find time to sleep! She made us feel very welcome and we would definitely use her campsite again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jemmby 15 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. Jean gave us a wonderful friendly welcome. The site facilities are immaculate.

The situation of the site makes it an ideal stopping off point for touring North or South.

Great for dogs and their owners as there are good walks which start from the dog walk. A nice touch was that you could order bread rolls, milk etc; by writing the order on a sticky label and the produce would be waiting on the counter at 8am the next morning. The bread was very nice as well.

We recommend this site and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from another enjoyable visit to Linwater, it is stll as good as ever.

As usual the toilets and the dishwashing area were spotless with plenty of hot water.

I noticed an earlier review criticised the dishwashing area for not being fully enclosed but it has a roof over it which is more than many sites have and is always clean, what more do you need?

Being a little off the beaten track the site is nice and quiet and ideal for well behaved dogs, I will definitely be returning again. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement