Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen98 24 reviews from this member

 The site was fully booked on the night we got there, but still the owener let us look at a couple of pitches to see which would be better for our big tent. The friendliness of the staff was the same for the rest of our stay, nothing was too much bother.

For small children there is a sand pit to play in.

We went on a couple of the walks from the site, the one to the aquaduct was especially picturesque. We were using the site as a handy base for visiting Edinburgh, the park and ride into the city is about a 5 minute drive away where there are regular trams into the centre. Edinburgh Zoo is also only about a 15 minute drive away.

The plane noise didn't bother us at all, the minor road next to the site was a bit more noticeable but it was more than made up for by the friendliness of the welcome. We would happily stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 Another one night stopover to break up a long journey and after 6 nights of only being able to hear sheep, birds and other wildlife the sound of cars and aeroplanes came as a bit of a shock. But the planes stop before 10pm and the cars are few and far between after about 9pm so they didn't bother me.

A well laid out and organised site and a warm and friendly welcome from the warden and also from other campers. The pitches are clearly labelled, flat and almost stone free (I found one when pitching the tent).

The dog thoroughly recommends the dog walk even if you don't have a dog! We both wished we were staying longer so we could have explored further the miles and miles of footpaths there appears to be round the site.

The shop in reception is well stocked with all the essentials that you might have forgotten and little treats that are just what you need to go with a cuppa after a long walk.

A lovely place and another site that has made it to the revisit list. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, the hard standings are ample size and level too! Shower and toilet block was clean, warm and modern and was never busy the weekend we were there. Pot washing is al-fresco and could really do with a roof overhang to keep the worst of the falling moisture from your dried pots! Was plenty of hot water though and washing up liquid/pads too. Huge sand pit for the little ones but not much else.

You can order morning rolls from the shop which were fantastic.

The 'banes' as our little one called them were not a problem although they were on arrivals when we were there, might be noisier on departures.

The nearby climbing wall by Rathough is a must visit even if you are not a climber, it is epic and well worth going to see for the omg factor, nice cafe too where you can watch the activities including the most bottom clenching high level adventure course I have ever seen! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another four day break at Linwater Caravan Park, my second visit this year.

Due to the unfavourable weather forecast I left the tent at home and rented one of their timber tents. These are superb for a short break and have a fridge, an electric kettle and a heater which proved to be a blessing for these chilly September evenings.

I use this site regularly as it is one of the best that I have ever come across and there is always a warm welcome from Jean, the site owner. The pitches are all level on nicely tended grass with electric hook-ups and free Wi-Fi.

Although the site is in a very quiet & remote rural setting, local shops and takeaways are only about two and a half miles away and if you wish to travel into Edinburgh city centre it is only 5 - 10 minutes drive to the park and ride.

Five miles away are the Livingston retail park and outlet centre.

The site is only a few minutes walk from the Lin's Mill Aqueduct where the Union Canal crosses above the River Almond, so it is ideal for canoeing etc.

Well behaved dogs are made most welcome and are allowed off-lead. There is an excellent dog walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping nutcase 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner Jean.

She was willing to answer questions about how to get go local attractions etc.

When we pitched she said that as it was a distance from the pitches to the central EHU post, she had extentiins, which she duly brought down.

The loos/showers were spotless. Loved the fact that the showers were the type you tend to have at home and not push the button for ten seconds of water.

The reception sold a few sweets and drinks, along with bacon, sausage and haggis. Oh and highly recommended ice cream.

In the reception area there was a 'camping leftovers' box where you could leave bits that you no longer needed, or pick up bits that you had forgotten. Anything from some coffee to a chair.

I picked up pillows and put them back before we left.

The only minus is that it is on the flight path for Edinburgh Airport, so you do get the noise of the planes. However after the first day you get used to this. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

 (Couple - Early 50's - look for peace, quiet and tranquillity, but with a few mod cons).

Stayed 3 nights - Fri 14/8 to Mon 17/8

It was August, and this is Edinburgh, so I didn't expect peace, tranquillity, and masses of open space to ourselves, but d'ya know what, they didn't do bad!

Of course it was busy, and there was the odd little queue at the showers at peak times (which didn't affect me, as I showered at dusk). Some of the tents were maybe a little closer to each other than we'd normally prefer, but as we spent a lot less time on site, it certainly didn't affect our enjoyment. More cosy than uncomfortable. Most pitches however, for the larger tents, and 'vans/MH's etc, were more than adequate. The hard-standings even more so. The grass, throughout the whole site, was immaculate. Lush and cut to the perfect length (and no grass cuttings either). The whole site was beautifully tended too, but still welcoming. As was our hostess, who handled our experience, from an early 'phone call to make our booking 3 months in advance, to giving us directions to Asda as we waved our goodbyes! (Having a 6 hour trip home, we needed provisions for the journey!) No deposit required either, which was a massive surprise, seeing as it's Festival month!

The only time the showers weren't up to their (apparent) usual standards was when certain guests couldn't be bothered to pick up the mop as they left the shower cubicles! Other than that, all was as at should be.

There was a rather cosmopolitan feel to the site, with English, Welsh, French, German, Dutch, and Scottish of course, all being noticed, as well as a couple of other 'unidentified' nationalities. Made it feel like a 'proper' holiday! Oh, and the sunshine helped too!

Other than those mop-averse-camper moments, there was a definite air of conviviality about the whole site.

Naturally, we spent the majority of our 3 night stay in the City itself, with the highlight being the Saturday night Tattoo at the Castle. The two full day's were spent ambling around the city, soaking up the atmosphere of the world famous festival. Not for the first time, and hopefully not the last! And all easily reached by car/P&R and Tram/Night bus.

Had a great 11 mile cycle ride from the camp site to the City on the Sunday. 97. 5% of that is canal-side, and flat, of course. The 2. 5% nearest to the site is on very quiet, nigh on traffic-free, country lanes.

Unfortunately it's the same 11 miles to get back, but you can't have it all!

Yes it was a busy weekend, and no, perhaps it wasn't the most romantic of our 19 wedding anniversaries, but all in all, we had a wonderful weekend, close enough to a wonderful city, at the most wonderful time to experience it, and having stayed here just put the icing on the cake.

Didn't even think 'wish we were on that', when the holiday planes took off from a few miles away, so that's a good sign!

We'd love to do it all again some time, and if we're still campers when we do, we will almost certainly stay here again.

Ooh, actually, it doesn't matter if we are or not, as not only do they have a few cosy looking pods, they also have what looks like a superb, luxurious timber lodge, so yes, I'm sure we will return at some stage!

Thanks for having us. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few days in a tent with electric hook up. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The grass was a bit waterlogged so Jean put is in between 2 pitches and blocked them off so we weren't rammed in with other tents, and lent us an extension cable to reach the hook up point. The facilities are spotless and the site well laid out and flat. The whole site has a feeling of being laid back which is what you want when on holiday. There are plastic patio tables and chairs you can borrow which is perfect when you are in a tent and it'd be great if other sites did the same thing.

My kids enjoyed watching the planes and they weren't an intrusion at all.

We used the Ingliston park and ride, using the tram, which cost 8. 50 for a family day return ticket giving unlimited travel - very well worth it, and the trams are clean and every 10 minutes.

There is a retail park a few miles away which we used, including an Asda for essentials and the usual fast food outlets as well as decent shops etc.

I would have no hesitation in visiting again, in fact ive already recommended this site to others, and we will definitely return next time we are visiting Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bea27 14 reviews from this member

 Once again a wonderful stay at Linwater Caravan Park. Jean is an absolute 'gem' and cannot do enough for you and we can only re-iterate all the other lovely comments on previous Reviews. We use this site regularly to visit our daughter who currently lives in Edinburgh. However, she is due to move to Dunfermline, and having looked around that area for a suitable alternative site we have come to the conclusion that we can't do better than Linwater! So, Jean, in the words of Arnie. 'We will be back'. Keep up the good work and here's to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mighty-mondo 5 reviews from this member

 We are just back from a stay at Linwater, what a brilliant site it is! It is well laid out and very neat & tidy. We had an electric hook up grass pitch which was massive with plenty of space and lovely and flat.

Toilets and showers are kept spotless and are cleaned very regularly, I agree with all the other reviews that Jean & family are so very friendly and helpful.

The large sand pit was brilliant for amusing our wee boy, there is also a good area for dog walking.

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 16 reviews from this member

 I can only reiterate the previous reviews; spotless facilities, very friendly accommodating owner, spacious pitches, very near park and ride service. The pitches are quite open to the weather, but we were ok despite gale force winds (I was very scared at one point). Jean sells farm eggs, so delious we brought some home. I believe there are some good walks from the site, but the weather was not walking weather so didn't explore too much. Although the site is very near to the airport, the planes didn't pose a problem for us.

We went into Edinburgh using the new tram system, free parking and an all day pass was 3. 50, excellent value. The site is also very close to the International Climbing Centre, we passed an hour or so watching climbers manoeuvre vary rock faces, lovely cafe and several shops. We ate at the Black Bull in Middle Calder, good food and good value. Oh and it is an ACSI site, although we didn't have our card with us Jean still gave us a discount off her normal rate.

We would thoroughly recommend this site and hope to return next year. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements