Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JayBee74 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at Linwater Caravan Park. Have been to several sites, but this has got to be up there with the best.

Was met on arrival by the owner who was more than helpful. Jean showed us to our pitch (we had a choice) and have to say the ground was great for our Hi Gear Blackrock 5 tent (first time used - very impressed). This is a nice, tidy, well preserved and peaceful park and the toilet / shower block is immaculate and well stocked. It's great to go to a site and get a decent shower.

If ordered, Jean will bring your morning newspaper, rolls, eggs etc. To the site for collection at a very reasonable price. There is a well stocked shop on site which is full of information leaflets, menus as well as ice cream (very tasty), milk and other essentials.

There is a gap at the back of the park which takes you on a nice woodland walk with a nearby stream and the Union Canal.

Not much happening outside the park - this is in the middle of farms (which is great if you want a quiet break). There is a small town nearby (approx. 5 mins drive) which has a Scotmid store (open till 9pm) and several takeaways and a bar or two.

Cannot fault this site at all. Only one very minor thing which I feel would be helpful is maybe having a couple more electric hook-up posts around the park.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heartsman 7 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic and its that because Jean makes it Fantastic. She is welcoming and very friendly. She is always busy maintaining a very high standard of cleanliness in the toilet blocks, showers, dish areas and laundry area which may I say are always immaculate. We often see her whizzing past on the lawnmower keeping the grass in check. I wouldn't walk out in front of her though. On site there is a small shop where rolls and newspapers can be ordered and bacon and eggs from the farm can be obtained.

The site itself is quiet with a few planes going overhead which adds to the character of the site but you soon become immune to the engines. There is plenty to do from the site as a base, Edinburgh is a short journey away, lots of attractions and there is lots of shopping opportunities of the m8 or bypass.

There are walks off the site and ratho canal centre is a short journey away or just relax (tv. Ds. Games console optional).

This is our 2nd year visiting Linwater and Its our favourite site. Our home from home.

Jean goes out her way to look after us even supplying our son with eggs at easter. She is one in a million.

Sometimes I wish the weather could be as accomadating as jean unfortunately this you can not predict. Part n parcel of caravaning. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa555 11 reviews from this member

 After packing we departed around 2pm and after a fairly pleasant drive arrived at Linwater Caravan Park, booked in and got set up. As always the first set up of the year is one of trying to remember where everything is and where it goes, but it all came together in the end.

Caravan set up it was time to have a cuppa, then we discovered our first problem - water wasn't running, all it was doing was spluttering, but as we did not really require it at this time we pushed on, had tea then got the awning up which went without a hitch, probably due to the lack of wind more than anything. Then it was time to think about the water problem. After trying several things we decided to leave it until morning.

After a good sleep, good breakfast we tackled the water problem with a vengeance. Checked bottle full, no kinks in hose, switched on but still spluttered - back to square 1.

Tried removing filter and blowing in pipe only to discover air coming from filter. Decided to visit local caravan centre to get a replacement, fitted this but things still the same. Linda becoming agitated. After speaking to Jean we finally got assistance from a local who did the same checks, blowing into the pipe when the pump was running, low and behold the bloody thing worked. It was only later we realised it was Friday 13th!

This is a great site, very friendly and close to P&R for access into Edinburgh. Our only adverse comment is that dish washing area is very exposed and don't think it would cost to much to enclose it. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oxter 67 reviews from this member

 Very nice well maintained site. Friendly, helpful Jean gave a warm welcome and loads of information - bread buns etc available on next day order, park and ride nearby, nearest shops etc. Immaculate toilet blocks - nice warm showers and wash hand basin areas as well as dishwash area kept very clean. We were able to access the wifi with a hand held iTouch held close to the caravan window.

The off road walks available direct from the site are superb. Lovely canal side walks available from there as well. Park and Ride at Ingleston - 10 minutes drive away - ample free parking there and reasonable fares to the city although the 35 takes a longer route than the 12/12X. Over 60s travel free with your Scottish bus pass - bonus. Loads to do in Edinburgh (adults as well as kids and a lot of attractions are 'free and for nothing' - Jean will tell you all about it. I would go back and am happy to recommend the site to others. We were aware of some aircraft but that's about it - certainly not to worry about and nothing late on. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jeni_c 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a timber tent at this site. This site is fantastic, and we will be back next year.

The timber tents are small but functional. 4 beds (1 double, 2 singles), lights, fridge, heater. Picnic bench outside. No cooking inside obviously. Local takeaways will deliver though.

The site is well maintained. The caravans are at the back, the timber tents share the same sheltered pitch as the tents.

There is a little shop which sells bits and pieces (inc meat). You can order newspapers and lovely fresh rolls for the morning. Lots of leaflets about the surrounding area.

The toilet block is really nice with showers, toilets and private cubicles. Always spotless, to the extent the mud on the floor from my wellies vanished while I was in the shower (I was going to clean it up, promise!) There is also a family/disabled room with toilet and shower.

Washing machine and tumble drier available, quite cheap and did a good job.

The pot wash is outside, but this is fairly standard on other sites. Nice to see recycling encouraged.

There isn't much else on the site. It has a sandpit, which was fine for my kids. There are some lovely walks along to the local country park and along to the canal.

The site is really well situated for transport links - Edinburgh (park and ride), Falkirk, Stirling, Linlithgow, Livingston, etc all within easy reach.

Thanks for a great stay! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our first visit to Linwater caravan Park.

We arrived on Friday evening after work for a two night break.

The site is located in a quiet countryside location. An ideal location if you are looking to relax and de-stress. There are no shops in walking distance but Asda in Livingston in about a 12 minute drive.

On arriving at reception we were greeted by Jean who explained about the park and then lead us to our pitch.

The pitch was hardstanding and a good size which allowed us to erect out awning.

The toilets and showers were immaculate. The shower cubicles were spotless, with plenty of hot water and no push button taps either! The dishwashing areas are a little open to the elements, but nothing worth putting you off.

You are able to order your papers, rolls and milk at reception and collect and pay for them the following morning. Fresh eggs are available to purchase at reception and they are very nice.

There are local walks available to go on and these start at the bottom of the dog walk at the caravan park. We walked to Ratho and back along the canal on Saturday. Which was nice and very scenic.

The caravan park is kept very clean and litter free and Jean alaways seems very busy, but never too busy to stop for a natter or help you out with some local knowledge.

We really enjoyed our two night stay and we will definitely be back again soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smeatonarab 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of October and thoroughly enjoyed it. Finding this site was very easy and well signposted. The site was not too busy with maybe about a dozen caravans. The toilet and shower block was very clean. There is not much on the site but that suits us fine. The walk down by the Union canal was lovely. The digital tv reception was excellent. After a while, the noise from the planes taking off and landing was hardly noticeable and I can't remember being wakened by any night flights. This site is ideally situated for easy access to both Edinburgh and Livingstone. Last but not least, Jean was very friendly and welcoming and could not have done enough to make our stay pleasant. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jeang 1 review from this member

 As the owner of Linwater, I just wanted to reply to Debbie's review, and firstly apologise to her and her family that she was not happy with her stay.

I was sorry I could not have her nearer the timbertent, but as we are very small, she was just round the corner, and I think the boys enjoyed their extra independence. We are a small, friendly site and always very safe, but if the grass hadn't been so waterlogged, you could have been beside them. However, we have had rain most days since August, and the Park had become very waterlogged - even with the sunny days at the end of September. This meant that even the hard standings had some water, and we could not cut any grass and I agree it did not look as attractive as I like it, but most caravanners realise the situation and take this into account. The roads do have potholes after the rough summer and will be attended to over the winter.

As for the lack of scenery, we are surrounded by trees for screening, as laid down in our planning from the Council, and our description does say 'situated on farmland', hence the sheep!

We do not advertise as being good for children, (only having a sandpit) but more we are a great base for visiting all the attractions around. I do notice you have had a good visit to Noah's Ark in Perth which is a great Park for kids. As for the Airport, we cannot do anything about that, and it is mentioned in many reviews, and many visitors do enjoy watching the planes. Ear plugs are available free in Reception!

Apologies again to you and your family, and we wish you a good winter, and happy caravanning in 2012, Jean and Alastair. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scotcamp 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited Linwater on a regular basis for nearly 10 years. This is our home from home and well worth the drive from Carlisle, even for one night.

Jean is one in a trillion, welcoming everyone like old friends, there are a lot of campsite owners/wardens who could learn a lesson or two here in customer service.

The site is immaculately clean (yes, that includes the grass) The toilet block is cleaned daily and Jean makes numerous checks through the day to ensure they stay clean.

From the site there are lots of walks including along the canal tow path, taking you all the way into Edinburgh if you are feeling energetic.

Jean's ordering service for newspapers, milk, rolls etc in the morning is brilliant. The bacon available in the freezer from the farm pigs is the best I have tasted.

The airport noise is not a problem, it can be entertaining for little ones who are not used to seeing planes as close.

As well as all the attractions of Edinburgh, shopaholics will enjoy a visit to MacArthur Glen at Livingston.

There are numerous places to eat out nearby -

Ratho Park - the cheapest (3. 89) carvery around and tasty with it

Lime Kiln Livingston - lovely menu with children's play area with CCTV at the table for parents to keep an eye on the little ones.

The only criticism I have of Linwater is that it is not open all year, but after the year that Jean has had I do not grudge her a long period of RnR this year.

See you again in 2012 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbie65 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Linwater with our 3 children (14, 11, & 9) for 4 nights in October. We had been really looking forward to staying at this site, especially as all the previous reviews had been so glowing.

We had booked a pitch with awning for our tourer, and has also booked a timber tent, specifically asking for our tourer to be as close to the timber tent as possible. Linwater's reply said that they would put us in a pitch parallel to the timber tent, so that was fine.

We arrived at the site, which is just off the outskirts of Edinburgh and fairly easy to find, and discovered that for some reason we had not actually been given the pitch parallel to the timber tent as indicated in the email, but one on the other side of the park.

I didn't want to make a fuss about this, as overall it wasn't too big a deal, but, as the timber tent was for our teenage son to sleep in, we had wanted to be close by, so we were a bit disappointed that Linwater hadn't managed to remember our request.

The pitch we were allocated was quite water-logged, with a big puddle in the top right corner, meaning that we had to really tuck the caravan right into the opposite corner to make sure that the corner of the awning wasn't in the puddle.

The site itself was, I would say, bland. It is bordered on one site by a line of bushes/trees, and on the other by a field with sheep in it, so there is no scenery so to speak of.

Despite other reviews raving about the grass getting cut, etc, we thought the site looked a bit unkempt and in need of a good spruce up - it was just a bit nondescript really.

The main track/road through the site was very pot-holed, and this meant that there were big muddy puddles everywhere, so that when the kids were riding around on their bikes they were splashing up dirty water all the time and their clothes were getting filthy, so maybe the potholes could be filled in with some rubble or gravel?

Apart from that there really isn't much to do for the kids on the site, there is a sandpit but I'd say that this was for younger kids.

Toilet blocks and showers are very clean and warm, showers are electric and as stated previously there are individual shower cubicles - however a bench or chair in the units would be handy as anything that couldn't be hung from a hook had to go on the floor of the shower unit.

Small shop in the reception area on site, selling sweets and ice creams for the kids, etc, lots of tourist information too - we ordered from the local fish and chip shop who did deliver to the site for a fee.

The local park and ride is a great idea, we spent a day in Edinburgh and took the bus rather than the car - brilliant.

Pot washing area was very exposed to the elements - if it was raining then you need your waterproofs on to do the dishes.

Unfortunately, the noise from the airport is very loud, and if you are a light sleeper then this is not good - we were woken 3 or 4 times and night with aircraft taking off or landing.

We suspect that this site is maybe ideal for an older couple who want a very peaceful site, but I doubt we'd be back as we don't think that even in the high season this would offer much on site for our family, although it is a good base for seeing lots in and around Edinburgh - if you don't mind the noise of the airport. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement