Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C + K 2 reviews from this member

 From the moment you arrive and meet the owner you are aware that you have come to the complete site. We have stayed on numerous occasions and without exception it is the cheeriest reception you will ever get. We now make our own way to 'our' pitch as she remembers our preference.

Small shop with limited stock but fresh eggs and bacon (her own) are really tasty.

The toilet blocks are absolutely immaculate and a credit to Jean and her faithful cleaner John.

Five minutes from the Park and Ride into Edinburgh.

An absolute haven for golf should you play.

Free WiFi. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bevred27 1 review from this member

 Firstly, as other reviewers have stated, this campsite is rather good. Facilities are virtually top drawer (aside from being no cover over the pot washing area).

Toilets are very clean and the showers very effective. Pitches neatly trimmed and managed. Very good dog walking facilities nearby. Indeed we received a very warm welcome from the owner.

Excellent park and ride facilities nearby at 1. 30 per trip into Edinburgh. Good park nearby for families and dogs, river with rock pools included!

Tenters be aware! Despite the 11pm noise rules, arriving campers are still directed to the nearest available pitch after 11pm with headlights blaring - would hate to spoil your beauty sleep with mallets swinging into to early morning.

This happened twice during our stay. Noise levels can be more then excessive on the lower tent pitches (even with hookups). Excessive meaning car doors wide open and radio's pumping it out up to midnight, including groups of same sex (8) males group - on a non stop tinny after tinny crusade until the wee hours.

Our cheery owner appeared to have no control in enforcing the noise rules after 11pm. And was happy to allow the culprits to remain on site for a further 10 days!

One of this group exposed himself in broad daylight and proceeded to urinate on pitch markers at 9pm in front of other campers, lager in hand and smirk on his face! This was not sufficient for his immediate removal either, despite the owner being informed. That was enough for us!

There are better run campsites folks. Such a shame as the facilities are very good. I accept loud noise up to 11pm, I accept drinking to excess - however I deplore gross indecency without instant removal of the offender.

Having not identified the campers involved, I trust that this will actually be published, so as to reflect our experiences of this campsite and allow other members who camp in tents to make a balanced and informed decision about this campsite. Children born in mind!

We always read other peoples reviews prior to booking and accepted that this was going to be a nice site - which it was. However, from experience, most owners/wardens of campsites attempt to see that rather basic rules are kept to, for the greater good of decent fellow campers. That is where this camp site fails, and badly. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schnauzer Camper 10 reviews from this member

 Firstly, as other reviewers have stated, this campsite is rather good. Facilities are virtually top drawer (aside from being no cover over the pot washing area).

Toilets are very clean and the showers very effective. Pitches neatly trimmed and managed. Very good dog walking facilities nearby. Indeed we received a very warm welcome from the owner.

Excellent park and ride facilities nearby at 1. 30 per trip into Edinburgh. Good park nearby for families and dogs, river with rock pools included!

Tenters be aware! Despite the 11pm noise rules, arriving campers are still directed to the nearest available pitch after 11pm with headlights blaring - would hate to spoil your beauty sleep with mallets swinging into to early morning.

This happened twice during our stay. Noise levels can be more then excessive on the lower tent pitches (even with hookups). Excessive meaning car doors wide open and radio's pumping it out up to midnight, including groups of same sex (8) males group - on a non stop tinny after tinny crusade until the wee hours.

Our cheery owner appeared to have no control in enforcing the noise rules after 11pm. And was happy to allow the culprits to remain on site for a further 10 days!

One of this group exposed himself in broad daylight and proceeded to urinate on pitch markers at 9pm in front of other campers, lager in hand and smirk on his face! This was not sufficient for his immediate removal either, despite the owner being informed. That was enough for us!

There are better run campsites folks. Such a shame as the facilities are very good. I accept loud noise up to 11pm, I accept drinking to excess - however I deplore gross indecency without instant removal of the offender.

Having not identified the campers involved, I trust that this will actually be published, so as to reflect our experiences of this campsite and allow other members who camp in tents to make a balanced and informed decision about this campsite. Children born in mind!

We always read other peoples reviews prior to booking and accepted that this was going to be a nice site - which it was. However, from experience, most owners/wardens of campsites attempt to see that rather basic rules are kept to, for the greater good of decent fellow campers. That is where this camp site fails, and badly. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shouby 13 reviews from this member

 If carlsberg did campsites!

This is one impressive little campsite, from the outset you were welcomed by the site owner Jean who was always friendly helpful and cheery, treats for the children on Easter Sunday and cup cakes to celebrate the Royal Wedding, what a lovely lady!

Campsite is extremely well maintained and has everything you could wish for, recycling, fantastic toilet block with proper shower doors (not plastic curtains) a herb garden you can help yourself to, plastic tables and chairs just in case you are travelling light, and in a great location too just off the coutry park near the union canal aqua duct. Well maintained very spacious pitches either grass or hardstanding.

Reception does sell bits and bobs but one evening I had run out of washing up liquid and Jean fetched me some the next morning 'just pop it on the list' she said, the list where you can also order fresh bread rolls, milk, newspaper etc. Fresh eggs for sale also and they were wonderful. Lots of information about local attractions available also.

There is a huge sandpit with lots of little spades and stuff for the kids to play together with, my 2 boys loved it.

I cannot find a single fault with the campsite and will most definitely be returning. The site was real value for money 2, for 2 adults 2 kids, 2 dogs an electric hook up and awning over bank holiday weekend we paid just 20 a night, we decided to stay a bit longer because thankfully the weather was wonderful too! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lizeeknight 6 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely week at this site. Never been before but the reviews made it very interesting. We were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome and called by name like frequent visitors, shown to a choice of two pitches which were huge, EHU and water all close by. Site is level near the Union canal, the River Almond and close to East Calder.

There is a lovely walk or two which is pointed out to you in your welcome pack along with details of which restaurants (hmm) deliver, we didn't use this. We were also given details of park and rides, the owner was extremely helpful and always available for advice. Toliet block was fabulous, always clean and showers have 5 hooks, there are privacy cubicles and loos and a hair dryer. We never had to wait for showers. The owner was so great that on Easter Sunday she came round all the caravans with kids and gave them all eggs. Then on Royal Wedding day she'd had cup cakes made to celebrate and brought the all round. Honestly you cant ask for more.

The kids have a sand pit (we didn't use) you can order rolls and eggs, and she also sells bacon. There is a co op in East Calder for everything else and the nearest garage is at the Lizzie Bryce roundabout (also sells BBQ coal). If you have kids pay a visit to Almondbury Farm just down the road its great. And Beecraigs country park is also worth a visit (take your BBQ) dogs are welcome at both of these. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindjemp 28 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site - just an hour up the road from us in lovely countryside.

Jean is a wonder - always on the go with a cheery smile - the whole site is spotless.

Loos - in a log cabin affair - wonderfully clean and warm with cloths/mops left out (and fresh flowers) 3 showers (with proper doors - hate shower curtains) and best of all, 5 hooks to hang clothes on!

3 privacy cubicles and one larger one - ideal of teeth cleaning and washing hair.

My daughter was extremely impressed with the disabled facilities - loads of rails to steady herself and a great big shower with a stool in it it sit on - excellent.

You can book rolls, bread and milk (just put your name on a stick in the reception) for the next day - 20p a roll but they are big and lovely. Can heartily recommend their own bacon (in the freezer - 4 per pack) Loads of leaflets, magazine and book swap and even games - also a nice touch is they have lots of plastic tables and chairs you can borrow.

Re-cycling is impressive too - the waste water is a nice flat drain (have been on some sites where you have to be a contortionist to empty them) and a nice herb garden to help yourself too (fresh mint doesn't half pep up tinned potatoes!)

Nice dog walk leading down to the Almondell country park where you can walk for miles - other way is to the Union Canal.

East Calder is 5 mins along the road with a Co-op, Chinese takeaway and a chip shop - both these deliver to the site and there are menus in reception.

Loads to do in the area and ideally situated for day trips out - will happily go back! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warbulator 10 reviews from this member

 WOW. How nice to find a independent site of this quality. And so reasonably priced too

All the previous pages of glowing reviews say it all.

I have never had such a spacious pitch, car/van/awning side by side and nothing within 15m of any corner of them! AND its a nice country smallish site with a bit of character.

We were on the flat, firm well looked after grass (it was a busy little site even end of September!)

The toilet blocks were without doubt the cleanest, finest I have ever seen caravanning (the cleaner must have O.C.D!), with separate sink cubicles to strip wash etc, nice hot free showers, posh handwash soap by the sinks, REALLY top notch. My wife confirmed the ladies was also the same.

Outdoor washup area was the only slight surprise as its not really covered, just a slight overhanging eave, it didn't rain whilst we were there but I suspect if it did you may get damp doing the dishes.

Jean the most helpful and friendly site owner I have met ever! has dozens of info/leaflets on everything within 50miles it seems!. Tourism stuff, eateries, bus timetables, park and ride, you name it. Takeaways menus that deliver to site (very nice and very handy after a long day out) and she seems to be there or about,with the reception cabin open all day long!

One note, if its country silence you want,there are many aircraft taking off a couple of miles away. They just whine over the site just high enough to read easyjet or whatever, not annoying but you do notice them. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stargemmer 10 reviews from this member

 Well, after having done an entire tour of Scotland from west to east and up to the top and down again, this was one of the last of 10 campsites we visited, and I can honestly say it was one of the best on many counts.

We phoned ahead and the lady who owns and manages the site was very friendly indeed and helpful, waiting for us when we arrived and full of good advice and chat which was really welcoming.

The tent pitch sites are very well maintained, good sized pitches with good shelter in case of winds.

The facilities were excellent, very good showers and all other things available like dryers and sink rooms.

Excellent value for money too!

Would definitely come here again and recommend it to anyone, so helpful and such good customer service. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellierose 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a site, and jean and family where the best of hosts. A quaint site with excellent facility's and a nice walking trail very close ideal for the military tattoo and park and ride close by at 1.20 one way into town (19) to park in Edinburgh.

Airport close by but not a problem with noise

Site pitches where of grass or hard standing (gravel)but ideal.

Loads and loads of info in the site office of where to go what to see, and jean/staff will always make time to answer any questions or query's you may have.

We will definitely be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 I camped at Linwater with a group of UKCS members using both tents and caravans.

This is an excellent site run by a very helpful and caring lady. Pitches are level with hard standings for caravans and a small selection food including their own farm produce is available on site. Shops, pubs and restaurants are a few miles away, but there is a park & ride not too far away for anyone wishing to explore Edinburgh.

A 15 minute walk along a footpath from the site takes you to the Almond Aqueduct on the Union Canal, where you can watch the canal boats sailing to and from the Falkirk Wheel. You can continue along the towpath over the aqueduct to a nice pub.

I had never previously considered using this site, as it is only an hour from my home, but I will definitely be returning. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6148 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement