Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 Can only agree with previous reviews - brilliant site.

Showers / toilets clean, warm and even fresh flowers on the sinks. Pitches are hard standing and very roomy. All the usual ehu, water, chem dispoal etc. Owners very friendly and helpful.

We walked 1 mile to bus stop and caught bus to Edinburgh for 4. 90 return.

No shops or pubs near site so you need to use vehicle if not walking to bus. We could hear airplane noise but would not say its intrusive.

We will use again and recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bea27 14 reviews from this member

 Excellent site although probably wouldn't suit everyone especially with the noise from airplanes taking off from the airport which is not that far away.

We chose the site specifically for being close to a Park & Ride which was great.

Very helpful/friendly owner who always appeared to be about which was nice. A mixture of hardstanding and grass sites all with electrics.

Good shower/toilet facilities which were warm and kept nice and clean.

Pub in Ratho (not too far away) was recommended for their excellent Carvery for 3. 95 (5. 95 Sunday)- we were not disappointed and used it several times during our stay.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Made our second visit to Linwater as a break on the way north. The delightful Jean welcomed us as old friends despite us arriving 24hours late - it's that sort of welcome!

Very convenient for getting into Edinburgh - use the park and ride service. Jean recommends the airport one, but we preferred Hermiston Gait - about the same distance, but easier access. Same cost - 1. 30 per person for any journey.

The airport activity is still fascinating - although perhaps not as frequent as at our last visit. The noise is not obtrusive and take-offs cease around 10:30pm. First take off didn't seem to be until about 07:30am.

Pitches are a good size and all hard stand with hook up. There is a small sheltered tent area that also has four wooden 'pods'. Must try one sometime!

Facilities are good, and always clean. There is a good supply of hot water - except when someone drains it off by accident. (Well the tap did come off in my hand in the 'open' position!). A retired plumber was staying on site fortunately! Jean didn't even shout at me!

Several supermarkets and big shopping outlet village in Livingstone - about four miles away. Can recommend the Ratho Park Inn for a meal - carvery for 3. 69!

At 16 a night this site is a bargain and so convenient. Can't waint to go back next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fullerton 4 reviews from this member

 We have enjoyed Jean's friendly hospitality for quite a few years now (1st review 2009, Zippy). Considering the year that Jean has had, you can still be sure you will still get an extremely warm welcome.

We have stayed at hundreds of sites over the past 2 decades and Linwater is still definitely our favourite.

We only stay in Falkirk (a few miles away) but really look forward to our overnight stays with Jean.

The facilities are immaculate, the pitches well maintained, and you could order 'almost' anything for the morning and it will be there.

The whole site has a 'community feel' to it. Jean, you are an exceptional woman! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grimmer 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 10 day trip taking in Edinburgh, Dalbeattie and Eskdale. Edinburgh was our first stop for the Fringe festival and we had a great time in the city and Linwater proved to be an excellent base.

Arriving on a rain soaked afternoon, the owner Jean welcomed us with open arms in her bright and cheerful manner. We were offered a few places to pitch as we were quite early to arrive in the day, so thankfully we could chose a pitch that was quite dry (the water logging of other pitches was due to very heavy rain rather than poor drainage on-site - on leaving we had over an inch of sitting water, but thankfully a water tight tent).

We were given some great information re. Directions to the nearby Park and Ride (10mins away) and a bus timetable. Also in reception were stacks of leaflets and even several copies of the Fringe brouchure which we found very useful.

The toilets and showers are excellent - the best we've experienced so far; 3 proper showers in both male and female sections (no push buttons as is often the case) in cubicles, numerous wash basins and even fresh flowers in the ladies.

There are also laundry facilities which we didn't use. With the really wet weather we had for our 3 nights, the clean and warm facilities were a God send. Only small comment would be the washing up area - only 2 sinks for quite a large site and the overhead roof doesn't provide much cover from the lashing rain!

As mentioned, the site is very close to the park and ride next to the airport which is then a 20-30 minute ride into town. By far the easiest and cheapest method. The downside to this location however is the constant noise of planes taking off from the airport (one every 5/10 mins from 6am - 10pm) - however this isn't a site most people use as a site for total relaxation, more a base for the city and it more than makes up for this one negative.

Provisions can be had from the nearby village (take aways deliver to site!) or supermarket on the way into the city.

Overall Linwater is a great campsite - the family of owners are brilliantly friendly and very helpful. The reception has everything and more you'll need (including fresh bacon and eggs from the farm, as well as daily bread, milk and papers which Jean brings to site at 8am). The facilities are top class and the location is perfect for Edinburgh city centre and other transport links.

We'll be back for the Fringe and will use Linwater again - we'll just hope for some better weather! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Belgarion_v 4 reviews from this member

 What a site!

First the bad things, well actually there's only one bad thing, noise from the airport, it can be a little annoying (maybe less in a caravan), but its not that bad really.

Now Jean can't do anything about the airport, so she more than makes up for that with a friendly welcome and an immaculate site.

When anyone leaves, the grass where they were pitched gets cut, so when you arrive your pitch is perfect.

The toilet/shower block must be cleaned several times a day as it is always so clean, though we never found it unavailable.

Upon arrival, Jean shows you to your pitch, we've got a large tent so she just made our pitch a little larger. She offered a loan of an extension if our EHU didn't reach as it was some way off.

Maps were provided showing local shops and supermarkets and the Park n Ride for Edinburgh.

We asked about local walks and were given a preprepared sheet with several walks on it, we had a walk down to a local Aqueduct whilst eating some tubs of ice-cream from the site shop.

My wife needed a needle and some thread, Jean just went over to her house and lent her own sewing box.

There were people staying for a week, some for just a night or two and such an array of camping from huge RV Campers all the way down to one man bivvy type tent.

It would need a really special site to be better than this one, this was our first visit, it most certainly won't be our last.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hibbsa 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! Large pitches, friendly owner, spotless facilities, perfect location for exploring the Edinburgh area. Would recommend the Park and ride into the centre as it is only a short drive away.

If you don't want to use the car there is a great cycle ride along the union canal - 10miles into Edinburgh. The site shop/reception even has details of takeaway deliveries if you don't feel like cooking.

There is a lovely large sandpit for younger children but no play area for older children however mine just loved cycling around, would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KANNGA69 17 reviews from this member

 I don't think I can say too much about this site I would be repeating everything other reviews say. It was our first visit to Scotland as we had tickets for edin tattoo.

I think we made a fab choice of site. Jean was brilliant in every way always smiling very chatty and very informative.

There is a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches for tourers. They have bacon and eggs for sale but if you don't fancy cooking they have a variety of take aways which deliver to site.

We wished the site was closer to where we live we would stay more often. The park and ride is only 5 mins drive away.

Forth road bridge not too far away. Site is within easy reach of motorway. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping family 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely well maintained site with friendly and helpful staff. Wooden tents/wigwams are lovely and more reasonably priced than I have seen.

Toilets/showers are clean and well looked after and I love the fact they have wash handbasins in their own cubicles.

Only downside was that there is no kids play park, though there is nice big sand pit but a park would make it much more child friendly. Close to Edinburgh and motorway so lots to do in surrounding area.

Fishing reasonably nearby at the canal, though not as close as it looks on map. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Difflock 1 review from this member

 Not much I can add really except to confirm that Jean really is a very kind, cheerful and extremely helpful lady.

I stayed there on several occasions throughout last summer while attending a training course and Jean let me leave the van at the farm when I went home and even managed to find a space for me on a couple of occasions when the site was full.

She always has a cheery hello and smile for everyone and the home grown pork and eggs are out of this world. She's a lovely lady. I hope to return for a holiday very soon. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement