Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mike a samson 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, great people, great location.

Site was very clean and well maintained, lots of nice extras like kitchen washing room etc.

People very kind and helpful.

Location is central to so many places.

We will be back for sure 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pulster 4 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this site.

Took two tents as had visting family, as always friendly welcome upon arrival quickly checked in and shown Pitches which helpfully were adjacent to each other (didn't specifically request this).

Site was busy but immaculate, facilities spotless and the indoor camp kitchen a great addition to their site.

Shop on site has essential items, gas, bread, milk etc and ice lollies & cold drinks for hot days.

Plane noise not intrusive and dog enjoyed the walks.

As only 30 minutes from home going to try some winter camping here this year 😁

Great site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helgawills 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site many times, always very friendly. On our last visit we arrived on a breakdown truck and owners were very helpful with providing names and phone numbers of local garages. As we were staying over New Year, there were some delays in getting the car fixed, so we had to leave the caravan a bit longer, which caused no problems at all.

The facilities are excellent, currently being updated.

Love the washing cubicles.

Wonderful dog walk along Mill Stream, can carry on along union Canal to the excellent Bridge at Rathough Inn, the provide fantastic meals, outside when it's fine, also a covered terrace and dogs are welcome in the bar, which also has a few tables.

Cramond Beach is nearby, at the mouth of the river Almond. There's a very nice cafe there.

Campsite owners provide lots of information about local area, shops and eateries. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acrewood 2 reviews from this member

 What a great little site.

Very clean and looked after.

Friendly owners / staff.

Great location for visiting places.

Edinburgh, Glasgow, Falkirk, Stirling and Livingston to name a few.

As stated by others can be quite noisy due to planes flying over but if you are kept busy like we were during your stay you will sleep.

Would defo look to return if / when we choose to visit this area of Scotland again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite with very friendly and helpful wardens. We are a retired couple and stayed here over four nights in early July.

We needed somewhere to leave our motorhome for two nights in the middle of this, while we flew to France to celebrate my brothers 70th birthday and they were so helpful, charging us only £2 per night we were away! They gave us the number of a local taxi and our fare to Edinburgh airport was about £18.

The facilities are spotless, the site a sun trap, the pitches were huge gravelled areas with grass alongside for each pitch. The laundry was a joy to use as the machine did a load in about half an hour which was great for us to get everything sorted after several weeks wild camping!

The dryer had broken but another was on order. The town is a short drive away with a Tesco, Co-op and chippy. The approach roads are a little rough, possibly due to heavy lorries working on the outskirts of the nearby town as they build more housing.

We would strongly recommend this campsite for touring in the area, or just a quiet break on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kenwal50 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite close to Edinburgh. Friendly welcome from helpful staff. Good toilet facilities with disabled toilet/shower and laundry room. Popular children’s play area. Park and ride into Edinburgh nearby. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stugill 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights before the Bank Holiday and the site and amenities are very clean and well kept.

The dog walking is excellent and there are a few pubs within easy walking distance.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave the MH past booking out time whilst we went into Edinburgh by car to watch our Son run a marathon.

The planes did fly over, but didn't cause us any problems.

We would stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampHendry 2 reviews from this member

 Electric hook up grass tent pitch booked. Pitch was massive, owners couldn't be any nicer. The toilets are gleaming. Site is a wee sun trap, you do get noise from the planes but it doesn't bother you much. Quiet wee site but lovely we will be back. Oh and local takeaways will deliver straight to your pitch! There is a kids playground. The shop has the essentials. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, ideal for visiting Edinburgh and its region. The reception was very friendly, and gave us many advice and documents to help us visiting the Lothian.

Edinburgh is close and the camping is only at 15mn from the tram park+ride, so you can avoid to use your car and pay for a parking in town : parking is free and for 4£, you have an unlimited ticket for tram and bus in Edinburgh.

We stayed there 5 nights, but were a bit surprised by the weather: freezing temperatures and 3 inches of snow the second day + roads flooded were not expected!

Fortunately, the camping itself is very good : spotless modern and heathed facilities, large pitches (we were happy to have chosen a hardstanding one).

The only drawback is the main track inside the camping, that became very muddy with this weather, although the pitches were better gravelled and stayed very clean. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 We booked four nights in the smallest of the 'timber tents', shaped like a Toblerone, in the week leading up to the Easter weekend.

Our overall impressions were positive despite some grim weather. The welcome was friendly, the mini-lodge was clean & comfortable and the site well placed for Edinburgh, the Pentland hills and Falkirk.

Washrooms were clean & pleasant though one shower in the ladies wasn't working.

There are two washing up sinks - lots of hot water & space but outside, under a small canopy situated at the eastern end of the washing block. This would normally work well with prevailing westerly winds but throughout our stay the so called 'Beast from the East' dominated the weather resulting in bitterly cold washing up sessions!

Any other negatives?

You should be aware you are under the flight path for the airport. Planes are coming & going every 10 mins or so from 6am until about 10pm. Great for plane spotting but not for those who are noise adverse.

Walking?

There is excellent walking on canal towpaths straight from the site. We would also recommend driving to Falkirk and walking between The Kelpies & the Falkirk Wheel - a round trip of about 8 miles but all on towpaths with parking, cafe & toilets at either end.

You can also use the canal network to walk to the Edinburgh climbing centre - there is a cafe with a view over the walls & you don't need to pay unless you are taking part in an activity.

The Pentland hills are a short drive from the site. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3240 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020