Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mcniv 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site very well looked after and facilities are very clean, good little shop selling essentials,

Good walks down to the river almond and a great little playpark for the kids

Great site to spend a couple of days on or longer if exploring the Edinburgh area

We will definitely return  


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hazel3 1 review from this member

 Excellent service from Reception staff and throughout. So helpful and accommodating especially when we needed a longer connection. Nothing a bother. Extremely welcoming, clean, friendly - a wee haven.

We wandered in to the nearest village on Saturday and had a wonderful afternoon - staff and service at The Grapes Pub was fantastic.

Will definitely go back, thank you. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 187 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here. Online booking was easy, though it generated five separate emails to print off. Site is very well presented, staff are helpful and always out & about doing maintenance work.

We were escorted to our pitch, which was sunny, flat and a generous size. For 25, we thought the facilities on offer were good - there's a TV room, kitchen, DVDs games & picnic tables to borrow, bikes to hire (including E-bikes).

Showers, dog and WiFi all free, though we had to get close to the router in the kitchen for a signal as it didn't reach the motorhome.

The Covid-19 arrangements were good, with a one-way system in the well-stocked shop / Reception, and a simple fob system to ensure there were no queues inside the toilet block. (Hang your fob on a specific hook when you go in, take it away when you leave: easy. ) The risk assessment was up on the wall and the place was spotless. Although the site plan shows dish washing is in the camp kitchen, there were sinks outside.

No views out to the surrounding countryside of barley fields, but the "dog walk" goes west along the canal feeder to Almondell Country Park or east to the superb Lin Mill Aquaduct and on to Rathough in the other direction.

You could cycle (on a hire bike?) along the union Canal east to Edinburgh or west to Falkirk. You're given a very comprehensive map showing these walks and listing the local pubs etc.

To do locally - Jupiter Artland (nearby sculpture park); Linlithgow Palace; the Kelpies and Wheel (where the two canals join) at Falkirk; use the P&R for the bus into Edinburgh.

Only slight downsides - no bus stop in walking distance, and on one morning the flights out of Edinburgh started very early (but we got used to the planes and the noise is occasional. ) 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 We had pleasant no problems. Near to a lot of attractions near to tram station at ingleston. Close to village of East Calder.

The only down side was it is under the flight path of Edinburgh airport. If you can put up with that you will love it. Robert Warrender. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Aprila 1 review from this member

 Beautiful well kept site, close to lots of lovely canel walks, Edinburgh and restaurants.

Play park for smaller children. A games room would be good for older children.

Toilets and showers immaculate. Kitchen to cook and eat.

Shop on site selling a wide range of goods.

30 a night is a bit high but still a lovely site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mike a samson 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, great people, great location.

Site was very clean and well maintained, lots of nice extras like kitchen washing room etc.

People very kind and helpful.

Location is central to so many places.

We will be back for sure 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pulster 4 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this site.

Took two tents as had visting family, as always friendly welcome upon arrival quickly checked in and shown Pitches which helpfully were adjacent to each other (didn't specifically request this).

Site was busy but immaculate, facilities spotless and the indoor camp kitchen a great addition to their site.

Shop on site has essential items, gas, bread, milk etc and ice lollies & cold drinks for hot days.

Plane noise not intrusive and dog enjoyed the walks.

As only 30 minutes from home going to try some winter camping here this year 😁

Great site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helgawills 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site many times, always very friendly. On our last visit we arrived on a breakdown truck and owners were very helpful with providing names and phone numbers of local garages. As we were staying over New Year, there were some delays in getting the car fixed, so we had to leave the caravan a bit longer, which caused no problems at all.

The facilities are excellent, currently being updated.

Love the washing cubicles.

Wonderful dog walk along Mill Stream, can carry on along union Canal to the excellent Bridge at Rathough Inn, the provide fantastic meals, outside when it's fine, also a covered terrace and dogs are welcome in the bar, which also has a few tables.

Cramond Beach is nearby, at the mouth of the river Almond. There's a very nice cafe there.

Campsite owners provide lots of information about local area, shops and eateries. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acrewood 2 reviews from this member

 What a great little site.

Very clean and looked after.

Friendly owners / staff.

Great location for visiting places.

Edinburgh, Glasgow, Falkirk, Stirling and Livingston to name a few.

As stated by others can be quite noisy due to planes flying over but if you are kept busy like we were during your stay you will sleep.

Would defo look to return if / when we choose to visit this area of Scotland again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite with very friendly and helpful wardens. We are a retired couple and stayed here over four nights in early July.

We needed somewhere to leave our motorhome for two nights in the middle of this, while we flew to France to celebrate my brothers 70th birthday and they were so helpful, charging us only 2 per night we were away! They gave us the number of a local taxi and our fare to Edinburgh airport was about 18.

The facilities are spotless, the site a sun trap, the pitches were huge gravelled areas with grass alongside for each pitch. The laundry was a joy to use as the machine did a load in about half an hour which was great for us to get everything sorted after several weeks wild camping!

The dryer had broken but another was on order. The town is a short drive away with a Tesco, Co-op and chippy. The approach roads are a little rough, possibly due to heavy lorries working on the outskirts of the nearby town as they build more housing.

We would strongly recommend this campsite for touring in the area, or just a quiet break on site. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement