Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TOMTT67 7 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, very helpful owner lovely dog walks. The only thing is the planes fly over which I didn't mind I just spent my time chilling. All in all great campsite very close to Edinburgh. There is also a river and the canal that you can walk along I will use this campsite again **** 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiyasmum 19 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, well run by Jean. We arrived here for a two week stay prior to moving into our new home. The night before we were due to stay on the site we needed somewhere to stay without the van. Jean solved our problem and booked us into a local B and B. My stress levels went from 9 to zero in seconds and stayed there the whole while I was on this site. This is how Jean treats everyone on the site, always helpful and friendly.

The site was busy the whole time we were there but I only queued once for the showers, which were always clean. Noise from other campers was not a problem. There is plenty of shopping nearby, Livingston has a huge complex. Great pubs, we used the New Bridge Inn and a Carvery just up the road, I can't recall the name but just ask Jean. Mon to Sat it is just £3.50 a head.

Nice walks to the canal from the site.

Park and ride into Edinburgh is nearby and very good, cheap and efficient.

The small laundry on the site was great and I did not think too expensive.

Jean sells fresh eggs and you can buy bacon from the freezer produced by her own pigs.

You can see the plans but I can honestly say they noise was never intrusive.

Can't comment on children and playground, there is a small one. But all the children visiting the site seemed happy.

I am delighted this is a local site for us now as we will be going back.

I have never seen such a hard working camp owner, Jean must be on the go for 13 hours a day. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shezbomb 1 review from this member

 My Wife & I & 2 boys 12--14 stayed 5 nights in may,what a great site,not to far from Edinburgh. Was the weekend of the rugby final,so was quite busy but not a problem,showers and toilets always immaculately clean,washing up area fantastic, jean was soooooooo friendly and always on the go. Little village 5 mins away 4 pubs 4 takeaways and a coop, site shop with fresh milk bread bacon sweets you could order a newspaper and it didn't rip you of with sky hi prices. Will be back 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thesaint 22 reviews from this member

 We hired one of the Wooden Tents here for one night(£24). As we were just passing through, this saved us getting our tent out for just one night (Glad we did, because it absolutely slung it down). The Wooden Tent has 3 beds/mattresses in, has electric lights, a kettle and a fridge with a picnic bench outside for cooking/eating.

The toilets and showers were very clean. There were plenty of recycling facilities. From the reception you could order bread rolls, milk, papers and meat from their own pigs. The reception also had information on all the events going on in the area, tourist information, etc. Also information on various dog walks(very dog friendly site). The owner couldn’t have been more helpful.

The site was 5 minutes away from the Park & Ride for Edinburgh. Nearby is a Designer Outlet Center with an Asda Walmart. In Calder are pubs and various take-aways. The site is handy for the Forth Road Bridge if you are travelling onwards. This an excellent site for visiting Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickyandkev 1 review from this member

 Just came back from a 4 night stay at Linwater. The site is lovely. Jean the owner is lovely, very helpful and always there if you need anything. Tent site is spacious and immaculately clean as is all the facilities. You are able to order fresh milk, bread and newspapers directly from Jean the night before and will be there waiting for you in reception by 8am the following day.

The site is situated a short distance from the local Park and Ride which will take you into Edinburgh centre or to Edinburgh Zoo. The site is very peaceful and great for a few days away. We will certainly go back to the site whenever we go back to Scotland on holiday and would recommend it to anyone. Booking in advance highly advisable as the site can get booked up very quickly especially if it is a Scottish holiday etc. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bosshogg_hgte 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site.

We stayed here over the bank holiday and were very impressed. A fantastic welcome from the owners who throughout the weekend, were truly wonderful. The toilet and shower block were always clean and always had hot water.

Local shops are a quick drive away and a bit further is a large Asda for everything else.

Though if you need bread buns, eggs and bacon, order it from reception for the next day. Honestly, try the bacon.

At the bottom of the field is a dog walking track and some great scenery for a stroll. The pitch sizes are more than accomodating and our large tent was not near the edges and we were using EHU. The pitch we used had a gentle slope which did not cause us any problems and was relatively flat.

Because we were not crammed in, the kids had loads of room to play which was great in the end as we were unsure how they would react to the whole idea of having no games consoles around and having to socialise. There is a kids play area but they preferred to play nearer the tent with others they met.

A little note, the grass was cut but collected. Something I had not appreciated at first.

For anyone who is wanting a quiet time and use good facilities then go for this site. I would recommend it to anyone except the people I don't like!

Thanks once again to all up there and we look forward to seeing you next year or if possible later this. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zippy01 4 reviews from this member

 This is definitely our favourite site in Scotland. Have been coming here for about 3 years now and always get a genuine warm welcome from Jean. Toilet block is always spotless and recycling of rubbish is encouraged on site. Delicious rolls in the morning along with milk, newspapers and fresh eggs can be ordered night before. We enjoy watching the planes come in or take off from the airport but have never noticed aircraft noise as they are too far away. There is even a wee herb garden if you want fresh herbs with your dinner! Only downside now is that it is so popular it can be difficult to book a pitch! 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cariad 7 reviews from this member

 Had a 4 night stay at this lovely site.

Not far from Edinburgh and in some lovely countryside. As mentioned before there are planes going in and out of Edinburgh airport but I wouldn't say they disturbed you too much. In fact we enjoyed watching them.

The toilet block is spotless and the staff very helpful and friendly.

We will be going back next year for definite. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian007 3 reviews from this member

 Only live down the road in Livingston but visited this site for our niece and nephew's first camping trip.

Owner very friendly, great campsite with lovely walk to park along canal. Dog friendly, even got to meet the site's resident dog who came to visit us and see if we had any breakfast leftover ;)

Can't rate this site high enough, just a pity its so close to home. :) A lot of other sites could learn a lot from the standard of Linwater's toilet/shower block, wow it's a amazing. New, modern and very clean. If only more were like this. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iandar 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed four nights and found the site very good if a little waterlogged, but what can you expect with the weather like it has been this summer! Jean is a excellent host, so friendly treated like we were part of the family.

My wife was well pleased with the shop and toilets, men's had three showers, also a nice touch three cubical wash hand basin with doors, very clean and as much hot water as you need.

We where placed at the top of the site so we did not have far to travel to the loo and shop, we highly recommend the fresh rolls that you can order the day before.

If you need a site that is close to Edinburgh (7miles) access to park and ride (Jean has all the info just ask) close are some lovely walks, highly recommended are the Pentland hills overlooking Edinburgh (about 45 minute drive from camp site) good for a 4 hour hike and well sign posted walks .

We will be visiting Jean next year, my wife and I would highly recommend this site, one thing, book up as it is very busy in peak times. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6477 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement