Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alix76 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week including the bank holiday weekend in August.

Jean is the most welcoming person you could meet, the location and surroundings are picture perfect, the facilities including shower block and dish washing are spotless.

The site has a lovely friendly atmosphere and we made use of the pre-order service of morning rolls, sausage and milk which helps greatly with two little ones who loved the sandpit and made lots of little friends.

The river area along past the dog walk offers breathtaking views as well as the canal walks.

My four year old daughter commented that Jean should be called JEANIUS as nothing is too much trouble and only a genius can run a site this well.

Thanks for making a good holiday great we shall see you soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weeali 4 reviews from this member

 This site has the cleanest toilet block I've been to. It is cleaned daily but the owner constantly checks the blocks and gives them another quick clean. Adequate laundry facilities are available.

The pitches are huge, well groomed and very flat. There is good walks for dog owners too. The whole site is clean, well designed, well looked after, small and peaceful, has recycling facilities and the owner is very helpful and very friendly. Highly recommended and they most definitely deserve their fifth star. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Manatee 4 reviews from this member

 We are regular campers in our tent, but decided to give one of the timber tents a try. They were fantastic, good sized little fridge, kettle and electric lights made a difference as well as having good sized beds.

The site was one of the best we have stayed in, the toilet/shower block was incredibly clean and a good size. Plenty of hot water in the dish washing area too.

Only a short drive to the park & ride which takes you straight in to the centre of Edinburgh. The parking is free and a day ticket on the bus is only 3. 50 which you can use all over Edinburgh. We used the nearby Scotmid supermarket in East Calder which provided all the essentials and only a few minute drive away. We also used the takeaway service at the nearby Rathough Park which was excellent value.

As many reviewers have said, the owner of the site is fantastic. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and told about the surrounding area. When discussing our plans for our time on site, we were given highlighted maps on how to get to the zoo etc which were most welcome!

We will definitely be returning, and would have no problem recommending this site to anyone else. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stoldol 12 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best ever run sites I have ever visited. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a friend.

The showers and toilets are spotless. The grounds are beautifully kept. It is a very dog and family friendly site. There is a track adjacent to the site for early morning dog walks. There are also plenty of further walks. The Aqueduct is well worth a look. There is a sand pit for the younger children. My daughter found plenty to do and there was plenty of space to play without disturbing the other guests. You are given all the information you could possibly need on arrival. I just can not fault it.

I would recommend this site to anyone wishing to visit Edinburgh.

I would like to thank Jean and her family for making our stay so memorable and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janfold 5 reviews from this member

 One of the very best sites I have ever stayed on. Jean and her son run it beautifully. Its so pristinely clean. The grass is like a bowling green. The pitches are large, some hard standing and all a good distance from the next. The facilities are wonderfully clean and spacious too. Warm building housing the showers and toilets. A little laundry that helps when not carry a great many clothes. A nice reception area where Jean takes orders and will go to the local shops every morning and bring back bread and milk etc for you. There is nothing to fault with this gem of a site but perhaps a WIFI connection in the vans. It is available at the reception area. On saying that TV reception is excellent and the site is very central for touring Edinburgh and the surrounding area. Going again in 2 weeks. Thoroughly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laine and Titch 1 review from this member

 Myself and Titch's first foray into camping again for ten years with a tent we had never had out of the box! But, what a fantastic site in which to be a 'camping returner'

The site is not huge and impersonal it felt very exclusive without being pretentious. The pitch was spacious, private and flat. Toilet/shower block was scrupulously clean at all times, even though it rained when we were there not a speck of mud or a dirty footprint to be seen inside. The building was comfortably heated and I especially loved the vase of fresh flowers each day by the washbasins, such a personal homely touch.

We had two dogs with us and the owner Jean gave us a site map and pointed out the dog walking areas where we could take them to stretch their legs. They loved it.

As others have said, eggs from the owners chickens and bacon from their pigs were on sale, and papers, rolls, milk all ordered the night before were waiting by eight the next morning. Just leave what you owe in the honesty box if Jean is not there!

There are no huge playgrounds or club-houses etc. On this site but you don't have to look far for someplace to keep all the family busy having fun. The nearby (only 1 mile away) Edinburgh Climbing Arena had all my teenage son needed to tire him out and for his more sedate mum, there under the same roof is a variety of arty crafty pampering things to indulge myself in, plus a cafe for refreshments.

We had no need to stray far from the site for food, a Maccy D's next to the local petrol station we passed on our way in was duly noted by my son. I was glad to see a petrol station close by especially for those setting off on a long journey home.

The beauty of this site is its quietness and seeming exclusivity but it's not so secluded that the local take away restaurants can't find it and deliver right to your tent or caravan door if the cook fancies a night off!

They keep their menu's and phone numbers in the reception for you along with lots of brochures on local attractions and maps.

There is also a free selection of videos, books, and games in reception for you to borrow.

Overall this site is perfect for those wishing to get away from all the hustle and bustle of city life but perfectly situated to have everything within striking distance if that is what you wish.

To be perfectly honest it wasn't the best place for Titch and I to choose for our first foray back into camping as we shall now use this site as our bench-mark for other sites, and they will have a very high standard to measure up to. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 40 reviews from this member

 We booked in last minute and had a warm welcome when we arrived. Young lad booked us in and showed us where to pitch the caravan and where everything was, and later we met the owner who was very friendly. I never give 10 out of 10 for any site because I always think there is room for improvement. Not in this case. There is nothing I can find fault with here.

The showers and toilets are spotlessly clean and warm. Nice privacy cubicles to which although I didn't use, I like better that the usually non enclosed ones. The disabled toilet and shower was great. There was a hair dryer in each and also in the men's. The laundry room has a big washer and a drier. The washer takes 30 minutes per load and the I needed the drier to go on twice which took 20 minutes each time. 2. 50 for the washer and 1. 40 for the drier. Not sure I'd there is a play area although I did see a fenced off sand pit.

Nice views and the whole area was tidy. Jean always said hello or waved as we went in and out. There is a small selection goods inI the shop and I bought some fresh eggs one day. The freezer has some great looking bacon and sausages.

Loads to do in the area. We did drive to Edinburgh one day but it was so busy we just drove out again. We have been to the castle before and are not shoppers so we didn't mind

Livingston had Sainsburys, Morrisons, Aldi, KFC, Frankie and Bennies and a very large shopping area. Local village has a Co-op.

We drove to the Trossacks, over the Forth Bridge and also round the countryside and the views were outstanding. Although the weather wasn't that good, we did have a couple of days sitting in the sun and apart from one day when we had torrential rain all day, we managed to go out during the dry parts the rest of the time. I think our favourite outing had to be our trip to the Falkirk Wheel which was our main reason for coming here.

We can wholeheartedly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from another week at Linwater.

Due to the recent weather we booked 3 timber tents instead of taking the tents and they were superb.

We had a couple of meals out at the Rathough Park carvery about 2 miles from the site, 4. 19 for as much as you can eat.

Jean, the site owner, was as helpful as ever and we will definitely be returning again.

I can certainly recommend this site to anyone who wants a quiet site. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ShedWoman 8 reviews from this member

 Wow. This site is fabulous. Flat, well drained and well maintained, and set in a delightful location.

Staff are friendly, extremely helpful and very bright and cheery, and make you feel really welcome rather than 'necessary to profit' like you get at some sites.

The facilities are just top-hole. The toilets, lockable wash-rooms and showers were immaculate and very well heated, though water pressure isn't brilliant.

In the little shop, you write your requirements on a little sticker, bread and milk etc. , together with your name, and there it is the next morning.

I recommend this site to anybody. We will certainly be back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Micheleclarke 2 reviews from this member

 What an absolutely lovely site and site owner! We travelled to Edinburgh over Easter to see the sights and were impressed with this site. The toilet block was immaculately clean at all times of the day and night. Never any queuing for showers even though the site was half full. Showers were not push button which was great. Fresh rolls and newspapers could be ordered in the evening and they were ready and waiting at 8am next morning. Fresh eggs were available in the shop. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner whether you needed advice on the park and ride or to order the papers she was always smiling and helpful. Nice quiet site - would definitely return if we are that way again! 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6073 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement