Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayleighc123 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in July 2009.

This was a fabulous site. Which you can tell as soon as you arrive by all the awards on the front building. Toilets and Showers are immaculate, and cleaned regularly. There are also individual sink cubicals for quick washes which was great for some privacy! The overall grounds of the site are very well maintained, and the pitches are clearly marked with short hedges. We booked for Electric hook up, and there was also a camping field which was busy. Owners are helpful and the onsite shop is opened daily. Fridges/Freezers available for your bits and pieces. Nice location for exploring, with a canal running at the back.

Would highly recommend a day canoeing along the canal! Even though the weather was poor, it was a great site, and didn't spoil the weekend at all!

Quite a small local pub as soon as you walk out of the site. Unfortunately when we went to visit it was closed for lunch!

Highly recommended. Will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Anyons 2 reviews from this member

 A beautifully laid out site, spotless toilets and showers. Reception has a small selection of essentials in case you run out but there are a couple of supermarkets and good butchers in Brecon. Staff were very friendly.

Our pitch was in the meadow, furthest point from the facilities but we were able to pitch where we wanted and it was well-lit to the toilet block which made that night time trip to the loo less of a pain!

Even though it rained ALOT the ground drained relatively well, no one was flooded out even on the wettest day.

Local pub walking distance, Talybont resevoir is a good walk from the site. Brecon is about 3 miles and had enough to keep 2 teenage daughers entertained.

Not the cheapest site but we like to know the facilities are good and well managed.

A good site for families with children. (The site ducks make their rounds every morning and evening to see if there are any titbits on offer!) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beatlegaz 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Pencelli Castle, after a 2 night stay with my girlfiend, and have to say what a fantastic site. Toilets and shower block was well maintained and cleaned twice daily. Drying room always comes in handy as does the freezer room facilty.There is also a well stocked information room with leaflets on all local attractions. Shop basically stocked with the essentials to get you by in an emegency, but Brecon is only 4 miles away and has a Morrison's so you can get all your supplies.

There is a play area for the kids and daily bike hire for 20 ( adults )

If pitched in the meadow ( tents only ) its about a 5 min walk to the toilets

Pitches are well laid out and perfectly maintained. Water, fire points, and refuse points are liberally sited about the camp. The site is very quiet for its size due to the site rules, which means a good night sleep is had by all.

All in all this site is perfect whether a short stay or longer. Will definitely be returning for a longer stay next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daihowells 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night break. We'd been trying to get in here for quite a while, but it always seemed to be booked up - which is a good sign!. Pros:

1. Great facilities, very clean and tidy - toilet blocks are fantastic!

2. Quiet site, no dogs

3. Friendly, helpful staff

4. Great play area and goats & deers for the kids to look at

Cons:

1. Expensive

Overall I would really recommend this site, as you tend to get what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter49 7 reviews from this member

 A perfect site, with excellent facilities all round - a site to which others should aspire.

Well located for Brecon Beacons and walk along canal into Brecon itself.

Local pub closed during our stay, but not important.

Would not hesitate in recommending it to other users.

(Not sure if first review went through due to server going down). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo wynne 2 reviews from this member

 First Class all the way. Lovely location great spotless facilities and well situated for counrty walks and pubs. All this and only 4 miles from Brecon. Can be highly recommended but it is a very expensive for a camp site. You certainly pay for the service you receive. Particularly expensive for families as you pay by the head.
Quite a few rules and regulations cannot be described as free and easy but certainly as a good quality impeccably ordered campsite with even well behaved wildlife! To our delight one night we heard a fox appreciatively munching his way through the remains of our crispy duck mistakenly left outside the tent in a tied up bag. We awoke to find a neat hole in the bag with the remaining bones piled at the side! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site whilst doing some walking in the Black Mountains, and was extremely impressed. The facilities are easily the best and cleanest I've seen. The toilet and shower block was so clean I'd have happily sat and eaten my lunch in there! Little things like trusting you to turn off the taps rather than having those press-down ones that soak you made all the difference. The facilities were a little walk from the camping field, but the track was well lit during the night. There were plenty of water points and rubbish bins around the camping field, and you were allowed to park your car next to your tent. The grass was well maintained and the ground was easy to peg into.

It was literally a 3 minute walk down the road into Pencelli, where there is a pub. As someone has mentioned before this was more of a 'eaty' pub than a 'drinky' one. I overheard a member of staff recommending that a group of people book a table a day ahead, so I guess it must get busy. There were several other pubs down the road in Talybont-on-Usk which seemed a bit friendlier. I visited Brecon on one afternoon, which was a bit naff, but Crickhowell in the other direction was much nicer.

To sum up, the facilities at this campsite were by far the best I've used. However, being more of a caravan park than a campsite, the site lacks the sort of atmosphere you get at somewhere like the National Trust campsites at Great Langdale and Wasdale Head. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemmab 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay in September 2008 for 5 nights with thankfully brilliant weather. The facilities are the best I've ever come across, there were plenty of showers and toilets for everyone on the campsite which meant no waiting. The shop was well stocked and the staff very friendly.

Very impressed with the drying room on site (for wet coats, shoes and towels etc.)and the ability to use 3 fridge freezers for keeping food if you didn't have a cool box or just refreezing your freezer blocks.

In addition to this it was great to hire a bike for the day, and we bought a map for a 6 or 20 mile cycle ride from the shop. I'm not the fittest person in the world and there was one part of the 20 mile journey that was very difficult (20% incline hill to go up) but once at the top totally worth the hard work, the view is stunning, and it takes you through the national park too (with hardly any peddling on the way back until you get to the canal again).

I can't wait to go again! 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a very cold night in Feb '09, as a base for a walk up Pen Y Fan the next day.

Easy to find, with very friendly staff, and probably the highest quality amenities block I've seen. Pitches were good, with plenty of water points. Well manicured site, with plenty of space.

Pencelli is literally just outside the gate, but the local pub is more of an 'eaty' pub than a 'drinky' pub, and due to time, didn't venture to Talybont, which I know from previous experience has a bit more in that line.

Altogether a highly recommended site. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sparry1163 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed overnight here on our first outing in our campervan. Very impressed by facilities on site. The toilet block is of the highest calibre, spotlessly clean and warm even in the middle of the night. Site was well maintained even after a long Winter, peaceful with many birds and a fair selection of squirrels to be seen. The dawn chorus was something else.

Local pub was closed on a Sunday night but we were told we could have gone down to Talybont and a number of pubs would have been open. We settled for a pleasant walk along the nearby canal instead.

We know this area well and would vouch for the vast choice you would have to do close by in Brecon and the neighbouring Beacons. Would recommend and will return 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5898 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement