Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shearers15 2 reviews from this member

 Despite the weather, we really enjoyed our stay at Pencelli. A very quiet and well kept site. The washing facilities are excellent as are the drying rooms and there is plenty of fridge space for food storage.

The closest pub was shut whilst we were there but we went to the Star in Talybont and the food there was very good

I will certainly be returning! 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaynor J 1 review from this member

 Our first visit although we know the area well. We were very impressed with this site. From the moment you drive through the gates past the manicured lawns and flower beds and pull up outside reception you have the impression of a well run, well maintained and professional organisation. The profusion of awards bears testimony to the hard work that is put in by the proprietors: the loo of the year award is definitely deserved. Booking in was seamless and directions to the well kept and mown pitch were concisely explained and a small map of the site presented.

The village is a joy to behold with the Brecon to Monmouth canal wending its way quietly behind the site and beyond the local pub. The site itself was quiet although this may be a reflection of the time of year and the temperature although the clear skies engendered one of the most glorious night skies with no light pollution. The Brecon Beacons can be walked with some effort from the site or after a short car journey. We will return! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PoliteEngineer 7 reviews from this member

 A very well run site with good facilities, especially the toilet block.

Pencelli village has the Brecon canel running through it and is quite nice, although apart from the Pub (excellent food) and the campsite there isn't much else.

Only downside is that the hookup points in the Oaks section of the campsite are in a few case a little distance from the pitch, we ended up having to squeeze tent over in the pitch and have the hookup on the wrong side of the tent.

Would happily go back, especially as right on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badger582 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived at approx 12.20 on Friday 29th to see all the awards they have won on the reception wall (well impressed). Very friendly staff and a wonderfully clean and well presented site. The amenities were spotless and well maintained. The pitch sizes are very large especially on grassed pitch.

The children's playground was excellent and the red deer were very friendly (our son had to be dragged away screaming and kicking come Sunday) not really but he loved them. The local pub served stunning food and there was a very warm welcome. The canal was approx 100 yds from front gate and the camping field (the meadows) had direct access.

The Brecon Beacons are just around the corner and the views were stunning.

Will definitely be coming back to this one. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

My husband and I have just had three wonderful nights at this site.

We had not pre-booked, but were touring around Abervagenny when we decided to go further north.

We called in the morning and were able to book in for 2 nights.

On arrival we were given a warm welcome and were positioned on a hard standing area in The Orchard.

The site is made up of three areas - The Orchard, which has hard standings and is very near to the toilet blocks, then there is the Oaks which is a mix of hard and grass standings, then the Meadows which is predominately for tents.

I have to say that the facilities on the site are the finest I have come across. Although we didn't need to use the showers, the shower / toilet block were spotless with fresh flowers and piped music!

Chemical disposal was equally of good standard.

Nearby is a lovely pub called the Royal Oak (2 minutes walk) and although a limited menu, very good food.

Just 5 minutes drive or a good 40 minute walk along the canal is Talybont. There are are 4 pubs which we tried 2 - the Star and The White Hart, both serving very good food and ale!

We enjoyed our stay so much we wanted to stay for a 3rd night. Unfortunately, as it was coming up to Bank Holiday weekend we could not stay on the same spot,but would need to move to the Oaks on the grass. This was not a problem, even though the ground was quite wet!

There is no doubt - we will be back before the end of the year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darthpaul 1 review from this member

 Cannot praise the site highly enough! Beautiful scenery, peaceful surroundings, toilets and shower facilities that were brill. The owners were so helpful and friendly and even after our car broke down on the site helped us out beyond the call of duty.

We will definitely be going back here again I would think. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MH3942 4 reviews from this member

 This was one of the first sites we visited when we purchased our motorhome in 2006 and I am yet to find toilets and showers as good as these. The site is well designed but I do agree with previous reviews that if camping in the top field the toilet block is quite a long way. However, the facilities are definitely worth the walk there is a drying room, information room and even a coffee machine in the dish wash area. The shop sells some basics but no alcohol however brecon is four miles away and there is a bus service or for the more active you can follow the canal into brecon. A brilliant site not to be missed! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahgib69 3 reviews from this member

 This was only our second camping trip, stayed from Sat - Mon and I was really impressed with the site. Everything is kept in pristine condition and staff were really friendly. Only criticism: The wash blocks are at the top of the site and I imagine are a bit of a trek if you're at the bottom of the tent field. But the site was quiet while we were there so we weren't too far away.

Two things I thought were a great idea - there are wooden picnic benches scattered throughout the field, which were great. Also, there are 3 large fridge freezers in the main block for you to use as you want. Both great ideas that I've never seen elsewhere.

The local pub seemed to be more restaurant orientated, all straight backed seating, but the garden is lovely, backing right on to the canal. Everything is really close by in the local area, although I have to admit we didn't venture far from the tent but the site made this posssible as it's such a lovely spot.

Would certinaly recommend this site and will go back in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celtic_Samurai 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with suburb facilities. If you are looking for a quiet site with excellent showers / toilet facilities (Winner of loo of the year for several years) then this site is for you, Set just 5 miles from Brecon and the edge of the Brecon Beacons, the only noise you will find are the birds singing and the occasional bleat of sheep from the fields near by. No noise after 10pm and no music tends to mean that the site is almost exclusively used by families, couples or small groups looking for a peaceful well equipped site.
The site has a small shop and is a few minutes walk to a Pub on the side of the canal that is geared towards good food rather than a full on pub. This was my 1st time camping and the Meadow is the site if you have a tent and you pitch wherever you like with plenty of room, not the cheapest of sites at 24 for 2 adults and 2 kids (9 and 3) But its worth it believe me. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clairereeves85 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a five night break with my partner and three children aged 1, 3 and 6.
The site left me speechless - its absolutely fantastic. Immaculate and well thought out. It is a quiet site with no on site club but absolutely fantastic surroundings.
There are fantastic family bathrooms and yes even with the squeege the floor is still slightly slippery as pointed out by other reviewers but it is a tiled floor!
There is a small site shop, information room with internet access and free use of fridge/ freezer. Drying room.

The only thing this site would benefit from would be additional lighting in the park itself because unless someone has a light on in their caravan it is pitch black at night coming back from the toilet block.
If you want tv then bring an additional aerial, the reception was non existent to poor. The local pub is nice and friendly, not ideal in its menu choices or facillities with young children and the prices were slightly inflated - possibly as it was Easter weekend and they wanted to make a killing.
Nice pub in Brecon for family meals is the Puzzle Tree - they didnt have a set childrens menu but would make up anything you wanted. Canal trip was lovely and they didnt in fairness charge us for the children although the fare for them was supposed to be 4.50 each. Great site - we will be back 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6247 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement