Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CATHTIM 2 reviews from this member

 We have found our weekend bolthole !

Had a fabulous weekend at Pencelli Castle in June this year. You couldn't wish for a more beautiful location, overlooking the Beacons.

All of the great reviews on here are spot on - a friendly, extremely well run site. As an indication of how helpful the owners are, we had to cancel our first booking with them but when we 'phoned they couldn't have been more understanding or accommodating and allowed us to arrange another date without losing our deposit. These are clearly folks who understand campers !

The site is absolutely immaculate and we had a very warm welcome on arrival before being shown to our pitch in the Oaks area. These pitches are very spacious, have electric hook up and drinking water close by. Pitches are divided by small hedgerows which really add to the look of the site.

Facilities at the site are excellent, even down to the piped music in the spotless toilets and shower room! Washing up facilities are excellent and there is also use of communal fridge freezers. Facilities are cleaned regularly and maintained to a very high standard. The on-site shop is well stocked and has good opening hours.

Location is perfect for the Brecon Beacons National park and the site is around a mile and a half walk along the canal to Talybont-on-Usk. The walk into Brecon is around four miles but well worth it on a sunny afternoon.

Although very busy when we stayed, the site is peaceful and quiet at night and everyone treated their neighbours with respect.

This will now be our first choice site when we have a chance to get away at short notice. I just hope it's not too popular for us to book in ! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, surrounded by some fantastic scenery and with the best facilities of any site I think I've ever stayed at. You can see why the washing/toilet facilities have won awards and its great they have a little shop on site too. Very relaxed atmosphere and a nice pub just down the road too.

Only possible small gripe was the quite long walk from the camping pitches in the meadow to the toilets. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 12 reviews from this member

 First visit at this site. Part of the reason I went was to see if all the glowing reports about it were accurate. They are.

Excellent toilet/showers. A drying room that's like an oven! A separate field just for tents (let's have more of them). Flat pitches. Quiet. Picnic benches (let's have more of those too). Good security. Great walks/cycle rides in the immediate area. Excellent information room.

And the bad points? Couldn't find any! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robert821 5 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to this site. I can be picky but must say that I can't fault anything at Pencelli. The location is great, nice and quiet with the Brecon canal running to the back of the site. Loads of wildlife including the ducks!

Welcome- warm and friendly as usual!

Pitch size- I stayed in the orchard where the pitch size for my larde outfit was absolutely fine.

Facilities- the site has everything you could possibly need and it's presented we'll, kept clean and the facilities block is always a nice temperature.

There is a shop on site selling basics

Always a pleasure to return here, never disappointing. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Globalhobo 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night on way home, though have been trying to get in here for the odd bank holiday for ages! Can totally see why it's so busy. Very well maintained and clean, quiet site perfect for Brecon and surrounding area.

Got a hardstading right by the loos, all kept clean. The information room is by far the most comprehensive I've ever seen. Handy to have a laundry and drying room, managed to get my washing done before getting home. Showers push button, agree with last comment that the water could have been a touch hotter but it was by no means cold, don't let this put you off!

Easy drive to Brecon, the pub down the road is only open Thurs night to Sunday lunchtime so be prepared to drive to Brecon or Talybont if you fancy a pint.

Going to try for a long weekend next Summer as it would be stunning in the sunshine, fingers crossed 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gnillib 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first visit and I was very impressed with the site and its facilities. It’s a nice peaceful site, easy to find and is close to Brecon if you want to eat out, visit the cinema, etc. Pencelli itself has no shops but there is a pub which unfortunately was shut whilst I was visiting (good job I had bitters in the tent!). A couple of miles up the road in Talybont there is a small shop and a selection of pubs.

There were only a couple of tents during my visit so I had plenty of choice as to where to pitch. Opted for the ‘Oaks’ area where the most of the pitches are divided by small hedges giving a bit of privacy and cover should the wind have picked up. Having had a look around the site all the tent pitches look flat, the grass is well maintained and there are plenty of floral displays that brings a bit of colour to your stay. Free Wifi coverage is available in the Orchards and Oaks areas if you must kept in touch with the world.

The toilet block is excellent, well presented and kept clean by the owners. The only niggle is there is no temperature control in the showers so if you’re after a hot shower you’ll be disappointed. It’s not they are cold by any means but I thought the temperature could be a little bit higher. The dish washing facilities are spacious and indoors which is a bit of a bonus. Fridges and freezers are available for use in another room where you can also pick up leaflets on all the local facilities and attractions.

My only grumble is the dogs on the nearby working farm had a tendency to bark day or night. Some days you barely heard them, other days it became a tad annoying. However, will definitely be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhometrips 22 reviews from this member

 This is the second time that I have visited this site and I continue to be impressed. Ok at £25 a night, in September, is to the higher end of fee levels. For that you, however, get superb facilities, spotlessly clean toilets and showers, EHU and on site drainage if you are in 'The Orchard', free WI Fi, friendly helpful service, a bread ordering facility, glorious floral displays, full laundry facilities.

There are also two family rooms which double up as disabled facilities and these are extremely spacious. There is a designated chemical disposal point but no dedicated motorhome service point. The latter was not a problem for us as we had water and drainage on pitch in 'The Orchard'.

The main plus of the site is however, its location, only minutes away from the Brecon & Monmouth canal which is a superb example of a contour hugging canal. This allows walks or cycles into Brecon with its big Morrison supermarket, its regimental museum, of Rorkes Drift fame and theatre and cinema. In the other direction you can cycle into Talybont and then upwards to the reservoir or continue along the canal to Crickhowell. Pen Y Fan can be tackled from the site or alternatively catch a bus to Brecon and then another to the Storey Arms. You then walk upto Pen Y Fan and return to the site at Pencelli.

There are no shops in the village but there is a pub which is great for a beer but only so so for food. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SculkingLoafer 1 review from this member

 We hadn't stayed in the area before and so we relied on what we could find out about local sites from the web.

We were not disappointed - indeed much of the site was significantly better than we would have expected.

The pitch was fine - some reseeding had meant we couldn't use all of it but neighbouring pitches were kept empty so we had plenty of room.

The most important bit - Toilet block - 10 out of 10. The only reason its not 11 is it was slightly nippy in the evening and the heating hadn't been put on. Always very clean, loo roll provided!

Dying Room worked well for us as there was a little rain!

Quality fridge/freezers were available for free.

Plenty of hot water in the dishwashing room.

The grounds themselves were maintained to a high standard, with an abundance of very colourful floral displays - better than most garden centres!

Staff - all extremely polite and helpful.

Suggestions for improvement - it doesn't really need it but if I had to think of something the shop could have been open for longer hours. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cara-Fan 7 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a two night stay at Pencelli Castle.

We found the site by chance, marked in the AA road atlas, and after looking at several other sites in the locality, took a walk around the site before booking in.

We have been camping or caravanning now for 30 years, and we can honestly say this is the best site that we have ever stayed on.

We could not say a bad word about anything on the site.

It is immaculately kept, the toilets and showers were always absolutely perfect, clean, tidy and hygienic, with gentle piped music throughout (a medieval theme seemed to be playing - apt for an old castle site. )

This site has every facility you could possibly want.

Toilets, showers, private sinks, payphone, baby change, family rooms, laundry room, clothes and boots drying room, fridges, freezers, information room, play area, shop and bike and boot cleaning areas - you name it, they've got it.

We stayed in the Meadow, and it was excellently kept, short grass, tarmac roads, lit, dustbin area close by, in a rural setting, in all - perfect.

The floral displays there are fantastic. Clearly the owners take a great deal of pride in the site - and the amount of awards listed on their website says it all. All the staff should be very proud of what they have achieved.

The history of the site is also fascinating. Take a look at the artists impression of the castle in reception, and ask a member of staff about it.

As you stand in reception, looking at the painting you are actually stood in the castle entrance where the drawbridge would have been. Part of the old moat can still be seen as you walk the little path from reception into the first caravan field, and the main house that still exists, can be seen in the painting. )

Next to the site is the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal, which we walked the length of from the site to Brecon, and on day two dropped the kayaks in for a paddle from Talybont to pass a couple of hours before coming home.

This is now our new 'favourite site' and we hope to return for many years to come. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caro71 6 reviews from this member

 A nice site, but not for us. It has everything, but I have stayed in a lot cheaper with the same level of facilities.

Had to check in at the house as reception and shop is now closed until Spring, after a helpful camper directed us and then we had to assist someone else. I was given a map to find our pitch. The heated toilet block had not been turned on as yet so as at times a little nippy. The gardens are tendered well but I felt we were less so. A very windy day and no one came to check our tent had not blown away and that we were OK. Sadly we only saw someone to take our payment but that was all the customer service we received.

The pitches are huge on the Oaks, but did seem a little tighter in the Orchard and the down side of the Meadow was the lack of toilets facilities, so a walk was required.

Pencelli is opposite a working farm and they have 3-4 working dogs that bark day and night as they are kept outside.

For us Pencelli is lacking something, maybe the personal, visible touch of the owner, would I return probably sadly no. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6032 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement