Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bailey6 3 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a beautiful campsite, the first of two we stayed at this weekend, and gosh what a difference, this was small friendly accommodating, the fields were kept very tidy, it was calm quiet and tranquil, I immediately felt at ease on this site, toilets and shower blocks were large and very clean, even with people just stopping for the night and moving on, the site felt safe.

Well done, see you again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjjones17 19 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in a beautiful peaceful setting, spacious pitches with own bit of privacy provided by hedge rows.

Lovely clean shower/toilet block along with ample fridges and dish washing facilities all cleaned regularly.

The site was busy but was pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was, great little local pub 150yds outside of camp and easy access onto the canal path which you can walk all the way into Brecon. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nora72 7 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome and given a choice of pitches which is always a bonus! Very nice grounds and very well kept. Pitch size varies but ours in The Oaks was spacious and had a lovely view of the hills beyond. Great location - ideal starting point for cycling, canoeing or just walking along the canal. Clean and plentiful washrooms. Useful info room. A great campsite which we'd definitely return to. Only downside was that nothing was done about a noisy group of boys who thought it was ok to kick balls over other people's pitches. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ringo the Smurf 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for just one night, mid-week in March. The site was very well laid out with excellent facilities; from access to fridge freezers and drying room to the high standard toilet and shower block.

We walked to the local village (Talybont) 2 miles along the Canal and had dinner in the The White Hart pub which had a roaring fire and excellent menu.

We found the campsite to be very well placed for walking and could definitely spend longer exploring. The pitches were a good size and not crammed in at all.

We did find the site was very expensive out of season (>14 a night without EHU) so would not visit in the peak season. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walthams 26 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with impressive facilities. Layout makes a pleasant change from traditional caravan club site

On Taff Trail and also Brecon & Monmouth canal providing a choice of routes to cycle in to Brecon. Next village of Talybont is worth a visit particularly to The Star which is a proper real ale pub. The pub in Pencelli (The Royal Oak?) is good but keeps odd opening times such as closing at 3 pm in the height of the holiday season

Fairly pricey site but excellent facilities. If staying for more than 2-3 days you might want to way up how much you would benefit from the facilities. Probably a different equation for a motorhome than a tent 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephenbc48 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site about 2 miles from Brecon. The site is very well kept with modern clean toilet block, drying room, which was very well heated, and a nice playground.

The campsite is split into 3 areas - Hardstanding, Tents/cravans with some electric hookup, and a tents only ares with spacious pitches.

Its a campsite for the descerning camper and would suit those who enjoy walking or cycling. The Taff Trail runs close to the site and is good for walking and cycling.

The owners are friendly but unobtusive.

Will definitely visit again.

There are 2 good pubs in the nearby village. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

 Stopped just 1 night with the tent whilst travelling on motorbikes. We have stopped here before in the caravan and love it. This is the second best site I have ever stayed at, very clean, toilets and showers are spotless. Nice on site shop. Well kept site and flower beds. The only bad point I have is the price, 1 night in a tent was 23 which is quite steep but I suppose you get what you pay for. There is a lovely canal walk just yards away. Its a nice walk into tallbont on usk where there are 2 pubs which serve food. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebrindo 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site regularly a few years back but stopped camping after our first child came along. This year we thought we'd have another go (now with 2 small kids) and picked Pencelli as we were familiar with it and it had never disappointed before. So glad we did. Still a fantastic site with spotless facilities all round. Agree with other reviewers that a shower/toilet block in the meadow would be useful but I suspect it would be a difficult undertaking. We now book in the oaks area for the EHU and the pitches there are great. Very roomy and split by little hedges so people are not forever walking right past as they are on some other sites.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone, but book early as it gets busy quickly. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TAZ007 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and wont be our last, the shower block and toilets are outstanding, clean tidy and pleasant, score 10 out of 10

The pitch and surrounding area again outstanding and well maintained, if you are pitched in the middle of the hook up points then you will require a lead longer than 25 meters as the are about 60 meters apart so be warned

Our stay was a peaceful and relaxing through out the day, and almost silent from 9 pm onwards considering the site was quite full I was pleasantly surprised

My only criticism is the pricing, can turn out to be rather expensive if you have kids and an awning and require electric, and for that reason we wont be having a family holiday here, but for a weekend break for two the I would say its well worth it 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russelandlesley 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first and last visit to the site. Yes the shower block & toilets are outstanding and kept very clean all of our stay. The pitch and site is well maintained but the trip to the loo and sinks with your dishes is far too far and the price for a tent for two is rather expensive. You need a second block in the meadow field for the campers. We also had children out playing at 7. 30 on the Saturday morning riding their bikes and playing in the trees. Not funny. The local pub serves really nice food. Sorry won't be back. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3740 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements