Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10/02/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueoct05 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site. So beautiful with well laid out pitches. Not cramped and very well kept.

Obviously we couldnít use the facilities or shop due to the COVID restrictions but it didnít hamper us at all.

We had lovely cycle rides on the very near by Brecon Canal towpaths. 2 miles to Talybont then you can go on to Crickhowell and 5 miles the other way to Brecon.

Lots of lovely narrow boats to see and wildlife in abundance. It will be great when the nearby pubs and eateries are reopen.

Very atmospheric in a very historical area. We will be booking here regularly. Lovely people and a quiet site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debsy 112 reviews from this member

 Superb site - had a picnic table - loads of walks with pubs on the way and you can walk down the canal to the shop.

Just fantastically run - will be back at some point I am sure. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lyn Barker 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved it. Peaceful with lovely walks and cycle routes.

Facility block very modern and clean in the Orchards area where we stayed.

I am disabled had no problem at all.

Will go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JacqWHITNEY 2 reviews from this member

 WE liked the big camping field and the facilities including showers, freezers, indoor pot washer area and washing and drying facilities and of course the showers and toilets - very clean

We like the fact that no dogs allowed. We liked the fact that bikers are allowed

We liked the fact that there was a nice local pub where you could sit out and eat by the canal

We liked the deer next door and the goat

One of us did not like the fact that you had to walk so far through everyone's private area to get to the toilet and showers. The area with tents needs a toilet at least. It's too far for people of a certain age to rush to the loo.

We didn't liek the fact that it was near a main road (but not too noticeable)as the road was not too busy. One of us did not like the fact that the showere]s were not socially distanced.

It was a last minute choice as we usually choose somewhere a bit less posh but we were glad to get a place to stay with showers and toilets open! Thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GillMaz 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, toilet block and showers. Hand sanitiser around site. Pub down road and walks along the canal.

Had a restful time despite being busy over the bank holiday weekend.

Will certainly return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fowlpest 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, and the Covid-19 precautions well set up for these difficult times.

Even though the site was busy, you never felt like anyone was 'in your face' so to speak. I was in The Oaks field, with separate hedged off bays for everyone. The shared facilities block were spotless with enhanced cleaning in place to cope with Covid, social distancing was never an issue.

The site is adjacent to the canal with easy walking towards Brecon and Tal-y-bont and fairly easy access to walks in the Beacons themselves.

Just a nice relaxing place to stay. And couldn't fault the customer service when I originally booked dates before the Welsh Government had allowed the shared facilities to reopen, after contacting the site the booking was easily changed. Highly recommended site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mfpg 2 reviews from this member

 Superb!

Great setting Outstanding canalside pub (Royal Oak)100yds from gate

Drying room, fridge/freezers, wonderful & spotless loos, showers, cubicle wash basins

Hedged plots

Children's playground

Equals Scandinavian standards!

Access to several med/long distance trails 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda55 5 reviews from this member

 Clean, well kept site in lovely location on the canal bank. Small shop, not open for the full season. Local pub, with good food just yards from the site.

Good, flat, walk/cycle, along the canal bank, into Brecon.

About 6 mile round trip. Nearest shop and cafe about a mile or so in the opposite direction, at Talybont on Usk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site 4 times over the last 10 years or so and it remains a firm favourite for a few simple reasons:

Location - just outside Brecon (which has is a lovely market town and has plenty of shops including a Morrisons) on the canal towards Abergavenney. The only shame is that there isn't a great view of the hills. But you can't blame the site for that!

Facilities - excellent. The shower blocks are always immaculate, plenty of showers, basins and toilets plus 2 family rooms for those with smaller children. The use of fridges and freezers as well. A decent playground for the children, and well looked after grounds around the whole site including wonderful flowers near the reception.

Atmosphere - it's a very relaxed site, popular with families and everyone obeys the few site rules (e. G. No noise after 10pm).

The grass is well kept and you can either stay in the first field which has (mostly) individual pitches separated by hedges, or go through into the Meadow where there is plenty of room for everyone and some shade offered by the large trees that are above the canal. Even when it is busy there is usually room for the kids to have a kickabout.

You can walk along the canal to Talybont where there are several good pubs, or the other way to Brecon. The area is stunning and Pencelli is a good base from which to explore. The staff are friendly and helfpul and the shop is reasonably well stocked when you discover you have forgotten something or just fancy an icecream! There is loads of information about the local area, walking and other activities.

We always recommend this site to first time campers or those who are more particular about the facilities, and no-one has ever been disappointed. A great site, we'll be back again! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 I've been visiting this site since 2012 & I've become a bit of a regular now. It's beautifully maintained the staff are lovely & because I'm a regular now we are on a first name basis.

With Brecon not being to far away shopping isn't a problem or you can go hiking or cycling so there's plenty to do but beware the weather can change quite suddenly so always be prepared.

I've only been once when the shop has been open as I'm often there out of season, it's pretty basic but it generally has all the things you need.

I'll definitely be visiting there again. 


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5451 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement