Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 142 Reviews
                9/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda55 5 reviews from this member

Clean, well kept site in lovely location on the canal bank. Small shop, not open for the full season. Local pub, with good food just yards from the site.

Good, flat, walk/cycle, along the canal bank, into Brecon.

About 6 mile round trip. Nearest shop and cafe about a mile or so in the opposite direction, at Talybont on Usk.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Hobbits 18 reviews from this member

We have been to this site 4 times over the last 10 years or so and it remains a firm favourite for a few simple reasons:

Location - just outside Brecon (which has is a lovely market town and has plenty of shops including a Morrisons) on the canal towards Abergavenney. The only shame is that there isn't a great view of the hills. But you can't blame the site for that!

Facilities - excellent. The shower blocks are always immaculate, plenty of showers, basins and toilets plus 2 family rooms for those with smaller children. The use of fridges and freezers as well. A decent playground for the children, and well looked after grounds around the whole site including wonderful flowers near the reception.

Atmosphere - it's a very relaxed site, popular with families and everyone obeys the few site rules (e. G. No noise after 10pm).

The grass is well kept and you can either stay in the first field which has (mostly) individual pitches separated by hedges, or go through into the Meadow where there is plenty of room for everyone and some shade offered by the large trees that are above the canal. Even when it is busy there is usually room for the kids to have a kickabout.

You can walk along the canal to Talybont where there are several good pubs, or the other way to Brecon. The area is stunning and Pencelli is a good base from which to explore. The staff are friendly and helfpul and the shop is reasonably well stocked when you discover you have forgotten something or just fancy an icecream! There is loads of information about the local area, walking and other activities.

We always recommend this site to first time campers or those who are more particular about the facilities, and no-one has ever been disappointed. A great site, we'll be back again!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

I've been visiting this site since 2012 & I've become a bit of a regular now. It's beautifully maintained the staff are lovely & because I'm a regular now we are on a first name basis. With Brecon not being to far away shopping isn't a problem or you can go hiking or cycling so there's plenty to do but beware the weather can change quite suddenly so always be prepared. I've only been once when the shop has been open as I'm often there out of season, it's pretty basic but it generally has all the things you need.

I'll definitely be visiting there again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rcsyoung 5 reviews from this member

We had a brilliant stay here last June. Four tents on a lovely grass field. The site wasn't expensive and yet it has some really good facilities. The area is lovely and it's easy to find the site. There's a pub not far down the road and the on site shop has just enough of the things that you want. There's no over officious rules, just a friendly welcome and a relaxing well looked after site. The only downside is that the tent field is a bit of a distance from the toilet block. All the electric hookups and hard standings are much closer.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pauls flower girl 6 reviews from this member

Visiting this site for the second time we have been delighted in the care that goes into the grounds and facilities every week. Some reviews have commented about rules which is somewhat surprising as all campsites provide a list of what should be common sense behaviour on site. Allowing cleaners to do their work is of upmost importance after all clean and pleasant surroundings are what makes a wonderful time. The staff at this site will assist you in any problem that may occur and take great pride in their customer relations. The site has easy access to the canal which is good for all ages to walk and cycle. The cost of this site is very good considering the excellent facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kip69 2 reviews from this member

Very lovely site with our own secluded pitch,

The toilet and facilities block was always clean and even had fresh cut flowers (in the men's)

The washing up area was clean and every user cleaned up after they had finished but it was a little cramped.

I liked the fact they had 3 tall fridge freezers that were there to freeze cooler blocks and also store food that would not fit in your own fridge/freezer.

The pub in the village looked nice for a drink but we didn't use it as they did not do kids meals.

One of the nicest sites we have stayed on, will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kampicsuz 3 reviews from this member

Camped in my part time camper in 'the meadow' which is further away from the only toilets, for us it did not matter but for 'tenters' with kids etc it might! The closer (to entrance/facilities) area had electric hookups, some were enclosed/private by bushing/hedges.

Lovely site, clean, many facilities, including small shop for basic essentials. Nice hot water for dishes and showering (pushing a/the on button was no problem)

Close to a canal where there are pleasant walks etc even into Brecon.

Helpful friendly staff, even gave us lift back from tent to office to pay the 19 fee (me and daughter 11)

Grass was so soft and spongy like moss, pleasure to be barefoot.

Stars were seen well due to no light pollution.

Seemed many people there but never felt too many as spread out.

Would definitely stay again - thanks!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjmichael 1 review from this member

Firstly, I highly recommend Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park as one of the best, cleanest, and well-maintained sites, I have visited.

Returning each year, and all ways, being met with polite and friendly people on reception, and on site shop. Facilities for washing dishes, clothes drying room for wet kit. Fridges, freezers, a map and brochure room, and even a few book swaps in one corner, including on site Wi-Fi.

Secondly, this site is surrounded with a panoramic view of beautiful scenery, and mountains in the distance, enticing you to want to climb them. Buses run to Brecon and to the Story Arms, you are able to walk to the Pen-y-Fan from the camp site for strong walkers, or your choice to use the bus, or even drive.

Finally, from this site as a base-camp. You are able to travel to the waterfalls, or even drive to the railway at Merthyr Tydfill, Wales for a leisurely train journey on the railway. 'The Brecon Mountain Railway is a 1 ft 11 ⁄₄ in narrow gauge tourist railway that runs through the Brecon Beacons along the full length of the Pontsticill Reservoir and uphill passing the nearby upper reservoir to Torpantau'. Ref: Wikipedia.

One of the best camp sites I've stayed at over many years.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bill Reeves 4 reviews from this member

When we arrived at Pencelli campsite I had remembered that my family had camped here several years ago and that it had been very expensive.

This time my wife and I were in our campervan and it was still the most expensive site of the 3 that we were visiting this week.

The pitch was nice and flat and private (surrounded by hedges).

The facilities were kept very clean, but seemed to be cleaned at a strange time.

The only pub in the village were not very welcoming as we had not booked a table and even though we managed to quickly eat a meal it still seemed an inconvenience for them for us to give them money.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keran30 14 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite, beautifully maintained. We camped for two nights without electric, which was a bit pricey at 25 per night. The shower block was immaculate, although there were no electric sockets for campers to use. There were also lots of extras like an information room, drying room, laundry room, shop, etc. The staff were all pleasant and friendly. The field seemed very well drained. Despite heavy rain the grass was not boggy at all. There were also lots of benches dotted around the field which you could pitch up next to and use - a nice touch.

My only gripe was that the shower block was so far away - a six minute walk from our pitch. Not good if you need the loo in the middle of the night! An additional toilet block in the camping field would be a good idea, even something small and basic.

Also, a D of E party arrived on the second day and pitched right on top of us. This was a little annoying as there was so much space in other areas of the field. We'd come away for a quiet break, not to be surrounded by teenagers.

That aside, we would return.

Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!