Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheats1 11 reviews from this member

 Weekend stay, booking and checking-in easy. Grounds very nicely kept, level spacious pitches with small hedges between on the EHU pitches.

Toilet facilities were immaculate, always clean, with hot water (perhaps a little too hot for young ones), brilliant family shower rooms.

Playground area good for children, and site felt safe enough for our 5 year old to venture off on his scooter for a little explore.

Our pitch was a little disappointing as we were very near the road/path into the camping field where the site narrows into a bottleneck, so there were lots of cars/people wandering up and down all morning/evening having a good look into our tent.

That said, we will return and either camp without EHU (shop on site so fresh milk not an issue) or ensure we get a different pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walters41 2 reviews from this member

 A return visit to Pencelli as we love the location of this site. It sits alongside the canal offering either cycling/walking in either direction with pub stops on the way.

The showers/bathrooms are excellent and modern and there are plenty of showers/toilets so no waiting. We were able to select our pitch and the site staff were very helpful during the booking process.

One comment we would make is that the shop and reception has quite limited opening hours and there isn't a local shop in the village, unless we missed it.

The site is in a beautiful area and is perfect for a relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nrjones 21 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Pencelli. I chose the site mainly because we wanted to walk to Pen y Fan and it was ideally located for our expedition. The weather wasn't great so we had to abandon our intended walk and luckily the Star at Talybont was holding a beer festival, with live music - this was excellent and made up for the gloomy wet weather. It was great that the campsite warden also agreed that we could stay a little later on the Sunday and we were able to enjoy a lovely, challenging walk from Neuadd Reservoirs to Pen y Fan - the Old Barn tea rooms on the way was also very good. The campsite itself is a relaxed place with a very clean shower block. There were plenty of teenagers probably taking part in Dof E staying at the campsite, and they were relocated in the bigger camping field - no problem. The pitch was fine, although it did seem a bit odd to have a waste water/chemical waste point so close to drinking water. Would we return? Definitely! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sntay1 1 review from this member

 The journey to pencelli castle brecon camping-caravan site which runs alongside the brecon and monmouth canal was extremely very easy in way of roads, I travelled from kiddeminster without any difficulty and the directions to the site when close by is very good.

The reception and welcome was excellent the wardens couldn't do enough for us. The information and knowledge about the site and area were very good.

On pitching our caravan we had a few teething problems setting up, Who came to our rescue but the very nice man from reception not once but twice we were very well looked after.

We had a fully service pitch (pitch G hardstanding)the pitch was plenty big enough for caravan and pannama porch awning with edging both sides for privacy, also with a large portion of grass for sun bathing.

The grounds were very well maintained with shrubs, trees, flowers even a small duck pond the camping site was very well manicured with plenty of room for caravans tents alike also with ele/hookups the site is around 10min away from brecon and 5min from Talybont - on - Usk where you will find two lovely pubs backing onto the brecon and monmouth canal there is also a cafe come shop selling everything you may need.

In pencelli itself which is a 3-4min walk from the site is the royal oak pub, when open delivers great food and drink.

The facilities at the site are extremely very good as listed

Small grocery area.

Small library.

Good selection of dvd's.

Several fridge freezers.

Abundant selection of brochures.

Laundry washers, dryers, iron, ironing board.

Gents shower block separate cubicles for wash basins/shaver point, showers, toilets, piped music.

The ladies are exactly the same minus the shaving point, the cleanliness of the block is excellent and are cleaned every day.

Stand pipe for fresh drinking water also for bikers and walkers there is also a washdown area

Chemical disposal point's and refuse area's very well maintained and kept clean all in all nothing to complain about except why can't all site's be as good as this one. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Talgarth19 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night, wish we could have had longer. Beautiful site, in the middle of nowhere! Good level spacious pitches. Showers & toilets are amazing, modern, spotless & warm.

You can walk for miles along the canal towpath which is just across the road.

There is a pub nearby in the village. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigMorfil 1 review from this member

 We visited Pencelli for 1 night for our debut family camping trip (2 adults and 2 children under 10). It was great from first contact to the end of our stay. The management were accommodating when I needed to amend my booking and friendly when we booked in. We camped in the Meadow which is the tent field furthest away from the amenities block - there are tent pitches in The Orchard with EHU which are closer to the block though. The tent field was beautifully kept and the whole site appeared well maintained. The amenities block was spotless and the showers were spacious with plenty of hot water. The campsite was peaceful whilst we were there and the quiet time of 10pm-8am was well observed. The location is ideal as a base for walking in the Brecon Beacons and there are plenty of good pubs in the area ( we enjoyed The Star at Talybont on Usk - 2 mile walk along the canal). Pencelli is pricey but we felt that we got what we paid for. It was perfect for our first camping trip as a family and we look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparrticus 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in august.

Beautiful site in a fantastic location, just outside Brecon. Pitches are laid out well, no overcrowding. Toilets and shower block are incredibly clean, they are cleaned twice daily and it shows. By far the best facilities I have been in so far.

I would no no hesitation in staying here again, everything about it was almost perfect.

Would have been a 10/10 if only you could have had a camp fire. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magic48 24 reviews from this member

 Currently on this lovely site and using their FREE WiFi to leave this review. A largish site that is quite busy but retains a quiet/peaceful atmosphere. The shower block and other facilities are superb - one of the best we have ever stayed at.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect for cycling/walking along the canal towpath.

Canalside pub in village not tried yet but travelled a couple of miles and had meal at The Star Inn at Talybont on Usk last night that was excellent.

Definitely a site to return to. You can do it cheaper but you won't do it better. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SierraKilo 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice site in a small village just outside Brecon. Quite busy as it was high season just starting and plenty of Caravans, Motorhomes, and Tents but as pitches are laid out well and segregated didn't feel crowded.

Stayed two nights and the facilities were spotless and staff friendly.

Price wise its slightly on the high side, but worth it for the location and excellent facilities.

Free Wifi, but range wasn't huge ! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oldagetraveller24 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site in fantastic location with views all round. We only stayed one night(a Friday)as touring. As we did not need a hookup or the toilet facilities we stayed on the meadow, which was mainly tents. Staff very helpful and happy to let you walk round the site before booking in to ascertain where you would like to be. Site is alongside the canal which is hidden by the boundary trees but access to the towpath is via a short walk down the road. Local pub in the village(which we didn't try) has canalside garden. Water points, and bike/boot wash, on the meadow but all other facilities including drying room, are located in the buildings attached to reception and adajacent to the areas mainly used by caravans and motorhomes/campervans (there are some tent pitches there). This means that the tents on the meadow have a substantial walk to the facilities - not so bad when the weather is good but bad news if its raining. Really needs a toilet block/dishwashing facility on the meadow - particularly at the prices charged. Would have been very peaceful had it not been for the extremely noisy lawnmower - the operator had ear defenders but sadly they were not issued to the campers! Sites of all sizes have grass and site owners obviously need to cut it when customers are in residence so why can't manufacturers make quieter mowers. Lighting in the toilets/showers and information room is poor and makes is seem somewhat dowdy. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements