Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TJBD 3 reviews from this member

 Having been caravanning for over 20 years we have always used the Caravan Club standard as a benchmark when assessing other sites that we visit. As all Caravan Club sites within the area that we wanted to visit were full over the weekend of 19/20th June, we were lucky enough to have one of the last pitches at the Pencelli Castle campsite.

Apart from the people running it being very friendly and helpful, the toilet block was equal if not better than the Caravan Club standard having family rooms and quite a few freezers for campers use in the information room.

The site shop is well stocked with all the essentials and fresh bread can be ordered the day before.

The Royal Oak pub is a very short walk away and serves decent ale and good food.

We will definitely be going there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nelmo 23 reviews from this member

 Just had a great week at this site (although the amazing weather helped).

The prettiest site we've ever been to, with lots of blooming flowers, immaculate lawns and with the stunning Brecon Beacons scenery as a backdrop.

Toilet blocks spotless, with free, hot showers (although not as powerful as some). The shop has the basics but not much more. Decent kids play area although a little away from the main pitches.

Brecon is a 15 minute drive and has all the shopping facilities you need. Talybont is 5 minutes but only has one small shop (not sure how much stuff it has) and 3 nice-looking pubs.

There is on-site bike hire (but not cheap at 20 per. Day) and the Taff trail runs past the site. You can also cycle along the canal towpath, which is nice and flat and very pretty. Obviously, there is all the attractions of the Beacons on your doorstep.

Minor niggles (nowhere is perfect); some of the pitches are very small and if you've got a caravan, make sure your reversing skills are up to scratch, especially on arrival as the entrance area is quite small.

Generally, a very pretty site, well-maintained in a beautiful area and thus a little pricey but highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Djgrumpy 4 reviews from this member

 A very clean campsite with well laid out flowerbeds.

Despite it being the second half of a bank holiday weekend never had to queue for shower or loo.

I think that shop hours could have been longer.

Like other reviewers have said the downside was the incessant barking of dogs on an adjoining farm. Even though the campsite was fairly full it was never noisy either in the day or at night, just the dogs nearby!

Rather disappointed by Brecon Mountain Railway, no as good as Tallylln (hope that is spelling) which we tried the previous year. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to go walking and that's just what we did. It was a 17 mile round trip to the beacons, great if you like walking as there is not much else here.

The canal next to the camp site is beautiful and is a lovely walk to brecon or cycle if you prefer. The site is kept pristine and the grounds are well maintained and there are flowers every where.

The showers and loos are spotless that's why you pay more to stay here. The shop does not sell much so bring supplies with you. TV coverage is a bit hit and miss and the pitches for motorhomes are not that big, we would come back but not in high season. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlbf06 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to Pencelli last weekend and we loved it.

Stayed in the The Oaks section on an EHU pitch. Lovely and quiet spot, not too far to walk to the immaculate toilet / shower block. Thoughtful extras such as the drying room and freezers all again in immaculate condition. Lovely family rooms with changing area / shower / toilet etc.

Locally the Royal Oak had a nice beer garden out the back but we missed the food so headed into Talybont for an excellent bar meal. Enjoyed walks along the towpath just 50m away. Our four year old loved the play park. Nice safe feeling as the pond etc were all well fenced. All in all plenty to do for a family. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, smallish site, beautifully situated within the Brecon Beacons and adjacent to the canal. The loo block is probably the cleanest I have seen and the site is very well kept. I imagine it will be lovely when the flowers and trees are out but when we were there the sunny weather and the snowy mountain tops were spectacular.

We ate at the Royal Oak in Pencelli (pronounced Pen - keth-lee!, I was informed), a couple of minutes walk from the site. It was a limited menu but all home cooked and delicious. We would recommend it.

We walked along the canal to Brecon, about 4.5 miles and a very nice walk. You end up by the theatre in Brecon.Caught the bus back though!

The site owners were very friendly and I will be booking again for the warmer weather. You can apparently hire boats on the canal which would be a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.If you are a walker, you will love it, the Beacons are on your doorstep, as is the Taff Trail cycle path.

It was a little pricier than some sites but worth every blinking penny, in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vwebber 9 reviews from this member

 Superb site. Very accommodating when I stated we had young children, owner moved us to a safer pitch. Toilet/shower facilities 5 star. Decent pitch sizes all on level ground except for those next to the road. Nice playground for children, quite safe for them to ride around on their bikes. Only 1 pub in the village, but with Brecon a short distance this wasn't a problem. Would definitely return 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHearns 1 review from this member

 We have had a great week at Pencelli. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The camp site facilities were the best we have experienced and were spotless. The pitches were neatly laid out and separated by flowers and shrubs.

The location was lovely surrounded by fields and a farm and the Brecon canal, all give lovely local walks. The local pub was very nice and served very good food.

Our three children had a great week and because the facilities were so good we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NSTRUCT 2 reviews from this member

 This site has the cleanest toilets I have ever seen on a camp site! Which makes a nice change.

Grass was also immaculate & clean, great for my kids to play on.

Shop was very small & only did the basics, nearest supermarket is about 10-15min drive in Breacon town.

Not much for kids to do really, but overall a good base for the Breacons.

I would return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevemason 1 review from this member

 We arrived earlier today, and as soon as we arrived we could tell from the huge display of awards hung on the reception wall that this was a good site! The whole site is fantastically well maintained. It is in a peaceful location, and from our tent you can see the hills and its very quiet. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. There is free WiFi connection on the site, and that's how I am writing this review! There is a shop which sells the essentials - milk, bread etc along with some snacks. There is bike hire on the site and bike trails around the area.

And knowing the toilet block and facilities have won many awards for their high standards - we expected a clean loo. But when we saw them for ourselves they were better than we expected! They were absolutely spotless and extreemly well kept. There were even private cubicles with single sinks and mirrors in so you could wash in private which I liked. The showers were brilliant and large. The best toilets/showers I've seen - and that's not only at campsites!

I couldn't point any faults or problems out we had - but the only thing I'd recommend is to book a pitch with an electrical hookup. This means youre perfect distance to the toilets and facilities - because the main tent field looked like some tents were a little bit of a walk to them - which we wouldn't enjoy at night.

The play area is lovely and well kept.

A fifteen minute drive away is the town of Brecon which has many shops for what you need - including lots of small camping shops.

I would definitely return and recommend this site to other campers. On the whole its the perfect campsite and would say to all looking for a campsite in the area to come here! 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement