Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xisle 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful! Wow, what a site! We stayed 2 nights at this great site. Location for Brecon and the Beacons is fantastic. The actual farm is nice and the site is spacious and well maintained.

The facilities are great and very clean.

This site has won many awards and quite rightly so!

The owners are really friendly too which is always a good addition.

It snowed whilst we where there making the site and the surroundings very scenic.

We will be back to this site!

Take some bird feed with you and you'll be awarded with so many different birds coming to feed. Although we didn't use it, I believe you can get into Brecon on the Canal Tow Path which runs right along the site.

Just up the road is the small but warm and welcoming Royal Oak Pub that has Brains Beer on tap! Yummy! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

 The site is very well kept and pleasant to stop on. Staff friendly.

Lots of scenic walks about and a couple of local pubs worth visiting.

Rather than state the best parts of the site which have already been mentioned in previous reviews I will state some that are niggles but would make the site very good.

The shower water was only just usable as it was only just warm. I think this must have been like this since summer but now its colder the temperature needs increasing. Took a couple of minutes to get to just warm.

The wifi is free but must be limited as when it gets to evening when most are online the signal drops to weak or nothing at all and its only a small site so this needs attention.

The site is very dark at night if you wish to walk to toilet block, could do with a few more lights near the paths.

Enjoyed our stay and yes a would return. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pennylyttle 3 reviews from this member

 This is by far the best campsite I have stayed at in every aspect. It is beautiful, clean, all the facilities you could possibly want. I have stayed here many many times and for long periods at a time too.

The owners and caretakers are very friendly.

There is a shop, a local information room, fridge and freezer space, laundry facilities, a drying room and the cleanest toilet and shower facilities I have ever come across.

The location is perfect for exploring this area of Wales and there is also a bus service that runs right past the site entrance that will take you into either Brecon or Abergavenny.

There is a lovely children's playground away from the main camping areas and even a museum area with old farming vehicles and equipment.

I can't recommend it highly enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephengcooper@ 5 reviews from this member

 It's the attention to detail that makes this wonderful site. Sweetpeas and piped music in the spotless wash areas are a nice touch, but more appreciated is the sufficiency of hooks in the shower cubicles and space to undress and turn around in a dry area - both real rarities.

There was also a scrubbing brush provided at the boot-cleaning point, so that my 'spare' dishwashing brush was not called into action.

Manicured lawns and beautiful borders and orchards and - had I known it and brought the laptop - free wifi in parts of the site.

One regret was no visit to the Royal Oak, as the Brecon Jazz festival and fringe took all of my musical and drinking attention. Superb site, lovely town, wonderful walks, possibly the best in my 12 years of camping 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanxpony 10 reviews from this member

 Very nice camp site in beautiful surroundings, with facilities that just can't be faulted. There is even piped music in the bathrooms with nice photographs on the walls.

Nearby pubs provide good meals (and sometimes entertainment).

However, the site is quite expensive. I wouldn't normally pay this much for camping, and only did so because it is a cut above the usual ones. But since it is so expensive, I feel that there are some issues that should be mentioned.

Don't put your tent too near to the hedge that backs onto the road, as although it is not a busy road, it gets some use throughout the night and can cause lack of sleep!

The perfect way to get to Brecon and back is to cycle the 4 miles along the canal tow path, but cycle hire is provided by a third party and is very expensive - I think a cheaper alternative should be offered!

And finally, it's a long way to the toilet block from the tent fields - they should build a smaller toilet block in this field, or allow tents to pitch nearer to the existing facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maistro 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had two nights camping on the site at the start of July, ok it's not cheap but you get what you pay for, it's lovely the full place is spotless.

We camped in the meadow at the far end of the site, there was lots of room and good quality wooden picnic tables/chairs here and there. I feel that a toilet/shower building at this end of the site would be a great asset.

We had a meal in the Royal Oak (just up the road)on the first night which was very good, nice pub with beer garden onto the canal.

We had a trip into Brecon which is a lovely town with plenty of carparking and we shopped in Morrisons which was very handy.

Following our return to site, we walked two miles along the canal towpath to Talybont-on-usk, a village with some nice pubs, we only saw a couple of boats, but lots of people walking and on bikes. We had a great weekend and will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fionna 6 reviews from this member

 Oh My Goodness - What a beautiful site. In fact I would say, this is the best site I have been on and we have been on a number of Touring parks over the past 5 years.

Mind you - we only stayed the one night as we were visiting family in South Wales and rather than book a hotel, we chose to take our caravan down to Brecon and pitch and travel to the party venue and drive back.

It took us 3 hours to reach the site but we felt like we had had a break when we left the following day.

The site was like driving into a Garden Centre - the plants were so lovely and fragrant in their displays, well attended to. We pitched on the Orchard where each pitch was segregated with a hedge of plants and bushes, really cosy.

Water and electric shared between 2 pitches. The amenities were superb. The waste and chemical area were spotless and a hose to clean your loos after emptying ( It looked like a french toilet in fact ! ) The toilets/showers were immaculate.

Showers had plenty of room - a small bench to place your stuff, 3 hooks for clothes, push button shower which lasted approx 20 secs. Lovely and warm too.

Also just outside of the shower cubicles was a couple of squeegee mops to clean the shower after you. The toilets had fragrant blocks on them - and there were cubicles with sinks. There was plenty more facilities - but as we were only there the one night - we didn't have to use them.

We took a walk around the site before we left, and there was an area with Caravans, motorhomes and tents on and further on an area for tents only.

On leaving the site and turning right and making your way through the village of Pencelli - there is a lovely pub with a garden in the back which is situated on the left of the road. How handy is that ?

All in all - a really lovely site - but. I hasten to add here - just one downfall - They don't allow dogs and we have 2 pooches. So we wont be able to stay at Pencelli Castle unless its for a very short stay without our dogs as they come with us everywhere.

Perhaps the owners might change their minds sometime - I'll have to monitor their website. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waynetod 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Plenty of space in the meadow, even when busy. Very well kept greens with good drainage. There was a spectacular storm on Friday 24 June during the evening yet by the morning it had soaked away. The gardens are kept immaculate by Paul the gardener and have been recognised by having the 2010 David Bellamy award and the loos are amongst the best you can expect. There are 2 family rooms with showers, toilets, baby changing facilities and disabled access to them. Very impressed although it is not cheap. But you do get what you pay for.

Great place to stay for easy access to the Brecon Beacons or if you want to canoe the canal down to the pub. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nedsram 21 reviews from this member

 This has to be the best site we have ever visited. Immaculately presented and beautifully laid out. The toilet block is well worth the numerous awards it appears to have received, which are proudly displayed.

This is a Mecca for walkers, with the canal next door and the Brecon Beacons within easy (if strenuous) walking distance. There is also a good canal side pub just down the road - and an even better one is the Star in Talybont, a relaxing 20 minute walk away along the canal towpath.

Whilst not cheap, this site is worth every penny. They don't charge for the WiFi, which is just as well, as the connection was lost regularly. (They say this is because of the large number of kids playing online games. ) 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Banner1 2 reviews from this member

 Very busy, never crowded.

After I read the other reviews I was pleased to go and read they won a award for the loo of the year I laughed but I could really see why. There facilities are amazing with hot water all the time and all very clean.

Great location with several pubs near by.

Too quiet for us with there No Music rule. Defintly a family camp site.

Owners were very helpful but price seemed a tad steep considering tents pay the same as motorhomes at 11.30 per person per night,but like I said always hot water and always clean.

Very nice place I would recommend to family's but not couples 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement