Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bill Reeves 4 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at Pencelli campsite I had remembered that my family had camped here several years ago and that it had been very expensive.

This time my wife and I were in our campervan and it was still the most expensive site of the 3 that we were visiting this week.

The pitch was nice and flat and private (surrounded by hedges).

The facilities were kept very clean, but seemed to be cleaned at a strange time.

The only pub in the village were not very welcoming as we had not booked a table and even though we managed to quickly eat a meal it still seemed an inconvenience for them for us to give them money. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keran30 14 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite, beautifully maintained. We camped for two nights without electric, which was a bit pricey at £25 per night. The shower block was immaculate, although there were no electric sockets for campers to use. There were also lots of extras like an information room, drying room, laundry room, shop, etc. The staff were all pleasant and friendly. The field seemed very well drained. Despite heavy rain the grass was not boggy at all. There were also lots of benches dotted around the field which you could pitch up next to and use - a nice touch.

My only gripe was that the shower block was so far away - a six minute walk from our pitch. Not good if you need the loo in the middle of the night! An additional toilet block in the camping field would be a good idea, even something small and basic.

Also, a D of E party arrived on the second day and pitched right on top of us. This was a little annoying as there was so much space in other areas of the field. We'd come away for a quiet break, not to be surrounded by teenagers.

That aside, we would return. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamieandnic 1 review from this member

 We (my wife and I)visited out of season last weekend for a quick running trip in the Brecon beacons, first time we have stayed at this site as the site we normally stay at was still closed for the winter.

The location is perfect, the shower block was beautifully clean, the hot water in the showers was perfect, accept what some other comments have said about the showers being on push button but for me that did not detract from the shower experience (nothing better than a nice hot shower at the end of a long running day in the mountains)!

Our pitch was a lovely size, although next to the road so some minimal road noise.

The local pub literally 150m down the road was fabulous, great beer and we were made to feel really welcome (especially when we gate crashed a private party that was taking place in the area of the bar that had the TV on and we wanted to watch Wales v England in the 6 nations (we even got given the food that the party were having!)

The café which is a short bike ride / walk along the canal do an awesome breakfast (as we experienced on both Saturday and Sunday. )

The only thing I would comment on as a negative is the dogs barking during the night, (which were not the owners dogs on the site) but the local dogs around the village.

All in all a great site in a great location 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauls flower girl 6 reviews from this member

 Late in the season the grounds of this site look amazing with fresh trimmed hedges and neat grass in a scenic setting.

The showers are set at a perfect temperature.

There is a drying room and fridge/freezer provided for free.

Lots of safe cycling and walking round country lanes or along the canal and access to the mountains from.

The owners will help you with directions or suggestions for other places to visit. Tal-y-bont has a small shop and Brecon has 3 supermarkets.

A great place for enjoying the beauty of Wales. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madge23 7 reviews from this member

 Very nice clean site in a great location near to the canal and within walking distance of the Beacons. Nice spacious pitches and lovely that only guide dogs are allowed as dogs can be a nuisance to those who do not have them. There is a little road noise but only at certain times of the day. Showers and toilets are immaculate but the showers are push button and only stay on for a few minutes which I found annoying.

Would definitely come back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 80 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to what was once our favourite site. However, we now feel that it is far too expensive for the facilities on offer.

While the shower blocks are kept very clean (except for lots of high-level cobwebs) the water temperature in the showers was only lukewarm and the shower plungers varied between 4 seconds and 17 seconds (I know, I counted them).

There was also a smell from the drains on one night and 3 out of the 4 hair driers weren't working (more importantly, both the ones in the ladies!).

Location-wise the site is great but considering the amount of customers, sadly I think it's getting to be a bit of a rip-off. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjjones17 19 reviews from this member

 Second time we have used this camp and as before the camp itself is wonderful. Great location, fantastic facilities with a great pub few mins walk away and access to the canal path.

Unfortunately the welcome and customer service we had this time was very poor to say the least.

Prior to arrival I has spoken to the site twice and both times I was assured that we could have 3 pitches together, upon arrival this was not the case. They did manage to put two of us together but even though there was a spare pitch next to our friends we were told it was booked but it remained empty for the days we were there.

Upon arrival the main reception was also closed and was met by what I will politely call a rude, obnoxious bloke who talked to me like I had stepped in something. During the busy period the shop is shut for two days a week, pity this wasn't mentioned when booking or on their comprehensive website.

I will use the site again because as I said its a lovely site and great location for the beacons and the activities that come with that area, I just hope the customer service and welcome is better. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauls flower girl 6 reviews from this member

 We have used pencelli many years and have always found everyone involved with the site to be very helpful and caring and extremely polite. Is the previous person leaving the review sure he was actually at this site. /this site is very good for many activities and close to shops if you need them. The toilet block is very good and pitches kept mowed and clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazerooni 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site all pitches are well arranged. Perfect place to visit the Brecon Beacons from. The camp was very Clean and tidy. Facilities very good and clean. Excellent fridge and freezer usage. Shop very convenient for those essentials. To cap it all this site had quiet night rules and everyone stuck to them so we had silent nights after our hard days climbing and walking. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jweeden 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 day visit to this site. We agree with the reviews that say that this is a very well-cared for site with excellent toilet/shower facilities which are kept very clean. The pitches are well marked out and maintained - also spacious. However, we arrived early afternoon on a Monday to find that reception/shop were closed and were not due to open again until Thursday afternoon! So much for being able to buy a pint of milk on site! Th owners were available at the house but it does seem a little strange that in the height of the season, with the site nearly full that there was no shop facility, especially as the village itself has no shop. The site is in an excellent position for exploring the Brecon Beacons and in spite of substantial amounts of rain the site was clearly extremely well-drained. All in all a good site but expensive for what we got! We are unlikely to return. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6845 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement