Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martinjp65 10 reviews from this member

 We selected this site for our final trip of 2010 and were not disappointed. The shower block is among the best we have experienced and was a pleasure to use although it was a little on the cool side when we stayed.

We had a EHU pitch part of which was roped off to allow the grass to recover there was still ample room for our Norfolk lake tent with no issue pegging out and nice level pitches the site is a nice mix of serviced hardstands nearest the shower block, grass EHU pitches and the end field that looked very nice but had a bit more of a 'wilderness' feel.

The shop was still open when we stayed and we bought most of our bread there and some nice local honey even though we stayed out of season the site seems to be popular with people on shorter weekend breaks.

ADJ to the shower block is an information room with fridges and freezers anyone can use and a drying room for outside clothing the whole site is very tidy and well kept and there is even a facility for washing muddy boots and mountain bikes!

Overall this is a lovely site for exploring this part of Wales, Brecon is the nearest town with nice shops and a large Morrisons the area is famous walking country and we found it exhausting sitting and looking at the mountains for hours (well we were on holiday after all!)

This lovely site passes the 'would we go back'? test with flying colours 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoBee71 2 reviews from this member

 Had our second visit to Pencelli May bank holiday. Fantastic site.

Clean facilities, helpful staff, good play area for kids and a pub within 5 minutes walk.Perfect!

Great weather on both visits was a bonus.

Site fully booked but did not have to wait for showers etc, family rooms are great. Fridge and freezers available free of charge.

The dogs as previously mentioned were a bit of a problem on our last visit but this time didn't notice them.

Would recommend and will return. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cdenham 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here Fri to Sun on pitch h, right opposite the toilet block which was spotless. It was a bit of a nuisance when showering having to push the button every 30 secs to continue flow of water. There are no dogs allowed on the site but because of nearby farm a dog wandered around the site one morning, and you could hear dogs barking several times during our stay which was quite annoying. We didn't see the shop open, although I presume it was open at certain times

The royal oak pub 100 yards down the road opened at 6.30 each evening and the staff there were very friendly and the meals were excellent. Canal footpath nearby if you fancy a walk. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sideshow 1 review from this member

 First trip to the Brecon Beacons for myself and a couple of friends. Not disappointed staying at this site.

I arrived to find the site apparently closed well it was Sunday 28th November.

The site attendant was extremely helpful and kind with advice and opened facilities up for just three of us as they had advertised being open until 3rd December. We stayed on caravan pitches although we were in tents as site was empty and it was handy for the toilet block etc.

Facilities are very good. Though we did struggle with the low output of the showers -though this may have been due to the very low temperatures as it did get down to below -10c one night-so won't be an issue for people camping at 'sensible' times!

Don't count on anything from the local pub I made that mistake it- opens as and when the owner feels like it apparently -so we took a cab into Brecon -best book in advance.

Overall a good site would be brilliant if the local pub was open for evening food etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simontipler 7 reviews from this member

 First camping trip to wales so I was looking forward to it, when we arrived we missed the campsite due to no signs being up but there are signs showing where the campsite is coming in from the brecon direction but we got there in the end.

On arrival we found the staff to be very friendly indeed we paid for a three night stay from friday to monday, the site shop is well stocked but its not open all the time over the weekend only one hour on sunday which I thought they could open it a little longer during peak season.

We were told to pick our own pitch in the meadow area which was very nice, they also have benches all around the site for you to use a welcome indeed, they have a caravan area which is called the oaks where electric hooks ups are used also some pitches for tents.

When reading other reviews some said its a long walk to the toilets if you are in the meadow area but I thought not its about 5 mins tops,on a down side there is only one toilet / shower block for the whole site but it is very clean again some reviews have said that it the best toilets they have been to but I can say I've been to better ones,also the pot washing facilities is located in a small room again should have more for the size of the site.

They have a good information room and have got fridge/freezers in the same room for you to use,

Also they have got a drying room and a washing machine and tumble dryer for you to use but you have to pay for this.

Did not use the local pubs so cannot comment on that one but saying that we passed the one nearest to the campsite everyday it always looked shut.

All in all 7/10 for our stay in wales/brecon its very nice but the weather did not help our stay

As it rained hard for 2 days (ray mears would have moaned). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Youlbury 16 reviews from this member

 I can only add what people who have already so I thought I would summarise my thoughts on the site.

The camping Field (The Meadows) was very nice, with fine dense lush grass and great surroundings.

The reception/shop staff were very friendly and helpful, the wardens, cleaning and maintenance staff did a fantastic job without been virtually seen.True professionals.

Everything is clean and kept clean not only by the staff but also by the people visiting, it’s nice to see “If it’s clean tidy I will leave that way too” attitude.

The grounds are nice and have a feel good factor.

The Royal Oak is just a few minutes’ walk and serves decent food and drink, in the other direction is the Star Inn a few minutes in the car in Talybont on Usk offers great beer and a nice beer garden where we were treated to some of the acts doing the rounds from the Brecon Jazz Festival.

Brecon is nice to visit for the morning and Hay on Wye in the afternoon ( if you can park)

The National show caves was interesting, however if you have young children you might have to take a tissue or two as our 3 year girl hated along with another dozen or so. At £13.50 per adult and £7.00 per child (under 3 years old free) was ok for the money but there are no discounts for a family of four like most locations.

Lots of locations to walk, kayak and fish etc

My conclusion of this site is it is perfectly run, clean and pleasure to stay, I never have gone back to the same place twice, in the case of Pencelli Castle I will break this rule and will go back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summerplace 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and was really impressed with the site. The facilities are incredibly clean and they seem to have thought of everything; from the bike stands outside the toilet facilities (presumably for the campers that have quite a trek to get there) to the drying room for towels, coats and boots etc. There is a small charge for this but I think it would be worth it if you really were stuck for space. The toilets are immaculate even at peak season, this partly due to strategically placed large mats at the entrances and how respectful everyone was of such good facilities.

I didn't actually use the washing up room, but my husband and son seemed suitably impressed. The shop/reception has a really nice feel and stocked local cakes and bread which you can order for the next day which is a lovely touch.

The landscaping has been really thoughtfully done to create little nooks for units which makes it feel like a really upmarket site. The only downside to our pitch, which was adjacent to the road, was the constant barking of dogs that could be easily heard. It seemed as though there was either a kennels or a farm where one dog would set the other/s off. This really couldn't be helped by the site owners, but if I lived there I would consider it a real nuisance. It is perhaps the only thing that would make me hesitate in going back as it was fairly regular.

The local area was amazing; a canal side footpath that we used to cycle right into the centre of Breacon (about 4.5 miles each way) and plenty of lovely peaks to climb (or look at). We walked up Pen y fan which is fairly close by; a strenuous 5.5 hour walk for a novice like me, but achievable. There is also a very popular pub which serves food only a short walk away which lots of campers used nightly. We also saw some really interesting camping outfits, from traditional canvas tents to safari type rooms ontop of a Landrover. It made it all the more interesting. The pitch sizes were also very generous.

All in all a credit to the owners who have really succeeded in creating a wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julianneh 2 reviews from this member

 We came to Pencelli with our family of 4, including 2 disabled teenagers.The first view of the site is so beautiful with all the flowers in bloom! The welcome we received was very warm and friendly - Anne in the reception is a real treasure and so helpful! The pitches are good and the pathways are well lit at night. All the facilities are very, very clean and well sign posted.

The campsite shop sells the basics, the dishwashing room is spotless (most campers who use this site seem to leave the facilities in the condition they wish to find them I'm pleased to say!). There is even a coffee machine in the dishwashing room (though we did not partake!). The information room contains 4 large fridge freezers for campers' use - an superb idea! the disabled shower/bathrooms were also very clean and always tidy. The coat/boot drying room and tumble drier was very handy the morning after a very big downpour with a minor tent waterproofing problem! The ladies (and I'm assured the mens) loos were impressively clean and tidy and overall the site was excellently maintained.

The small field for ball games was a very good idea and our daughter enjoyed the swings! She commented that the site was like an outdoor hotel and she wasn't wrong! It's a quite, family site - loud music etc is not allowed, but fun is! If you can't tear yourself away from the internet, there is also free WiFi!

It's a great location for cycling of hill walking and we can recommend the Star Inn in nearby Talybont or the Royal Oak just a few minutes walk away in Pencelli village itself! This campsite is definitely worth a visit and we will very definitely be going back - probably regularly! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johndavis 10 reviews from this member

 Nothing much to add as the previous reviews are pretty spot on. We were on a lovely large pitch in the centre of the Oaks with hook-up. The Meadow looked really nice but seemed a bit of a hike to the facilities.

Beware that some of the pitches in the Oaks are quite small and because of the surrounding trees shade is an issue at times of the day. We found our pitch in the centre gave us a good long spell in the sun.

The only minor gripe to report is that there are a couple of annoying dogs belonging to a local farmer which insisted on barking virtually incessantly through our stay. Apparently, the site owners have tried to deal with the problem but to no avail! I was glad of my earplugs!

Another tip is that reception will lend you a guide (and an OS map if you're lucky)to the local walks which are fantastic, especially if you go high. We weren't massively impressed by Brecon itself but a trip to Hay on Wye is recommended, and not just for book lovers.

All in all a lovely site. Not cheap, as others have noted, but well run and attractive, with great facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pickle05 10 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful site situated in the Brecon Beacons with the Brecon/Monmouthsire canal alongside available for long lazy walks, or cycle rides. The facilities are excellent - very clean toilets and hot push button showers and the pitches are flat with plenty of choice between hardstandings or grass. There is a separate field - The Meadow for tents which looked really well planned out and well kept, although The Oaks could also accommodate tents.

The wardens were friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was the standard of the chemical disposal unit in The Oaks which was basically a drain also used for waste water disposal. The tap for fresh water was immediately adjacent with the inevitable child playing around it, which perhaps was not the most hygenic of situations for the child. The site is fairly expensive and I think this lack of a decent disposal facility did let them down slightly.

There is plenty to do in the area if you enjoy walking, with the peak of Pen-y-Fan being accessible from the site (3 hour walk), or the Taff Cycle Trail. The Brecon Mountain Railway a short drive away is also fun for all ages.

The irony of this site for us was that it is the first 'no dogs' site we have visited as we lost ours last year and have always wanted to visit Pencelli. However there is a situation with an adjoining farm where several dogs continually bark throughout the night and during times of the day, which can be disturbing. However the benefits of the site and the adjoining area outweighed the lack of sleep and wouldn't prevent us from returning. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement