Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TJMCheltenham 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip for over 25 years, so I took my time selecting a campsite for two nights to test out my new tent.

I couldn't have picked a better site. The facilities were fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

As a keen walker I used the site as a base for a walk to Fan y Big and also for a shorter walk along the Monmouthshire and Brecon canal. The location is ideal for anyone wanting a central base to walk in the Brecon Beacons area.

Despite some mixed weather conditions, and one noisy group of lads on the Saturday night, I've not been put off camping and will definitely return to Pencelli Castle. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: DameEdna 2 reviews from this member

 Well situated and great for cycling and walking holidays. Initially we were given a small grass pitch when we had booked a hard standing one but this was changed to a good sized hard standing when requested.

Campsite was generally quiet but on one night several young men strolled through the site being generally loud, swearing etc and were presumably coming back from the pub.

Most sites we've visited have a rule about no single sex groups staying so this might be an issue for those with young children.

The ladies toilets were very clean however according to my husband and son the gents smelt strongly of urine and because of this they preferred to use the family room.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would visit again even though it is pricier than most sites we've stayed at. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faces 2 reviews from this member

 A truly fantastic campsite.

We've stayed here time and time again and will continue to do so!

We were camping so pitched in the meadow. Lovely, big area. Very well kept, bushes and trees kept neatly and grass mowed regularly.

The campsite itself is clearly very well kept and the flowers on site are nothing short of spectacular! The owners clearly take a great deal of pride in the site upkeep.

Facilities are brilliant, some of the best I've ever seen. Toilet block with shower and sink cubicles. Very clean.

Family wash rooms which are a godsend for us having 3 children under the age of 6.

Fridge and freezers available. Very good especially for campers in the hot weather!

Lovely park for the children to play, again, very well kept. Some animals to see too (some goats and sometimes a deer).

There's a small shop on site which is handy for essentials.

A generally small and quiet campsite which is nice. It very much quiets down at around 9pm.

A stone throw away from the canal which is good for both walking or on bikes. A very short drive from Brecon town.

Reasonable prices and run by very friendly, welcoming owners.

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Footstep 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, with fab facilities. Clean showers, hot water, even got fridge/freezers. Big site and nice and flat. The main camping field is a bit far from the facilities but not exactly a major hike.

I was a solo camper and for high season the price was pretty good for all the facilities.

My only negative is the local pub - Royal Oak. Got the distinct impression I was an inconvenience to them. The campsite owner/manager also indicated that he wasn't always sure if and when they were open. Just bear this is mind pre-booking and planning to eat out. That said a 2 mile stroll down the canal to Talybont and you have 3 good pubs to go at. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobsky 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site in the heart of the Brecons. We were greeted on arrival by the friendliest staff you could wish for who directed us to our pitch. We opted for a fully serviced pitch which was fantastic, great size and close to the amenities.

The site is immaculate throughout, everything from the toilets to the wash facilities are sparkling! The site is split into 3 areas, each one immaculate and well catered for. The local area is beautiful and you have it all within easy reach.

We visited Brecon and did the waterfalls walk during our weekend and cannot wait to return with the bikes! You are literally metres from the Taff trail where you can cycle to your hearts content!

There is a small pub in the village but you need to book on a weekend, very busy! All in all this is the best site we have ever been to and will return very soon, cannot recommend enough! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Haylett 3 reviews from this member

 First site we have stayed at with our new trailer tent' weather dreadful. The best site we have ever stayed at in all our years of camping.

Fantastic facilities, information room with four fridge freezer, s drying room, good family and disabled facilities, toilet and shower area spotlessly clean.

Well laid out site, well drained considering the weather. Cycled the canal tow path which was close by, several areas around site where we could wash our bikes on return.

Pub just down the road, friendly with good food. Friendly staff at reception nothing to much trouble. Will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajswuk 3 reviews from this member

 Our first glamping experience! We found this site to be well equipped, tidy and well set out.

Finding where to register was a little hard with the shop being closed.

Facilities great, clean and warm at all times. Loved the family rooms, easy to wash and dry everyone.

I can thoroughly recommend this campsite to families.

Improvement points, a microwave alongside the free of charge fridge / freezers. A vending machine for snacks, alongside the coffee machine.

Really pleased we tried here for our first trip, a lovely, quiet and peaceful site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuffythedog 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site. A bit on the expensive side but well worth it for the peace and quiet. 1 tent, 2 adults and EHU came in at 23 per night.

Facilities were excellent, clean and tidy at all times. No wonder they have won awards. Washing room, laundry room and the drying room all pleasant to use.

Pitches were generous and we were given a choice and just told the owners where we had set up. Each pitch is clearly marked and bordered by flowerbeds and bushes.

Shop is handy on site for those forgotten items such as milk.

Owners were helpful and the inclusion of the information room was genius - we found this very helpful.

Would highly recommend and hopefully will be visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lexie10 15 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully maintained site with a devoted and knowledgeable gardener who was very friendly. It was lovely to see so many flowers at this time of year.

The site is in a fabulous location, but the only slight downside of this is that the road leading to it is fairly narrow and bendy. It was definitely worth it though!

The shower/toilet block was immaculately kept with plenty of loos, basins and showers. There was a laundry room which was handy, and there was lots of local information available too.

The site is large with lots of space for camping too and picnic tables all around. Boot rinsing areas with brushes were a very thoughtful addition at this time of year.

Pity the pub is only open Thurs. To Sun. But we did manage to get there on our last night and it was good.

Lovely canal side walks from the site and easy driving to Brecon town and to the Beacons for some lovely walks. We would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morgz84 22 reviews from this member

 Camped here in February for short out of season getaway. I chose this site because of it's great reviews and apparently good facilities; I was not disappointed.

The staff here were pleasant to speak to at all times.

I stayed in the Oaks field with electric hookup. The pitches are set but very generous. The view from the field is very nice. There is a road running alongside, but it's a slow road anyway and quiet at night.

The amenities block is wonderful. It's heated all the time and cleaned twice a day. Hot water always available in the showers and at all hand and washing up basins.

I was initially taken aback by the 'no music' rule whilst I loved the 'no shouting' one. However, having spent time at this site in the mornings and evenings, it really is special just to sit back and hear all the birds twittering and sheep baaing around you. The 'information room' is a nice touch, and very informative.

The site does do Calor exchange, but they do not stock 3. 9KG Propane bottles. I politely suggest that they do in future as this is a popular size amongst tenters. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement