Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Treveden 2 reviews from this member

 Chatswoth is a fantastic site well justifying the 5 star rating it holds.

We Stayed on a Superpitch. Fantastic but take your own TV extension cable 13.00 to buy on site, 6.00 at B&Q.

If you enjoy feeding the wildlife take plenty of birdseed and fat balls. We went through a large box of seed about 5kg, 2 fat balls and a jar full of mealworms. You can do your own autumn watch. All varieties of the tit family, robins finches and many we didn't know.

On the last day a squirrel discovered our feeder was really entertaining watching his antics in trying to get to the food. We hung the feeder on fine branches on the hedge, he couldn't reach because of his weight and fell off several times. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, but I can see why the other reviews have some criticisms regarding space - the pitches are very close together, like they have tried to cram loads in, so once you have your unit, car and awning up, you don't have much space for the 6 metre firewall ruling. The grass section in between is prob about 3 feet wide. If you don't like kids playing or screaming at the vast amount of ducks that come to see you then don't go to this site. Pitches are not really big enough as other reviews say.
The site itself is lovely, lovely area and the grounds of chatsworth is great for the dogs to walk around or just you to walk around especially on a lovely autumn day, the colours are magical on the trees etc.
The wardens were forever on their quads/tractors either cutting the grass or hoovering up the leaves all day long so if you want peace and quiet, it can be difficult. Plus you have the Duke in his helicopter coming and going into Chatsworth Hse.
There is deer around and the rutting season has started but this was a joyous noise of nature to here and hundreds of pheasants, squirrels, so the wildlife is abundant. We found the best pitches were along the River side.
We would go back to this area but not to this site, due to lack of space etc. Oh by the way TV is very poor. We couldn't get anything on our satellite, but eventually got the TV booster on bollard to work after the 5th try, and got channels 1 - 4, no 5.
The toilets and showers are marvellous, loads of them so there should not be a problem with queuing, and they are modern and immaculate. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oca999 9 reviews from this member

 An excellent but very busy site, as usual spotless in all areas. Discounts available at Chatsworth house on production of your site receipt. Walk out of the back gate and turn left, follow the path through the kissing gate and afternoon tea at the cafe on the green, of course try bakewell pud/tart, not for the weight watchers! Turning right out of the back gate will take you pass the river to chatsworth house. Bakewell is a stunning english village, yet again nearly everbody is selling bakewell pud/ tart. Last saturday in the month is farmers market day, a good market at very reasonable prices, all in all a good mini break 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolly Lupin 5 reviews from this member

 I have to agree with the previous reviewer - the pitches are too small. We stayed in one of the 'cul-de-sacs' which was difficult to get into and you were very closely packed in with the other units on all sides. The play area is very small but had some interesting little games for the kids to do.

That's my moan over. The setting was fantastic- going through the secret gate into the Chatsworth Estate was lovely, with a short walk into Baslow where there are some great pubs. Chatsworth House is on the doorstep but hugely overpriced and your CC membership only gets you discount off single adult tickets - so if you go for the family option you have to pay full price.

Buxton is definitely worth a visit. We had a really nice lunch in the Pavillion Gardens and it was really good value. Bakewell is also very pretty. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NewRangerFamily 7 reviews from this member

 The last reviewer mentioned small pitch sizes but my experience of a superpitch was that there was ample space.

House visit was disappointing and expensive for what it is.

Nice site overall except for the state of the single track road (which must be over half a mile long) which goes from the main road to the site, this is in a shocking state of disrepair with pot holes several inches deep and a foot or more across. It will really test how well made you caravan is! Come on Caravan Club this is a serious let down on what otherwise is a very good site ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megamicron 2 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site with the expected Club quality. Adequate sized superpitch but if you have an awning too there won't be much space for more chairs and tables. The key they provide that allows access to Chatsworth estate was a very nice touch but note you can't cycle around the estate. Remember to take your Club site receipt for 20% (I think) adult discount if you visit the house and gardens.

Local Spar shop at the back of Baslow had essentials but note that the Chatsworth Farm Shop is not much further and has very high quality produce and prices - think upmarket Waitrose - and it's open 7 days.

I would certainly go back there as its quite easy to use as a base to explore the Peak District 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy R 16 reviews from this member

 A very disappointing site (unless you like being packed in like sardines!).

After reading all the positive reviews here, I had high hopes for Chatsworth, but was very disappointed.

The main negative thing is the size of the pitches - they are tiny. We were on a super pitch and with the car, caravan and porch awning side by side, it was not possible to walk in between them and the dividing hedge. This wasn't just our pitch - many were like this, but there are some larger ones. Overall, it felt really claustrophobic here - they really were the smallest pitches I have ever come across on any site. I didn't have a tape measure handy, but I'm sure that in places, units were closer together than the '6 metre rule' allows. If we had taken our full size awning, there wouldn't have been any space to have even sat outside in chairs - it was that tight (and we only have a small single axle van).

On the positive side, the facilities were lovely and spotless (as usual for CC sites) and the site was very well looked after.

There is a small but good play area on site, which kept our 7 and 5 year olds happy, but the access roads on site are very narrow with tight bends and blind corners, and it never felt really safe for the children to be playing outside, especially as several thoughtless visitors chose to exceed the 5mph speed limit by a good margin.

We had planned a family trip to Chatsworth House while on site, but when we got there, we discovered that for 2 adults and 2 children to get into the house, gardens, and children's farm/adventure park would have cost 48! Even the gardens alone would have cost 20. This is not a cheap day out!

So, to sum up, great facilities, good location, but seriously let down by the tiny pitch sizes. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lingaz 12 reviews from this member

 Visited this site many times, toilet block is immaculate showers nice and hot. You will have a key which will take you out of the gate, from which you can walk up to chatsworth house one way,and the other way takes you into Baslow. The pitches are spacious and at new year we went on a super pitch which was smaller than the normal ones but more private (not recommended if you like to see whats going on) but it was nice to have our own water, and waste outlet. Nearby is Bakewell (worth a visit), chesterfild (great shopping) and Hadden Hall (quite expensive for what we saw). We enjoyed chatsworth house and gardens and the farm shop is very good although quite expensive. There is also some good walks in the area. Will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandle 13 reviews from this member

 Lots to do in the area- Bakewell pleasant, some wonderful walks. The Chatsworth Farm Shop has fantastic food, though pricey.

The site gives you a key to a door in the wall to allow access into the Chatsworth estate. Great for walking the dog.

Pitches quite small and packed in tightly. Not much of a view from the pitch. I couldn't really appreciate where were staying unless we left the actual campsite.

The toilet block is great- plentiful hot water, well thought out showers & cubicles. Kept very clean.

The site seemed to be constantly busy, so you need to book well ahead. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Windbreakers 10 reviews from this member

 Don't put Chatsworth into your SAT NAV ' otherwise you end up at the house! Then you have to go all the way back to the Baslow roundabout the only consolation was, we were not the only ones!
The site was lovely, clean showers and toilets. Lots of children having a great time riding their bikes.
You are given a key to a gate leading straight into the grounds , just like 'The Secret Garden' magical. Visited the gardens (again) but there is always something new to see and each season is different, Chatsworth in Spring time beautiful.
Lots of places to go in the area. A small Spar shop close by in Baslow for essentials. Lots of nice pubs around but we were content with a glass of wine back at Chatsworth. I think we will become regulars here. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement