Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bry +di 3 reviews from this member

 Toilets not as good as used to be, maybe lack of staff at that time. Boise seems to be going downhill if you ask me. Friendly wardens.There are quieter sites but location is wonderful, Bakewell, Baslow all nearby. Pubs in Baslow hit and miss when open, last orders new years eve 11pm. Devonshire Arms spot on staff great serving til late new years eve. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 We stayed here from Boxing day until after New year.

When we arrived there were water problems, most of the taps were frozen because of the adverse weather conditions but everyone managed, getting water from the wash up area. The wardens worked very hard to cope with all that was thrown at them.

When things started to thaw it left the paths and walk ways very dirty and some waterlogged but this was unavoidable.

The site has the usual good cc facilities, nice, warm and clean.

The site has a small dog walk, with bins.

There is access to the estate through a gate, it's about 15 to 20 mins walk from here to Baslow, (very muddy paths due to weather) where there is a shop, pubs and there are regular buses to Bakewell, Buxton and Matlock.

We walked to Bakewell from the site across the fields, it took about an hour and a half, but we did take a wrong turn, then caught the bus back.

The site is centrally located for touring Derbyshire.

I would visit the site again but only in better weather. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RosePearl1960 17 reviews from this member

 Plus points - The site itself is set in an idyllic location, right on the edge of the estate, within easy walking distance of both Baslow and Chatsworth House. The site is well laid out and sheltered. An excellent base for three reasons. Not to be recommended for winter however.

Negative points - The 1 mile length dedicated access road is not gritted or cleared. We were unable to leave the site on our designated departure date because of this problem. The warden, although pleasant, seemed ineffectual in solving the problem.

The amenities block is powered by electric pumps and without this the water flow ceases to both toilets and water supply. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Skisalsa 3 reviews from this member

 The setting could not be better, in a beatiful walled garden with a good choice of pitches. Quite cramped with units fairly close together. Very clean facilities.

Lovely dog walk in Chatsworth park, just iddyllic with gorgeous views and Chatsworth's gorgeous gardens to explore right through the gate in the wall.

Customer service very good indeed. I lost the cap to my water tank. It actually bounced out into a hedge on the driveway where it was found by a member of staff after I had rung to see if it was left on site. Lucky for me that she cycled home and spotted it there.

Shop sells a few essentials but the local village store in Baslow also has basics. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scary1 14 reviews from this member

 We booked 5 nights here, and despite the bad weather, we would have stayed longer if possible.

The site itself is well laid out and the facilities were probably the best we have seen, looking as though they have been newly renovated.

A great base for visiting Bakewell, Matlock, and the many other gorgeous little villages round and about.Chesterfield is not too far, and has many pubs,places to eat, and shops.

If you want to stay close by there are some beautiful walks within the grounds, and a trip to the house is a must. Dont forget to take your receipt from your CC payment, as you get a discount into Chatsworth.

I would recommend this site, and we will be returning there soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Archiemags 1 review from this member

 Just returned from spending a lovely weekend at this site. The facilities are wonderfully clean and we didn't have to queue for the showers even though the site was full. The pot holes have been filled in (thankyou). Very friendly staff made us very welcome.

There is a dog walk on site and plenty of bins for your doggie waste.

There are lovely walks and Chatsworth House and grounds is definitely worth a visit.

Baslow is a pleasant little village and is about a twenty minute walk from the site.

We will definitely return to this wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roe_Mobile 16 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at Chatsworth CC this July; the first week of the school summer holiday and while Peak 2010 was going on over the wall in the estate grounds. Despite the scouts next door and the site being full, the site never felt busy.

The site is usual CC standards and we felt the pitches were a good size and well arranged. Some reviews make note of weeds on the pitch. We never felt this was an issue, but I did whiteness wardens spraying the hard standings with weed killer.

While the showers were new and clean, the water pressure could have been better, but it didnít stop us keeping clean. The family room is nice, but itís a children size toilet!

TV reception was good through the CC TV booster system, we never tried our aerial.

Itís a nice walk to Chatsworth House and to the village of Edensor, which is worth a look around and a cup of tea at the tea room.

I like photography and was pleased to find out that photography inside the house is allowed, which is unusual for such houses/ attractions. Chatsworth has plenty to offer a family and our 5 and 3 year old girls had loads of fun in the gardens and in the farm with its big play area. As you may expect, they were not that taken on the house! The play area on the CC site isnít much; one slide, climbing wall and net, and monkey bars, but our children enjoyed it.

The dog walk is small, but thatís not an issue as Chatsworth grounds are on your doorstep. You have to keep them on a lead though due to sheep according to the signs, but we didnít see any sheep on that side of the river, possibly due to the Peak 2010 event.

Would we visit again Ė definitely. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaZ + JaNN 1 review from this member

 Just had an extremely relaxing weekend at this excellent Caravan Club Site.

The pitch we had was fully maintained as were the other pitch areas; neatly mowed lawn, debris free hard-standing areas.

The service points are clean and tidy, the chemical toilet emptying point is well maintained. The toilet block is modern and also well maintained.

Must remark on how peaceful this site is, just the occasional sound of bleating sheep coming from the other side of the wall that surrounds the site.

The Wardens work hard and are a credit to the Caravan Club which in our opinion was so obviously apparent; combining friendliness with an extremely professional attitude.

Concerning the disrepair of the road leading into the site, happily it was scheduled for resurfacing on the day of our departure 8th August 2010.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crusader2607 8 reviews from this member

 In Chatsworth as I write and enjoying the location with a glass of wine. Visted this site 3 years ago and wanted to return so decided this year to re-visit Chatsworth for the first week of our holiday.

Location is superb with access to Chatsworth great for walking and Bakewell only 4 miles away, this is our favourite town in The Peak District.

Toilet block has been refurbished since our last visit and is always spotless, although the showers could be warmer and the water supply in the cubicles for shaving and to the dishwashing area has always been cold.

Surrounding district is great and pubs in Baslow are ideal for a stroll/drink/evening meal with kids.

Buxton, Caselton, Ashbourne, Chesterfield and surrounding area have plenty to do.

One thing I did notice on return this year is that that pitch maintenance is not what it was three years ago. Given the location and occupancy rate this site should be one of the Caravan Clubs showpiece sites. However all pitches are badly in need of a weed and the site could be better maintained in general. Given this site was closed for several months a few years back for refurbishment we were a little disappointed with the overall appearance. Access road is also full of potholes and requires careful navigation with the van.

For anyone who is visiting for the first time it is worth paying extra for a fully serviced pitch as this gives slighly more space/privacy - especially if you have a larger unit and want to put upan awning.

Would definitely return but in our opinion there are better sites in the CC network and possibly in the Peaks. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melmark2001 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and friendly staff. Got what we initially thought was a great pitch opposite the kids play area. It was great for the kids, but was totally shaded morning/noon/night. The toilet/shower blocks were fantastic, and probably the best we have used. The kids loved the children's bathroom. Loved the walk through the gate onto Chatsworth, and had a lovely day up at the house, making the most of the food and wine fayre. Would definitely go back. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement