Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Boardmans 8 reviews from this member

 Love this site - same Club standards you get at any other Club site, but within the grounds of the Chatsworth Estate. So just great for sunny afternoon picnics by the river etc with an amazing view of the house.

Lots going on in the park for the kids, we spent all day in the farm and adventure play area. We took a picnic as we had such a sunny day, but have to comment that the food in the farm cafe was very reasonable.

Plenty of places to visit if you're happy to drive, if you want to leave the car behind there are a choice of pubs within around a mile but little else happening within Baslow itself. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Famicon 13 reviews from this member

 Visited for first time last year so looked forward to returning with friends. The long narrow approach road is now really in a deplorable condition with lots of serious pot holes. Both us and our friends were genuinely concerned about damaging our caravans. The warden urged me to complain to the club as he was frustrated that nothing was being done. Due to the positioning and depth of the holes we will not be risking serious damage to our caravans or motor movers until this road is repaired. We will check with the site to see if it has been done and will only go back there if it has.

Site itself is perfectly fine, but I agree with some previous posts that it does have a cramped feel about it for a club site.I think the club has been a little bit greedy and crammed too many pitches in.

Last year we walked into Baslow and went to the Devonshire Arms which was a nice pub that allowed dogs. Unfortunately this pub has now been 'done up'. It has lost any semblance of character and even worse no longer allows dogs. The Rutland Arms is dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bj1201 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this caravan site. We have been going here for the last 4 years at various times of the year. Including Xmas & New Year.

The facilities are excellent. The wardens are very helpful.

You can go into the grounds of Chatsworth at the back of the site and you then have a key to get back into the site.

It is a lovely setting with lots of fabulous walks.

We visit Tissington a lot as we buy our meat from the butchers which is wonderful. Ashbourne is a good town to visit as well.

Would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SUDZ 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back after spending six nights at this site. The site is lovely and the wardens are very nice too. Although the site is immaculate, washrooms are excellent and is in a favourable position within the chatsworth estate there are a few downsides to this site.

The approaching road/lane is in appalling condition - lots of holes and ruts which are unavoidable. Best to book a super pitch if available as these are bigger as some of the standard pitches are small and cramped.

Also if you want a quiet break this is not the place for you! It seemed that every other caravan owner brought with them a least one or two dogs and there were also a lot of children there too who were riding around the site from 7am until late night.

That said, as mentioned it is a nice site but I will be looking to book a site that is less noisy next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Chatsworth, third visit here and yes we do love it.

The site is up to the usual high Caravan Club standard, pleasant wardens and immaculate toilet block.

It's lovely to be able to walk into the grounds, although today was the rally car show so we didn't go through - extremely noisy but great if you like that sort of thing. The water cascade is amazing for kids, there is a discount if staying on the site, take your receipt with you.

Nice pubs in walking distance, and of course all the beautiful Derbyshire countryside a short drive away.

Some pitches are quite cramped, we've always been lucky with ours, this time we had full sun all day and grass for the kids.

Note - if you arrive before 1 pm the local bowls club may take your number plate details and ring through to the office to complain, and once you turn off the road onto the lane you can't go back!

On the negative side the lane from the road to the site is appalling. The potholes are truly terrible, we crawled along but they are car wheel width apart on an already narrow road. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

 We are members of the club and had been recommended this site as it had a lovely location and we were not disappointed when we arrived. We had not booked the 2 nights in advance as it was fully booked but managed to stay as there were cancellations.

Its a lovely campsite and spacious and its in a walled area about 5 minutes from Chatsworth House. You are given a key to use the door to access Chatsworth a bit easier.

There is a lovely shower block and a good amount of washing up sinks available. We had lovely weather and the camp site was full but it was very quiet and we had a a really good time there.

Its a bit of a walk to the lovely Chatsworth Farm Shop but its a nice walk there and back. We didn't drive out to visit places but had a lovely time just visiting Chatsworth and enjoying the scenery.

The staff who run the site are very friendly and helpful whenever you needed advice. They have a small shop stocking the basic items. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Freda 1 8 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a very pleasant 3 nights in this campsite. As previously mentioned, this is an extremely popular site and when booking there were no weekends available so we took what was available during the week.

It is true you do need to arrive early here. We arrived at 2.00 pm which seems quite early and we had to go around the site a few times until we found a space. We were lucky and found a lovely pitch - very spacious and with a nice lawned area behind us. But I could see that some of the pitches did seem rather small.

However, everything else made up for this. The location was stunning and the walks from the gate were fantastic. It was nice to be able to go from the site straight into Chatsworth Park and wander freely there.

The facilities were excellent. Lovely showers and lots of hot water. Plenty of toilets and spacious privacy rooms. And everything was spotlessly clean.

We felt very comfortable there and the dogs enjoyed the walks and to be able to run about in the designated dog walk area.

There is lots to do in the area. Lovely countryside all around. We would definitely return as we only scratched the surface during our short stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cooneys On Tour 4 reviews from this member

 It would seem that booking a weekend pitch at Chatsworth is a black art. We managed to book for the Easter weekend and hoped to find out why everyone goes mad about Chatsworth.

I have to say the drive along the lane had me worried for my crockery and glasses still all being in one piece. I appreciate the bad weather this winter, but I honestly think a few bags of chippings would help until the frosts are truly away and proper repairs have been carried out.

The welcome on site is very pleasant and helpful. We set off to try and find a pitch and we soon realised if you don't get there for 1pm you have hobsons choice left. We managed to find a reasonable sized pitch. Once our Van was sited and the awning up we had very little room left for the car to allow a bit of sitting out space should the sun come out. They really do maximise the number of pitches from this site. I pitied people arriving after us as the pitches were so snug and close to each other.

The toilet block was of a decent size and reasonably clean given the traffic it had to cope with.

The access to Chatsworth Estate is very good, but as dogs have to be kept on a lead you cant give an active dog a good run about unless you walk miles with them.

The local village seems to have a good selection of pubs and eating houses. As the weather wasn't that pleasant we didn't use them. Chatsworth Farm Shop is worth a visit, but it does get very busy so be prepared to wait a few minutes for a parking space. I can recommend the Steak Slice that they sell.

The site is nice, the area is nice, but unfortunately I just don't get why its so popular. The pitches are small and squashed together, and its not cheap compared to other good quality sites with better pitches and just as good a location. As it gets so busy I wont be going back as it just feels too cramped for us. 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Live 40 minutes drive away so used this site for a night away to chill. The good news is that on arrival work was being done in filling the potholes on the lane that approaches the site. On arrival it was difficult to locate a pitch as snow was on the ground so hard to differentiate gravel from grass, eventually found pitch that had been used earlier that day.

Friendly welcome - don't count on purchasing tv aerial lead as none available when enquired - managed to get a moderate picture with aerial but only BBC 2 or Five.

Facilities as already mentioned, clean and warm toilet block.

Hookup dial a bit fiddly but managed after third attempt.

Booked again for short breaks later in the year as convenient to get away on a Friday afternoon. 


Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rodders156 4 reviews from this member

 Went to meet some friends for the New Year. We had a lovely time, even though for the time of year there is not a lot of daylight and things to do.

The wardens are very helpful and the site is very clean.

The children were made very welcome.

When we were leaving it started to snow and the wardens ensured for us that the road we were travelling on were clear.

It is great that it is not near any roads for the children and the park access it via a locked gate and it feels very secure. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement