Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TrevorTea 3 reviews from this member

 Chatsworth is our caravan site of the year. What a lovely caravan site, the grounds are immaculately kept, the pitches are a good size, the location is perfect in the grounds of Chatsworth house. The site is in an old walled garden, on arrival you are given a key to a door in the wall which gives access to the grounds of Chatsworth house, well worth a visit even if it's just to walk through the grounds. The pitches are a good size with extra large pitches for units with awnings, the shower and toilet facilities are plentiful and well kept. We don't normally choose sites of this size but it was so well planned that it never felt that you were in amongst a large group of vans.

Chatsworth camp site is in a lovely location ran by friendly helpful people, well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keencamper5711 6 reviews from this member

 A well run site, clean and organised. We booked for 3 nights and increased this to 4 as there is so much to do in the area. A well positioned site but not very spacious and lots of trees so not easy to find a sunny spot. There is a good bus service from Baslow - 20 minutes walk away so if you do not have a car you need to like walking. If you do like walking there are lots of opportunities and a small map is available at the site shop. Chatsworth House and Gardens are beautiful and Bakewell is a lovely town. We also cycled the nearby Monsal Trail which was brilliant. We took our van off site for this and there is excellent parking at the old Hassop station. We would like to return but the site is expensive and much more than we normally pay. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 This was our 5th visit to this site over the years, and I'm afraid we won't be hurrying to return.

It's in a beautiful part of the country, and the access to Chatsworth estate is great.

However it's dark!

The trees are now overpowering and most pitches spend part of their day in dense shade. After our first night we did a pitch swap to try and get some sun as we felt quite depressed in our dark cave!

We always check with the compass as we love evening sun, but there's not much point as the trees blocked out all sun after 4pm.

The playground is very shaded and now looks old and dull for children.

The dog walk is enclosed but is very short and also dark which makes it muddy.

We have travelled around quite a lot this year and this was the most expensive site and the least attractive.

Empty pitches even though it was Bank Holiday weekend and the Chatsworth Country Fair mean others must feel the same, customers will not visit unless improvements are made. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 17 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the ‘Jewel in the Crown’ of the CC network, having booked relatively late despite the oft claimed difficulty in getting a booking in the school summer holidays. It was also the highest fees we have paid for a pitch anywhere. There were 6 empty pitches in the row we were in, and probably 80% occupancy overall.

Arrival time wasn’t a cause for concern having travelled over 200 miles from home. Check in was very much more formal than the other country estate CC sites we have used (Longleat & Bladon Chains). The super service sans awning pitch was just long enough to pitch our caravan on with a space to the side to sit in chairs.

The walk through the secret door onto the Chatsworth Estate was pleasurable on the first afternoon. We spent a full day wandering the House & Gardens using the CC discount that only applies to adults only, not children, and were horrified a further ticket was required for the children's play area, we didn’t bother.

There is a sign saying to turn left at the junction with the main road on exiting, needs to be much bigger as it clearly couldn’t be seen by the 2 units attempting to turn right causing a hold up on the way out.

A nice site, but not that special and certainly not for the fee charged. We had to be in the area for a family gathering and it was available despite the hype over difficulty in getting a booking.

In summary, been there done that, next! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 25 reviews from this member

 The site is set in the grounds of Chatsworth and is densely populated with trees and pitches. We found that the Toilets and showers were very good, as was the access to the grounds of the Chatsworth Estate from the rear of the site.

The pitches are of an adequate size but seem to be crowded together.

Not much in Baslow, so drives out to Matlock and Matlock Bath are recommended, as is the beautiful Bakewell.

Had a great Ploughmans in The Moon at Stoney Middleton.

Never saw the sun in our 4 days stay, lots of rain, so our mood was dampened by this.

Would not return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

 Just like buying property, choosing to visit a campsite is (at least for us) all about location, location, location - and this site scores big on all three of those criteria.

Sitting on the outskirts of the Peak District village of Baslow, and within the estate of Chatsworth House, this site is fairly easily accessed via good A-roads from east or west. Once pitched up, you can step through a private, locked gateway (you get a key on arrival) and into beautiful countryside with as much walking as your legs can take, plus one of the country's best privately owned and operated stately homes and gardens right on the doorstep.

That's why we were there. It had taken a determined effort to book very early in order to secure a weekend pitch at this very popular site, and when we arrived after a fairly long, slow drive up the single-track road that leads from the main road to the reception, there was a short queue of other arrivals ahead of us. By the time we'd booked in this had cleared and we drove on to the site itself in search of one of the few vacant pitches available.

This is a compact site but otherwise fairly typical of a Caravan Club facility. The big difference is that the Chatsworth CC site sits amongst trees - lots of them, most of them large, many of them ornamentally in blossom in May, and all of them happily covering the ground with leaf casings and flowers and bits of twigs as they celebrated late spring with a display of new growth and vigour. Very verdant! Very pretty! Very messy!

As well as being very mucky neighbours - showering cars, caravans and awnings with arboreal detritus so that all looked like confetti-covered couples at a wedding - these large, mature trees also block out most of the views of the surrounding countryside and much of the sunlight, so choose your pitch with care if you want to sunbathe. And wherever you are you'll be surrounded by birds - especially noticeable are the mallard ducks and the noisy, noisy rooks. These latter feathered fiends love to give a very early morning cackling, cawking alarm call. Whoever said the country was peaceful has never camped beneath a rookery!

Our selected spot was at the back of the site, as far from the entrance as it is possible to go, and was utterly devoid of direct sun - not a problem to us as we didn't expect to spend much of our two day stay on site. As it was we wandered through the gate and up to the Big House to mooch around the garden on one day, and spent a few hours exploring the shops and market stalls of nearby Chesterfield on the second day.

The central facilities block - loos, showers, laundry, washing up stations etc - is modern and comfortable, although the water pressure in the showers was less than invigorating. Three additional service points for water taps, grey water drains and chemical toilet emptying points, seemed sufficient for the 120 pitches - I saw no queuing. There's a small play area for children; an information hut; the reception area sells some groceries and some caravanning essentials and accessories.

Our visit was short and pretty sweet. The wardens were pleasant and efficient and largely unobtrusive. Anyone used to Caravan Club sites will know what to expect here, and they'll get it.

The positives are the location - it's a relatively easy place to get to, there's plenty to do and see in the area, the village of Baslow is a 20 minute walk away through the parkland, and once there you'll find several decent pubs to visit. Food in the Wheatsheaf was average (starters) to good (steaks), and they knock 20% off for visitors from the campsite. We also visited The Moon at Stoney Middleton, three miles away, and that's a decent place, too - food ranges from simple sandwiches up to quite fancy daily specials, so something to suit all tastes and budgets.

The negatives are the trees, which are litter louts and sunshades. If you can put up with that, and the feeling that the site is rather squeezed into what was once a walled garden (with the high brick walls further adding to a feeling of compactness, if not slight claustrophobia) then you'll be fine. For those reasons, this is probably more a site for short visits than a fortnight's summer holiday. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheesehound 4 reviews from this member

 This was my first experience of a CC site, and I really hope that it isn't typical.

We arrived at 1:20, to join a queue of thirteen units inching along the narrow approach drive. 25 minutes later we reached reception, where we were given precise instructions on exactly how to align our car and caravan.

I managed a fairly tight reverse into what was quite a cramped standard pitch and thanked my lucky stars that our van is only a 2-berth poptop.

I feel that, given its location in the Peak National Park (ie. Not on the outskirts of a city) far too many pitches have been shoehorned in here. Our pitch had an associated metre-wide strip of grass on which we could just fit a couple of chairs.

Whilst acknowledging the fact that, in terms of facilities provided, the site is very good indeed, for me there is far more to the overall quality of a caravan site than the provision of an outstanding loo block, which, incidentally, this has.

There's little point, I feel, in repeating what has already been stated over and over in the many good reviews for this site. Certainly it has many plus points, but for me, whilst meticulously maintained, it lacked atmosphere and left me unmoved. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BrandNewDay 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first stay at a Caravan Club site, and only our third stay anywhere in our caravan (previously we used tents).

We were really impressed! The whole site is very tidy and clean - including/especially the toilets, showers, and washing-up facilities. I found the shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure and there was plenty of room for putting my things and changing.

The site is in a great location - you can go out a back gate straight onto the Chatsworth estate. Go right up to the house and left will take you to the village where there are some pubs. (We went to the Wheatsheaf as it is extremely family-friendly with a great play area. )

The management/employees of the site were all very kind and helpful and the shop is good - better than many campsites we've been to. No difficulties getting in and out although you probably wouldn't want to leave after 1pm when caravans are allowed in. I mean, we left in our car OK but it maybe could get awkward if caravans or motorhomes met on a bend.

We pitched directly across from the small playground so our kids were able to have fun out of the way.

There were no problems with the electricity. We don't have a telly in our caravan but there were ports for coaxial cables for those who want it. I wasn't thrilled with the wifi, which was a bit slow - especially for £2. 50 per 24 hours.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eclaire 17 reviews from this member

 + A unique site which is probably why it is so expensive and full.

+ Toilets and showers clean, wardens friendly.

- some pitches cramped so can hear noise from other pitches at night.

+ nice dog walk area which is secure so they can be off lead

- huge queue to get in and you also have to get round this if you go off site in your car and then come back, although wardens are good at keeping it moving

- small play area

- not good for cycling -cant cycle on much of the park and have to go on busy roads or drive to other cycle routes

+ key to walk onto the estate that brings you directly onto a footpath.

Overall a nice site. Will we return? Probably not as there ar other sites that offer better value for us even if they are not quite as unique. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here for my husbands birthday. It was our first stay and it certainly won't be our last, in fact we re booked two more weekends whilst we were there !

We only live 15 mins away from site but we love chatsworth and couldn't resist the chance to stay in the grounds the location is stunning !

The wardens are very friendly and helpful as are the ladies in reception, nothing too much trouble even though they are very busy, the site was full ! Reception sells newspapers and food/camping essentials.

Pitches are large and flat with hard standing surrounded by grass (and loads of very friendly ducks who expect to be fed )

Showers and loos were spotless and plentiful.

Lovely dog walk area on site with poo bins located all the way around.

Access to the park via an allocated key. Lovely walk into baslow about 15 mins all flat and footpaths. Great pubs to visit for food or a drink( the Devonshire arms is dog friendly too) and loads to do and see around chatsworth house.

We were also very pleased that they welcomed some of our family members who visited us to say happy birthday.

Can't wait to return :) 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement