Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheshire Cat 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from second visit to this site. Perfect, our favourite. Again we had a super pitch which was a good size and relatively level. Shop stocks basics, small Spar hidden away in Baslow and wonderful Farm Shop near Chatsworth (though a tad expensive!) belonging to the Estate.

As far as I can remember there is a large Coop in Bakewell.

A relaxing site, great for dog owners as the Estate has miles of walks although dogs must always be on a lead. Also no cycling on the estate which is annoying but understandable and makes for more peaceful walks.

The table tennis table was a huge hit although I would hate to pitch next to it.

Very strict rules on entry after 1pm due to long single track entrance road.

Site perfect, staff efficient, pleasant and considerate (bins emptied after 9am so we were not woken early as usual!).

The facilities are first class. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salnsteve 19 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and it certainly won't be our last. What a fantastic place. Friendly staff and all the facilities were first class and spotlessly clean.

There are abundant showers, excellent size and the water was always hot, regardless of the time of day.A credit to the hard working staff. A walled site, with access to the grounds of Chatsworth.

Beautiful surrounding countryside, lots of places to visit. There is a play area for children and a first class dog walking area, not the usual token gesture found at lots of other sites we have visited.

A real gem, complete with resident ducks. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lrr77 14 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site before (May 10) and wanted to return as its location and the area are lovely. We are members of the Caravan Club but even this doesn't guarantee you a pitch and luckily we booked in advance.

The pitches are good but unfortunately this time we were located near the Wardens which meant it was mainly in the shade even though it was a lovely sunny day.

The shower block and kitchen areas are some of the best I have seen and its only a ten minute walk to Chatsworth House. The Farm Shop is about a 5 minute drive away.

Although I like this site I feel it lacks a bit of atmosphere and the Staff are friendly but I felt there was something missing.

The shop stocks some basic items such as milk, bread, newspapers etc. We used the washing machine and tumble dryer. It was 3 per wash and 70p for every 15 minutes of the tumble dryer.

We would stay at this site again if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

 This is everything you expect from a Caravan Club site with excellent facilities well maintained by the hard working wardens. BUT - time your arrival carefully. They're very strict about not allowing anyone in before 1pm and you're not allowed to queue at the entrance for reasons which will be obvious once you get there! Arrive early and you'll have a very frustrating drive up and down between the two roundabouts on the main road until you can get in!

Check in is straightforward and you're given a key which allows you to get in to Chatsworth estate. Some of the pitches are a bit close together but if you head for the far end of the site there are some larger, south facing ones (we stayed on 108 which was ideal).

Although there's only one shower/toilet block there was never a queue even though the site was full most of the time we were there. There's a small play area and a dog walk of sorts but with hundreds of acres of Chatsworth a two minute stroll away you probably won't use it! Baslow itself is very busy so it's worth a short drive out to eat. The Packhorse at Little Longstone does very good pub food at amazingly reasonable prices and The White Lion at Great Longstone runs it a close second.

The weather was perfect for us to get out and exhaust our two Irish Setters. We will certainly return if we're visiting the arae again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mallard 3 reviews from this member

 We tend to return to Chatsworth twice per year due to visiting family in the area - it really is a lovely place to be. The park is in the old walled garden of Chatsworth House, once in the grounds there are plenty of walks for dogs/humans, and a small dog walk on site.

The rules in place for turning up are well justified as there is a narrow road to/from the site with a single bridge into the site itself, so departing caravans need to be allowed out. As it's first come first served in terms of pitches it's amazing how often you see caravans 'loitering' on the main road to get in first!

The play area can get very noisy which is probably a good place to be if you need to keep an eye on the kids but perhaps avoid if you're looking for a quiet holiday.

The showers/toilets are modern and never too busy, though it is better to wait until after they have been cleaned. The closing times are very strict! There is a disabled toilet for use when the main block is closed, though this does get busy.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area including Bakewell, Buxton and onto the Peak District - if you like big portions of food before/after a long walk try the Grindleford Cafe (head for the railway station), only open until 4pm daily.

My only major gripe is that this site gets booked up almost fully every weekend and holidays, etc. Though many of these booking are not taken up making it almost impossible to book 7/14 full days in advance - this is a CC issue not the site but may affect your plans, especially if trying to book at short notice.

All in all an excellent site in an excellent position. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madasmad 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived on Friday at 2pm to find nobody else checking in. Asked by the very friendly staff to drive around and pick a pitch. I asked for some help seeing me back as I was on my own - the family were following later. No problem - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

I had booked a super pitch which came with tap, chemical waste point and gray water waste point. There was a TV point on the electrical bollard, but this only offered analogue channels as this area has not been switched over. I used a satellite dish with great results. The pitch was hardstanding for the caravan and car with stone chippings for the awning. The roads were well marked with good signs although the road in is a little tight for wider units in a couple of parts. The heated toilet and shower facilities were very modern and were always spotless with plenty of hot water - 10 out of 10!

1/2 mile from the campsite is Chatsworth House. This is accessed via a loaked gate that you are given a key for. 3/4 mile in the other direction is the village of Baslow. The Devonshire Arms is a lovely old Peak District pub that has been recently renovated. The real ale is excellent and the Sunday roast a delight - @50 for 2 adults and 2 kids incl drinks.

A great weekend and I cant wait to return in the Autumn. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 46 reviews from this member

 Excellent site and friendly staff. Nice walk to Chatsworth House even though it was teeming down.

Our pitch No: 52 faces the deer park and the river. Toilet block etc spotlessly clean.

All in all 9/10. Well set out but avoid the trees if its raining for the pitter pat on the roof. Ducks patrol the site and abundant birds too.

Chatsworth house is about a 20 min walk through lovely countryside. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to Chatsworth. Have to say weather was not good but what do you expect in January! The site itself is lovely you wouldn't expect anything else from a cc site. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. The dog walk is small,adequate for a quick morning/evening toilet break but with a gate to chats worth who cares! We drove into Baslow as it was pouring down but it is easily walkable. The 'supermarket' is more a village shop so get your groceries before you go. The pub was fab real ale and allowed the dogs to which is unusual.

All in all a fab weekend. As for Chatsworth the grounds are great wouldn't visit in the summer as imagine it to be very busy but out of season it was great. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter kelly 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a highly enjoyable stay at Chatsworth and can only praise the site and its staff.

Location is very convenient for both Baslow village and, of course, Chatsworth House and Park. Walks were available direct from the site which is what we prefer. This varied from woods to moor, and villages to valleys. Cycling is not permitted on Chatsworth Park which is understandable from safety point of view due to gradients.

The facilities were extremely high quality, as good we have seen on any site, and well maintained and presented. This included Wifi which was very easy to use even for myself, so well done CC. The only, possible, problem may be the actual capacity of the facilities to cope with large numbers in summer peak but this was not a problem in January.

All in all a first class site to which we will most certainly be returning. Well Done! 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

 Usual high standard that you expect of the Caravan Club. Wardens friendly and helpful, location great, facilities very good but pitches a bit on the tight side.

Only problem for us was arriving in the dark, the pitches are not easy to see and it was very, very hard to work out what was an available pitch and what was a random bit of land. We drove round the poorly lit site 4 times! I appreciate that the low level lighting is to keep the site from seeming to holiday park and not to be a blot on the Chatsworth landscape but being brutally honest, I felt the lighting to be very poor to borderline perilous! It was hard to find my way back to reception to inform them of the pitch we had (finally) found.

Would I stay there again? I doubt it as I am not keen on going to the toilet block in the dark and opening my door into the pitch of the van sandwiched next to me. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement