Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 69 reviews from this member

 This is a regular site for us and I have reviewed it before, however as this was our first trip out since the COVID restrictions were eased slightly, I thought I would do a quick review of how the site is dealing with the current situation.

When we were there the toilet block was open but only for the toilets and wash hand basins, not the showers. Three people are allowed in the toilet block at any one time and a rubber band system is used to indicate how many people are currently in the block. However unfortunately many people were forgetting to replace their bands after using the toilets, so it appeared that the toilet block was full when in reality there was only one person or even no one inside! This is not the sites fault though!

The wardens were doing an excellent job at keeping everything really clean and social distancing was well maintained. The normal check-in process was changed so instead of going to reception when you arrived, you were met on the driveway by a warden who gave you a plan of the site and sent you directly to find a pitch. Once set up, you returned to reception at your leisure to pay and get your door key to the estate.

We love staying here because of the access through the door into the Chatsworth estate and the many many different walks that you can go on directly from the site. It was lovely to be back after lockdown and the wardens were doing a great job to ensure that everyone had a pleasant and safe stay. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: White Rose 24 reviews from this member

 I wasnít expecting to like this campsite quite as much as I did. :-) Our preference is usually for informal small sites, CS or CLs, where the children can run, your nearest neighbour is half a field away, the price is low and all-in, and it doesnít matter where you pitch relative to a peg. However, we fancied a change and Iím really pleased we did.

Yes, the pitching process is pernickety, the neighbours were closer than I like, and the pitch was smaller than we are used to (in fairness, it was probably a good size - we are just unaccustomed to defined borders these days 🙂). And the pricing system was a revelation - when youíre used to paying a single price regardless of number of occupants/awning status/age of kids (how do I know in advance whether Iíll bother with the awning, whether Iíll bring the porch awning or full one - it depends on the forecast/whether we bring bikes - how am I supposed to know this in advance 🤯🤦🏽‍♀️).

But the welcome was warm, the wardens were friendly and approachable, the site was quiet and felt secure, and the secret door giving access to the whole Chatsworth estate was a delight.

Weíd been slightly uneasy about the single track access road, but their arrivals and departures system worked well.

Thereís a small playground - aimed at younger children than my 9&14 year olds.

We didnít use the facilities, though the Covid wristband system was simple and straightforward. Our pitch had an Elsan emptying point and a fresh water point - they were very much appreciated after a long day of walking!

The shop seemed well-stocked, though we had everything we needed for a short stay so I didnít investigate too closely. Fresh bread and pies are available to order daily from Bloomers in Bakewell - definitely one for next time.

Weíve gone from it being a spur of the moment visit that we had no intention to repeat to it being our first planned place to visit once lockdown is lifted!

Apparently I canít submit my review without leaving a rating for the site facilities - we didnít go into the toilet blocks/buy anything from the shop but I canít leave that box empty so have given it a 9 🥴 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cynthi 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Great staff who are very helpful. Good little shop on site. All Covid measures being exceptionally well followed.

The best thing is the easy access to the grounds of Chatsworth Estate, with miles of lovely walks.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 49 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site - wardens couldnít have been friendlier and helpful with advice on Covid-19 restrictions - helpful that the site has a couple of unisex toilets which reduces queuing for the facilities block where only 3 people are allowed in at any one time.

We had pre booked tickets to visit the gardens of the house and were more than happy with our visit- the gardens are huge and allow dogs which weíve not found elsewhere. I had thought an hour would be long enough to explore but three hours later we were still wandering around.

Didnít get round to walking in to Baslow or completing the walks of the estate suggested by Chatsworth - will have to save those for our return visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 69 reviews from this member

 This is our go to site and I have reviewed it before but thought I would add another Covid19 review! We went for 3 nights just after the site opened again after lockdown.

Things were being managed very well. There was a maximum of 3 people allowed in the toilet block at any one time but they also have 2 separate toilets accessed from the side of the toilet block which were always open if you just needed the toilet and there were 3 people already in!

The wardens were doing a great job at keeping the site clean and had made a few changes to make life a bit easier for them, for example all bins were removed from service points and instead you had to take your rubbish to a large industrial sized bin by the toilet block. This wasnít really much of an inconvenience and it meant that the wardens didnít have to touch the bins which helps to keep them safer.

Generally people were paying attention to social distancing and we had a really enjoyable stay. We mainly like the area for walking which is what we did and came across very few others on our numerous walks in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philip 1 review from this member

 Very well kept site clean toilets & showers.

The staff very helpful and friendly and always working keeping the site beautiful, and keeping the site safe for our protection from covid 19. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Madasmad 13 reviews from this member

 Itís been a few years since we have been to Chatsworth but it is still a fantastic place to go. So here are the good and bad points;

Good;

Location is outstanding being right in the Chatsworth Estate. You get a key to a ďmagicĒ gate (as my daughter calls it) which takes you into the park for a twenty minute walk to the house or the other way to Baslow.

Good selection of local restaurants with 20% discount (Mon-Fri) at The Wheatsheaf

The facilities are clean, well lit and lovely and warm.

Pitches have a TV aerial connection but 15m+ cable needed on most pitches.

Pitches level and dry

Wardens knowledgable and helpful

Bad points;

Very expensive at over £100 for 2 nights! 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 69 reviews from this member

 This is a regular haunt of ours and we love the location of the site, right in the grounds of the Chatsworth estate.

The shower block is well equipped and clean but the water pressure is very poor when the site is busy.

Unfortunately on our last visit we were evacuated from the site due to flooding but this is the only time this has happened to us in about 20 visits so I assume it is a rare occurrence. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maise12 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in order to Attend the RHS Chatsworth Flower Show and this site cold not be closer to the action!

The site staff were very friendly, professional and a credit to the Club. We were in a queue of 'vans on arrival but were soon checked in and on our pitch.

Just a walk through the 'gate in the wall' takes you into the park of Chatsworth House, which is well worth a visit along with the gardens and estate.

I imagine that when there is no big event on this site would be quite a gem to use.

We were very pleased with our stay; facilities on site were up to the usual Club standards. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gillandbenjie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with gate straight into the chatsworth estate Baslow 15 min walk left the house 15 walk to the right.

Both the pubs in Baslow accept dogs and food in both is good. Booked for the horse trials next year they were setting the jumps for this year's which look amazing.

Our dog loved all the walks from the site. We visited the farm shop which had some lovely food and gifts. The only thing (which the site can't control) are the crows squawking at the crack of dawn, oh and the ducks clattering on the roof at 6am and the price nearly double for a bank holiday but apart from that superb 
via mobile


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement