Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 120 Reviews
                8/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gillandbenjie 1 review from this member

Lovely site with gate straight into the chatsworth estate Baslow 15 min walk left the house 15 walk to the right.

Both the pubs in Baslow accept dogs and food in both is good. Booked for the horse trials next year they were setting the jumps for this year's which look amazing.

Our dog loved all the walks from the site. We visited the farm shop which had some lovely food and gifts. The only thing (which the site can't control) are the crows squawking at the crack of dawn, oh and the ducks clattering on the roof at 6am and the price nearly double for a bank holiday but apart from that superb
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pooly 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful area to stay with a great location for chatsworth and surrounding town.

Wardens lovely and helpful and the site spotless! Loved the sound of the sheep from the otherside of the wall. All in all a great 2 night stay!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

Excellent site for access to Chatsworth. 1pm arrival due to the long single track driveway entrance. I found the wardens very pleasant and helpful.

You are given a key to the door in the wall to enter Chatsworth grounds.

Facilities spotless as you would expect from a club site. The EHU posts have a TV aerial point. Unfortunately I hadnít got mine with me. But I did manage to get a few channels with my built in aerial. Also 4g signal on Vodafone was good so we watched some tv on the iPad.

We didnít explore the local area much apart from Chatsworth House as we only had 2 nights. But I did check out the bus timetables and there were plenty of options for getting around if only weíd had more time.

We experienced some wet and sleety weather during our stay so I would like to return to explore the area more next time.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 40 reviews from this member

Nice site but yet again another site spoilt by dog owners. I do not want to hear their dogs yapping non stop. I feel some C&MC sites should be dig free, you cannot relax properly.

This site is rather expensive with only one toilet block for over 100 pitches.

Our next outing is to an adult only and no dogs site. If it appeals to us we will be leaving the C&MC
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

A nice site set in the grounds of Chatsworth Estate.

Access to the site is tight, meaning there are certain times when you canít/shouldnít leave the site in your vehicle so you need to avoid these times.

Facilities spotless.

Good base for exploring White Peak area.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 70 reviews from this member

Superb location with entry onto the estate. Facilities to the usual good standard and staff ok.

Pitching rules obsessive but otherwise all ok.

The location made it for us, the site not so.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stylus92 5 reviews from this member

This site is in a great location in the grounds of Chatsworth house. The house and gardens are a short walk away, as is the village of Baslow with shops, pubs and restaurants. In addition there is great walking all around.

The site is beautifully kept as you may expect from the Caravan Club, but we had one or two reservations. We found the site very noisy during our stay, with endless mowing of grass and driving of tractors. We appreciate that the grass has to be cut, but surely the same patch does not need cutting 3 times in 2 days? Maybe we just had a noisy location within the site.

Caravan club wardens are notorious for being picky about how you site your van, but I found the warden here to be exacting even by caravan club standards. Overall though we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

Just a quick review about the site. Definitely make sure you donít arrive before 1pm as you wonít be allowed in, we turned up around 3pm and had no waiting. The road youíre turning in from is very busy so itís not safe to queue there.

The site is lovely and quiet, excellent toilet and shower block. Plenty of bins and taps. A footpath through to the shower block would be great rather than having to walk all the way around the winding roads.

Also, Let's have a bit of leeway with the rules. I got spoken to regarding my dog not being on his lead. Bearing in mind the dog is 11 years old with arthritis and elbow displacea and can just about to manage to walk 200 yards by my side so it's not as if he was going to be running around bothering people.

It is difficult for him with a lead on as if it pulls at all his back legs give way. If I had been given chance to explain would have been nice rather than just being repeatedly told 'heís got to be on a lead'

Following that conversation I was glad the grandkids didnít bring their bikes because I can imagine the uproar if they hadnít followed the one was system.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

We have visited this site quite a few times now & try to come in a different month each time so you see things in a different light. For those who have not been before, this site is one way in, one way out, so you are requested not to arrive before 1pm.

This gives the leavers, leave by 12 noon time to go & maybe the warders have time for lunch etc before the next lot of arrivals. The turn into the site is off the Baslow Road which can get very busy, but if you arrive before 1pm you wont be going anywhere except off the road as the warders put a chain over the way in section, before you travel the half a mile down the narrow lane to the site office, but you always get the early arrivals gang.

We try to play by the rules, others don't. I know it can be difficult to gage your exact arrival time, we always stop off in a big lay by once you get through Chesterfield if were early, then about 10 minutes before 1pm set off for the site. When we got there this year they were queuing at the entrance & into the road which then blocked traffic to one side of the road.

Then a campervan came in the opposite direction & pulled into the other side of the entrance blocking it altogether by double parking & had to back out into the road to let somebody out, hence don't arrive before 1pm. At 1pm the warder lets you down the lane, then two at a time over the bridge to the site office to book in.

This site is all hard standing & the pitches are colour coded, depending on what you have booked. We booked an awning pitch (white marker), so it's look around to see which pitches are free & don't have notices on them to say campervan/ disabled stickers on where the campervan might be out for the day. It's pot luck if you get one of the few decent pitches (lots of tall trees all around).

We were going to pitch up until we saw the sign that said campervan, so looked around until we found another pitch, and although it was an awning pitch it was a bit tight with a big car to park up as well. We did notice another guy on our section who was having difficulty getting his car in/out too.

When we had a walk around the site the following day, the camper van which was parked on the pitch we nearly took the day before did not have an awning, was not even a large campervan, so why was it allowed to pitch up there is any ones guess. There was a lovely spare none awning pitch next to where we were (blue marker) that would have taken that size van no problem, you got the sun there most of the day too as that area did not have tall trees blocking the sun, unlike ours.

I think the wardens should ensure that if an outfit does not have an awning even if they book an awning pitch it should go on the none awning pitches available & the web site should say ' only book an awning pitch if you are going to use one'.

This campervan was on the same pitch all week taking up an awning pitch where someone with an awning could have used but the web might say none available, but until the caravan club makes a difference in price for their pitches, at the moment awning & none awning pitches cost the same I cant blame someone for taking an awning pitch (as its bigger & you get more space) that said, we do like the site & know what were going to purely due to the area & access to Chatsworth Grounds directly from the site.

The toilet block was always clean, never had to wait for a shower. The wardens were friendly. At one time you got a discount to go into Chatsworth House by showing your receipt for the caravan site, but no more. It's just under £20 per person for the House & Garden, or £13 for Garden only.

What I can say is that every day people were leaving or coming to Chatsworth, it's a very popular site, so there was always new pitches available, hubby over heard the warder telling a new arrival to find a pitch, but if they didn't like it they could move the following day when someone left, I think this is what we should have done but once set up could not be bothered to move and lose a day of our holiday moving, not like a camper van that just has to turn it's engine over like it does when it leaves the site for the day & move to another pitch.

So caravan club, do something with your pricing, make it more expensive for those who want an awning pitch but don't have/use an awning & see how many will book one then, or instruct your wardens to ensure they check that an awning pitch is only used for an outfit that has one. There's not much on site for children, a very small playground, but you can now use your bikes in Chatsworth Grounds.

Will I go again, yes, at some point, hopefully by then things might have changed regarding the pitching of outfits onto the correct pitches, and also I made a suggestion regarding the early arrivals after the caravan & campervan club sent me an email asking me to complete a survey & if I had any suggestions, but as yet my feedback is not showing on their web site, so I thought I would put it on here as well.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madrilleno 7 reviews from this member

Whilst the location for this site is its best feature, the rest of it is not worth the premium price you have to pay.

The pitches are relatively small, but worst of all, they are packed in like sardines. For the sun lovers, there isn't much, this is a very shady site.

Wash room facilities are very good and were always spotless when we used them. The children's play area is very small and tired.

We will not be returning.

Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019