Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nightstar678 2 reviews from this member

 Oh my goodness, what a fantastic site! The site itself is in a walled garden area on the Chatsworth Estate. Access is available from the site into the estate grounds around the house. No charge is made for this. However, charges are made for visiting the gardens, farmyard and house. Discount is available as a caravan club member.

All the facilities are brilliant, recently refurbished the toilet blocks are outstandingly clean and tidy. The pitches are all hardstanding so metal pegs are required.

There is a shop on site which sells the basics, as with all caravan sites they are a little expensive, but that is to be expected.

Small play area for younger children nothing for older children.Scooters and bikes are allowed but not near toilets blocks.

Dogs are welcome with a designated dog walking area available.

There are plenty of pubs and restaurants around the campsite area, all within walking distance.

Trip to Bakewell recommended but very disappointed with Buxton. Looks a little jaded.

I would recommend travelling to Chatsworth Caravan Site as early as possible, allowing you to arrive as the gates open at 12 noon -(not before as the road is narrow down to the site and you will be asked to turn back until 12) - Site is very popular and pitches are on a first come first served basis.

Well worth the visit, grounds are fantastic and house is beautiful - take your camera! 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From both Bakewell and Chesterfield take A619 towards Baslow. Site entrance is between the two roundabouts in Baslow. Access to the site is by a long narrow road, although there are passing places it could be difficult for two towed caravans to pass. Therefore the Caravan Club instruct you not to arrive before 1.00pm. The reverse is that everyone must leave the site by 12.00 noon. The area outside of reception is cobbled and it can be quite daunting to drive over it.

Chatsworth is a real gem of a site which is set within what was a walled garden. There are 120 pitches in total including 26 'Super Pitches'. The 'super' pitches have their own fresh water supply and waste water and WC disposal, there is a £2 surcharge per night. All the other pitches are on hardstanding, useful as the site is open all year.
Although every inch of the site is used for pitches it has been cleverly designed so that pitches do not seem crowded. The one central toilet block is quite large and of excellent standard having recently been upgraded and now includes the 'Mother and Baby' room.
The old reception building is now the information room. The Reception sells newspapers, milk and bread plus walking maps of the area. When you tell reception where you are pitched they provide you with a key that provides access to the site from the park. This site is open to non-members but not to tents. Being a very popular site it is usually necessary to book in advance particularly at weekends and holidays, at the very least it is advised to phone ahead to check if there is space. The site offers a WiFi service and access cards can be purchased from Reception. Mobile reception is OK

There is lots to do in the area. You could amuse yourself by walks direct from the site. However most of the Peak District is within easy reach. There is a Garden Centre at Calton Lees a couple of miles from the site and a rather superb Estate Farm shop. There are a some restaurants in Baslow and details are usually found in the site information room.
Chatsworth House, no doubt, will be the main attraction for a stay on this site. It is only reasonable walk from the site, alternatively there is ample parking at the house. Tickets can be purchased online, this not only secures a small discount but also allows you to bypass the queue for people paying on the day. For day to day supplies major supermarkets are well represented in Chesterfield. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 First visit here, stopped for 4 nights on a Regular pitch. Like all other reviews, nice site, spotless facilities, very busy, some pitches a little cramped and very quiet at night.

Fantastic area for walking, with many varied routes. The house & gardens will take a full day to see.

Walked into Baslow for a pub meal. If you are a keen walker, a hard site to beat. Very relaxing & we enjoyed good weather. Can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moogler 8 reviews from this member

 Loved it!

We were here during the snow - walked through the gate in the wall into the park - it was like a winter wonderland! The dog loved it and so did we.

We have used both the super pitches (although the water was frozen to couldn't connect directly to the tap) and standard pitches. They are handstanding, a reasonable size and flat.

Showers etc. Are usual good CC standard.

Easy walk through park to Baslow - Duke of Devonshire is a dog friendly pub (although we haven't actually eaten there). If you walk back in the dark - remember to take a torch (and the key to the gate!)

The Chatsworth farm shop is a foodie's heaven - but easy to spend a fortune there!

Not far from Bakewell which is a great town - lots going on, good shops, pubs, take aways and market. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S.Ball 15 reviews from this member

 Typical caravan club site but set within lovely grounds, friendly but strict site, small play area, not really enough for such a large site. The showers have recently been redone and are immaculate, small bath is a welcome for small children! The surrounding area is beautiful and so much to see and do we'd definitely go again, if only to buy some of the fabulous cakes they sell. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hollydood 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed on a super pitch and found that standard pitches are more spacious. The super pitches do however offer more privacy. The toilet blocks have recently been re-built and are lovely. The site is spotless and the wardens are very friendly.
The walk to Chatsworth is lovely and only takes about 15 mins. The playground is not very well equiped and my Neice who is 7 found it very boring. We have booked again for October and are looking forward to it - so far this is my favourite site! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jinnertomcat 4 reviews from this member

 My views on Chatsworth are as follows :-

+ Staff incredubly friendly, professional and smartly dressed

+ Site is spotlessly clean

+ Good size pitches

+ Toilets without a doubt the best I have seen anywhere

+ Beautiful setting, incredibly quiet and peaceful

+ A mile stroll to the village of Baslow and some cracking pubs (the Wheatsheaf serves the best Marstons Pedigree I have ever had)

- Shop could have carried a bigger range of products

- Children's play area was very small with not much to do on it

Overall very very highly recommended and we will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lochinvar23 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a delightful week at Chatsworth, would recommend the super pitch as some of the others are a bit tight. As usual with a club site the place is immaculate and the toilets exemplary.
The village of Baslow is a fifteen minute walk away and is well served with hotels, the Devonshire was very nice. Buses are pretty frequent to Bakewell and Chesterfield.
The Chatsworth estate is glorious and you can walk and picnic in the grounds without hindrance.
A very relaxing destination, beautiful scenery and a place we shall certainly return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fee x 2 reviews from this member

 First time on a CC site, very nice site, kind staff on arrival, the wow factor has to be the location being so close to Chatsworth house. Toilet & showers clean and never had to queue once.  It was lovely to have "resident ducks" outside the caravan every morning waiting for their breakfast.  Although the play area is very small, our children loved it and spent a lot of the time riding round on their bikes.  Pitches were ok, not as big as some sites we have been on.  Negative feedback would have to be that you can't book a specific pitch or ones next to one another.  We arrived on the Saturday, told to drive round and find an empty pitch and then go back to tell reception what number you were on!  
Also we had family arriving on the Monday and had to just hope and pray that someone next to us was leaving (which they did) and we had to sit in the pitch to save it for them till they arrived. should take a deposit as people appear to just not turn up, leaving pitches empty that others could have used. Noticed a few stern adult faces as children enjoying themselves, if they don't like children then don't come to a family site, go to an adult only site in future.  We were all children once !  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallye 3 reviews from this member

 This is a marvellous caravan site! We managed to book this caravan site at short notice, probably picked up a cancellation. We are very pleased at this! This has to be one of my favourite caravan sites!
 
The site is well organised. Nicely laid out. Loved the secret door into Chatsworth House and the bird feeders. Woke up to ducks quacking outside our door!   
 
Toilets and showers clean. Really nice showers - had two each day to make the most of them! Lots of great walks in the surrounding area. Highly recommended. Will visit again, soon! 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement