Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Superb location with entry onto the estate. Facilities to the usual good standard and staff ok.

Pitching rules obsessive but otherwise all ok.

The location made it for us, the site not so. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stylus92 6 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location in the grounds of Chatsworth house. The house and gardens are a short walk away, as is the village of Baslow with shops, pubs and restaurants. In addition there is great walking all around.

The site is beautifully kept as you may expect from the Caravan Club, but we had one or two reservations. We found the site very noisy during our stay, with endless mowing of grass and driving of tractors. We appreciate that the grass has to be cut, but surely the same patch does not need cutting 3 times in 2 days? Maybe we just had a noisy location within the site.

Caravan club wardens are notorious for being picky about how you site your van, but I found the warden here to be exacting even by caravan club standards. Overall though we enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

 Just a quick review about the site. Definitely make sure you donít arrive before 1pm as you wonít be allowed in, we turned up around 3pm and had no waiting. The road youíre turning in from is very busy so itís not safe to queue there.

The site is lovely and quiet, excellent toilet and shower block. Plenty of bins and taps. A footpath through to the shower block would be great rather than having to walk all the way around the winding roads.

Also, Let's have a bit of leeway with the rules. I got spoken to regarding my dog not being on his lead. Bearing in mind the dog is 11 years old with arthritis and elbow displacea and can just about to manage to walk 200 yards by my side so it's not as if he was going to be running around bothering people.

It is difficult for him with a lead on as if it pulls at all his back legs give way. If I had been given chance to explain would have been nice rather than just being repeatedly told 'heís got to be on a lead'

Following that conversation I was glad the grandkids didnít bring their bikes because I can imagine the uproar if they hadnít followed the one was system. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site quite a few times now & try to come in a different month each time so you see things in a different light. For those who have not been before, this site is one way in, one way out, so you are requested not to arrive before 1pm.

This gives the leavers, leave by 12 noon time to go & maybe the warders have time for lunch etc before the next lot of arrivals. The turn into the site is off the Baslow Road which can get very busy, but if you arrive before 1pm you wont be going anywhere except off the road as the warders put a chain over the way in section, before you travel the half a mile down the narrow lane to the site office, but you always get the early arrivals gang.

We try to play by the rules, others don't. I know it can be difficult to gage your exact arrival time, we always stop off in a big lay by once you get through Chesterfield if were early, then about 10 minutes before 1pm set off for the site. When we got there this year they were queuing at the entrance & into the road which then blocked traffic to one side of the road.

Then a campervan came in the opposite direction & pulled into the other side of the entrance blocking it altogether by double parking & had to back out into the road to let somebody out, hence don't arrive before 1pm. At 1pm the warder lets you down the lane, then two at a time over the bridge to the site office to book in.

This site is all hard standing & the pitches are colour coded, depending on what you have booked. We booked an awning pitch (white marker), so it's look around to see which pitches are free & don't have notices on them to say campervan/ disabled stickers on where the campervan might be out for the day. It's pot luck if you get one of the few decent pitches (lots of tall trees all around).

We were going to pitch up until we saw the sign that said campervan, so looked around until we found another pitch, and although it was an awning pitch it was a bit tight with a big car to park up as well. We did notice another guy on our section who was having difficulty getting his car in/out too.

When we had a walk around the site the following day, the camper van which was parked on the pitch we nearly took the day before did not have an awning, was not even a large campervan, so why was it allowed to pitch up there is any ones guess. There was a lovely spare none awning pitch next to where we were (blue marker) that would have taken that size van no problem, you got the sun there most of the day too as that area did not have tall trees blocking the sun, unlike ours.

I think the wardens should ensure that if an outfit does not have an awning even if they book an awning pitch it should go on the none awning pitches available & the web site should say ' only book an awning pitch if you are going to use one'.

This campervan was on the same pitch all week taking up an awning pitch where someone with an awning could have used but the web might say none available, but until the caravan club makes a difference in price for their pitches, at the moment awning & none awning pitches cost the same I cant blame someone for taking an awning pitch (as its bigger & you get more space) that said, we do like the site & know what were going to purely due to the area & access to Chatsworth Grounds directly from the site.

The toilet block was always clean, never had to wait for a shower. The wardens were friendly. At one time you got a discount to go into Chatsworth House by showing your receipt for the caravan site, but no more. It's just under £20 per person for the House & Garden, or £13 for Garden only.

What I can say is that every day people were leaving or coming to Chatsworth, it's a very popular site, so there was always new pitches available, hubby over heard the warder telling a new arrival to find a pitch, but if they didn't like it they could move the following day when someone left, I think this is what we should have done but once set up could not be bothered to move and lose a day of our holiday moving, not like a camper van that just has to turn it's engine over like it does when it leaves the site for the day & move to another pitch.

So caravan club, do something with your pricing, make it more expensive for those who want an awning pitch but don't have/use an awning & see how many will book one then, or instruct your wardens to ensure they check that an awning pitch is only used for an outfit that has one. There's not much on site for children, a very small playground, but you can now use your bikes in Chatsworth Grounds.

Will I go again, yes, at some point, hopefully by then things might have changed regarding the pitching of outfits onto the correct pitches, and also I made a suggestion regarding the early arrivals after the caravan & campervan club sent me an email asking me to complete a survey & if I had any suggestions, but as yet my feedback is not showing on their web site, so I thought I would put it on here as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madrilleno 7 reviews from this member

 Whilst the location for this site is its best feature, the rest of it is not worth the premium price you have to pay.

The pitches are relatively small, but worst of all, they are packed in like sardines. For the sun lovers, there isn't much, this is a very shady site.

Wash room facilities are very good and were always spotless when we used them. The children's play area is very small and tired.

We will not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NikiW 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site - reflected by the fact that it's almost always booked up at weekends!

The pitches are level and the size you'd expect from the Caravan Club. We found the wardens to be friendly and always about in case you needed them.

The shower and toilet blocks are kept immaculate and warm.

We have dogs and being able to walk straight out into the Chatsworth Estate is great meaning we can pitch up and not have to drive anywhere for decent walks. Village shop and pubs also in walking distance. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick57eich 3 reviews from this member

 Having picked up our new caravan from Glossop we had two nights at Chatsworth. The entrance to the site is very narrow so understandably they are strict on the arrival and departure times.

A beautiful location set in a walled enclosure on the Chatsworth estate. Washroom facilities are maintained to a high standard. You can ask for a key to unlock the gate which will give you access direct to the estate where a 10 minute walk takes you to Chatsworth House.

A well maintained site with very helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craigt209 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped here years ago and really liked it so no problem returning, road up to site can be tight if oncoming car meets you but don't let it out you off as plenty of places to pass, reception area when you pull up to book in can be busy, we arrived approx 14. 00 Friday and plenty of pitches left to choose from nice sizes and all very level.

Toilet block and showers are immaculate not much else on site though small park for kids.

Very good site for winter stays as good hard standings and toilets very warm.

Lots to see and visit in area never stuck for anything to do in whatever weather.

Can't fault the site at all my only slight criticism is would be nice to have a bit better park for the kids but will definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willgina 10 reviews from this member

 We booked here for my husbands birthday and it was our 1st trip out this year. My hubby works in Derbyshire and knows the area very well we booked the Italian across the road for the Friday night which we thought was only a 5 minute walk, so quite disappointed when we arrived Thursday tea time driving up the never ending country lane (20 minute walk). We were told of 4 available pitches by the stern warden, having driven around two were already taken, so we went for the first we saw. The warden asked if we had a motor mover, we said 'no', 'oh dear' he said 'you have a twin axle, might be tight to reverse in', well when you book online your details are listed to your size of caravan so there shouldn't be a problem, but on our visits to cc sites some of the pitches are small. We set up but felt looked upon by our neighbours. We decided to use the gate into chatsworth but turned around to the amount of fallen trees. We walked on the lane to baslow, for me my mobility is not good, took around 20-30 minutes. Devonshire arms & wheatsheaf do nice food. The dog walk was dark and muddy and the poo bin hadn't been emptied so around 15 poo bags on top of the bin. I don't think we will return to this site, there are a lot nicer ones. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From both Bakewell and Chesterfield take A619 towards Baslow. Site entrance is between the two roundabouts in Baslow. Access to the site is by a long narrow road, although there are passing places it could be difficult for two towed caravans to pass. Therefore the Caravan Club instruct you not to arrive before 1. 00pm. The reverse is that everyone must leave the site by 12. 00 noon. As space is limited immediately outside of reception the warden will sometimes ask you to remain with your outfit until you can proceed to the front of the queue. On leaving, when rejoining the main road you are asked to turn left and use the roundabout to turn and head back towards Chesterfield.

Chatsworth is a real gem of a site which is set within what was a walled garden on the Chatsworth Estate. The site is open all year and is open to non-members but not to tents. There are 120 pitches in total all of which are on gravel hardstandings. There are four pitch types which you must specify when booking, either standard awning or non awning pitch and super pitch again with or with out awning. The super pitches have their own fresh water supply and waste water and WC disposal and command an additional nightly fee. Although every inch of the site is used for pitches it has been cleverly designed so that pitches do not seem crowded. The one central toilet block is quite large and of excellent standard having recently been upgraded and now includes the Mother and Baby room. There is also a covered washing up area with three sinks. Service points are dotted around the site and the motorhome service point is not far from the toilet block, unfortunately to drain grey waste still requires drain covers to be lifted. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Reception sells newspapers, milk and bread plus walking maps of the area. Near to reception is an information hut. When you tell reception where you are pitched they provide you with a key that provides access through a gate into the Park. This site Being a very popular site it is usually necessary to book in advance particularly at weekends and holidays, at the very least it is advised to phone ahead to check if there is space. There is site wide WiFi and access can be purchased online. However we did find performance a bit patchy. Mobile reception is OK. The site is has many tall trees so satellite signal might be a bit difficult but the electric bollards do have a co-ax connection which is free to use but you have to provide your own cable or buy one from reception.

There is lots to do in the area. You could amuse yourself by walks direct from the site. However most of the Peak District is within easy reach. There is a Garden Centre at Calton Lees a couple of miles from the site and a rather superb Estate Farm shop. There are a several restaurants in Baslow plus a cafe and details are usually found in the site information room. Chatsworth House, no doubt, will be the main attraction for a stay on this site. It is only reasonable walk from the site, alternatively there is ample parking at the house. Tickets can be purchased online at www. Chatsworth. Org There is no longer a discount offered for Club members although there are limited offers available in the cafes and shop on production of your membership card. For day to day supplies major supermarkets are well represented in Chesterfield. For those wishing to explore there are also several bus services from Baslow to either Chesterfield or Bakewell. 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3478 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement